Customer Reviews


830 Reviews
5 star:
 (477)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (172)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rewards
Great app, but I wanted to help people looking for all the rewards to unlock the Christmas tree decorations. Don't read below unless you are stuck and don't want to find them on your own.

***SPOILER***

Christmas tree - Finish the story
Woodstock - Spill paint on your hands, there's a bucket of paint behind the set with Charlie Brown, pull the...
Published on December 23, 2011 by PatBoersma

versus
34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Grief - Outstanding Mixed with Dross
**While shooting my Free App of the Day video for my YouTube channel, I was demonstrating the page selection screen. Sprinkled through this selection are little scenes marked as "Free" - I tapped on one of them, and it took me right to the IAP store. No lock, not even the bare bones one from the main menu. And no explanation on how that particular scene I tapped on was...
Published 3 days ago by Tinfoot


‹ Previous | 1 283 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rewards, December 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (App)
Great app, but I wanted to help people looking for all the rewards to unlock the Christmas tree decorations. Don't read below unless you are stuck and don't want to find them on your own.

***SPOILER***

Christmas tree - Finish the story
Woodstock - Spill paint on your hands, there's a bucket of paint behind the set with Charlie Brown, pull the paintbrush out to get paint on your finger
Charlie Brown - Find every Charlie Brown
Angel Sally - Sing a carol with the gang
Striped tree - Find every blue & green tree
Little tree - Find every little tree
Snoopy ornament - Make everyone skate
Football ornament - Knock Lucy on her feet by finishing the conversation at the Psychiatric Help scene
Tinsel - Help fix up Charlie Brown's tree, this one was tricky I did it about 5 times before it finally gave me the reward. Help the crew decorate the tree by clicking everything basically.
Snowflake ornament - Catch all 25 snowflakes
Star tree stand - Touch 5 stars
Woodstock ornament - Play "Linus & Lucy" on the piano
Snoopy on doghouse - Help Snoopy turn on all his lights in the scene where Charlie Brown is standing by the doghouse with the little tree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, December 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (App)
I liked this app from the title page - the 45rpm record plays the theme song, complete with a touch of static, just like an actual, old school record player - but, beyond that- I have this on my kindle fire - I turned pages and listened to the story with narration, I shut that off and it spoke only a single word that I selected ( to help beginning readers) all the animation worked without a glitch- including the famous toy piano. I really like this one -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Grief - Outstanding Mixed with Dross, December 23, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (App)
**While shooting my Free App of the Day video for my YouTube channel, I was demonstrating the page selection screen. Sprinkled through this selection are little scenes marked as "Free" - I tapped on one of them, and it took me right to the IAP store. No lock, not even the bare bones one from the main menu. And no explanation on how that particular scene I tapped on was "free" in a $5 dollar activity... just a listing of all the IAP packs. I am even more disappointed now than I was before.**

Well, I downloaded the app on a new 2014 model, 10.1" Quad-Core 4x1.24ghz, 1gig Ram 1800x600 HD (IPS) tablet running KitKat 4.4.2 with an stripped down Running Process listing - I make mention of this because it crashed out 1/3rd of the way through the story. This is not a good thing...

And as for the IAP - well, as many as you may know, I tend to be slightly more lenient on such things than others, even in a premium app, as well as not often taking account of regular pricing of a Free App showcase... but it is rather ridiculous. They only offer Christmas Tree ornaments for tree decoration. That's it. Not more stories or mini-games... trees and tree ornaments. Uh, okay. And there is a LOT of them. You'd think for the already hefty price this app normally commands, any additional IAP would be some serious content. Then add in the fact this is indeed a primary target of young children and children with a mere slide-lock as the "Store" safety feature. Good Grief!

So aside from the crashing on a powerful tablet and the head-hanging IAP, the rest of the permissions and code are clean. You can take pictures from with the app, thus that Camera permission, and the code is clean from any kind of analytics. Does contain Facebook and Twitter code just in case your six year old wants to post his real life tree. Yo yo yo, check out Little Johnny's Christmas Bling!

The app itself is extremely polished - a sheer delight to the eyes and possibly the best, hands down, read-along app I have ever seen. Just an awful, ugly shame it had to have IAP (and a lot of it) for fluffy content, and the irregular crashing.

I want to say grab it, in spite of the IAP, because as long as you are aware of it, you can ensure the tablet is Offline and/or Parental Lock is on the Amazon Appstore In-App Purchasing. The presentation is just that supreme. Yet that crashing - I just don't have the heart to recommend something that may make a young child upset that something "broke".

:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Developer Seems to Believe Christmas is About Selling Stuff, December 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (App)
[UPDATE: It seems someone didn't like my review, where it was the 4th most popular review. Amazon apparently removed it.]

"Isn't there anyone who knows what Christmas is all about?!" Only Charlie Brown can turn the magic of Christmas into a problem. And only the developer can turn a Christmas classic into a Grinch story.

Charles Schulz would be horrified to see how he's life's work has been corrupted.

IN-APP PURCHASING in anything designed for young children is *unacceptable* in any form. This app is already very expensive in comparison to other Android applications, and it's been around for a few years. Do you want to see the faces of those responsible? Simply take a look at the developer's "about us" page. Such innocent-looking people. Looks can be deceptive, just like this app.

Shame on you, Loud Crow Interactive, for this abominable behavior!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Better off watching the movie on TV, December 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (App)
In-App-Purchasing for an application based on the work of the late Charles M Schultz. That's just rude. Making additional money off of something which isn't rightfully yours.

Robert Reese already spoke my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, December 17, 2011
By 
Dan Cermak (Champaign, Il, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (App)
I bought this app for my kindle fire and had no problems with it. It was very interactive, fun and I felt as if I was watching the TV show with the added bonus of being a part of it. It is highly enjoyable and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Christmas, for this developer, is about making money., December 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (App)
"Isn't there anyone who knows what Christmas is all about?!" Only Charlie Brown can turn the magic of Christmas into a problem. And only the developer can turn a Christmas classic into a Grinch story.

Charles Schultz would be horrified to see how he's life's work has been corrupted.

IN-APP PURCHASING in anything designed for young children is *unacceptable* in any form. This app is already very expensive in comparison to other Android applications, and it's been around for a few years. Do you want to see the faces of those responsible? Simply take a look at the developer's "about us" page. Such innocent-looking people. Looks can be deceptive, just like this app.

Shame on you, Loud Crow Interactive, for this abominable behavior!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I felt like a kid again, but be careful of the IAPs built into the app!, December 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (App)
While I liked this app a lot I was surprised to see the InApp Purchases and links to the social media in a child book. This makes no sense except to make more money on an app that already costs $4.99 to purchase. Just note you can use your Airplane mode to turn off access to the Internet. I would have given this app a 5 star rating but the IAPs and social media built into a child's app deducted a star.

This is really a cute App and the graphics are wonderful. They almost look 3D. Touch the characters and snowflakes and things in the picture and watch them interact with you. Turn on lights, play the piano, spill paint and leave fingerprints on everything. Find all of the hidden decorations for the tree to win a prize.

Pull down on the ribbon to go to different places in the story. Touch the characters make them move and sing. The animation is very cute. Find the ornaments in the story and touch certain secret items to win tree decorations. Gather the Christmas ornaments to decorate the tree and touch the snowflakes to make them change into more beautiful snowflakes. You can even touch the words in the story and the Kindle Fire will speak the word helping your children to learn how to read.

Don't touch Pig Pen as the dirt will fly! I felt like a kid again watching Charlie Brown for the first time. Your kids and you will love this.

You will notice that on the main page you can take pictures using you front or rear facing camera. I found this odd for a child's app. There is also a link to share your photo on Facebook. There is a link to go to a store and you have to slide a control across the screen to gain access. You are offered to purchase multiple Peanuts gang items on the page. They range in price from $0.99 to $2.99 in price. You can also purchase Snoopy Santa Pack tree tops and Ornaments for $0.99.at the end of the book there are other offers like to get a DVD or Blu-ray disk of the Charlie Brown Christmas. You can also visit a website to purchase more books by Loud Crow.

Permissions:
* Take pictures and videos
* Modify or delete the contents of your USB storage
* Full network access
* Google Play billing services

The app contains Amazon InApp billing and Google InApp billing. In addition it contains the code for access to Facebook and twitter but you have to opt in to allow access to that item. The app contains no adware or malware or Analytics in it.

The app installed 3.29MB into my device memory and 57.00MB onto my SD storage card automatically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the full story., December 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (App)
In addition to the 5 bucks this app normally costs, the Christmas miracle of in-app purchasing will allow you to see the whole story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars doesnt size well for phones, December 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (App)
this looks well done and would probably be amazing on a tablet but on my g2 the text is too small. some of the audio is difficult to understand as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 283 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Charlie Brown Christmas
A Charlie Brown Christmas by Loud Crow Interactive Inc.
$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.