Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Al's Best album
This review will be short and sweet.An outstanding lp!How can it not be?Not only do you have Jimi Page in the Fold,you basically have Fairport Convention as a backing band.They appeared under pseudonyms because of their record contract.

Mervyn Prestwick" (Richard Thompson):guitar
"Simon Breckenridge" (Simon Nicol):guitar
Ashley Hutchings: bass...
Published on April 21, 2008 by Chewster

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Al Stewart warming towards his best work.
I bought it to complete my collection. It is better that the earlier work but not nearly as good as the future work.
Published on January 9, 2013 by P. L. Wightman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Al's Best album, April 21, 2008
By 
Chewster "K.P." (milwaukee, wisconsin United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Chronicles (Audio CD)
This review will be short and sweet.An outstanding lp!How can it not be?Not only do you have Jimi Page in the Fold,you basically have Fairport Convention as a backing band.They appeared under pseudonyms because of their record contract.

Mervyn Prestwick" (Richard Thompson):guitar
"Simon Breckenridge" (Simon Nicol):guitar
Ashley Hutchings: bass
Martyn Francis" (Martin Lamble): drums

Also important to note,when this came out in 1969,it was voted "Folk Album of the Year" by the UK music weekly "Melody Maker". No easy feat since the legendary folk album,Liege snd Lief,was also released the same year.
You can not go wrong with this album.He had other albums that have had great songs on it,but this album is solid from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of Pre-Breakthrough Albums, February 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Chronicles (Audio CD)
Over the years, Al Stewart has proven to be one of contemporary music's more intelligent and thoughtful writers. Though sometimes he really reaches into the mists of obscurity to find us an historical event about which to sing, more often than not he leaves the listener reeling in wonder at the breadth of his skills.
I became an Al Stewart fan back in the mid-1970's when he hit pay dirt on "underground" and college radio with his breakthrough album Past, Present and Future. Since then, I have followed his career through its ups and downs and lately have acquired reissues of albums he made that preceded his breakthrough. In my opinion, Love Chronicles is the best of these. It is on this album that Stewart's knack for weaving a fine tale really became apparent.
Some reviewers (and the liner notes) make a big deal of the fact that Stewart dropped the F-bomb in the meandering title cut. Well, B.F.D! It was so inobtrusive, I didn't even really notice it. Anyway, the judicious use of a common vulgarity is no reason to praise or damn a record. Its the quality of the music and the songwriting that should really count.
The title cut aside, I think that four other songs are a better barometer of where Stewart's talent was to lead him. Those are: In Brooklyn, Old Compton Street Blues, the epic Ballad of Mary Foster, and Life and Life Only which is the song I think is the album's best. Of the bonus cuts, only Fantasy really spoke to me.
Stewart's superstardom, which really began with Year of the Cat,lasted only through a couple of albums when viewed through the prism of commercial success. But it is on albums like Love Chronicles that the fan can hear his raw talent beginning to bear fruit and that should be important to anyone who wishes to understand the genesis of that success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could show you New York with a walk between Fourth Street and Nine, December 14, 2007
This review is from: Love Chronicles (Audio CD)
"I could show you New York with a walk between Fourth Street and Nine"

I chuckle every time I hear that. The girl is saying that the Village is the only part of New York City worth seeing. Then Al goes back to Brooklyn with her and they have sex. He doesn't seem concerned that she seems a little loony.

I think this is the greatest folk rock album ever made. I used to think that Al's more polished later music (like Year of the Cat) was better, but now I like early Al the best.

There's not a bad song here, and the title song, Love Chronicles, is just that, a complete chronicle of the singer's love life, including his first elementary school crush, and a problem he had with impotence. Is it autobiographical? And yes, this is the song where he used the F-word. But the first song, In Brooklyn, is my favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Al Comes of Age on Love Chronicles, November 25, 2007
By 
This review is from: Love Chronicles (Audio CD)
Surprising that no one has reviewed this nifty reissue of what is perhaps Al Stewart's most consistent and substantial album from his early years. "Love Chronicles", released in the UK in 1969 and in the US in 1970 was a bit risque for the time as it was reputedly the first album on which a singer sang the F-word in a serious folk song...that being in the 18 minute title track "Love Chronicles". "Love Chronicles" is an epic tune in which Stewart documents his growth from boy to man and from the crushes of puppy love to the resolution and satisfaction of mature adult love. "Love Chronicles" also includes the folk-rock social commentary, "The Ballad of Mary Foster" that deftly interweaves wry and detailed commentary and first person observation of middle class 20th Century British life in the great tradition of The Kinks and Donovan. A star studded cast including Richard Thompson and an un-Ledded acoustic Jimmy Page add excellent guitar work on this classic late-60's Britsh folk rock album. Producer Roy Guest really brought out Al's budding knack for spinning epic tales and Al's singing is much stronger than on "Bedsitter Images". No doubt, Stewart was becoming more comfortable in the recording studio and the six songs from the original album plus the enlightening liner notes bear this out. Three bonus tracks are from late 70's and late 80's studio outtakes and demos that blend in quite nicely with the sounds and themes of the earlier material. Not for nothing did Melody Maker name "Love Chronicles" the Folk Album of the Year in 1970. This is Al Stewart singing and playing at his most self assured and he pulls it off sounding cool even when dealing with arguably with some rather...er sticky and delicate subjects. A true classic and highly recommended to anyone interested in British folk-rock. Forget Nick Drake, Al Stewart recorded more sprightly and melodic tunes that captured the spirit of the times...recklessly heady, exuberantly wild, and unabashedly romantic. Even Ryan Adams could learn a thing or two from this record!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Music of My Youth, November 11, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Chronicles (Audio CD)
This album was my introduction to Al Stewart. I'd first heard it on WNEW-FM when it was a progressive rock station. This isn't Al's first recording, but it was the first to receive airplay in the U.S. the cut, "Love Chronicles," was in regular rotation (as regular as anything then), and I was struck not only by the clever interplay of lyrics, but also the sophisticated changes of music with changes in mood and narrative. Later, when I'd bought the album (yes, vinyl), I was delighted by the same quality throughout - In Brooklyn, Old Compton Street Blues, and especially Ballad of Mary Foster. And the instrumentation is phenomenal; I hadn't realized until recently that "the band" was members of Fairport Convention - wonderful guitar work by Richard Thompson. There are three bonus tracks, the best of which is Jackdaw. The only downside is sound quality; it's a bit muddy. But, still, an essential recording for anyone who's enjoyed Al Stewart's later work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Early Al Stewart warming towards his best work., January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Chronicles (Audio CD)
I bought it to complete my collection. It is better that the earlier work but not nearly as good as the future work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Al Stewart, January 11, 2011
By 
M. Acosta (Jacksonville, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Chronicles (Audio CD)
It's too bad that rarios only played the year of the cat. This guy is very talented and should have received more playing time. Thank you XM radio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Love Chronicles
Love Chronicles by Al Stewart (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.