Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of Metal have done it again
As an incarnated Manowar fan I was very exited about how this album would be before it was released. I have all the Manowar albums and I wasn't sure if they could manage to create another masterpiece as the previous releases. But they did! The Louder Than Hell album fits right in to the fine collection. It is an outstanding CD full of adventures and excellent performed...
Published on July 13, 1998 by achilleus@usa.net

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent
Not their best, but solid. Get "Kings of Metal" or "Hail to England" first.
Published on July 29, 2005 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of Metal have done it again, July 13, 1998
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
As an incarnated Manowar fan I was very exited about how this album would be before it was released. I have all the Manowar albums and I wasn't sure if they could manage to create another masterpiece as the previous releases. But they did! The Louder Than Hell album fits right in to the fine collection. It is an outstanding CD full of adventures and excellent performed metal music. The music style on this album is very alike the style the play on the Kings of Metal album and the Fighting the World album. Well, if you like Manowar or adventure metal in general this album is album will suit your CD drawer perfect...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As simple and effective as a baseball bat to the forehead., December 13, 2002
By 
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
Louder than Hell is really a proper title for this release. This is the loudest, hardest and most unrelenting release from these long-time metal gods. Manowar goes for the simple, brutally powerful beauty of power chords and lots of double kick drum thunder here, and to good effect. If you can sit still and not feel like kicking some ... with this disk on, perhaps they should take you out back and bury you. If there was ever a disk to get hyped up for weight lifting, this would be the one. Manowar shows us nothing new, other than a new shredder at the guitar post (the capable Karl Logan). Courage, the ballad/heroic ode of this disk, might seem a bit odd to some of you who've not been indoctrinated into the ways of Manowar, but you'll end up humming it in the car one day, mark my words. Not as powerful as "Triumph of Steel" (lacks the mighty Rhino's drumming), as classically Manowar as "Kings of Metal", or as wonderfully "True Metal" as "Hail to England", but a must-have for both fans and newcomers to the Manowar world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OH HELL YEAH! Heavy Metaaaaaaaaaaal!, October 24, 1999
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
This album is very good indeed (as are all manowars albums), This is their latest studio album.
The differnce between this album and the rest is that it is a bit heavier (But don't let that put you off if you don't like it heavy, it's still classic manowar) Also Manowar have a new guitar player who is really good, as good as ross the boss (No disrespect to ross by the way)
Songs like 'Outlaw','Brothers of Metal','The power' and 'The gods made heavy metal' make me so glad I bought this album. Some people I know don't like 'Courage' but if you take it as what it is, not a metal song but just a really well written song, you will enjoy it, eric's vocals are superb.
Buy this album, don't stop to ask questions just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRUE METAL!!!, August 18, 2004
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
first and formost, the review written by 'Thor' from NY, must be considered to be one of amazons most hilarious,(albeit for all the wrong reasons!) reviews i have ever read, as i write this review i still have a tear in my eye as i have not been able to stop laughing at the childish and musically immature comments made by this ignaramous.

1.ManowaR rule

2.ManowaR rule!

3.they still rule.

And as far as 'amaturish musicianship' goes, you should check out the so called 'metal' being produced today, fully grown men beating out ear searing vocals that i could match with a few choice farts, and the kind of guitar ability shown by a clumsy child.

This ladies and gentlemen is one Of MANOWARS best, and for that metals best, And as the reviewer thor pointed out the musicianship is supposedly 'amaturish!'

i laugh as i say this because the guitar solo called 'my spirit lives on' on this masterpiece is widely regarded as one of the most technically impressive solos on cd.

This album is brilliant every song a feat of excellence

and any who disagree should hold their judgements and go listen to 'louder than hell' again, and really listen, it is true Metal

LONG LIVE TRUE METAL!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, July 29, 2005
By 
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
Not their best, but solid. Get "Kings of Metal" or "Hail to England" first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love these guys!, December 2, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
I first got into Manowar in college in 1991. I grabbed everything of theirs I could, but the fact i couldn't fins any new material made me nervous, that perhaps like Guns n'Roses (another supremely talented but short-lived band) they'd faded away. Fortunately this album came out in 1996, making me glad that I believed and kept waiting. A couple of songs aren't their strongest, and may seem a bit like earlier albums to longtime fans, but for new fans or old ones, it's a gotta-have. "Outlaw" is perhaps one of the three greatest Manowar songs ever, and "Number 1" and "The Power" are fantastic too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Number 1, October 29, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
Best Albums from one of the best bands ever.
Return to the Warlord starts up the album with a great masterpiece. Brothers of Metal forever made the Manowar fans into Brothers of Metal, it is an awesome track which has got the audience singing parts of the chorus. The Gods Made Heavy Metal is once again a song looking at metal, it is a great Manowar style song, the chorus is just pure awesome. Courage is a beutiful song, it is a real amazing song.
The Power is a Manowar classic with a greta echo sound to the singing.
Manowar carries on the great style of the 80s and keep up TRUE METAL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars king of metal keepin' metal alive, November 13, 2002
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
Manowar can make a record completely loyal to their fans anytime, everytime. Through tragedy and discomfort they have emerged as one of the most loyal metal bands, and this record pays tribute to their tenacity. With songs like courage and return of the worlord, Manowar shows us they can still blow our brains out and have us coming back for more. For anyone that wants to return to a time when courage was everthing, purchace this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manowar is great !!!!, January 30, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
When all the heavy metal bands are letting their old fans down, Manowar is one of the very few honorable excpetions. Once more they deliver an impecable hevy metal album, Manowar stile. This is arguably their best album (not counting the live albuns). Songs like The Return of the Warlord, King and The Gods Made Heavy Metal are already classics of the genre. Buy it now !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Louder than Hell is a great album!!, January 24, 2006
This review is from: Louder Than Hell (Audio CD)
There is one song in the album that I thought was going to a piano ballad and then it immediately picks up steam and momentum. The only problem I had with this album is one song that sounded like noise and an instrumental seemed out of place. It is a great album and worth listening to. Manowar's Louder Than Hell is an awesome album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Louder Than Hell
Louder Than Hell by Manowar (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.