Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pleasantly refreshing...
*Love for Rent* (aka Amor en Alquiler) was a pleasant watch as it was different from others. Just when you thought that things couldn't go more wrong, it spirals abyssmally for Sofia.

Sofia is a Columbian who is residing in America and studying law. In order to do this, she had to illegally marry a man to get her green card. Her cousin, Monica, has done the...
Published on August 14, 2007 by LARRY

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No es nada especial
This is one of the most cloying Cinderella stories I've seen in a long time. There are the stereotypical latina characters: beautiful, smart, sassy, passionate, volatile, and just a little loco, and then there is the Great White Hope in the form of a doctor. A lot of bad things keep happening in this movie, but don't worry, everything gets fixed up better than new...
Published on January 27, 2013 by Steven Mason


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pleasantly refreshing..., August 14, 2007
By 
LARRY (Capitol Heights, MD) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love For Rent (DVD)
*Love for Rent* (aka Amor en Alquiler) was a pleasant watch as it was different from others. Just when you thought that things couldn't go more wrong, it spirals abyssmally for Sofia.

Sofia is a Columbian who is residing in America and studying law. In order to do this, she had to illegally marry a man to get her green card. Her cousin, Monica, has done the same thing except that she wants to be a singer.

Being a unreasonable jerk, Sofia's husband has stolen all of her possession, including her school books, closed their accounts and has done everything else possible. Sofia cannot report him to the police because she risks deportation. To top it off, her neighbor's foster son finds her hidden apartment key and steals her donuts. It seems trivial but it was enough to send Sofia crying and screaming herself to sleep.

Monica and her husband take Sofia on a night out to get her mind off of her streak of bad luck. Afterwards, on their way home, they meet a well-off couple who has flagged them for their car troubles. However, miscommunication ensues and both are without a car. In the midst of this, the couple asks Sofia to be their surrogate for $50,000.

Nearing divorce with an inevitable loss of a green card and broke, Sofia agrees to be a surrogate. However, while surrogating, she meets a young handsome doctor, Neil. In addition, she bonds with the neighbor's foster kid, Max.

For a while, things go smoothly. However, things go wrong with Neil and with Max. To top it off, she goes into labor. Will love be able to withstand miscommunication or save someone?

I liked *Love for Rent* because it portrayed how Latinos worked themselves to the bone trying to stay in the land of opportunity and freedom. Sofia did everything else possible to stay in school before deciding to be a surrogate.

The bond between her and Max was just pleasantly wonderful. So, it was heart-wrenching when she discovers that Max was taken away from the child protection service. She knows that it is possible she might never find him again.

*Love for Rent* is a wonderful film of a Latina's struggle to achieve her dream as well as her dealings with loved ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable and Refreshing, January 16, 2007
By 
R. Haack (Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love For Rent (DVD)
This movie went unpublicized and I'm so glad I stumbled upon it. It's amazing how well this woman handled the events in her life. I enjoyed the story and all of the characters. I watch it over and over when in need of a light-hearted feel-good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little movie, June 12, 2007
By 
This review is from: Love For Rent (DVD)
Picked up this movie at my local Dvd rental Store and it was pleasantly surprised. Great little movie A++++++++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bueno, April 7, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love For Rent (DVD)
Me parece buena, bastante romantica y sobre todo muestra un poco lo que sucede en la vida de un inmigrante que trata de salir adelante y como en los cuentos de hadas con un bonito final. Si me gusto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little Known Gem, January 13, 2010
This review is from: Love For Rent (DVD)
This is a beautiful story about love and survival. It is well acted and the story unfolds with its own steady logic, and a few surprises. This is a love story but not a comedy. It is not a tragedy either. For the price you could not possibly do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, sad, emotional. A beautiful film., December 22, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love For Rent (DVD)
This was an intelligent film that was also sad, funny and emotional. Angie Cepeda gives a very moving and sincere performance as Sofia, a Colombian immigrant who is going to college and trying to get her life together. By chance she meets a young doctor who is attracted to her. Soon, she realizes that she likes him too. At the same time she finds herself falling in love with her neighbor's young foster child, played by the irresistably adorable Max Burkholder. But much to her dismay both of these relationships start to fall apart because of factors beyond her control. She finds herself struggling just to get through each day. But somehow she finds the courage to keep going. She begins to wonder if things will ever work out for her. I don't want to give away too much here, but this movie had an ending that flooded my eyes with tears. In short, if you like meaningful romantic comedies with genuine emotion, then please, find this movie and watch it. And don't forget to have a box of tissues handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars baby come back, November 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love For Rent (DVD)
Love this movie, love the story, love Angie, her cousin, the doctor and max. My bf saw this and cried lol what a wimp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie review, September 26, 2010
By 
Lawrence W. Phelps (Lancaster, Ohio, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love For Rent (DVD)
We purchased this movie and were satisfied with it. It told a good story and we will enjoy showing it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love For Rent (DVD)
Great movie. I could watch it now actually, probably one of the best movies I've ever seen, glad I bought it, I've ,are many a person watch it, no ones hated it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is a excellent material for teaching, January 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love For Rent (DVD)
I am a slightly obsessive teacher with the quality of my lessons and because of it I bought these movies because they allow him(her) to offer to the student a moment of amusement or recreation on having broken the daily routine of the classes and simultaneously it offers a good material to analyze topics of class as the maternity and responsible paternity in case of the movies "Juno" and " Love of rent " or in applications of the science and technology in case of the movies " I robot " and " Minority report ". These movies come in mint condition bearing in mind that I am from Costa Rica and the quality is excellent .. I am very satisfied with the material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Love For Rent
Love For Rent by Shane Edelman (DVD - 2006)
$9.97 $5.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.