Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're Hooked on Lost!
This is the smartest, funniest, most entertaining show on television. We love having all five seasons on DVD. Buy this set now. Put the first disc in your DVD player. Sit back and let the fun begin. WARNING: Your dishes and laundry won't get done. Your dog won't get walked. Your kids will have to do their own homework. Yes, it's that good.
Published on December 23, 2009 by Literati

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GRRATE SHOW!!
LOST ROCKS!! however, in the amazon store, if you buy every season separate, it comes out to be about $40 cheaper. You end up with the exact same product in the end.
Published on February 6, 2010 by Luis Flores


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're Hooked on Lost!, December 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5 (DVD)
This is the smartest, funniest, most entertaining show on television. We love having all five seasons on DVD. Buy this set now. Put the first disc in your DVD player. Sit back and let the fun begin. WARNING: Your dishes and laundry won't get done. Your dog won't get walked. Your kids will have to do their own homework. Yes, it's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOST rocks!, November 1, 2009
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5 (DVD)
I don't agree with the first review. It's a lot to easy just to define LOST as an ongoing mystery-TV-show that does not answer questions!

First of all, one of the most important questions "dude, where are we?" that was asked in the pilot, has not been answered yet and this is so for a good reason (we know what happened with TWIN PEAKS when the murderer was revealed...).

Second, LOST has always been from Season 1 about mysteries. Very often answers were given, but the fans sometimes didn't even appreciate the answering of questions (or maybe it was not the answer they expected). Personally, I cannot think of any other TV-show that changes so dramatically from Season to Season. Normally TV-shows are really repetitive and have the same themes everey season. In LOST however, and this is true for all seasons (except maybe the fourth one) the audience can't actually tell when, where and how the show is going to continue. We didn't really know the content of the hatch, we didn't know what would happen to Desmond at the end of S2, how did the Losties get back to the main land? Why did John Locke die (we got the answer to that, but many fans didn't appreciate that answer!), where did the Island go? And now after Season 5: What happened to Jacob? Where did the Losties go? Now if you don't like to think and if you prefer some lame and boring TV-show then LOST is simply not your thing. Quentin Tarantino once said: You don't go to a metallica concert and tell the fu...rs to turn the volume down.

We must not forget that the producers of LOST wanted to tell a very specific story from the very beginning. The two skeletons are absolutely crucial, Carlton Cuse stated in an interview that when LOST will be told the Skeletons in Season 1 will be the proof that they knew from the very beginning what the story was going to be they wanted to tell and they did not make it up while telling! I think it is not fair to judge theoverall quality of LOST when the story is not told to the end. Let's just wait and see how they are going to blow us away with Season 6. I can't tell you why, but from the bottom of my heart I know that Season 6 ist going to be the most awe-inspiring and breath-taking Seson in the overall history of LOST. When LOTS has ended the greatest TV-show in the history of television will have ended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't know where they are going with the Final Season 6, but these 5 Seasons are awesome!!, February 11, 2010
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5 (DVD)
This is definately my favorite show from the past decade, just when I thought Network T.V. had become reality T.V., ABC/Disney cranks out this one, there isn't much I can say that hasn't already been said, except to give my viewpoint, what I think makes this show appealing is the characters from all walks of life coming together for a simple cause, to stay alive & hope for rescue, to me characters drive a show to its success, characters have always driven every successful show, if you don't care about the characters, you won't care about the show simply put... now on to the review...

Season 1>>>> is by far the season where you get to know everyone, the mystery surrounding the island was definately original, & in this season we get a glimpse of who everyone is or was, before & after the plane crash, this season really defined the characters like it needed too, we are introduced to Jack(doctor), Kate(running from the law), Sawyer(con man), Hurley(recent lotto winner), Locke(handicapped & down on his luck until now), Sayid(former Iraqi soldier), Michael(single father), Sun & Jinn(married Japenese couple), Boone & Shannon (brother & sister), Claire(pregnant woman), Charlie(rock star), & others who crashed on the other side of the island Michelle(former cop) & Mr.Ecko(former drug runner, now preacher), again all walks of life are here, there is also a smoke monster/presence, polar bears, signal tower, a dead man walking, a hatch underground, a mysterious french woman & many other mysteries

Season 2>>> To me this one is even better than 1, because now we get to the heart of what the island may or may not be, this one centers on the infamous Hatch, which was definately original that apparently has been occupied by many who have to push buttons to keep a series of chain reactions that are not quite made clear until later seasons from happening, Desmond is a new character who gets introduced who is currently overseeing the Hatch, we also meet the others who are not what they appear to be & we meet Ben, who becomes the castaways antagonist in more ways than one

Season 3>>> Despite what many people felt about this one, it was on par with the first two seasons, yes, some unanswered questions got answered, but we found out who the others were, & we got introduced to Juliett who many viewers I think despised at first, but later warmed up to, this season's end finally sees a rescue, but what kind of rescue we all wondered.

Season 4>>> To me, this one was a departure from the mystery angle of the first 3 seasons, this one mainly concentrated on the rescue attempt that we learned had not been in the best interest of the castaways as more mysteries came to light, such as why they were never rescued sooner & how a billionaire had faked the plane crash under water claiming no survivors to the world while at the same time trying to silence anyone & everyone on the island by sending ruthless mercenaries to continue his cover-up, this one was a bit more violent than the previous 3 seasons, & its ending is where this show started to get more complex than ever as Ben is able to make the island disappear by moving it in an attempt to keep it safe, while six of the castaways (Jack, Kate, Sayid, Hurley, Sun, & Claire's child) make it to society & are rescued, but later realize that their lives on the island are far from over

Season 5>>> After Ben moves the island, the survivors find themselves moving through time, don't get me wrong, I like time-travel stories just as much as the next guy, but where it fits here, I don't know, Locke, Sawyer, Juliett, Jinn, Faraday, & others find themselves moving through time to 1954 to 2004 to 1974 & so on, Jinn even ends up in 1988 where he meets the younger french woman, this one is by far the most confusing one that can only be resolved in Season 6, we also finally meet Jacob who was so talked about in the previous seasons.

again, there isn't much I can say that hasn't already been said, but this is by far one of the most innovative a creative shows ever made, if you haven't watched it, then you are missing out on some great stuff here!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm still Lost, February 9, 2010
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5 (DVD)
It's a vast mass of mysteries, bizarre twists and supernatural occurrences -- and it's brilliant. "Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5" has some bumps along its way (particularly in the second season), but it blossoms once it finds its footing, and starts working towards a brain-bending, epic clash between the forces of light and darkness. Think of it as "Swiss Family Robinson" by way of Stephen King.

A plane crashes on a remote tropical island, leaving a terrified band of survivors including a doctor named Jack (Matthew Fox), a spoiled brother and sister, a single dad and his strange son, an Iraqi ex-soldier, a Korean couple, chubby lottery winner, an escaped prisoner, a hostile con-man, a man cured of paralysis, and a junkie rocker.

Unfortunately, the island has countless perils that crop up as the survivors try to survive there, and strange people are hidden in its depths. What's more, the island has a history that stretches back countless years -- there are remnants of a powerful organization called Dharma, a collection of "Others" living in a luxurious modern village, a metal hatch with a button that MUST be pushed, and ancient statues and temples from ancient times.

The survivors do their best to keep alive and to fight back the Others, but they lose many of their number -- and when a small band of them do escape, they find that they have somehow disrupted the island's primal forces, and the fabric of time itself. But even when they fight their way back to the island, they find that not all is as it should be -- and in an effort to set things right once and for all, they must take the ultimate risk and set off a terrifying series of events...

Yes, it's a weird show -- "Lost" might make more sense if you're drunk or stoned, because it can swing wildly from the downright surreal to the mundane. But in the midst of shallow sitcoms and endless reality TV, it's refreshing to see a twisty-turny show like this one. J.J. Adams, best known for "Alias," outdoes his first hit TV show with something totally different -- not just from his past work, but from everything else on TV.

The gorgeous Hawaiian landscape is a contrast for such a dark storyline, although the writers do stumble occasionally (the first half of the second season is a total misfire). Adams never reveals everything, which keeps up the suspense, and he twines together dozens of mysteries -- the island's nature, its prior inhabitants, and its countless mysteries. Some mysteries have been answered, and some are left dangling for the sixth and final season -- and every time Adams unravels one puzzle, it just reveals a new one.

And "Lost" is truly an ensemble show -- every character gets to shine (including some we don't care about), and flashbacks (and flash-forwards) reveal what makes them tick. And some, like Jin, Sun and the haunted, smart-alecky Sawyer are evolved far beyond their original characterization.

Matthew Fox is given a lot of attention, and he is a good actor... even though the self-righteous Jack eventually gets kind of annoying. Fotunately, there's a brilliant supporting cast -- Dominic Monaghan, Jorge Garcia ("Dude, that was a Jedi moment!"), Terry O'Quinn, Evangeline Lilly, the brilliant Naveen Andrews and Josh Holloway, Yunjin Kim, Elizabeth Mitchell, Daniel Dae Kim. Two brilliant supporting roles are Michael Emerson as the creepy-eyed Other leader, and Henry Ian Cusick as the tormented ex-soldier/monk Desmond -- and there are a LOT of memorable supporting characters.

"Lost" is a well-written, well-acted show that brings a bit of mystery back into prime-time television. Creepy, funny, romantic, tragic and sometimes just weird -- and be prepared for the mother of all cliffhangers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth the price, February 8, 2010
By 
L. Manzo (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5 (DVD)
Not only was I able to rewatch all of my favorite episodes but I got a great deal as well. I'm a big fan and this gave me a chance to rewatch all the past seasons with fresh eyes. I had many more "A-HA!" moments the 2nd (sometimes 3rd) time around. This is also a terrific way for someone to get caught up if they stopped watching early on or for a new fan who wants to get caught up to fully enjoy the sixth (and last) season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big emphasis on the mysteries, not the answers., February 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5 (DVD)
I decided to get this DVD set as a gift for my mother for Christmas, with the intention that we would watch the whole show together and try to catch up in time to watch the new season. Neither one of us had ever seen it before.

As for LOST, I'm sure almost everyone has their opinions about it already. It is a very difficult show to describe to someone who has never watched it, and this is why it took me so long to be convinced. I will say right now that it's the most compelling and exciting show I have ever seen. The only less than stellar thing about this show is occasional problems with pacing. Sometimes it seems that Seasons 4 and 5 could have easily been condensed into one 16 episode season, but at the same time it is also disappointing that Seasons 4, 5, and 6 only have 16 episodes each, instead of 24. The trend seems to be that major events are decided ahead of time as season finales, and then everything up to that is build-up and lead-in. In the case of Season 4, it felt like almost nothing happened until this finale, and the mysterious newcomers to the island were just stalling for time until then. No, I won't tell you why I'm here. Just do what I say before I shoot you with this gun. Sometimes the show resorts too often to taking prisoners and hostages, being prisoners, being led around at gunpoint, and punching people in the face. Hopefully, the 6th and final season will be more than just another wave of strangers with demands, guns, and secrets.

This particular DVD set featured all "widescreen" boxes, but I found that on our Sony Bravia, the resolution before stretching or zooming of any kind was fullscreen, and I had trouble making it look right with the DVD player and that television. On the Samsung television with a Blu-Ray player, the picture quality was much better and displayed at a much more believable widescreen resolution.

The DVD extras were not particularly fulfilling. On the back of the boxes, the descriptions of the features promise explanations or new insight about the mysteries presented in each season, but upon watching the features, you find that no questions are answered whatsoever; they are merely asked again. Those hoping to get any additional information about the show will not find it in these features. Instead, what you get is a little bit of behind-the-scenes peeks, some mildly amusing gag reels of actors forgetting their lines and giggling, and a lot of rehashing and fluff. Most discs feature a commentary track for an episode or two, but as we were watching each episode for the first time, we did not want to use them.

However, the presentation of these extras and the menus is very impressive. The menu screen is often a shot of a location of interest from the previous or current disc, and in later seasons features people walking around or milling about doing things. The extras menus are themed to something featured in the season; for example, the Season 2 extras are made to resemble an old 1980's video. It is clear that the DVD production team put their utmost effort into these box sets.

In the end, the only small disappointments about this box set come from the fact that if you become a LOST fan, you always want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good deal, December 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5 (DVD)
I jumped all over this deal when i saw it, i almost didnt get on the site that day but checked by just in time to see it in the last 10 minutes. My girlfriend loves lost and i didnt have a clue what to get her for christmas then this was just there. I was a fan but lost interest around the third seeason when i felt they opened more questions than they answered and never did anything proper with the original questions brought up. Only real problem here was when i received my box one end was never taped, just left open, the other end was torn and there was one flat piece of flat packaging smashed into the corner. Also i was a bit dissapointed that there was no collector packaging for the set such as the customer picture that was presented, that would have just made the appearance more impressive. Overall this was a great deal and all minor complaints can be easily pushed aside considering the money i saved and getting pulled out of a nice jam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, beware of the sellers, February 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5 (DVD)
This is a great show and worth buying. However, be sure of what you are ordering. I ordered this set from someone I thought was a trustworthy seller here in the Amazon Marketplace. But when I got the DVDs I had been sold some international edition of the show. They were not the U.S. DVDs. The episodes seemed to be the same and in English but the box art was not. And the season 5 DVD menu was in some Asian language. I didn't even know how to start the DVD because I couldn't read anything. It took an e-mail to the seller demanding a refund and some help from Amazon to resolve the issue. My point is, be sure to communicate with the seller to make sure you are not getting some bootleg or international edition. It seems more commonplace now and it has happened to me twice here on Amazon. The show itself is worth buying and watching. Just be careful who you buy from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GRRATE SHOW!!, February 6, 2010
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5 (DVD)
LOST ROCKS!! however, in the amazon store, if you buy every season separate, it comes out to be about $40 cheaper. You end up with the exact same product in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5 (DVD)
package contained the complete seasons and in prefect condition. It was nice to watch the whole series and not miss an episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5
Lost: The Complete Seasons 1-5 by Evangeline Lilly,Jorge Garcia,Terry O'Quinn,Mathhew Fox Josh Holloway (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: $86.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.