Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, although obvious. Many fine actresses.
This is an early 1990s TV movie (hence, it's full screen). It hits all the usual emotional buttons.

As four student nurses fly to a clinic in the Mexican jungle, along with some doctors, one of their three planes crashes. The other two planes land. Then the nurses and remaining doctors must find the group that went down, treat them, and arrange to fly them...
Published on August 7, 2007 by Thomas M. Sipos

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Terrible
I rented this film because it stars Lindsay Wagner, and I'm a huge fan of hers. That said, this movie was just okay. Wagner was wonderful as always, but the rest of the cast was stiff and the dialog stilted. I doubt I'll watch it again, which is something I rarely say when it comes to a Wagner film. Definitely don't see any need to own this one.
Published on August 7, 2012 by Kris T.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, although obvious. Many fine actresses., August 7, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost in the Wild (DVD)
This is an early 1990s TV movie (hence, it's full screen). It hits all the usual emotional buttons.

As four student nurses fly to a clinic in the Mexican jungle, along with some doctors, one of their three planes crashes. The other two planes land. Then the nurses and remaining doctors must find the group that went down, treat them, and arrange to fly them out to an advanced American hospital.

This film is full of cliches and stereotypes. Poor but noble peasants who are honest and generous with their meager belongings rally to help the doctors who helped them. Corrupt Mexican soldiers and government officials are callously indifferent to the doctors' plight. Evil drug lords lurk menacingly in the jungle, posing a potential threat to the doctors. Banditos rob the downed plane. Mexican-American student nurse Jennifer Lopez visits a local Catholic church, lighting a candle, to the warmly smiling approval of the poor villagers.

One patient "dies." Two doctors declare him dead. But a gutsy, spunky student nurse refuses to accept that, and she manages to revive the patient, proving herself smarter than the doctors! (Give me a break!)

This is a predictable film, and hard to believe it's all true. It's supposedly based on a true story, but I suspect they embellished heavily.

Still, it has many good actresses. Lindsay Wagner is the star; she plays an older student nurse who went back to college after divorcing her doctor-husband. She worries that others think she's too old. Farrah Forke is another nurse. Some may remember her as "Alex" from the WINGS sitcom. And it's always nice to see Jennifer Lopez. She has a small cliched role as another nurse, one who ruminates about her Mexican roots (her poor peasant father had immigrated from Mexico, and she's the first of her family to go into medicine).

Contrary to the DVD cover, Jennifer Lopez's part is small. Although this is an ensemble film, Lindsay Wagner is the lead star; Lopez is a minor supporting player.

An enjoyable TV movie, if you like the actresses and don't mind the cliches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Lopez - The Beginning!, June 29, 2005
This review is from: Lost in the Wild (DVD)
While heading towards a makeshift medical outpost deep into the Mexican jungle, one of three planes crashes, stranding a group of doctors and student nurses, some of whom are critically injured. This taut adventure follows the attempts of the others to locate the downed plane and save the lives of the survivors. Once the search party finds the injured medics, their next challenge is to get them to a proper medical facility. One in particular could die any moment. The searchers could have treated them on the spot had not local natives appeared and looted the downed plane of its drugs. A nearby landing strip promises a chance to get the injured passengers to safety, but unfortunately that would precipitate a night flight and recent anti-drug operations laws strictly prohibit flying after dark. One brave doctor volunteers to traverse the jungle to a nearby town in hopes of convincing authorities to make an exception. Meanwhile the rest of the entourage must somehow make it safely to the airstrip by daylight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lindsay Wagner, July 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost in the Wild (DVD)
Lost in the Wild is based on a true story and I really enjoy watching Lindsay Wagner movies and TV series. It was a bonus to have a young Jennifer Lopez in this movie as well as Lindsay Wagner. It is a great movie of family relationships, dedication, and perseverance. Lots of excitement too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie!, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost in the Wild (DVD)
Being a nurse and doctor is hard in normal situations, but out in the middle of no where is overwhelming. This movie showed the amazing things you can do when faced with the challenge. Great actors and great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, January 15, 2013
This review is from: Lost in the Wild (DVD)
I like this movie, Because Lindsay Wagner did good job playing the nurse.
And I am a fan of Lindsay.
I want to thank you send the movie on time great one, good job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gem, May 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost in the Wild (DVD)
this makes one think you can,t leave not quite yet you have ruminate on what you just seen wagner shows why it is still present she steals the show but she dosen,t do before there is no teneable solution forget the rules just do this when that happens those people can always be counted on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really great "B" movie!, March 25, 2014
By 
Christian Dimas (San Luis Obispo CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost in the Wild (DVD)
This is a very true story that happened to MY OPTEMETRIST! Kudos to those helping professionals who risk their life out there trying to ease the suffering in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the is a movie for crackers, cheese and wine., January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost in the Wild (DVD)
Working together is how we get this done in an orderly way. This movie had suspense and kept me on the edge of my seat. Great GIRL power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is not as good as Angel eyes or Maid in Manhatten, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lost in the Wild (DVD)
But is good for my collection.The quality was great and this movie is almost my Fav. It also got here super quick in spite of the holidays. Where else can you get this service without hunting everywhere.
rita-MN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Terrible, August 7, 2012
This review is from: Lost in the Wild (DVD)
I rented this film because it stars Lindsay Wagner, and I'm a huge fan of hers. That said, this movie was just okay. Wagner was wonderful as always, but the rest of the cast was stiff and the dialog stilted. I doubt I'll watch it again, which is something I rarely say when it comes to a Wagner film. Definitely don't see any need to own this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lost in the Wild
Lost in the Wild by Jennifer Lopez (DVD - 2005)
$14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.