Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Louisa May Alcott (Biography (Lerner Hardcover)) Hardcover – September, 1998


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$8.50 $1.94
Best%20Books%20of%202014
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Year-End Kindle Daily Deals
Load your library with great books for $2.99 or less each, today only. Learn more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 11 and up
  • Grade Level: 6 and up
  • Lexile Measure: 1070L (What's this?)
  • Series: Biography (Lerner Hardcover)
  • Hardcover: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Lerner Publications (September 1998)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0822549387
  • ISBN-13: 978-0822549383
  • Product Dimensions: 8.6 x 6.4 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #4,187,584 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 4-7-This well-written, highly readable biography captures the life and times of Louisa May Alcott, prolific and independent writer, dutiful daughter, and devoted nurse during the Civil War. It also provides an insightful look at the Alcott family whose lifestyle was certainly not a conventional one. In particular, the difficulties that Bronson Alcott, Louisa's father, created for his family are effectively depicted. Throughout the book, parallels and contrasts between the Alcotts and the fictional March family unfold. Both Alcott's personal life and writing career are effectively explored. Like the TV biographies, this is a lucid and inspirational production with the A & E trademark conspicuously displayed on the jacket. It covers the same ground as Carol Greene's Louisa May Alcott (Children's, 1984; o.p.) and Norma Johnston's Louisa May (Four Winds, 1991), but still makes a fine addition if biographies are in high demand.
Carol Schene, Taunton Public Schools, MA
Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Kirkus Reviews

This slim, readable entry in the A&E Biography series will appeal to fans of Little Women; Ruth makes extensive use of Alcott's journal writings and letters and makes clear where real life and fiction converged. The author describes the Alcotts' difficult lives, due in large part to Bronson, whose philosophical views kept the family near bankruptcy. Although Ruth is careful about her sources and end notes, it's not always apparent which ideas and events are hers and which are from Alcott's writings. Still, this is an interesting look at a well-loved figure, with black-and-white reproductions and photographs for added appeal. It's also a de facto introduction to transcendentalism. (bibliography, index) (Biography. 10-14) -- Copyright ©1998, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Aristocats on May 22, 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Although this book is written for the YA crowd, I chose to read it because it promised a focus on Alcott's relationship with her father. Oddly, her irresponsible father's reputation was restored by 'Little Women,' as the whole world assumed that the father in the novel was based on Alcott's own dad. An engrossing read with very well-done research and lots of original sources. Great for young readers and adults.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again