Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last, great KISS studio CD of the originals
After having 23 years of critiquing KISS for myself, and always looking forward to newer material, I must say this is a definate must-own CD for the die-hard original-KISS fan like myself. It's the last cohesive studio effort by the fab-four, and one that holds it's own through every new CD that has ever been made through this very day; thereby, it attains classic...
Published on January 27, 2000 by Timothy Lee Young

versus
36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks like I'm the 1st one on Amazon to review this ...
Looks like I'm the 1st one on Amazon to review this new 2 CD deluxe edition....and I have to say that the only thing keeping this from being a 5 star release is ONCE AGAIN, these guys royally screw up things by dicking around with the old live recordings. You would think that they would have learned with the backlash over the 1996 You Wanted The Best compilation, when...
Published 2 months ago by Tom "Stewart" Staszewski


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last, great KISS studio CD of the originals, January 27, 2000
By 
Timothy Lee Young (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
After having 23 years of critiquing KISS for myself, and always looking forward to newer material, I must say this is a definate must-own CD for the die-hard original-KISS fan like myself. It's the last cohesive studio effort by the fab-four, and one that holds it's own through every new CD that has ever been made through this very day; thereby, it attains classic status. This is classic KISS, now with Ace on vocals--SHOCK ME rocks! Ace has been a quiet force in guiding the KISS sound since their first self-titled album; but now instead of writing songs for the others to sing, he takes the vocal helm with SHOCK ME; SHOCK ME would not have gone over the top if another member sang it, it is ACE's singing that boosts this debut to the outer limits! All the other songs have a place on this CD...they are your great, basic rockin' KISS tunes that have a hint of cheese (goofiness) in them that endear them to our hearts. KISS will always be the hottest band in the world--this album is what took them to their soared heights of popularity back in 1977, and it is what keeps them at that exact same heights to this very day! CHEERS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks like I'm the 1st one on Amazon to review this ..., October 27, 2014
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
Looks like I'm the 1st one on Amazon to review this new 2 CD deluxe edition....and I have to say that the only thing keeping this from being a 5 star release is ONCE AGAIN, these guys royally screw up things by dicking around with the old live recordings. You would think that they would have learned with the backlash over the 1996 You Wanted The Best compilation, when anyone who has been a longtime fan IMMEDIATELY realized that Simmons and Stanley went into the studio and re-sang most of the live vocals on the vintage unreleased live tracks, and applied modern sounding drum triggers to the drum tracks. Well here we go again.....the vocals are the original vocals thank God, but not only is the mix washed out in massive echo and reverb, Peter Criss' snare drum has been so heavily sampled with a newer sounding snare drum, that whoever did the sampling triggers had it set so sensitive that there are all kinds of snare hits going on that shouldn't even be there! It sounds like someone went in the studio with an electronic drum kit and re did all of the snare hits....POORLY. An F-ing disgrace. Listen to the untouched, raw live recording of Parasite from Cobo Hall May 1975, used in one of the Rock Band video games (find it on Youtube).....THAT is how it's done the right way. Pure, raw, untouched-up live performance....just killer sounding, mixed to bring the levels up right but NOT re-recorded or sampled. Ugh....Tommy Thayer, producer of this reissue, should certainly know better. OK, now that's out of my system, the remaster upon 1st spin sounds great, no complaints. The demos included are all cool and interesting solo Gene & Paul demos, meaning it's them with studio guys, not KISS. The packaging is excellent, great pics, and they included Ken Kelley's original concept drawing for the LP cover, which is cool to see. This would have gotten 5 stars if not for the idiocy with the live tracks. I'm dreading a deluxe Alive! reissue with all kinds of unreleased tracks included with triggered snare drums that sound like Depeche Mode on it. I don't know why these guys keep thinking we will never know the difference....it's infuriating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER HIT FOR THE NEW FAB FOUR, January 31, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
Kiss' 1977 effort is well worth a first listen, and a second, and a third...actually, I have long since worn out my copies on cassette and vinyl. The album is not quite up to the standard they set with 'Destroyer', but then again, every band has one album that stands out as their best. I'd have to say that this is Kiss' second best, with the standout cuts 'I Stole Your Love', 'Love Gun', and 'Christine Sixteen', as well the song that introduced the world to Ace Frehley's voice: 'Shock Me'. If you are a rock fan (not necessarily a KISS fan, then this is one you should add to your collection as a reminder of the days when rock and roll was fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Love Gun" is right on target!, February 6, 2004
By 
Scott R. Harding (St. Johns, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
Reviews of Kiss albums are usually written by Kiss fans, which means in all likelihood you already HAVE this album! But if not, here's the scoop: it's a perfect time-capsule of melodic, riff-driven rock & roll from 1977. The only thing preventing this from being a 5-star recording is a comparison against the jaw-dropping brilliance of such albums as "Alive!" and "Revenge." Having said that, there are so many standouts here it's hardly funny. The opener, "I Stole Your Love," is a hard-hitting piledriver that used to open Kiss' show in both 1977-78 and again in 1989. "Christine 16" has the kitschy (and totally enjoyable!) piano chorus a la "Nothin' To Lose," with Gene doing a 50s-era speaking part in the middle that is hilarious and over-the-top. Ace delivers his first solo vox on "Shock Me," and shows why he's the George Harrison of Kiss in more than just his lead-guitarist status: he's a continually overlooked songwriting resource from the original lineup. Gene's salute to moulded appendages in "Plaster Caster" is a great tune in spite of its ridiculousness, but where he truly shines is on the growling, nearly painful "Almost Human." Peter's contribution is great: "Hooligan" gets to his tough NYC upbringing, and I think songwriters are always strongest when they mine personal experience for their craft. Even the cover of "Then (S)He Kissed Me" is fine, although why Kiss chose to cover something so outside of their supposed influences is beyond me. In all a klassic Kiss record, one that would do any collection proud. If you've seen the group live but haven't bought much from their back catalogue, there aren't many albums better than this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Truly Great Kiss Album, June 3, 2006
By 
Mr. Sinister (El Cajon, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
Although there are a few flubs on Love Gun, it is truly the last great Kiss album. Not entirely perfect, Love Gun is Kiss at the peak of their popularity. The legendary live show that would spawn the awesome Alive II came from the Love Gun tour. All bands peak, and Love Gun is the point where the monster that Kiss had become would begin to spring leaks and take on water afterwards.

"I Stole Your Love" a Kiss classic and a live staple. Simple, straight-up rock anthem. Kiss created them. Enough said.

"Christine Sixteen" a song sang by an adult male about a hottie sixteen year old....hmmm. Creepy? Not then it wasn't. Now would have been a different story. The cheesy little piano riff is kinda silly but this is another Kiss classic.

"I Got Love For Sale" Love Gun starts off with three Gene Simmons' tunes in a row and that's kinda off-balancing. This song sounds eerily reminiscent of so many other previous Kiss tunes (and future ones too). Cool Ace riff and solo. A rocker of a lesser degree.

"Shock Me" Ace's first turn at the microphone. His voice might have been an acquired taste. This tune sounds a bit formulaic and stiff. Ace sounds very uncomfortable singing here. Still a great Kiss tune, cool riffs, and catchy hooks, there's an underlying tone here that you can't help but notice.

"Tomorrow And Tonight" Basic rock and roll, that's what this tune is. Maybe a little bland in the fact that it sounds familiar. By Love Gun the Kiss sound was firmly laid down in concrete and that might have brought a few tunes down because they sounded too similar to other songs that Kiss had already come out with.

"Love Gun" Trashy rock and roll. Great. Did Kiss invent the sexual innuendo? No, but they created a whole genre of hard rock using them. Love Gun is another word for . . . well...you know... and Kiss definitely had their share of women vying to become the holsters for their Love Guns. Dig it. This is where Motley Crue was born from. Great, rocking tune.

"Hooligan" Peter Criss had hit the jackpot with "Beth" then "Hard Luck Woman" and it was time for another payoff. Unfortunately "Hooligan" wasn't it. A cool little song with very cheesy lyrics, Kiss was pushing way too hard with this one.

"Almost Human" Great tune. Gene Simmons had to have the dark, weird songs and this is one of them. Where "God Of Thunbder" had come before, "Almost Human" followed. Eerie and shifty, it was a strange, experimental sound for Kiss.

"Plaster Caster" In the early to mid seventies there was a particular groupie that went around making plaster casts of certain rock stars she had diddled. Kiss was on her list and she took a little momento from each of the boys in makeup. A Kiss staple and another sexual innuendo song. Classic.

"Then She Kissed Me" Many felt that this retooled 50's tune was a miscue for Kiss, but I think it's better than "Hooligan" at least. Nothing special, the boys in Kiss had to take a stab at a cover sooner or later. Not entirely awful, just not that good, either.

Overall, Love Gun is the end of an era. Though their next studio album would be called Dynasty, this is where the Dynasty truly ended. From here on out, things in the Kiss camp start to fall apart.

Dig it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You pulled the trigger of my.....Love Gun", December 1, 2004
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
I can still remember bringing this album to art class back in grade school much to the disgust of most of the girls. Needless to say it was never played again, but at least for one class period everyone had to listen to KISS! Love Gun has a couple of my all time favorite Kiss songs, Love Gun (great vocals, great guitar) and Plaster Caster (simple song with cool vocals by Gene). Other klassics are Almost Human (cool lyrics), I Stole Your Love, and Christine Sixteen (solo by Eddie Van Halen I believe). Ace's Shock Me and Peter's Hooligan are good as is the cover of Then She Kissed Me. The two songs I could do without are Tomorrow & Tonight (rehash) and Got Love For Sale (weak and not catchy at all). Unfortunately the cd does not have the original cardboard "Love Gun" but it does contain some fine good-time rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have Included more demos. Guess they didnt want to pay Peter, November 5, 2014
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
Not a bad deal. One of my fav Kiss Albums. Remastering is good. I just wish they had included more demos. Two Peter demos should have been included such as the demo for Hooligan I have heard it from bootlegs and not a bad demo at all. The other Peter demo is Love Bites though not as good it was still offered up at the time for the sessions. Shame on Gene and Paul for never including Ace and Peter demos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy 40th!, November 6, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
If you are looking for an earth shattering difference due to the remastering, this will be a let down. Sound quality is better but if you played it side by side with an older CD, you probably won't be able to tell much difference. That being said, I like the content and the extras so I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have Love Will Travel, July 3, 2000
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
THE BAND: Gene Simmons (Gene Klein), Paul Stanley (Stanley Eisen), Ace Frehley (Paul Frehley), Peter Criss (Peter Crisscoula).

THE DISC: Released 6/30/77. Recorded at the Record Plant, NYC. 10 songs clocking in at approximately 33 minutes. Originally released on Casablanca Records; this remastered edition was released in 1997 on Mercury's label. Much improved sound in my book (deeper bass guitars and crisper highs). Liner notes are slim - a 3 page fold out with song titles, writing credits and times. Underneath the disc on the inside cover, there's an informative 5 paragraph history of what the band was going through at the time.

COMMENTS: The band called KISS was now a global force. Selling our arenas everywhere. Successful on every continent... breaking attendence records in Japan once held by the Beatles. "Love Gun" marked a new milestone for then band. With Ace's "Shock Me" and Peter's "Hooligan", this was the first KISS album to feature all 4 band members singing at least one song on lead vocals. "Love Gun" featured some classic tunes. "I Stole Your Love", "Got Love For Sale", "Shock Me" and the title track are all great rocking tracks. The title track is one of my all-time favorite Paul Stanley tunes. Gene had a decent hit with "Christine Sixteen". Ace's first attempt at singing lead on "Shock Me" (the longest song on the album at 3:48 minutes) was a pleasant surprise. Peter's "Hooligan" is perhaps his 3rd best effort since "Beth" (Destroyer) and "Baby Driver" (Rock And Roll Over). As much as "Love Gun" is a classic album, there are a few questionable tracks. In my opinion, "Tomorrow And Tonight" was a weak attempt at another "Rock And Roll All Nite" rock anthem. "Almost Human" turned out to be Gene's blood spitting song in concert - and it's still better live (simply because of the theatrics that go with it). And lastly, "Then She Kissed Me" is an old Phil Spectar remake that just doesn't fit on the album. KISS should stay away from doing "oldies". This is argueably the last great album featuring the original 4 members. Still a classic (4.5 stars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KISS at its best, November 13, 2004
By 
Thomas Janak (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Gun (Audio CD)
Admittably, in over 30 years of "Kisstory" the line up changed a lot and some of their records like "Carnival of souls" weren't exactly great BUT "Love Gun" is kiss at their peak. The cover is brilliant to start with, the little "love gun" pistol should be worth a fortune today and the songs on this album are all way above average.

Songs like "Tomorrow and tonight" (pretty much neglected by the band itself when it comes to live gigs) or "Christine sixteen" are not only perfect 70s but perfect KISS. The title track itself is one of the best songs ever written by Kiss. The album portraits KISS' openness towards all individual players as Ace Frehley finally gets to sing on "Shock me". The 1998 "Psycho circus" should have sounded like the "Love Gun" album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Love Gun
Love Gun by Kiss (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.