Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book.
I love this show, its the best on TV. I've also found this book to be very good also. Now I'm going back and watching all the seasons over to find secrets and clues that I may have missed.

One of the things LOST introduced me to was the Twilight Zone which J.J. Abrams was inspired. Besides this book, I recommend one other also on Amazon.com. THE TWILIGHT ZONE:...
Published on November 8, 2008 by Katherine Smith

versus
59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is just bad
These things are just getting worse. Why do I buy them?

The first hint should be that the back of the book names the main character as "Nick Hadley" and throughout the actual novel the main character's name is "Jeff Hadley". Is the publisher paying any bit of attention to these books?

The book is about a man who is stranded on an island after Oceanic...
Published on April 20, 2006 by K. Falanga


Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is just bad, April 20, 2006
By 
K. Falanga "Mighty_Squid" (Jersey City, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost: Signs of Life - Book #3 (Lost (Hyperion)) (Mass Market Paperback)
These things are just getting worse. Why do I buy them?

The first hint should be that the back of the book names the main character as "Nick Hadley" and throughout the actual novel the main character's name is "Jeff Hadley". Is the publisher paying any bit of attention to these books?

The book is about a man who is stranded on an island after Oceanic Flight 815 crashes there. The characters names are the same. However that is where the simularity with the show of Lost ends. None of the characters act or talk like themselves and the author can't decide if the caves are somehow an evil place where no one goes or if some of the castaways live there.

There really should be a rule that if you write a Lost novel you need to actual watch the show. It's a popular show, how hard can it be to find a halfway decent author to write these things?

I don't recommend buying this book. The only reason why they can get away with such poor quality is because they stamp the word "Lost" on it and stupid fans like me buy it. Don't be like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars That was pretty bad., April 26, 2006
By 
This review is from: Lost: Signs of Life - Book #3 (Lost (Hyperion)) (Mass Market Paperback)
I am not sure why there are so many spinoff books of the show like this, or better yet why they get published. This book kept me fairly interested in the beginning, but it just fell very, very flat.

The ending is extremely STUPID, and absolutely corny.

Don't bother with this book, it wont fulfil your need for the show between episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fails to Live Up to Caliber of Previous Installments, March 20, 2006
This review is from: Lost: Signs of Life - Book #3 (Lost (Hyperion)) (Mass Market Paperback)
To begin with, this book pales in comparison to the previous installments, both written by Cathy Hapka. The author this time around, Frank Thompson, writes as if he has never seen an episode of the show, and is going by CliffsNotes given to him. Cathy Hapka was clearly a fan of the show, because she got the nuances down pat, and every bit of dialogue she put in, you could clearly imagine the character saying it. Thompson's dialogue is off, and the characters' dialects seem to have become distinctly more British, with phrases that you would be hard-pressed to hear an American say.

In addition, Thompson's story completely contradicts the Lost universe. Without giving away the plot, what happens in the story significantly changes the characters (and their relationships) that live in the Lost universe, including Hurley, Michael, and Locke. Hapka's novels, while they did involve the main character interacting with familiar Lost-aways, stayed within the bounds of the universe established by the television show, and except for the main character, the characters were the same at the end as they were in the beginning.

The one good part about Thompson's novel is that it is faithful to the 'nature' of the show, in that it involves a person forced to re-evaluate himself on the island. But because the dialogue just doesn't ring true for the characters, and because Thompson takes so many liberties in dramatically changing the relationships between familiar Lost-aways, this book comes off as more of a rough draft for an episode that was never made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst book EVER, June 17, 2006
This review is from: Lost: Signs of Life - Book #3 (Lost (Hyperion)) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is one of the worst books I have ever read, the author has no idea what's going on in LOST the portrayal of the characters is so off the mark that's it laughable I was so disappointed in this book that I actually threw it out in the rubbish bin. If you like LOST and need something to do in-between seasons or episodes bang you head against the wall it would be a far better use of your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost Money Maker, August 20, 2006
This review is from: Lost: Signs of Life - Book #3 (Lost (Hyperion)) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a nice filler between seasons, but there are a few things that don't necessarily follow the storyline from the show. A major event and location is discussed in this story that, to believe, the location should have been "in" the show. The caves that are mentioned in this book are not the same as the caves the survivors live in as another reviewer stated, but they had a profound effect on some of the regulars like, Locke, Michael, and Hurley, that you would think that we would know more about this place.

It is nice to find out a little background about some of the other survivors of the flight, I just hope that the stories do not stray too far from the main theme and that as more information is released in the series, it coincides with these books as well. (i.e. descriptions of where people sat on the plane, names of passengers, and locations listed.)

Nice attempt at a story, but I think more research and closer ties to the series may be needed. If this is just a way to make some dough with the LOST stamp on the cover...then Bravo.

Overall, I would rate the overall story "ok" with a "needs improvement" in the relate to the series category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Books Ok, April 14, 2006
This review is from: Lost: Signs of Life - Book #3 (Lost (Hyperion)) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love the TV show Lost and watch it faithfully every week. I turned to these books as a filler when the reruns are on, and I have to say I'm a bit disappointed. They're interesting, but the show is constructed in such a way that so much of what you see means something and hints at what is to come, and there just isn't a way to do that in the books without messing up the series. A similiar book I enjoyed, that reads kind of like the show, is An Actor's Nightmare. If you like the show, you should check it out. It's better than these books. Still, I'll probably keep reading the Lost books too. Fans are fans. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Signs of Life is a decent if irrelevant story, March 12, 2006
By 
This review is from: Lost: Signs of Life - Book #3 (Lost (Hyperion)) (Mass Market Paperback)
The third entry in the series of novelizations inspired by ABC's hit drama LOST follows a Scottish painter stranded on the mysterious island after boarding the ill-fated Oceanic Flight 815. The protagonist, Jeff, makes himself at home in a makeshift studio where he is once again inspired to create works of art, although the results have become increasingly darker as he suffers from terrifying dreams of shapeless creatures, unknown symbols and incessant voices speaking in unintelligible languages. Flashbacks at almost every other chapter reveal some relevant insight into his recent past leading up to midair disaster, including his liaisons with young nubiles whom he discards without much hesitation following passionate romps that have exhausted their purely lustful discourse and can only further lead down the path to commitment. His last intense relationship involved a young, intelligent artist and pupil when he was offered an opportunity to take a leave of absence from his duties in academia to tour and lecture in Australia. Unable to initially break the bad news when she invites herself along for the trip, it ends badly the day Jeff is set to leave and she offers a chilling sentiment that lingers in his conscience. After a successful six months down under, he later postpones his return and sets his sights on the United States, although he is still not quite over the woman he was closest to truly loving.

Flash forward to the present and content in his semi-isolation from the other band of survivors on the island, Jeff befriends Hurley and joins Charlie, Michael and Locke on a boar hunt. A harrowing encounter in the jungle with the resident monster forces the men to seek shelter, where Jeff is astonished to find markings that depict images from his hellish nightmares. Following another round of horrifying dreams and the suggestion from Hurley that he's seen the symbols before in another network of caves, Jeff sets out on a journey inspired by his dreams and fueled by guilt to uncover their true meaning. Is he merely going insane? Or are there mysterious forces at work on the island, driving him to an encounter with a sinister evil imprisoned for ages and seeking a way out? The resolution, while hauntingly poignant, is irrelevant to recent plot developments of the series and will require a suspension of belief to a higher degree than most LOST fans might be willing to concede. A rather short read, the book made for a nice time killer during a recent rerun on TV. Also features `cameo' appearances from the lovely Kate, Sawyer, Jack, Sun, Jin, and Walt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Lost Book, April 28, 2010
By 
Joshua Inman (Nashville, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost: Signs of Life - Book #3 (Lost (Hyperion)) (Mass Market Paperback)
It was a good read but I didn't enjoy it as much as Cathy Hapka's 2 Lost books. Anyone who has read Cathy's 2 Lost books and liked them would probably enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book., November 8, 2008
This review is from: Lost: Signs of Life - Book #3 (Lost (Hyperion)) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love this show, its the best on TV. I've also found this book to be very good also. Now I'm going back and watching all the seasons over to find secrets and clues that I may have missed.

One of the things LOST introduced me to was the Twilight Zone which J.J. Abrams was inspired. Besides this book, I recommend one other also on Amazon.com. THE TWILIGHT ZONE: Unlocking the Door to a Television Classic by Martin Grams. Together, both books open the skies for cult television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lost: Signs of Life - Book #3 (Lost (Hyperion))
Lost: Signs of Life - Book #3 (Lost (Hyperion)) by Frank Thompson (Mass Market Paperback - February 7, 2036)
$5.99 $5.35
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.