Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most brilliant document of a brilliant collaboration
As musicians, War could mop the floor with almost anyoneAs a vocalist, Eric Burdon can do the same. Give a listen to the live version of "paint it black" and then listen to the stones' version. This volumn demands repeated listening. WAR jams with what can only be described as controlled chaos, and Burdon's vocals burn to the core. buy it. turn it up. have...
Published on October 16, 2000 by rb_748

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SEALED DEFECTIVE LPs
Well the music on this record is really great and the quality of recording couldn't be better. A must for anyone who liked the Eric Burdon/War combo. I just couldn't stress enough my recomendations on the music.
But for those like me who go for vinyl, beware of still sealed copies being offered from many sellers, as it's very likely they once belonged to some sort of...
Published on February 15, 2011 by Chiusa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most brilliant document of a brilliant collaboration, October 16, 2000
By 
"rb_748" (brooklyn, ny USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Is All Around (Audio CD)
As musicians, War could mop the floor with almost anyoneAs a vocalist, Eric Burdon can do the same. Give a listen to the live version of "paint it black" and then listen to the stones' version. This volumn demands repeated listening. WAR jams with what can only be described as controlled chaos, and Burdon's vocals burn to the core. buy it. turn it up. have a party. dream of these guys reuniting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bonus tracks galore!, August 26, 2006
This review is from: Love Is All Around (Audio CD)
To my recollection, when Eric Burdon and War released 'Love Is All Around' on New Year's Day in 1976, the concept of bonus tracks was still nothing more than a glimmer in the eye of a record company executive. Since Burdon and War had parted company about 5 years before this disc was released however, it exists as the quintessential bonus track disc. It's nothing but bonus tracks! Danish harmonica player extraordinaire Lee Oskar apparently came up with the newspaper cover concept, but perhaps not the idea of digging into the vault to unearth a variety of recordings that had been passed over rather than grooved into vinyl back in 1969 and 1970 when the band produced their other two albums, 'Eric Burdon Declares War' and 'Black Man's Burdon'.

The album opens with a funky (War exists, of course, as one of the most naturally funky collections of instrumental artists on the planet) rock track originally laid down in 1970, 'Love Is All Around'... not to be confused with the 1960's Troggs hit that prevented the latter from being a one-trick pony. Two other tracks are also drawn from 1970, 'Magic Mountain', which premiered as the flip side of the band's sole hit single, 'Spill the Wine', which rose to #3 on the national charts in July of that year. It's also one of the more interesting tracks, producing a unique psychedelic sound by mixing slow-tempo horns with a fast tempo piano melody and rhythm track. The lyrics continue 'Spill the Wine's' theme, offering such high-minded considerations as, "We're goin' high, high, high... never comin' down". 'A Day In the Life' follows, a daring eleven minute plus cover of The Beatle's epic finish to their most epic album. An organ replaces the piano foundation for the song, and while some horn and electric lead guitar add some unique flourishes, the song comes off a bit "lounge-y" in comparison to the original. A studio version of the cover is also offered on 'Black Man's Burdon'. The closing track, a ten minute plus rendition of The Rolling Stone's 'Paint It Black' comes off much stronger, featuring a driving beat, an unbelievably rocking bridge, and those familiar lyrics over an unfamiliar instrumental construct. The track was recorded live in 1969 in L.A., and offers an interesting contrast to versions by The Stones and West, Bruce and Laing. Two other tracks sum up the disc, a six and one-half minute take on the oft-covered classic 'Tobacco Road', given (of course) a funk/jazz treatment, and an eleven minute plus, Eric Burdon composed blues track titled 'Home Dream', spiced up with a jazzy sax and conga bridge.

'Love Is All Around' is a worthy addition to the two disc legacy left behind by an unlikely, but intriguing pairing of one of the premier blues-rock vocalists of the 1960's with one of the first jazz fusion bands of the 1970's. Despite the rising tide of punk and disco music as the 1970's ebbed away, I don't believe this disc was dated material when it was released in 1976, and its intriguing sound and mix of genres continue to make it more than nostalgic three decades later. While the disc may not occupy space in many CD changers today, it is well worth the effort to clear off the dust and give this collection one more spin. Informative liner notes from Barry Alfonso add to the appeal. In fact, it could only be improved if some enterprising producer dug up some bonus tracks to supplement this collection of bonus tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated gem, September 27, 2000
By 
T. Bekken (Austmarka Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Is All Around (Audio CD)
This album by the great Eric Burdon (and the equally great band War) seems to be forgotten by the general public. That is a shame, because in his prime Burdon was a monster singer - up there with the all-time best in his chosen field. The band was also one bloody hell of a funk outfit, and together Burdon & War grooves with abandon, espscially on the title track and on the wonderful "Magic Mountain". Burdon ought to have a major comeback. He truly is one of rock's long lost heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotion is all around!, December 4, 2007
This review is from: Love Is All Around (Audio CD)
"Love is all around" portraits like any other work, the quintessential of the powers of this band gathered with the blackest voice of a white man ever existed. As a matter of fact, Eric Burdon gives a true tour de force performance in his album.

Tobacco road is a big event. Hovered by a wilder environment respect Edgar Winter's version, the overall result ignites the stage with sparkling splendor.

But to my view, the central track, the primeval scream, the main event is the most explosive, vibrant and electrifying version you and me had listened about Paint in black previously. This version literally lefts behind any other version because its state of wild roughness and visceral energy. If you really pay attention to the code of the piece, you will find such doses of mesmerizing conveyance that it will be hard for anyone of us to forget.

A cult album all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SEALED DEFECTIVE LPs, February 15, 2011
By 
Chiusa "I. Chiusa" (Joinville, SC Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: love is all around LP (Vinyl)
Well the music on this record is really great and the quality of recording couldn't be better. A must for anyone who liked the Eric Burdon/War combo. I just couldn't stress enough my recomendations on the music.
But for those like me who go for vinyl, beware of still sealed copies being offered from many sellers, as it's very likely they once belonged to some sort of old defective factory batch.
I have ordered two of those copies from different sellers already, and recieved bad copies. Believe-me, upon complaint one of them said they were "commodities worth for being sealed not to be playable"! I was glad Amazon was backing the whole deal and suggested he refunded me though.
Maybe you should go for CD on this one. But anyhow, if the record being offered is still sealed, be carefull. You've been told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WAR rareties w/ Burdon, April 15, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Is All Around (MP3 Music)
Companion to Eric Burdon Devlares WAR.
MUST HAVE! if you like WAR. Live versions of their classic early songlist that cook with feeling and dedication. This is WAR when they were at their hungriest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great vinyl...plays great...., October 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Is All Around (Vinyl)
I already had most of the songs on this record. I bought it so I could have their version of 'Day in a Life'. I usually don't like covers but this is one of those exceptions. Listening to the song on YouTube is great but I wanted to own it. I decided for the price that this purchase was a great deal. Another great version of this particular song is the instrumental piece by Grant Green, the great single note solo style jazz guitarist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars required listening, June 30, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Is All Around (Audio CD)
What can I say? Anything War ever did was always a step ahead of and a step better than anything anybody else was doing at the time. Make no mistake about it, They took Eric Burdon places he could have never gone without them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album says it all, June 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Is All Around (Audio CD)
I had this cassete back in the day and am only now getting around to purchasing the CD. That's my bad as this is one of my all time favorite albums. I would play it at many a dead show and people would stop and ask in bemusement who that is.
Needless to say everyone listening loved the music instantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Love Is All Around
Love Is All Around by Eric Burdon & War
Buy MP3 Album$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.