Customer Reviews


398 Reviews
5 star:
 (244)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, but a disapointing DVD/Blu Ray Release
Louie Season 1 is comedy spliced with some thought provoking moments and general insight into a comedians life, be it heightened dramatically for more comic effect.
Now the season itself is great, but the Blu-Ray/DVD combo release is a great idea but can fall short on some fronts.
I have to admit one big issue being you can get fingermarks on the discs which...
Published on August 11, 2011 by M Brooker

versus
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Subpar Blu-Ray Release
Please note that my review does not in any way mean to suggest that Louie is anything short of a spectacular series. This is a great show, but there's something really wrong with this release.

For a show originally shot in HD, I'm really confused about how the transfer to Blu-Ray could be so disappointing. The video quality on these episodes is very uneven,...
Published on August 3, 2011 by Jeff the Zombie


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, but a disapointing DVD/Blu Ray Release, August 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Louie Season 1 is comedy spliced with some thought provoking moments and general insight into a comedians life, be it heightened dramatically for more comic effect.
Now the season itself is great, but the Blu-Ray/DVD combo release is a great idea but can fall short on some fronts.
I have to admit one big issue being you can get fingermarks on the discs which isn't such a big deal, but some temperamental players will then struggle or not play the disc.

The other issue is that this is a release to the public so carries an adult rating, so why does it still have censored swearing and censored remarks? I'm all too aware that on American t.v. this is normal procedure, but really a DVD release needing the same treatment?
I'm not bringing this up as i want to sound like the swearing is a big deal or i need this to enjoy the Season, but if its going to be ultimately censored even when it comes to release to DVD and Blu Ray you might as well consider cutting those scenes as the viewer is not getting the material as it was intended to be delivered.

Great Season, DVD/Blu Ray Combo is a decent idea which could well be utilized better in future. I look forward to more seasons, but uncensored DVD/Blu Ray would be more prefered as it feels like your not getting the material in its entirerity as Louis C.K probably wished you to view/hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Comedy Winner For FX--Louis CK Refines His Sitcom Formula And Provides Some Of The Year's Biggest Laughs, April 27, 2011
Somehow, the FX Network has become the go-to channel for cutting edge entertainment. Their successful comedy line-up features some of the brightest and most daring programs on the air--embracing an outrageous lewdness that regular network TV doesn't touch. Louis CK is certainly a talented comedian and I've followed his exploits for many years. But in truth, I was no huge fan of his short-lived HBO endeavor "Lucky Louie." With so many peripheral characters, this non-traditional family sitcom simply spread itself too thin and never felt particularly cohesive. There were moments of brilliance, but the "everything but the kitchen sink" approach to comedy never really allowed a closeness to the main characters. I say this not to be berated by its fans (which will happen) but to explain that I almost didn't watch "Louie." And that would have been a big mistake. Here, Louis CK has refined his character (pretty much playing himself) into a lovably awkward every man struggling to get by.

I feel, without a doubt, that this is his break-through moment and performance. Incorporating comedy club footage into each episode (but to more laughs and purpose than Seinfeld did), some of these sets are fall-on-the-floor funny. Pushing past the edge of good taste, Louis CK leads you right into the crudest scenarios possible but never loses you. I won't contend that this was the best show of the year--but it easily had some of the biggest singular laughs of the current TV season. Interspersed within the club material, we see Louie struggle with life's daily misadventures. Whether taking care of his daughters or exploring the dating realm, this is a guy you can identify with and share in his frustrations and challenges. I feel like Louis CK really lets the viewer into his world and invites us to partake in the unified silliness of humanity.

Of course, Louis CK is the primary creative force behind the show so it's refreshing to see such openness. And it really does pay off. As with any sitcom, you will have your favorite episodes. Season One consists of 13 complete shows (even though as of 4/27/11, Amazon has the runtime of this DVD listed incorrectly as 23 minutes). A particular favorite in our household was the recurring character of Ricky Gervais--and old friend of Louie and a doctor on the show. The irrepressible Gervais lives to torture his old buddy and the humor in these sequences is so disturbingly wrongheaded, it borders on offensive genius. "Louie" may not be for the most sensitive of viewers--it is not an old fashioned sitcom--but if you like a little edge and bite, I'd definitely say you should give this a try! Season Two pops up on FX on Thursday, June 23--so they haven't given you much time to catch up via DVD. But it's an easy recommendation--and from someone who almost didn't watch the show! KGHarris, 4/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mold breaking show., June 12, 2011
By 
Booya! Werewolves! (Lincoln, Ne United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Louie: Season 1 (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo in DVD Packaging) (Blu-ray)
If you've seen Louie's stand up you know what to expect, laugh till you're in pain humor. But more than the gleeful excess of serious and honest gut laughter this show provides, there are also some really painful moments in which we find Louie put into an awkward or terrible situation. These scenes are so tense and gut wrenching it's almost painful to watch, but in a good way. It's not like the stressful wacky scenarios of Seinfeld, but situations that evoke real feelings of discomfort and embarrassment that's I find really compelling, and an excellent partner to the in your face comedy of the inappropriate.

The balance between regular joke humor and the much more subtle comedy of these horrific situations is struck admirably.

I think this show is a good example of what a real genius in the field can do with complete control of a production.

Its unique, shameless, and most importantly insanely funny, much like Louie himself. So glad it's getting multiple seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Subpar Blu-Ray Release, August 3, 2011
By 
Jeff the Zombie (Washington, D.C.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Louie: Season 1 (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo in DVD Packaging) (Blu-ray)
Please note that my review does not in any way mean to suggest that Louie is anything short of a spectacular series. This is a great show, but there's something really wrong with this release.

For a show originally shot in HD, I'm really confused about how the transfer to Blu-Ray could be so disappointing. The video quality on these episodes is very uneven, particularly for very dark scenes. Considering how great this show looked in HD during its original broadcast, it's a shame that certain sequences on the Blu-Ray are washed out. I'm guessing this is due to the compression needed to mash the episodes down onto two Blu-Ray/DVD hybrid discs. Whatever the cause, it might be better to stick with the original DVD release and not go with the DVD/Blu-Ray combo version, or just go with digital streaming.

Considering how much time and effort creator Louis CK put into a show that looks as good as this one does, it's a real shame that the studio dropped the ball in transferring the series to Blu-Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart Comedy for Discerning Viewers, August 27, 2011
This review is from: Louie: Season 1 (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo in DVD Packaging) (Blu-ray)
This is Louie C.K.'s anti-sitcom, a work of pure inspiration and creativity, that refuses to pander to the bulk of television watching nit-wits who turn on the boob tube to be spoon fed punchline after punchline. Funny is only a fraction of the equation, as the bulk of the show is mainly focused on realism, existentialism, (who am I, why am I here, what is the meaning of this?) and the crushingly hum-drum grind of everyday life. Louie's struggles with being a divorcee', familial strife, his own degrading health, and his inability to connect with other people provide moments of transcendent television, that go so far beyond a comedy series, it is almost unfair to pigeonhole it as such. There are definite moments of hilarity, and each episode features a small stand-up segment that usually offers the most laughs, but some episodes are funny in their subject matter alone: a doctor (Ricky Gervais) who is a little too close with Louie for comfort; Louie being told as an eight year old how to pleasure a woman, by his father; and a dentist who uses knock out gas as more than an anaesthetic. Where "Louie" as a series really shines, is in it's depiction of the maddeningly mediocre. The real world that you and I live in as seen through the eyes of a sweet, funny man may not sound that interesting, but any true fan of the show knows that these are the moments of pure gold and the reason this series is so endearing. I don't want this to become another "Arrested Development", where a brilliant series only lasts three seasons because the I.Q. of T.V. watchers has plunged further than the stock market! Watch this, you'll either get it or you won't, and if you don't there's plenty of other shows out there for you, but if you do, there's only one show as true, honest, heartfelt, and hilarious as Louie. This is smart comedy for discerning viewers. Reality show idiots and broadcast sitcom fools need not bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ignore this warning at your peril, May 20, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Louie: Season 1 (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo in DVD Packaging) (Blu-ray)
As a few others wrote, this disc did not play well. I tried it in two DVD players. The first episode was fine. The second one broke up, skipped parts, then froze. The third one froze until I opened the disc drawer.
I love this show, started watching in the second season and wanted to catch up. I can't believe this company didn't listen to the complaints and fix their production problems.
The good news is that Amazon makes returns very easy, with downloadable package labels, full refunds, and free return mailing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CENSORED!?! Are you kidding me right now?!?!, September 23, 2011
By 
Todd Siechen (Beaverton, Oregon USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK, like most other people here - Love the series, but for some reason the DVDs are CENSORED!?! HELLO!? Are you kidding me? Was looking forward to having this fantastic series uncensored but the bleeps are still there. Sent mine back for a refund. I don't want my comedy censored thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Comedy Winner For FX--Louis CK Refines His Sitcom Formula And Provides Some Of The Year's Biggest Laughs, June 9, 2011
Somehow, the FX Network has become the go-to channel for cutting edge entertainment. Their successful comedy line-up features some of the brightest and most daring programs on the air--embracing an outrageous lewdness that regular network TV doesn't touch. Louis CK is certainly a talented comedian and I've followed his exploits for many years. But in truth, I was no huge fan of his short-lived HBO endeavor "Lucky Louie." With so many peripheral characters, this non-traditional family sitcom simply spread itself too thin and never felt particularly cohesive. There were moments of brilliance, but the "everything but the kitchen sink" approach to comedy never really allowed a closeness to the main characters. I say this not to be berated by its fans (which will happen) but to explain that I almost didn't watch "Louie." And that would have been a big mistake. Here, Louis CK has refined his character (pretty much playing himself) into a lovably awkward every man struggling to get by.

I feel, without a doubt, that this is his break-through moment and performance. Incorporating comedy club footage into each episode (but to more laughs and purpose than Seinfeld did), some of these sets are fall-on-the-floor funny. Pushing past the edge of good taste, Louis CK leads you right into the crudest scenarios possible but never loses you. I won't contend that this was the best show of the year--but it easily had some of the biggest singular laughs of the current TV season. Interspersed within the club material, we see Louie struggle with life's daily misadventures. Whether taking care of his daughters or exploring the dating realm, this is a guy you can identify with and share in his frustrations and challenges. I feel like Louis CK really lets the viewer into his world and invites us to partake in the unified silliness of humanity.

Of course, Louis CK is the primary creative force behind the show so it's refreshing to see such openness. And it really does pay off. As with any sitcom, you will have your favorite episodes. Season One consists of 13 complete shows. A particular favorite in our household was the recurring character of Ricky Gervais--and old friend of Louie and a doctor on the show. The irrepressible Gervais lives to torture his old buddy and the humor in these sequences is so disturbingly wrongheaded, it borders on offensive genius. "Louie" may not be for the most sensitive of viewers--it is not an old fashioned sitcom--but if you like a little edge and bite, I'd definitely say you should give this a try! Season Two pops up on FX on Thursday, June 23--so get caught up. It's an easy recommendation--and from someone who almost didn't watch the show! KGHarris, 4/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, April 2, 2011
This review is from: Louie: Season 1 (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo in DVD Packaging) (Blu-ray)
As a Brit, I was first introduced to Louis CK by Ricky Gervais, and came across his stand up and previous sitcom, which were pretty good. This series by contrast is by far one of the best television programmes I have seen in years.

Louie is heartfelt and honest, and brutal. It is sometimes very funny, but is best seen as an engaging and witty drama series.

What is particularly exciting is that Louie is entirely autered by its creator Louis CK, who writes, directs, produces, acts as star and edits the show. He comes across as very human in every sense. He bears his soul and shows the dark recesses of his soul and through this his warmth and humanity also shine through.

I can't recommend this show highly enough, it is sometimes challenging as all good television should be, but you can also see each episode in bite size chunks. The contrast between the strength of this show, and the formulaic, tired generic and obvious humor of other traditional sitcoms is very striking.

Watch this programme, it will stay with you.

(PS I realise I'm posting this on an American website, where you spell programme differently. The English came up with the English language and that's how we spell that word, ok?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for the Series, 0 Stars for the Discs, July 2, 2011
By 
JV (Visalia, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Louie: Season 1 (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo in DVD Packaging) (Blu-ray)
Imagine a series written almost entirely by Louis CK, which is then directed by Louis CK, and actually edited by Louis CK on a 13" Macbook, and know that he doesn't need network approval at any point in the process. That's Louie. Sometimes it's not a comedy at all ("Bully"), sometimes it's over-the-top and surreal ("Travel Day/South"), sometimes it's just... way too hard to describe. But it's literally worth buying for his episode commentaries alone!

It has to be said though that the discs are truly awful. Blu-Ray on one side and DVD on the other is a guarantee that whatever format you prefer, you've just paid more for the side you're not going to use. Not only that, but people have reported they don't play properly in Blu-Ray players. In my experience, both discs skipped a lot (one episode wouldn't play at all) in two separate DVD players of mine. And I'm pretty sure this is not all in my head: I think the discs are a tiny bit thicker than a regular DVD, because both discs got stuck in one of my DVD trays. I'm sending my copy back for an exchange, hopefully they'll change it to separate formats.

Update: Amazon replaced my copy and the discs play perfectly. I was scared all the discs would be like that since they're flippers. I haven't checked to see if they get stuck in the DVD tray, but honestly, Louie is worth unscrewing the top of my DVD player every single time I want to watch it. Upgrading this to five stars since the episode that skipped originally ended up being really, really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Louie: Season 1 (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo in DVD Packaging)
$29.99 $17.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.