Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Very Interesting
Published 2 months ago by JP_DRAGON

versus
73 of 95 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Disappointment
In the first few pages the authors tell the reader that there must have been teaching of Jesus that were never recorded or deleted at some later date. Fair enough. Then, just when you think that this lengthy tome will reveal some of these "lost teachings" the authors instead - without explanation - launch into 400 pages of bizarre religious teachings that are completely...
Published on August 14, 2005 by Sam Palahnuk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 95 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Disappointment, August 14, 2005
By 
Sam Palahnuk (Burbank, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the first few pages the authors tell the reader that there must have been teaching of Jesus that were never recorded or deleted at some later date. Fair enough. Then, just when you think that this lengthy tome will reveal some of these "lost teachings" the authors instead - without explanation - launch into 400 pages of bizarre religious teachings that are completely unrelated to Jesus. Including the wacky assertion that there are three tiny flames (actual fires) burning inside your heart, and that they are only 1/16 of an inch high, and they've never been discovered by science because when they examine your heart you're already dead and the fire has gone out by then (has the author ever heard of modern medical diagnostic technologies such as MRI which could easily detect a actual fire burning inside a human heart?). Four hundred pages.... FOUR HUNDRED PAGES of recycled thread-bare gobildy gook, then you finally get to the clincher - the author actually says... "Who's to say that a middle aged man couldn't be channeling the lost teachings of Jesus". What? WHAT?! Are you telling me that you expect me to believe that Jesus channeled this stuff to you? Don't you have the courage to just say it up front? Don't pussy foot around, sparky - just say it... "I am channeling the lost teachings of Jesus!". Sadly the author doesn't even have the courage to do that. Please save your time and avoid this mess. And don't be fooled by positive reviews, the author(s) apparently have some sort of religious group which is polluting this site with false positive reviews. If what you really want is a search for the true lost teachings of Jesus, you won't find them here. I should have been able to smell a rat when I noticed that the pictures of the authors are clearly from the 60's. What about a honest representation of what you look like? What are you guys hiding?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, January 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost Teachings Of Jesus: Missing Texts--Karma And Reincarnation (Paperback)
This book is interesting and it does bring up a topic that would make a great discussion, but I wouldn't get too carried away in thinking that it is all fact. I am a very new age, spiritual person who promotes religious tolerance and focuses on the historical Jesus and not the "images" of Jesus that have been created by the church. But I also see that truth is based on fact and reality, on what is. So I wouldn't say that this book is "fact" but simply a theory that is interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless, March 6, 2011
This review is from: Lost Teachings Of Jesus: Missing Texts--Karma And Reincarnation (Paperback)
Very disappointing. No actual scientific evidence presented. It wasn't even structured like a book, it is just basically a bunch of "lectures" put into book form. There has to be something better out there for looking at Jesus's lost teachings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The last episode of "Lost" was better, February 13, 2011
This review is from: Lost Teachings Of Jesus: Missing Texts--Karma And Reincarnation (Paperback)
[THIS IS A REVIEW OF THE FIRST VOLUME IN A SERIES OF FOUR. AMAZON MAY HAVE PLACED IT AT THE PRODUCT PAGES OF VOLUME TWO OR THREE AS WELL.]

"The lost teachings of Jesus" is a four-volume work by Mark L. Prophet and Elizabeth Clare Prophet. The Prophets were the leaders of a new religious movement known as The Summit Lighthouse. It has also used other designations, including Church Universal and Triumphant and Summit University.

This is the first volume of the series. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend it, not even as an introduction to the teachings of this particular religious sect.

The section on "Missing Texts" is readable, but quite short. The rest of the book contains rambling, incoherent and frankly uninteresting sermons by Mark L. Prophet. I've looked through volumes 3 and 4 as well, and they are not much better. I get the impression that the material was impossible to sell...except if marketed as lost teachings of Jesus. "Mark L. Prophet loosing the red thread" would be a better title. The Prophets claimed to channel messages from Jesus Christ, but very little actual material of that sort is included. These books are a real let down! The lost messages are still lost, it seems.

The Summit Lighthouse has published lots of material over the years, and it's probably inevitable that it will be of varied quality. Their best book is undoubtedly "The lost years of Jesus" by Elizabeth Clare Prophet (not to be confused with this series). Another good introduction to the frequently strange beliefs of this group is the book "Lords of the Seven Rays". I've ordered some more material by the same authors, so stay tuned!

However, if you can, avoid the series "The lost teachings of Jesus". You won't regret it. And now, I'm off to see Jacob...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars THE PUBLICATION (WITH SUPPLEMENTARY MATERIAL) OF EARLIER LECTURES BY MARK PROPHET, July 26, 2013
Elizabeth Clare Prophet (1939-2009) founded The Summit Lighthouse with her husband Mark Prophet (1918-1973), which became the Church Universal and Triumphant in 1975. The Church lost members after her failed prophecies of nuclear war in the 1980s-1990s, and Alzheimer's Disease caused her to retire from the ministry in 1999. This book is associated with The Lost years of Jesus; it also has three follow-up volumes.

The first chapter of this 1986 book states, "there is little question that there ARE lost teachings of Jesus, many of them given in secret, that are vitally important to each of us. Clues to their existence abound, many in plain sight... starting right under our noses in the New Testament... in proportion to the number of occasions on which Jesus is said to have taught, a surprisingly small number of verses record just what those teachings were. Some accounts show Jesus teaching for several hours or more without including one word of what he said. For example, at the feeding of the five thousand [Mk 6:34]... He must have been saying something of note... But none of the four Gospels ... record what Jesus said... Luke [23:13-27] also relates the story of Jesus' walk with the disciples on the road to Emmaus... Neither the passages [Jesus explained] nor their attendant explanation is given." (Pg. xx-xxi)

The Foreword states, "In these four volumes we bring you the most precious instruction we have received for lifetimes from our Good Friend and the Shepherd of our souls. While the words and images may not be those Christ used two thousand years ago, you will find the heart of the message he imparted... This book consists of fourteen lectures delivered by Mark between 1965 and 1973, illuminated by the lessons Jesus has given us in dictations, sermons and letters over the past thirty years." (Pg. lxiv-lxvi)

The book notes, "[Origen] was the first great theologian of the Church, whose doctrines were later anathematized... Fragments of his extraordinary writings reveal many of the Lost Teachings of Jesus that our Lord gave to him through his meditation on the scriptures." (Pg. 32)

The book explains, "The term 'Great White Brotherhood' is not racial; it refers to the spiritual body of world servers... who serve humanity from the level of the Ascended Masters (the same level from which Ascended Master Jesus Christ functions) and the level of the angelic beings... It is certainly not intended to supplant Christ. It IS Christ in action. In fact, it is Christ's Mystical Body." (Pg. 168)

It observes, "Since the Lord's teaching in its entirety is most likely forever lost to this world... it is up to us who liVe in the present to discover it wherever we can... Karma and reincarnation---now that was a major part of the Lost Teachings. A real missing link. Something you'd always suspected even before you discovered Jesus had gone to India and the Far East. You don't know whether you actually BELIEVE you lived before. But it's as logical as any other explanation of the afterlife... In fact, it's THE missing link---answering many questions that for scholars and the faithful alike have ended at the proverbial brick wall." (Pg. 224-225)

It concludes, "The burden of proof is on modern Christianity... For two thousand years Christians have been playing with half a deck... How are the Christians... ever going to prove that THEY have all the essentials of Jesus' teaching? Or that your file ... DOESN'T contain the Lost Teachings of Jesus? Even if you could never prove conclusively that you HAD uncovered the Lost Teachings, no one could prove you hadn't... So in the final analysis, you've proven that something was lost and you've discovered something that could be it. Now, you say, the controversy will rage in the realm of belief. But isn't that what religion is all about?" (Pg. 226-227)

This book will be of interest to those seeking "esoteric" teachings attributed to Jesus; it also contains interesting doctrinal material about the Church Universal and Triumphant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars THE PUBLICATION (WITH SUPPLEMENTARY MATERIAL) OF EARLIER LECTURES BY MARK PROPHET, July 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Elizabeth Clare Prophet (1939-2009) founded The Summit Lighthouse with her husband Mark Prophet (1918-1973), which became the Church Universal and Triumphant in 1975. The Church lost members after her failed prophecies of nuclear war in the 1980s-1990s, and Alzheimer's Disease caused her to retire from the ministry in 1999. This book is associated with The Lost years of Jesus; it also has three follow-up volumes.

The first chapter of this 1986 book states, "there is little question that there ARE lost teachings of Jesus, many of them given in secret, that are vitally important to each of us. Clues to their existence abound, many in plain sight... starting right under our noses in the New Testament... in proportion to the number of occasions on which Jesus is said to have taught, a surprisingly small number of verses record just what those teachings were. Some accounts show Jesus teaching for several hours or more without including one word of what he said. For example, at the feeding of the five thousand [Mk 6:34]... He must have been saying something of note... But none of the four Gospels ... record what Jesus said... Luke [23:13-27] also relates the story of Jesus' walk with the disciples on the road to Emmaus... Neither the passages [Jesus explained] nor their attendant explanation is given." (Pg. xx-xxi)

The Foreword states, "In these four volumes we bring you the most precious instruction we have received for lifetimes from our Good Friend and the Shepherd of our souls. While the words and images may not be those Christ used two thousand years ago, you will find the heart of the message he imparted... This book consists of fourteen lectures delivered by Mark between 1965 and 1973, illuminated by the lessons Jesus has given us in dictations, sermons and letters over the past thirty years." (Pg. lxiv-lxvi)

The book notes, "[Origen] was the first great theologian of the Church, whose doctrines were later anathematized... Fragments of his extraordinary writings reveal many of the Lost Teachings of Jesus that our Lord gave to him through his meditation on the scriptures." (Pg. 32)

The book explains, "The term 'Great White Brotherhood' is not racial; it refers to the spiritual body of world servers... who serve humanity from the level of the Ascended Masters (the same level from which Ascended Master Jesus Christ functions) and the level of the angelic beings... It is certainly not intended to supplant Christ. It IS Christ in action. In fact, it is Christ's Mystical Body." (Pg. 168)

It observes, "Since the Lord's teaching in its entirety is most likely forever lost to this world... it is up to us who liVe in the present to discover it wherever we can... Karma and reincarnation---now that was a major part of the Lost Teachings. A real missing link. Something you'd always suspected even before you discovered Jesus had gone to India and the Far East. You don't know whether you actually BELIEVE you lived before. But it's as logical as any other explanation of the afterlife... In fact, it's THE missing link---answering many questions that for scholars and the faithful alike have ended at the proverbial brick wall." (Pg. 224-225)

It concludes, "The burden of proof is on modern Christianity... For two thousand years Christians have been playing with half a deck... How are the Christians... ever going to prove that THEY have all the essentials of Jesus' teaching? Or that your file ... DOESN'T contain the Lost Teachings of Jesus? Even if you could never prove conclusively that you HAD uncovered the Lost Teachings, no one could prove you hadn't... So in the final analysis, you've proven that something was lost and you've discovered something that could be it. Now, you say, the controversy will rage in the realm of belief. But isn't that what religion is all about?" (Pg. 226-227)

This book will be of interest to those seeking "esoteric" teachings attributed to Jesus; it also contains interesting doctrinal material about the Church Universal and Triumphant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Classic New Age Stuff--Nothing New, November 11, 2005
By 
david07003 (Bloomfield, NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lost Teachings Of Jesus: Missing Texts--Karma And Reincarnation (Paperback)
I bought this book after reading the "Lost Years of Jesus", which was a great book. This book I thought was going to be about lost writings and teachings of Jesus. Instead its about channeling to the spirits of the Ascended Masters, which are the souls, like Jesus and Saint Germain and Buddha, that have perfected themselves to the image of God. The idea is that all of us on this earth are in the process of spiritual growth and are being perfected, through our personal trials and tribulations, unto God. Fair enough. But Prophet goes onto say that there are secrets in the Bible that have been kept from us that that without knowing them, stops us from being closer to God. Now this sounds what I am looking for. Well, by studing the way that the Accended Masters tuned into God with these secrets, then we to can emulate their techniques and get closer to God as well. But then when you read the book she just keeps rambling on and never seems to get to the point. Then comes the channeling to the Ascended Masters. So where is the lost teachings of jesus? (Keep in kind that there are 4 books in this series, this is book 1, and does not give a lot of information, but then neither do the other books). As an evangelical Christian, this sounds to me to be classic New Age stuff and the type of thing that the Bible tells you not to participate in. Talking to the dead is what the Bible calls necromancy--talking to familar spirits--and leads to all kinds of problems because you are listening to spirits of the dead (often believed to be demons) and not God. This is a common problem for New Age types which often discredits them. Sure enough, I did a Wikipedia (the popular online encyclopedia) search on her and she and her church are listed a cult. There are also a lot of lawsuits against her by fellow members of her church and financial problems. Then came the doomsday revelations and moving the church to the wilds of Montana and building bomb shelters, and gun charges. Now that doesnt sound like perfection to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It is like watching History channel, August 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What was I thinking what I bought this book? It is like watching History channel !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self-proclaimed prophet, February 4, 2014
By 
This review is from: Lost Teachings Of Jesus: Missing Texts--Karma And Reincarnation (Paperback)
You can probably find this book at every Goodwill across the country. It's disposable, one-time use spirituality. Buy it, read it, feel good for a day, go back to living your miserable life, working at a job you hate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 27, 2014
This review is from: Lost Teachings Of Jesus: Missing Texts--Karma And Reincarnation (Paperback)
Very Interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lost Teachings Of Jesus: Missing Texts--Karma And Reincarnation
Lost Teachings Of Jesus: Missing Texts--Karma And Reincarnation by Elizabeth Clare Prophet (Paperback - January 1, 1986)
$9.95 $8.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.