Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Across Time
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and would suggest it to anyone who likes good time travel romance. It was hard to put down until it was finished.
Published on September 25, 2012 by KRK

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Was this edited at all?
I enjoy a good historical romance, especially with a time-travel theme woven in (I am a huge fan of Diana Gabaldon) and for a dollar, am willing to take a chance on an unknown writer, but this book is written so poorly, I couldn't get past the first few pages, and started skipping around just to see if it improved, anywhere - it did not. Not only is the very basic...
Published on November 11, 2012 by OrigNorCalGal


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Was this edited at all?, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Across Time (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy a good historical romance, especially with a time-travel theme woven in (I am a huge fan of Diana Gabaldon) and for a dollar, am willing to take a chance on an unknown writer, but this book is written so poorly, I couldn't get past the first few pages, and started skipping around just to see if it improved, anywhere - it did not. Not only is the very basic punctuation and grammar unreadable throughout, but the verbage/style of the ScottishHighlands seems to include some made-up words, incorrectly used common words sprinkled with some odd Cockney English and I-don't-know-what! The storyline starts, stops and then repeats itself. Please, if you are going to write a historical romance, do your homework and keep it accurate, including any battles, famous people, places....only a 10 yr. old wouldn't be frustrated with this childish piece of fluff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get A Room, October 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Across Time (Kindle Edition)
The two main characters in this book couldn't eat, sleep or breath without sex going on all the time and in too much detail. I will say the author came up with many ways to describe male genitalia. Also the time travel theme didn't work, the story would have been much better if more time was spent in making this the main focus of the book. There would have been plenty of room for the love story as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Across Time, September 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Across Time (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and would suggest it to anyone who likes good time travel romance. It was hard to put down until it was finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy a trip to another time, October 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Across Time (Kindle Edition)
Liam is the perfect mate. Margaret the love of his life. I truly enjoyed this story. The anguish Liam faces and the confusion Margaret/Maggie has to deal with. The story was easy to follow. The additional characters like able ..Well most anyway. Enjoyable and the love scenes exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He loved her enough to set her free...., January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Across Time (Kindle Edition)
First of all...loved this book! A solid effort for a promising new Author. And, NO!..there is NOT too much detailed sex...(IMHO). Secondly, the intimate moments described in this book are between two adults married to each other. If a reviewer cannot handle reading graphic intimate scenes....ummm...probably shouldn't pick up any adult romance novel written in the 21st Century because it's the norm. Personally, the sex scenes described in this novel were mediocre. As for the graphical errors...yeah, there's a few. This is something that occurs to new Authors who publish their own books. It's normal. That is, nobody has "picked up" their novel to promote and sell it. The Author is publishing their own book. So yeah, you're gonna see some errors. Even good editing software can miss a few errors. The .99 cent price should be your first clue. Anyway, on with my personal review.

Margaret Campbell Menzies is a time traveler. She is from the 18th Century and travels to the 21st Century...then back in time again. The tragic accident she has on her wedding night.. (described in the book) leaves her on the verge of death and with total memory loss (amnesia). The accident combined with her wedding ring and brooch, propel her into the future. Thus arriving in the 21st Century, she's confused...however her confusion is only with certain things...like not remembering who she is, where she is or comes from, or if she has children, husband, family etc. She's not confused with modern technologies. Once she returns to 1746, she's unsure which era she was born to.

Her husband, Liam, (1746) of course doubts her story of traveling through time. He thinks her wits have been "addled". But when her prediction's of the future begin to come true...he is forced to concede the fact that there could be no other reason for her knowing future historical events, unless she is a "seer"...of which he knows she is not.

Liam Menzies is a fine, noble Laird with a scarred face. He's a Highlander of deep emotion and devotion to his wife and Clan. He's committed to his marriage vows and to the protection of his Clan. Nothing else matters to him. He'd sacrifice all for his wife and Clan.

This plot, albeit somewhat weak and predictable, was nevertheless entertaining. I thought this Author told the story well (although for the life of me, I cannot understand WHY Maggie ends up in Tulsa, Ok...doesn't make any sense...unless it's the Red book that draws her to Tulsa). The thrust of the story is about time travel however there is a bit of subterfuge and intrigue involved as well. I found this novel to be a well developed quick read with good attention to character detail. There are a few loose threads but they are things that are left up to the reader to decipher and wonder about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars half novel_-_half sex, January 6, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "MGB" (El Paso, TEXAS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Across Time (Kindle Edition)
gentle readers, BEWARE! Do not waste your time or money with this «romance» unless you are into endless, overly-detailed sex segments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romance, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Across Time (Kindle Edition)
The book Love Across Time was a good romance novel. It kept my attention and made the characters real. I do love period pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Across Time, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Across Time (Kindle Edition)
This is my second time travel book but my 30+ highland love story. It was definitely a twist on the classic love story filled with lots of passion. The devotion of Liam was enduring. At times I wanted to choke Maggie especially when all the signs were there but she refused to see the truth but Liam repenting love for her made me want to keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Across Time (Kindle Edition)
Great character development. It made me want to root for Liam and Margaret/Maggie's relationship to succeed. The only reason that I couldn't give it 5 stars was the poor editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will definitely read again!, August 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Across Time (Kindle Edition)
I just finished the book. I actually love the story even though the editing need work, still I'm giving it 5 stars because I enjoyed the story between Liam and Margaret "Maggie." Time travel with a twist in that the heroine thought that she came from the future, not realizing that she's from the past who went to the future and then return. Love their romance in that one can feel their emotional angst. And as for the sex (and plenty of it), love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Love Across Time
Love Across Time by B. J. McMinn
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.