Love in a Carry-On Bag and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $14.95
  • Save: $1.49 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Book in almost Brand New condition. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Love in a Carry-on Bag Paperback – March 20, 2012


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.46
$6.70 $0.08
Year-End%20Deals%20in%20Books

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: 12th Street Press (March 20, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0984728902
  • ISBN-13: 978-0984728909
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.5 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (59 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #872,035 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for LOVE IN A CARRY-ON BAG

Black Expressions Book Club Alternate selection for May 2012! 

“Love In A Carry-On Bag is refreshing and engaging, with instantly relatable characters caught in the dilemmas of modern life. I was pulled in at once and a little bit sad when I was nearing the end, as it was such an enjoyable ride. That's the mark of good storytelling and Sadeqa definitely hit the mark.” —Lolita Files, best selling author of Child of God

“With Love in a Carry-on Bag Philly sister, Sadeqa Johnson has written an old-school love story. It's all heart, sould and realness with a touch of a trumpet man's jazz reminding me of Spike Lee's classic film, Mo Betta Blues. Pick it up and enjoy this real chocolate love.” —Omar Tyree, New York Times best selling author of 19 books, Flyy Girl 

“This tale's vivid portrayal of love travelling the distance will have readers flying high. A pure story from the heart that everyone will adore.” —Miasha, Essence bestselling author of the Secret Society trilogy, Diary of a Mistress and Mommy's Angel

 “Johnson has woven a tale both entertaining and heart-rendering. An engaging, satisfying read!” —Erica Simone Turnipseed, author of A Love Noire and Hunger

“Sadeqa Johnson is a captivating novelist, who extrapolates the forces that pressure passion and sex in modern times. In the tradition of Terri McMillian and Omar Tyree, the distinctive style she has cultivated will smolder and smoke long after the last page has been turned.” –Jackson Taylor, author of The Blue Orchard --Jackson Taylor, author of The Blue Orchard

Review

Praise for LOVE IN A CARRY-ON BAG

Black Expressions Book Club Alternate selection for May 2012! 

“Love In A Carry-On Bag is refreshing and engaging, with instantly relatable characters caught in the dilemmas of modern life. I was pulled in at once and a little bit sad when I was nearing the end, as it was such an enjoyable ride. That's the mark of good storytelling and Sadeqa definitely hit the mark.” —Lolita Files, best selling author of Child of God

“With Love in a Carry-on Bag Philly sister, Sadeqa Johnson has written an old-school love story. It's all heart, sould and realness with a touch of a trumpet man's jazz reminding me of Spike Lee's classic film, Mo Betta Blues. Pick it up and enjoy this real chocolate love.” —Omar Tyree, New York Times best selling author of 19 books, Flyy Girl 

“This tale's vivid portrayal of love travelling the distance will have readers flying high. A pure story from the heart that everyone will adore.” —Miasha, Essence bestselling author of the Secret Society trilogy, Diary of a Mistress and Mommy's Angel

 “Johnson has woven a tale both entertaining and heart-rendering. An engaging, satisfying read!” —Erica Simone Turnipseed, author of A Love Noire and Hunger

“Sadeqa Johnson is a captivating novelist, who extrapolates the forces that pressure passion and sex in modern times. In the tradition of Terri McMillian and Omar Tyree, the distinctive style she has cultivated will smolder and smoke long after the last page has been turned.” –Jackson Taylor, author of The Blue Orchard

More About the Author

Sadeqa Johnson is a former public relations manager. After several years of working with well-known authors such as JK Rowling, Bebe Moore Campbell, Amy Tan and Bishop TD Jakes, Johnson is now the co-founder of 12th Street Press, a boutique publishing company specializing in unique voices. No stranger to a long distance relationship, Johnson dated her husband long distance for three years, before marrying and starting a family in northern New Jersey. An inner peace advocate, Johnson is a meditation teacher, inspirational blogger and motivational speaker. For more visit: www.sadeqajohnson.com.

Customer Reviews

This is a true love story with well written characters that are easy to relate to.
Ilov Grate
Cuddles to Sadeqa Johnson on her first great novel and I look forward to reading her next one.
Maxine J. Mina
"Love in a Carry on Bag" is an easy, relaxed page-turner, a book you will want to read again.
Regina

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Christina (Ensconced in Lit) on March 24, 2012
Format: Paperback
I won this book from the First Reads giveaway on Goodreads in exchange for a honest review.

Love in a Carry-on Bag is about a feisty, intelligent and hard working African-American woman who rises in the ranks of her publishing company and at the same time tries to maintain a long distance relationship with the love of her life, Warren Prince who almost unfairly seems to have it all-- good looks, charm, brains for computing which secure him a great job, and amazing talent on the trumpet. This book is about their struggle to be together but also to stand as individuals in their own worlds.

This book is a different novel than I generally read. But I'm glad I did. The ease and swing to the words reminds me of Their Eyes were Watching God. There are many great things about this novel. The prose is beautiful-- I could almost sway to the music of Warren's trumpet. Every page bursts with color, song, smell, and texture. This was more than just a typical romance novel, and I liked that about it.

While Erica and Warren are mostly likeable characters, I admit I was uncomfortable with most of the physical fight scenes (most of which were initiated by Erica); because of them, I had a hard time rooting for this couple. *SLIGHT SPOILER* I also disliked the fact that Warren deliberately at the end does not tell Erica the entire truth, which again makes me think that they will have a tough time if they can't be completely honest with one another.

That said, Johnson has written an enjoyable and many times beautiful book.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Beverly Jackson VINE VOICE on June 18, 2012
Format: Paperback
There is nothing like the delectable pleasure of getting lost in a book. Sadeqa Johnson's beguiling debut novel, Love in a Carry-On Bag, is a soulful portrait of a modern relationship. Career-minded Erica Shaw is an upcoming publicist at a first-rate, New York publishing firm, who is determined to break the cycle of women in her family who rely on welfare programs for survival. Warren Phillips is a talented software developer by day, and a gifted jazz musician after hours. Shortly after meeting, at a jazz club in New York, Erica and Warren became an item - she is his muse, and he is her rock. Not wanting to skip a beat in their relationship, when Warren signs on to a potentially lucrative software project in Washington, D.C., the couple vows to spend every weekend together. But, as other life events keep interrupting their vow - an uncaring alcoholic mother, pressing weekend business commitments, a secretive hardhearted father - the relationship feels the wear and tear the distance puts between them. The question neither wants to face - is their love strong enough to carry all of the additional baggage?

Johnson pulls the reader in at the beginning with fairy tale flair peppered with heartbreaking realism, and does not let them go until the last page. Her language is hauntingly intimate underlying the couple's passion, "The music soaked into Erica's pores, as she stored him up like she did every weekend; his scent sound, and touch. It was the only way she made it through the week without him." One of the book's strengths is the journey and growth of the characters as individuals and through their relationship. Each will have to confront deep hidden emotions from the past to understand who they are in the present.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By OOSA Online Book Club on June 3, 2012
Format: Paperback
Erica Shaw and Warren Prince are in love. The proof is the care that they give to their relationship as well as how they spend their time together. Unfortunately for these two love birds, Erica lives in New York and Warren lives in D.C. So how can you make love at a distance? Keep the weekends hot and spicy while accumulating frequent miles. It seems that they are coping, though they are both still tense from time to time. Their love is enough to make it work, isn't it?

Erica, a publicist, often finds herself babysitting an eclectic group of authors. Sometimes this cuts into her special time for her and Warren. Though she's committed to making their love work, Erica is dependent to a fault and bent on climbing the corporate ladder. When you add her family drama to the already shortened weekends, soon Erica is skipping her weekend love.

Warren is a musician at heart, but he works a 9 to 5 in order to pay the bills. As an artist, he's conflicted because he would love nothing more than to be a full-time musician. It just so happens his job, that pays him very well, is in D.C. While he's 100% invested in them, he hates having to share his time with Erica's work. Things get more trying as he learns of his father's upcoming nuptials.

With so much baggage between them, can Erica and Warren make their love last?

LOVE IN A CARRY-ON BAG by Sadeqa Johnson seduces readers from page one. You find yourself enjoying the uniqueness of Erica and Warren's relationship. The music not only takes you back in time, but it helps to further lull you into the pages as you come to understand what's ailing them as individuals and their relationship. I'm not into `typical' romance books, but I am definitely a sucker for love. This is a book worthy of a recommendation. I'm looking forward to seeing what Johnson offers readers next.

4.5 stars
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews