Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful police procedural romantic suspense
NYPD Police Officer Rafe Mancuso saves his former partner Sara Rios from an assault and has become a city hero. However, he soon learns the down size of "celebrity" status when the Bachelor Blog names him an eligible hunk.

As he heals and tries to stay out of the limelight of the almost famous, Rafe retreats to his lakefront cabin. His vanishing turns the...
Published on September 2, 2010 by Harriet Klausner

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute story
Love Me If you Dare is a story about what can happen if friends finally let down their guards and explore being more than just friends. Rafe and Sara were partners working for the NYPD. They always had chemistry on the job; but they also have chemistry outside the work hours. Chemistry that neither one of them wanted to give into until Sara had to go into hiding and ask...
Published on September 8, 2010 by M. Whitmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute story, September 8, 2010
Love Me If you Dare is a story about what can happen if friends finally let down their guards and explore being more than just friends. Rafe and Sara were partners working for the NYPD. They always had chemistry on the job; but they also have chemistry outside the work hours. Chemistry that neither one of them wanted to give into until Sara had to go into hiding and ask for Rafe's help and protection.

Sara does not believe in happily-ever-afters and her refusal to even consider that she can have her own HEA with Rafe is prevalent throughout the book. In the beginning, I understood why she felt the way she did. She came from a family of cops who were all divorced. Her own mother walked out on the family. Her father was never in a long-term relationship after his wife left. Throughout the book, Rafe proved to her over and over that he wanted to be more than friends with benefits. Even though Sara had strong feelings for Rafe and knew that those feelings were being reciprocated, she didn't trust in his feelings for her. She trusted Rafe with her life but not with her heart.

Like in Kiss Me If You Can, an older relative is causing mischief for Rafe. The situation with Rafe's Uncle Pirro and his Viagra side business was hilarious. There was a secondary story involving Rafe's brother, Nick and his wife Angel, who are fighting for their marriage after a devastating loss.

Flutter Factor:
No one can resist a guy who is a protector. The chemistry between Rafe and Sara permeated throughout the book. Even with them both recovering from injuries, they managed to work their way around it so that they could get it on. I love that Love Me If You Dare has strong male characters who are devoted to their women and families. Carly Phillips combines romance, sex, humor and adventure into a great and delightful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful police procedural romantic suspense, September 2, 2010
NYPD Police Officer Rafe Mancuso saves his former partner Sara Rios from an assault and has become a city hero. However, he soon learns the down size of "celebrity" status when the Bachelor Blog names him an eligible hunk.

As he heals and tries to stay out of the limelight of the almost famous, Rafe retreats to his lakefront cabin. His vanishing turns the Bachelor Bog's attention on the damsel in distress he rescued, Sara. Like her ex-partner, she needs to avoid the limelight as she is to testify in court against a killer who wants her dead. Sara retreats to Rafe's cabin where the attraction that ended their partnership ignites while someone exposes her hideaway.

The latest Most Eligible Bachelor Blog contemporary romance (see Kiss Me If You Can) is a delightful police procedural romantic suspense. The lead male knows who he wants and does not disguise his feelings; his target Sara shares his intense love. However, surviving the attacks on her comes before they can dare to fully embrace their love. This is a strong contemporary romance.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Me If You Dare, November 1, 2010
When NYPD hostage negotiator Rafe Mancuso is injured protecting his former partner, Sara Rios, he has no idea that his actions will make him the newest target of the now-infamous Bachelor Blog. With the blog spotlighting him as New York's most eligible bachelor, Rafe decides it's time to hide out in his home town of Hidden Falls. Spending time with his zany family will surely keep the damn blog off his mind...not to mention the all-too-alluring Sara. Then Sara shows up on his doorstep, needing a place to hide out while she also recuperates and waits to testify in an upcoming trial, and Rafe's noble intentions fly out the window. Close quarters mean mounting sexual tension, but Rafe wants happily ever after and Sara doesn't believe in it. Can New York's most eligible bachelor get the city's most commitment-phobic bachelorette to walk down the aisle?

Carly Phillips charms readers with the absolutely delightful Love Me If You Dare. Rafe and Sara are two protagonists that are absolutely perfect for one another...if they can stay together. Sara's pessimistic about love, but Ms. Phillips made her fears about relationships understandable. Sara's past has done nothing but create and validate her belief that a cop can't have a happily ever after kind of relationship and it will take all of Rafe's considerable persuasive skills to get Sara to take a chance on them. And what woman could resist Rafe? He's got the whole package: kindness, patience, generosity, and dangerously high levels of sensuality. I admit, I kinda wanted to toss Sara out of the way and claim Rafe myself (if only that were possible).

Love Me If You Dare is the second Bachelor Blogs book, but if you don't mind a few spoilers from the first story, Kiss Me If You Can, then Rafe and Sara's story can be read as a standalone. I should also mention that Love Me If You Dare features not one, but two love stories, as there is a lovely subplot involving Rafe's brother Nick who is separated from and trying to win back his wife, Angel. Nick and Angel were every bit as endearing as Rafe and Sara, so it was easy to become invested in their romance.

Love Me If You Dare is an entertaining read from start to finish that fans of Ms. Phillips, both new and old, are sure to enjoy. I finished Love Me If You Dare a well-satisfied reader and am looking forward to revisiting Rafe and Sara's romance many times over.

Shayna
Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars fun read, nothing too special, November 15, 2010
By 
Laura B (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
3.5 stars

2nd in the Bachelor Blogs series

POV: 3rd person: Sara, Rafe, Pirro, Nick
Sensuality: Hot
Mystery/Suspense: Average

Sara Rios is a cop from a family of cops. None of them have been able to make a marriage work, so she has decided to keep it simple and keep her relationships short and sweet. No emotional ties.
Rafe Mancuso is Sara's ex-partner. He is exactly the opposite of her and believe in love & marriage. He doesn't want short-term. He also believes in fidelity and that is why he transferred from being Sara's partner. He was engaged and the chemistry between him & Sara was too strong.
Now they are both available and Rafe needs to help keep Sara safe as she awaits testifying in a trial against a well-connected guy. They both know that they have different views on love, but it doesn't kill the chemistry.

This is a nice romance. Sara & Rafe and likable characters. There is a chemistry between them. They have Sara's fear of commitment between them keeping them from being together. Rafe's family is full of interesting characters that add another layer to the story.

My problem is that this isn't anything special. Rafe is the "perfect" hero. Nothing is wrong with him--no flaws, no deep dark secrets, nothing. He is too perfect. Sara is just okay--she is nice and sweet with just one major relationship fear. The romance is subtle and just below the surface, but not hot and sizzling.

Overall, a well-written story. Decent characters with a well thought out plot. Just nothing out of the ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love Me if You Dare, September 26, 2010
A sequel to Kiss Me If you Can - also reviewed by us - Carly Phillips gives us the fresh love story with a mysterious plot. This book was fun, sexy, steamy, and interesting. While it's out of my normal fave genre, I like to bring in some new blood once and awhile :).

We met Sara in the first book, she's a strong female cop, from a family of cops. Her character had great development in Kiss Me if You Can, so I rolled into this one and learned how gorgeous she could be. Rafe is her former partner and we definitely learn more about him. He's devoted to his family although he stays away when he can. Sara NEEDS him and once she's found him, she's got to remind herself she needs to leave. I loved the family interaction in this book, just classic. Humorous but not over the top. Of course, then we get to the passionate romance. Nothing was missing, that's for sure. Tossed in was a little mystery in the family and one outside of it.

I enjoyed this book, as well as the first. I'm thrilled that I found Phillips on one of our blog friends sites. I have a few others of hers on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute Second Bachelor Blog Story, September 6, 2010
By 
MJR (Arlington, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This is a nice follow up to the first Bachelor Blog book. An easy quick read with a little mystery/thrill on the side.

The love story between Rafe and Sara is fun and heartwarming. They have great chemistry and both deal differently with the fear of giving your heart to someone. The sub plot of Rafe's brother Nick and his wife Angel is a nice touch. It adds to Sara's personal struggle as she works thru her feelings for Rafe and the impact of her injury on her future.

I did not see the reason for the two mystery/thriller sub-plots. They are not related and one seemed a little over the top.

Unfortunately the ending leads the reader to believe this is the last of the bachelor blog books. The premise was very current, and with all the options for bachelors in NYC, I hope the Bachelor Blog finds a way to continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Love me if you dare, January 25, 2011
I got this book from the library (actually the audio tape version) and paid nothing - still I felt let down. As I was reading the earlier reviews, I'm wondering, WHERE is the chemistry everybody is talking about? The characters are so cardboard and two-dimensional, I didn't care about any of them. There was no sense of urgency in the book and finally - what happened to SHOW don't TELL. There was so much author intrusion in the book I felt locked out. There was no way for the reader to experience the action - which I guess is okay, since there was none. The dialogue was too cheesy. I could barely get through the first chapter. I turned the CD off three times before the first tape was done.

I'll give this author one more try, hopefully, this is just one story that was not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fun read, April 14, 2014
Light fun reading with lovable happy ending. Characters you love to get to know and spend time with. But once read was enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chivalry is not dead!, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another good one from Carly Phillips! It has that old time romantic feeling to it. The male lead is very protective of the female lead. Chivalry is not dead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Me again, April 30, 2013
The book was good enough, but it left somewhat to be desired. Did not hold interest so it seemed to drag alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Love Me If You Dare (Most Eligible Bachelor Series)
Love Me If You Dare (Most Eligible Bachelor Series) by Carly Phillips (MP3 CD - August 31, 2010)
$24.99 $22.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.