Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid live album- Especially when one was not intended
Drowning Pool had stated in various interviews that they had no intentions of making a live album. As they toured with now permanent(hopefully) singer Ryan McCombs after the release of Full Circle, they gained a number of new fans. At one show(this show), they were offered to make a live album. they said they would allow it to be recorded, but were undecided as to...
Published on April 4, 2009 by Paramecium

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I have mixed feelings about this album.
Having seen Drowning Pool put on one of the best live shows I've ever seen a little over a year ago, I was expecting big things from this release. Perhaps my expectations were too high, but it just didn't do a whole lot for me. It's definitely a solid live record, but it lacks "wow" factor.

McCombs (predictably) sounds best on the tracks from DP's most recent...
Published on March 14, 2009 by Ben


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid live album- Especially when one was not intended, April 4, 2009
This review is from: Loudest Common Denominator (Audio CD)
Drowning Pool had stated in various interviews that they had no intentions of making a live album. As they toured with now permanent(hopefully) singer Ryan McCombs after the release of Full Circle, they gained a number of new fans. At one show(this show), they were offered to make a live album. they said they would allow it to be recorded, but were undecided as to whether or not they wanted it published. This is why, when you hear the album, you hear their concert. No effects, nothing re-done, or produced differently, what you get is what a real Drowning Pool concert is like. And with so many tweaks done in the business regarding the final copy of live albums, Drowning Pool show true musicianship as they refuse to alter what is real.

The album has it's faults, for one the short length of the album (especially if you don't count the bonus acoustic tracks) can leave you hanging. Also acoustic cuts in their newer material could not be done with real acoustics, so you'll have to settle for just clean guitars, which is not too bad.

One part that has already stirred up a teeny tiny bit of controversy is the segment right before(or after, I forget) their song Soldiers. It is Ryan McCombs talking about supporting troops in Iraq, which has been a big part of Drowning Pools message as of 2005. This has been taken wrong by lots of people, thinking they were supporting the war in Iraq, when really, as stated in an interview, they were only speaking about supporting troops coming home and the fact that some of them actually make it back alive.

War is a touchy subject, but Drowning Pool isn't afraid to step up and instead of just criticize the government, they support the lives of those who put it at risk every day, regardless of your opinions on the war, regardless of theirs.

All in all, Loudest Common Denominator is a good solid live album that is perfect to keep fans happy while they finish recording their new album. Though hardly an album for the sheer fact this album was hardly intended, it's a good listen, any Drowning Pool fan won't be displeased.

-Paramecium
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I have mixed feelings about this album., March 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loudest Common Denominator (Audio CD)
Having seen Drowning Pool put on one of the best live shows I've ever seen a little over a year ago, I was expecting big things from this release. Perhaps my expectations were too high, but it just didn't do a whole lot for me. It's definitely a solid live record, but it lacks "wow" factor.

McCombs (predictably) sounds best on the tracks from DP's most recent album, Full Circle, and he does really well with a couple of the songs from Sinner (most notably "Tear Away"), but the feeling that there is something lacking just surrounds this album. Though Ryan also makes "Step Up" (the only track taken from Desensitized) his own, "Sinner" and "Reminded" don't quite cut it, and I found myself thinking "This is good, but it's not Dave" numerous times while listening to the tracks from Sinner.

If you can get past the absence of Dave Williams, this cd sounds great. The production is top notch (the bass doesn't get dwarfed by the other instruments, which isn't always the case on live albums), the song selection is excellent (the only big one missing is "All Over Me"), and the two acoustic tracks at the end are extremely well done, "Shame" being my favorite song on the cd.

The real disappointment with this album, and any live release, really, is that the energy of the band isn't captured. Drowning Pool have always been appealing to me because of their intensity and dominating presence onstage, and when that factor is taken away I start to compare Dave and Ryan vocally. No one will ever be able to duplicate Dave's style, unfortunately.

My recommendation: See Drowning Pool live if you get the chance. Ryan McCombs can't compete with Dave Williams vocally, but no one can ignore the fact that he has an equally mostrous presence and high level of energy onstage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the only downside is that it's too short., March 6, 2009
This review is from: Loudest Common Denominator (Audio CD)
that's the only thing wrong with the album... it's too short... now I know Drowning Pool aren't out doing Metallica length shows or anything, nor do i expect them too. But another 2 or 3 songs would've been great, and leave the acoustic jams for an itunes download or something.

I've been a DP fan since 'Sinner' - and while Dave's memory still lives on, and it's hard to replace his commanding presence on stage, I think it's time to let the past be the past, and forge ahead with Ryan - who does great on the older songs btw... I don't expect Ryan to sound like Dave, I expect Ryan to sound like Ryan - and any fan hoping that he'll capture whatever IT factor Dave had should really quit holding their breath... Ryan is his own man - and easily fits better with this band than Jason Jones ever did.

now back to the album.... almost every song was performed great, the only "weak" one would be Sinner, but thats out of the way first... Might I also add, that Ryan owns the song Step Up in a way that Jones could never do live.... but as a whole, this album is definitely a must for any Drowning Pool fan.... my only gripe as i said, it's too short on the live material.... would've loved to hear live versions of I Am, Told You So, Killin' Me, 37 Stitches or even their cover of Rebel Yell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like this music alot!, September 16, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loudest Common Denominator (Audio CD)
What can I say, I hoped this would be Soil reinvented somehow. I do like this music though, how can you not with a lead singer's voice like that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dave Smiles With Gratitude, March 5, 2009
This review is from: Loudest Common Denominator (Audio CD)
I'm sure that Dave Williams often grabs his buddy Dimebag Darrell, and together they find a comfortable perch to look down from Heaven at some of the live shows that their respective brothers are doing without the fallen icons. Dave must feel particularly honored watching Drowning Pool's current live shows, because Drowning Pool have attempted to keep Dave on Earth vicariously through new singers...and by sticking to the Drowning Pool band name.

Almost half of the live songs on Loudest Common Denominator are from Drowning Pool's first CD Sinner that was recorded back in 2001 with Williams. So Dave must be proud. But if you want a real taste of what Drowning Pool was like with Dave Williams, I'd highly suggest finding a copy of Sinema, a DVD release from the Williams era of DP. Because while Ryan McCombs (formerly of Soil) pays great tribute to Dave on Loudest Common Denominator, all he really did for me was make me hurtfully long for the days that Williams was in the band.

Loudest Common Denominator isn't a bad CD; it's a good one. Especially if you're a fan of Drowning Pool's 2007 studio album with McCombs called Full Circle. The crowd is clearly into it. And CJ Pierce (guitar), Mike Luce (drums) and Stevie Benton (bass) all must have huddled with McCombs prior to the show and said, "let's knock it out of the park tonight!" The music is tight and overall the CD rocks.

But as talented as McCombs is (McCombs' best work can be heard on Soil's Redefine), he just doesn't truly emulate the heartfelt intensity that Williams laid down with Drowning Pool. Like I said, the 5 songs from Sinner on Loudest Common Denominator are a fine tribute, but, well, it's just not Drowning Pool.

The best song with McCombs on Loudest Common Denominator is Enemy from Full Circle. The best songs on Loudest Common Denominator would be better listened to by picking up Sinner or Sinema. So add Loudest Common Denominator to your cart if McCombs with Drowning Pool is your thing. But if you're as dedicated to the irreplaceable Williams-era Drowning Pool as I apparently am, you NEED to find a copy of Sinema, or just give Sinner a nostalgic listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a sneak peek for anyone who hasn't seen them live, December 9, 2010
By 
This review is from: Loudest Common Denominator (Audio CD)
To anybody who has not seen drowning pool live, this is serves as a preview as to how they sound live and what the guys are really like. I like this is and i recommend it for any fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drowning Pool Loudest Common Denominator, April 24, 2009
This review is from: Loudest Common Denominator (Audio CD)
This is a okay cd,but not their best work. The band has never been the same since their original singer Dave Williams died.Drowning Pool's ''Sinner'' cd is their best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Loudest Common Denominator
Loudest Common Denominator by Drowning Pool (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.