Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strongest compilation of Timi's music available
Timi will be forever remembered for Hurt, a record which has often been covered (including by Juice Newton, who had a country number one with it, and Elvis), but never bettered. You will find it on any Timi compilation (except The voice that got away, a companion volume to this CD) but Timi deserves to be remembered for much more, as this collection shows. Even 26 tracks...
Published on July 13, 2002 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somthing bad on my mind
I agree with the previous review, the 1968 album Somthing bad on my mind was the best she has done. I too wish that the power's that be would release it on CD, it is so beautifull. I came across it back in the 70's in a bargan bin for .99cents and it was like winning the lottery. I do not have it anymore stupidly lending it out and never returned. Here's hoping that one...
Published on December 20, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strongest compilation of Timi's music available, July 13, 2002
This review is from: Lost Voice of Soul (Audio CD)
Timi will be forever remembered for Hurt, a record which has often been covered (including by Juice Newton, who had a country number one with it, and Elvis), but never bettered. You will find it on any Timi compilation (except The voice that got away, a companion volume to this CD) but Timi deserves to be remembered for much more, as this collection shows. Even 26 tracks does not cover everything worthwhile, but there's another 26 on The voice that got away, for those who want to explore further.

Perhaps Timi was best at the tearjerkers like Hurt, but it is a measure of her brilliance that she did a wide variety of songs really well. This collection includes a lot of mainstream pop, some more R+B, and even some country songs. It would be a good idea if a record company would issue a separate compilation of her country recordings, just as has been done for Ray Charles and others. As it is, they are sandwiched between all the other stuff, but that's a minor criticism.

This is an outstanding compilation of one of the finest - and most under-rated - singers of the sixties (or any era, come to that).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "ONCE IN A LIFETIME" ~ STUNNING VOCAL MASTERPIECE ~, September 22, 2003
By 
Bradly Briggs "sing it!" (TOLUCA LAKE, CALIFORNIA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lost Voice of Soul (Audio CD)
First time events in our lifetime become special memories and in 1961 while in Junior High School I clearly remember the first time that I heard TIMI YURO'S magnificent "HURT" masterpiece and rushed out to the local record shop to purchase the 45 RPM then rushed home and played it over and over resulting with everyone in my family quickly falling in love with the incomparable and distinctive voice of Timi Yuro. Patsy Cline was a family favorite at that time and with the release of the definitive hit version of "MAKE THE WORLD GO AWAY", Timi was then viewed in the same high esteem and it looked like this dynamos talent would elevate her career to Superstar Legendary status and there would be no limits as Timi Yuro excelled in all areas of the music world as she smoothly went from rock and soul to country and classic with astonishing results. Through the years we would all always reflect back on this great singer as something incredibly special and uniquely amazing and A TOTAL ORIGINAL whose career should have soared to great heights...Elvis Presley was reported to be taken by the powerfully emotive voice of Timi Yuro and did a wonderful cover of "HURT" late in his career but this song remains TIMI'S CLASSIC as none of the cover versions come close to Timi's stunning original...Chaplin's "Smile" is deeply emotional and it is clearly Timi Yuro and Judy Garland who both own this classic and are equally great giving incredibly moving and unforgettable performances! Big band swing has never sounded finer than in the masterful "LET ME CALL YOU SWEETHEART" which would thrill Sinatra as its up to his level of greatness. Clyde Otis originals are turned into stirring soulful athems and include a rhythmic "COUNT EVERYTHING", a sentimental "I KNOW" which is vocally gorgeous, "WHAT'S A MATTER BABY" which is the awesome 1962 HIT with a glorious wall of sound arrangement framing a strong urgent vocal that should have won a GRAMMY AWARD, and the exciting cooker "THAT'S RIGHT, WALK ON BY" which should have been a big hit as it is soulfully infectious. This incomparable collection has no filler and every song is different and sung with vocal greatness and raw emotion that compare to noboby and Timi Yuro is a peerless singing legend that is the finest from her era. The American public were cheated out of the pleasure of enjoying the finest voice on the planet as anyone who loves great singing will clearly see when listening to this musical treasure chest of classic performances but ultimately one of the greatest artists of the 20th Century was cheated out of the fame and acclaim that her magnificent talent deserved. A haunting "INSULT TO INJURY" was a minor hit and should have been huge...same goes for the definitive Burt Bacharach "THE LOVE OF A BOY". "GOTTA TRAVEL ON" is gut-wrenching while "LEAVIN'ON YOUR MIND" and "SHE'S GOT YOU" are brilliant definitive versions...little wonder that Willie Nelson became a huge lifetime fan of Timi when one listens to her heartbreaking rendering of Willie's "PERMANENTLY LONELY". Another towering and moving stellar vocal performance make "A LEGEND IN MY TIME" a masterpiece and another Clyde Otis original "CALL ME" has the sound of another classic. This wonderful collection is from Timi Yuro's most prolific recording period at LIBERTY RECORDS from the early to late sixties...the best is saved for last and my all time favorite Yuro LP is the classic "SOMETHING BAD ON MY MIND" and the haunting title song should have been a huge hit and with airplay would have been...the Northern Soul Classic (and they know the great soul singers better than anyone!)is the exotic and haunting "IT'LL NEVER BE OVER FOR ME" from the "SOMETHING BAD ON MY MIND" collection which is long overdue for release on Compact Disc...come on whoever is in charge of these classic masters and lets get with it and release this classic collection of peerless performances!!! RPM is to be commended for this great release along with "THE VOICE THAT GOT AWAY" & "WHAT'S A MATTER BABY" which are all essential for anyone who loves great original vocal masters...hopefully more on this great singer will be released and a BOX SET would be a dream of a release...while this stunning collection is available don't miss out as its value will soar when its no longer available...thanks Timi for sharing you gift and you are loved and missed by many...this is as good as great singing gets~ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE HEART OF EMOTION, October 5, 2005
This review is from: Lost Voice of Soul (Audio CD)
What a wonderful collection.

Worth every penny, especially to hear the original recording of her doing "Permantley Lonely". This must be the most emotionally charged record ever made, and when I first heard it many years ago on the "Make The World Go Away" Album, it actually made me cry!

This lady should have been a huge star. What a powerful voice with a hint of Edith Piaf, Dinah Washington and Esther Phillips about it, but with so much more.

She has never made a bad record, and leaves behind a legacy of truly mind blowing recordings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Majesty Of Soul, May 31, 2004
This review is from: Lost Voice of Soul (Audio CD)
What a fabulous singer! Every song in this CD is
excellent. The song "I Know (I Love You)" really
gets to me. It touches me more deeply than any
other song I've ever heard. Timi makes it sound
so beautiful and heavenly. She sings the song
with a lot of emotion and passion. In my opinion,
Timi Yuro deserves to be called "the white queen of
soul". Timi is in a class by herself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb anthology of lost '60s soul singer, December 12, 2006
By 
This review is from: Lost Voice of Soul (Audio CD)
Yuro's stature, both physically and commercially, never matched the power of her outsized voice. At only five feet even and of Italian-American descent, her brash, soulful blues-belting was difficult for the record buying audience (and her labels) to get their heads around. She had a pair of indelible top-5 hits in the early-60s, but her was diluted by a split in her material between deep soul, orchestrated pop, and cabaret. The public just never seemed to get a line on Yuro's character, and her catalog never reached the commercial plateau her talent deserved.

This generous 28-track collection focuses on her early, seminal work for Liberty from 1961 through 1964, with a pair of tracks from her return to the label in 1968. The set opens with her debut cover of Roy Hamilton's "Hurt," which peaked at #4 on the pop chart, and hit #22 R&B. Yuro's opening wail brings to mind Jackie Wilson before she settles back to reveal it's a woman singing; her combination of soulful R&B and pop phrasings bring to mind Dinah Washington. Throughout her initial tenure at Liberty (she'd return at the end of the decade after waxing sides for Mercury), she was matched with orchestral arrangements that varied from supportive to overbearing. Unsurprisingly they're often similar to the backings heard on Washington's Mercury sides, as both artists used arrangements by Belford Hendricks.

RPM's cherry-picked from Yuro's catalog with an ear for her soulful sides, and included many of her artistic highpoints. Her single most effective recording, "What's a Matter Baby," is the perfect combination of dramatic production (courtesy of a one-time artistic liaison with Phil Spector), a lyric filled with scorn and remorse, and Yuro's brilliantly bitter vocal. The entire song feels like an exposed nerve, with Yuro navigating between righteous indignation and pain that will never fully heal. Though Yuro's more famously associated with "Hurt," it's "What's a Matter Baby" (whose title is angrily spit out almost as a single word) that is her masterpiece, and one of the best kiss-off records ever. Other artists, including Ellen Foley, Del Shannon and The Small Faces, have all tried, but no one nailed this song like Yuro.

Yuro's catalog is filled with highlights, including a torchy string-drenched version of "Just Say I Love Him" (recorded more famously by Nina Simone the same year), an emotional reading of Charlie Chaplin's "Smile," the Drifters-styled "Count Everything," a horn-powered revival of Wynona Carr's mid-50s R&B side "Should I Ever Love Again," and the sweltering blues of "I Ain't Gonna Cry No More." Additional singles include Bacharach & David's "The Love of a Boy" curiously sporting the same rhythmic hook they used on "Don't Make Me Over," and a wailing, soulful rendition of Hank Cochran's country tune "Make the World Go Away." Following in Ray Charles' pioneering footsteps, Yuro transcribed a number of country tunes into the soul arena, recording additional titles by Cochran as well as Webb Pierce, Willie Nelson and Don Gibson. A pair of sides from 1968, "Something Bad on My Mind" and "It'll Never Be Over For Me," show that Yuro still had strong, chart-worthy material to offer, even if a hit was not in the cards.

Yuro would record good material through the rest of the decade (some of which is anthologized on companion RPM volumes) and reappear now and again into the early '80s when medical problems ended her singing career. This sampling is a perfect introduction to her early career-defining years, and a great reminder of the artistic wealth that's often to be found beneath the one- (or two) hit wonder. [©2006 hyperbolium dot com]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bitter Sweet Memories, May 8, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lost Voice of Soul (Audio CD)
My favorite song is Make the World Go Away and it's flip side Permanently Lonely. Listening to this CD truly sent me back to 1963, Saturday night dances in the arms of the one I loved (the one I let slip away).
What a voice ... I can't get enough! I smile through my tears each time I listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Voice of Soul, January 2, 2008
This review is from: Lost Voice of Soul (Audio CD)
I have met Timi Yuro in person and able to talk to her on the phone & personally when she went to the Philippines twice to perform in the 60s. She was a former girlfriend of my first cousin, then famous actor Bernard Bonnin. She even announced on her show that she was going to marry him and at her first performance in the Philippines with Teddy Randazzo, she dedicated the song "Let me Call you Sweetheart" to my cousin. Too bad they did not get married even though my cousin also visited her in the States during his visit here. I had only one Vinyl record of her and was able to buy another CD in the Philippines some years ago. Glad that Amazon still carry her CDs and I'm able to buy, collect and listen to more of her heartbreaking songs. She really sings well with a lot of soul and feeling. I can still picture her from memory and we are only of the same height and I tried to imitate her hairdo when I was young. I'm glad to be able to add her music to my collection & thanks to Amazon.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timi Yuro's Biggest Fan, July 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost Voice of Soul (Audio CD)
This CD is the creme de la creme of Timi's greatest hits. I have loved her since 1961 when I first listened to "Hurt" and then her other monster smash "What's a Matter Baby (Is It Hurtin You?)". Her magnificent, resonant voice is certainly unmatched anywhere and she is without doubt THE greatest blue eyed soul singer ever!! She owned the 60s and the 70s. It's unfortunate that the powers that be did't recognize a mega talent when they heard one. Had she been managed better, she would have made as much impact here as she did in Europe, particularly Holland. I would definitely recommend this CD to anyone just getting introduced to the one and only Timi Yuro. She never ever cut a bad record. My only regret is that I never met her up close and personal nor attended a concert or two. Although Timi Yuro is no longer with us, fortunately, her music is and I would urge you to purchase this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somthing bad on my mind, December 20, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lost Voice of Soul (Audio CD)
I agree with the previous review, the 1968 album Somthing bad on my mind was the best she has done. I too wish that the power's that be would release it on CD, it is so beautifull. I came across it back in the 70's in a bargan bin for .99cents and it was like winning the lottery. I do not have it anymore stupidly lending it out and never returned. Here's hoping that one day they will release it in it's entiety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best!!!, April 30, 2007
This review is from: Lost Voice of Soul (Audio CD)
Timi Yuro - simply the best Blue-Eyed Soul singer EVER! This CD is a 'must have' for any lover of music from a beautiful, powerful and soulful voice.

Timi never got her 'props' in life; however, her magnificent voice will live on forever on CD's like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lost Voice of Soul
Lost Voice of Soul by Timi Yuro (Audio CD - 2004)
Click for more info
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.