Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, Detailed Research
I have been anticipating this text ever since I heard it was being worked on.

Author Andy Mangeles does an incredible job in telling the story of Mr. Scheimer and Filmation studios. It is so good that one can almost hear Mr. Scheimer's voice as one reads.

Filmation was one of the major animation studios of Saturday Morning Television in the sixties,...
Published 20 months ago by J. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome if it were in color as advertised
I purchased this book based on the fact that the Amazon "Look Inside" feature showed it to be in full color. It looked like a gorgeous book full of color artwork from all the beloved Filmation shows. What I actually received was a book that is ENTIRELY IN BLACK AND WHITE except for a 16-page color insert. It appears there was an edition of this book published in...
Published 16 months ago by Ivo Shandor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, Detailed Research, December 10, 2012
By 
J. Smith "JThree" (Williston, North Dakota United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation (Paperback)
I have been anticipating this text ever since I heard it was being worked on.

Author Andy Mangeles does an incredible job in telling the story of Mr. Scheimer and Filmation studios. It is so good that one can almost hear Mr. Scheimer's voice as one reads.

Filmation was one of the major animation studios of Saturday Morning Television in the sixties, seventies, and eighties. For me, the crown jewel of the series was their animated version of Star Trek, which was visually beautiful, well-written, and kept the Star Trek fires going between the original series and the movies.

Other highlights include Fat Albert, the series created by Bill Cosby, based on his youth, which Filmation produced for over ten years on CBS and later in syndication. The birth of He-Man, one of the first weekday syndicated animated series, that set the shift from Saturday morning cartoons to the 65 episode run that we have today.

I would recommend this book to tv historians, animation buffs, pop culture students, and many others. It also goes into great detail about the influence of unions, both pro and con during the fifties, sixties, and seventies. The preface begins with the infamous story of Filmation pulling a "sharpie" to get National Periodical's rights to put out a Superman cartoon in the mid-sixties. Aided by the soon-to-be famous Ted Knight, Mr. Scheimer and his colleagues secured the rights, and while I confess I have heard the tale before, it is something that many tv and animation buffs should hear.

From there, the narrative moves into Mr. Scheimer's Russian background, and that in itself could go off into another book, but it's wonderful to hear about where today's Americans comes from.

There are incredible anecdotes here. Mr. Scheimer must have an incredible memory or has taken meticulous notes over the years.

Things that caught my attention:
**The Hardy Boys logo from the animated sixties. It certainly reflects the decade.

**Titles of the Fall Network Saturday Morning Specials. Some of these annual productions may be lost, and must be found. Ahh. I remember when the big three networks took pride in what they produced, and tried to promote them. Since these specials featured network stars (in character) promoting cartoons, they would make great extras on certain DVD's.

**While the Flash Gordon animated series is out on DVD, the full length animated version is not.

**The presentation art of some proposed series is simply beautiful.

**Never realized how much He-Man sounded like Reggie (from the sixties and seventies Archie series). They should be, they're both voiced by John Irwin.

**Outstanding stories on the wheeling and dealing of the tv industry, both good and bad. People who want to go into the entertainment business should look at what goes in this book.

**While many of the Filmation TV series are out on DVD, there are still quite a few that aren't out yet. I hope they make it out.

**Some great stories of Hollywood egos. Read about Uncle Croc's Block to hear about how Charles Nelson Reilly clashed with quite a few people.

**It's fascinating how many of today's artists have fond memories of Filmation programs. Alex Ross, Frank Cho, Phil Jimenez have all done artwork on the universes created by Mr. Scheimer's studios.

**Mr. Scheimer even remembers the Filmation artwork cells that were advertised by Starlog magazine. In the seventies and eighties, before there was ebay and the internet, this was one of the few ways to hear about and purchase animation art. That's all we had in the day.

I have to give Mr. Scheimer credit, he did move heaven and earth to make sure his various series' didn't promote bad messages for children, but I'm not always sure how effective those lessons fit into the main story.

Note: There are some adult stories in this book, but Mr.Scheimer gives a bit of warning before telling the tale so keep that in mind if one is telling this to younger audiences. One tale involving Forrest Tucker of Ghostbusters fame is an example of this.

Andy held back on this book several times to include late material, and he must be given credit for making sure that this text was the best it could be.

Lastly, this tome will keep you busy for many, many hours.

JThree
carolyn@nemont.net
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Filmation story from Lou, December 21, 2012
This review is from: Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation (Paperback)
I grew up watching Saturday Morning Cartoons in the 1970's and 1980's. Where it was Star Trek The Animated Series - The Animated Adventures of Gene Roddenberry's Star Trek, Shazam! The Complete Live-Action Series, or The New Adventures of the Lone Ranger and Zorro, I watched many an hour on a Saturday or Sunday morning. This was long before Cartoon Network and Disney Channel. ..mostly Filmation stuff. Now when I was a kid, it did not matter who did the cartoons, I just watched them glued to set. As an adult, I learned who did the cartoons and the voice-over artists(Like Ted Knight, Howard Morris, Jane Webb, etc)

Sorry I digress, This book is a history of Filmation from the man who created the company. Sure this book is talky. Sure, this book digresses a lot. I would assume Andy Mangels interviewed Lou Scheimer for hours and hours. I bet there isa load of interview tapes and materials that didn't make the book. This book seems like an oral history of an animation studio and the many people behind it.

If you remember many of your Saturday Morning Cartoons and want to know the history behind them, this is your book. If you are a film bluff and you like history of Animation, This is a treat

This is what a great history of a film studio is. Forget MGM: When the Lion Roars, this is a real down to earth story of a creative man, his American dream and the animation studio he created. It is a great read

Bennet Pomerantz
AUDIOWORLD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have the power!, November 30, 2012
This review is from: Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation (Paperback)
He-Man. She-Ra. Star Trek. Superman. The Archies. Fat Albert. These are just a few of the successful cartoon properties produced by Filmation over the years. The lasting impact of these programs, especially of Fat Albert and He-Man, cannot be denied. Lou Scheimer, co-founder of Filmation Studios, takes readers behind-the-scenes in Creating the Filmation Generation, showing the evolution of the industry and the struggles he faced along the way.

The front cover of the book features artwork by Emiliano Santalucia, who worked on the He-Man comics released in the 2000s. You can see many of your favorite Filmation characters in the piece, with a photo of the man who brought them to life in the center.

As a child of the eighties, I was of course most interested in the later chapters that deal with He-Man and the Masters of the Universe. Scheimer brought to my mind so many great memories while reading these pages, even though the He-Man section was less than fifty pages itself. There are several black and white images scattered throughout the book, featuring cult classics and forgotten favorites such as Groovy Goolies, My Favorite Martians, and Gilligan's Planet. If there is anything to complain about with this book, it is the lack of color. There are only sixteen pages printed in color, prominently featuring artwork of He-Man, his friends, and his foes. That is, however, a minor complaint when one considers the wealth of insider information Scheimer shares.

Some of the most touching passages have to do with the impact the characters had on the lives of fans. Scheimer shares the story of Josh Johnson, a young man who was blind but loved He-Man. The voice actors in the cartoon recorded a special message for him, and years later he had the opportunity to meet Scheimer himself as a documentary was being filmed for the cartoon's DVD release.

Scheimer should be proud of his work with Filmation Studios, and the positive influence his programs had on the lives of youngsters in the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s...and even today, as children of those decades introduce their children to Filmation cartoons. This book is a fun read, highly recommended for those interested in the animation business and the history of one of the greatest animation studios in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like Sitting Down for Coffee With Scheimer, November 14, 2012
By 
Lee Goldberg (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation (Paperback)
This is a complete, detailed history of the company and all of its animated and live action shows and feature films that reads like the transcripts of a series of unedited inteviews with Scheimer.

The plus side of that is that his character really comes through...you feel if you're having coffee with the guy over the course of several days. He's got lots of great stories to tell, and fascinating information to share, and he makes for lively company.

The downside of that is that he has a tendency to ramble, digress and get easily distracted. He takes some dead-end tangents and often starts some stories that he doesn't quite finish. For instance, he goes into great detail about the making of the Ghostbusters live-action show, and shares some wonderful anecdotes. He also says it was a big hit...but then doesn't explain why, if that was the case, it only lasted one season or what led to its cancellation.

The "it reads like a transcript," first-person construction makes the book unwieldy and frustrating at times...but that's more than made up for by the sheer wealth of information, memorable anecdotes, and tantalizing tidbits that you get. Like this one: they made a pilot for an animated, Saturday morning version of Quinn Martin's series Cannon, which starred William Conrad as a tough private eye. The animated pilot was called Young Cannon and would have been all about this fat kid solving crimes. I'd love to see that!

One of my favorite stories Scheimer tells is about a writer that the network didn't like -- so Scheimer fired the guy and hired a new writer that the network loved. In reality, Scheimer kept he same writer on and just had the guy put a pseudonym on the scripts. Scheimer also has some funny memories to share about Forrest Tucker and Larry Storch, who were big drinkers and started each shooting day of Ghostbusters drunk.

All in all, this is a highly enjoyable book that you don't have to be a Filmmation fan, or very familiar with all of the studio's shows, to appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animation fans rejoice, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation (Paperback)
I've been waiting for this book for 3 years! So glad to finally have it. It is a bit disjointed or meandering in parts but as the definitive recollection of the history of FILMATION as recounted by its founding father there is no better compendium. Filled with amazing stories and images if you grew up on FAT ALBERT, HE-MAN and ISIS you'll love to hear about how all of these shows came into fruition and how Lou struggled to keep American animation alive and thriving through the 70's and 80's.

If you are a FILMATION fan then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great Saturday Morning Programming Book!, March 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation (Paperback)
Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation tells the origin story of how Filmation studios helped make Saturday morning competitive by creating programming that broke ratings records, as well as creating new strategies which helped TV programmers build a better Saturday morning and ratings model for kids' TV. Readers also get the inside on all the major players of the broadcast world who were producing animated and live action programming during the 60s, 70s and 80s. The book also describes how deals were made with networks (prior to cable television), as well as how rival animation studios tried union busting so that animation would be sent overseas. The book has great anecdotes about veteran actors, executives, television pilots and relationships with companies like DC comics. If you want to know how the kids' TV business was back in the day and how guys like Lou Scheimer made it possible to pass the touch to all the new school folks who are running the kids business today, this is the book for you. Lou is truly a class act and this book is a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on the business of animation EVER written., January 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation (Paperback)
From the wonderful photographs, the descriptions of animation productions, and insightful anecdotes, this book had me reading every single bit of it from front to back. I love this book-- it's perfect for ANY fan of animation and the business of television animation, it is truly just a MUST-READ tome. And if you grew up with Filmation cartoons playing on your boob tube such as kids as I did every week, then this is like the animation bible for anyone of that generation. What a fantastic book. May Lou Scheimer live forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOU SCHEIMER: CREATING THE FILMATION GENERATION, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation (Paperback)
Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation is Scheimer’s 2012 autobiography, which he wrote with Andy Mangels. Scheimer co-founded Filmation in 1962, and he was the only one left when the sale to L’Oreal shut the company down in 1989. As such, this book also serves as a comprehensive history of Filmation, which is best known for such cartoons as He-Man and the Masters of the Universe, Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids, and Star Trek: The Animated Series.

The book begins with Scheimer’s parents’ immigration to the United States and his childhood and schooling; from the foundation of Filmation onward, Scheimer keeps things mostly chronological but largely gives a show-by-show account of events. I only have one real complaint about the way the book is laid out—it would have been nice to get more information on the animation process earlier in the book so that certain portions would be easier to follow.

The book has a very conversational tone, which makes it extremely engaging. Scheimer’s personality really comes through unfiltered, and by all accounts, he was quite a character. He never met a tangent he didn’t like, but most of what he has to say is so interesting that it’s easily forgiven (e.g., his dad purportedly punched Hitler in the face).

Scheimer heavily emphasizes his passion and vision for animation throughout the book. He was a trailblazer, he says, for incorporating racial diversity into children’s cartoons, and for producing material that communicated values, morals, and instruction. He was also committed to keeping animation jobs in the United States when most studios were sending large amounts of work overseas (this is, in fact, one of the primary reasons for Filmation’s well-known and oft-maligned stock animation system.

This is a huge book—8.5” by 11”, and almost 300 pages—and it’s kind of unwieldy. It’s worth wrestling with, though, because of the vast number of pictures. Contrary to what its Amazon page would lead you to believe, however, the book is not in full color. Only pp. 209–224 are; the rest are in black and white, so caveat emptor. The book really could have done with some serious copyediting, especially to clean up Scheimer’s serial misuse of “I” when he should have used “me” and the redundancies in the writing (Mangels, isn’t that your job?).

For me, at least, the production and editorial knocks on the book are readily forgivable. Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation gave me a new appreciation for Scheimer, for Filmation, and for some of the cartoons I grew up with; I’m grateful simply that the book exists.

If any of the Filmation shows you grew up with are still meaningful to you as an adult, odds are you’ll find Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, May 28, 2013
By 
Acherre (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation (Paperback)
With the exception of some minor typos, this book is grand. Beyond the sometimes salty language of Lou Scheimer--who does warn you ahead of time, this book is fantastic. Scheimer gives you the inside scoop as he saw things at the time, often trying to be inclusive and attentive to the politics of the day and the educational content kid programming should have. He is proud that Filmation was a pioneer in many respects—ahead of Disney or Hanna-Barbera—by including minority and female characters in its cartoons and later, real-life productions. Fat Albert, Ark II, Shazam!, The Archies, Tarzan, Gilligan’s Island, are just a few of the productions made by Filmation under Scheimer. The writing is easy to read, well written (even when Lou wanders off) and humorous with down-to-earth talk. Plenty of cartoons and celeb photos. The book also details about the workings of behind the scenes to many of its productions and challenges face with the capricious TV networks, as well as lawsuits against Filmation by former employees. Scheimer is surprisingly frank, though civil, about letting readers know who he liked and not liked working with. However, most important, Scheimer feels great pride that Filmation was spearheading the animation/kid programming industry by being very attentive to promote diversity and reflect the America that was growing and now has intensely diversified racially and ethnically. In his productions, minorities and women also had positions of power. Scheimer, who is of Jewish background, understands what it feels to be left out. This is a great book due to its nostalgic content, the stories behind the stories, and fun read. Highly recommend this affordable book that frequently slapped me in the back of my head as it brought fond memories back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicola Says ..., March 26, 2013
By 
This review is from: Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation (Paperback)
A thoroughly intoxicating book for my generation which grew up with these children's shows. Basically I'm in the middle age group here, being too young for the '60s shows, though I did see some of them in reruns. The seventies were definitely my hey-day of Saturday TV-morning cartoons and when it comes to the 80s shows I'm not quite as familiar with them but had my exposure due to babysitting; especially with one little "He-Man" freak-a-zoid boy.. I learned to play He Man action figures while we watched the videos!

Lots of memories came back reading this book and Lou comes across as a super-nice person. Someone with traditional moral values, who took his work seriously in an age that wanted children's programming to be meaningful not just entertaining. Lou is a character, he has some behind the scene tales to tell and asks you to make sure the children leave the room first, he uses * for vowels when he must use swear words when repeating conversations. He has plenty of nice things to say about those he worked with even when the relationship ended badly. Of course, he's not an angel and he didn't get along with everybody, used the word "jerk' a few times but otherwise refuses to talk about the negativity of these people. They existed in such n such a role in his life, he was a jerk, let's move forward. Lou is an old-time classy guy so you won't find any dirt-dishing here.

But what you will find is a treasure trove of detailed information on how Filmation started and what went on behind the scenes at the studios and on the sets of the live action shows. Not only is it a history of Filmation , the company, but also a broader history of the Saturday morning cartoon industry itself.I learned so much information about some of my favourite childhood shows but I also learned tremendous amounts of what went into the animation process before the computer took over. How many shows were developed compared to the ones that got approved and made. I would have really liked to have seen their version of Buck Rogers come to fruition. Lou was a family man, married for almost 60 years before widowed, with two children who joined him in the studio and a daughter who literally followed in his shoe steps career-wise. Amazingly, the book took me a long time to read; it seems deceptively short at only 288 pages, but this is a large coffee table size book and while it has a nice collection of photos and pictures to look at the text is dense, informative, fascinating and I often went back to re-read sections. Lou has a simple down to earth writing style that is very entertaining to read and he seems just like one of the guys rather than a big wig studio executive.

For those of you who can't place what Filmation created let me list some of my favourites: Star Trek: The Animated Series; He Man, Shazam!, Isis, Flash Gordon and Fantastic Voyage; and not my favourites but the company's biggies were The Archies and Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation
Lou Scheimer: Creating the Filmation Generation by Frank Cho (Paperback - December 4, 2012)
$29.95 $22.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.