Start reading I Love I Hate I Miss My Sister on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

I Love I Hate I Miss My Sister [Kindle Edition]

Amelie Sarn , Y. Maudet
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $15.99
Kindle Price: $7.99
You Save: $8.00 (50%)
Sold by: Random House LLC

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $7.99  
Hardcover $12.37  
"We All Looked Up"
In this new contemporary novel, four high school seniors put their hopes, hearts, and humanity on the line as an asteroid hurtles toward Earth. Learn more

Book Description

For readers of The Tyrant’s DaughterOut of Nowhere, and I Am Malala, this poignant story about two Muslim sisters is about love, loss, religion, forgiveness, women’s rights, and freedom. 
 
Two sisters. Two lives. One future.
Sohane loves no one more than her beautiful, carefree younger sister, Djelila. And she hates no one as much. They used to share everything. But now, Djelila is spending more time with her friends, partying, and hanging out with boys, while Sohane is becoming more religious.
When Sohane starts wearing a head scarf, her school threatens to expel her. Meanwhile, Djelila is harassed by neighborhood bullies for not being Muslim enough. Sohane can’t help thinking that Djelila deserves what she gets. But she never could have imagined just how far things would go. . . .

An Amelia Bloomer Project List Selection 
A CBC Notable Social Studies Trade Book of the Year
A Bank Street Best Book of the Year with Outstanding Merit


"Sarn’s poignant novel surely raises issues of religious freedom, but it is foremost a coming-of-age story about personal choice and the uniquely powerful bond between sisters."—The Horn Book Magazine

"[A] moving story, which provides rich material for conversation about family relations, religious identity, and civil liberties."—Publisher's Weekly

Thought-provoking.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
"Important and timely."—Booklist

"In seamless chapters transitioning between present and past, this short, fast-paced, tragic story contrasting two clearly drawn Muslim sisters explores similar contemporary cultural and religious issues portrayed in Randa Abdel-Fattah’s Does My Head Look Big in This?"—School Library Journal

“A fair and balanced look at not just two equal and opposite perspectives on these issues, but at the multiple, refracted, messy nuances in between.”—The Bulletin

“A searing portrait of the conflicts within a culture.”—VOYA 

“Sarn writes with concise, timely insight about culture, religion, and politics, but what lingers most is the powerful bonds of sisterhood.”—smithsonianapa.org
 
 




From the Hardcover edition.


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 7 Up—In France, 18-year-old Sohane—the "intelligent one," and her 16-year-old sister, Djelila—the "beautiful one," are as close and as opposite as can be. Since their family is Muslim, Sohane tries to dress modestly, follow the rules, respect her faith, and obey their parents while Djelila questions authority, wears modern fashions, drinks alcohol and smokes, and stands up against the neighborhood Muslim boys' ongoing, angry confrontations in which they accuse her of insulting Islam. At first, Sohane is secretly glad that the bullies are trying to put Djelila in her place. She laments their childhood when Djelila was her best friend and looked up to her, and wishes that she could stop lying to their parents to cover for her sister's rebellion. Then, Sohane decides to stand up for herself in her own way. Although head scarves are forbidden by law in schools, she begins wearing one, gets expelled, and chooses correspondence studies. Soon, Djelila's bullying turns horrifying and deadly when one hateful boy sets her on fire. In smooth translation from French to English, and in seamless chapters transitioning between present and past, this short, fast-paced, tragic story contrasting two clearly drawn Muslim sisters explores similar contemporary cultural and religious issues portrayed in Randa Abdel-Fattah's Does My Head Look Big in This (Orchard, 2007), though without the humor.—Diane P. Tuccillo, Poudre River Public Library District, CO

From Booklist

Studious Sohane, 18, has always taken care of her beautiful sister, Djelila. But at Racine High School, Sohane becomes more religious, while basketball-playing Djelila wears tight jeans and makeup and kisses her boyfriend in public. When Sohane decides to wear a headscarf to school, something forbidden by French law, she is expelled. This controversy is overshadowed when Djelila is horrifically murdered by a tormentor for making different choices than her sister. Written in first-person present tense, sometimes directly addressing Djelila, Sohane narrates the story from past to present. Sarn provides almost nothing in the way of describing the setting—it could be Racine, Wisconsin, as easily as a Parisian suburb—but her passion comes through loud and clear. The issue of a woman’s right to freedom of choice is important and timely, and there’s plenty to think about here as Sarn presents both sides of a complex issue that will be new to many American teens. A glossary of Arabic and Muslim terms is included. Grades 7-10. --Lynn Rutan

Product Details

  • File Size: 1808 KB
  • Print Length: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press (August 5, 2014)
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00IBZ3Z1W
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,142,458 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
(6)
3.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
Format:Hardcover
Sometimes a book comes along that punches you in the gut. This is one of those books. I LOVE I HATE I MISS MY SISTER by French author Amélie Sarn has recently been translated into American English so that all of us on this side of the Atlantic can feel that gut punch. Believe me, this is something you want.

Skipping back and forth in time, this novel follows Sohane, the "good girl" to her younger sister Djelila's "wild child." While Djelila is taunted by neighborhood kids for not dressing modestly enough -- tight jeans, short sweaters, a blonde streak in her hair -- Sohane has recently decided to wear a hijab to school, even though it's against the law in France to wear headscarves -- or any overt religious symbols -- in public schools. Sohane makes good grades, keeps to herself. Djelila plays basketball and has a crush on a boy and has popular girl friends. And while sometimes Sohane feels a sense of what can only be described as schadenfreude when her sister has to hear taunts from the wannabe gangsters in the projects, she cannot stand it when those taunts go to far. When Djelila is killed, everything Sohane thought she knew about herself, her community -- both in her neighborhood and in her school -- and her sister is tossed upside-down.

I LOVE I HATE I MISS MY SISTER is a story that is not only terrifying and intense, but also based on real events that happened in France not long ago. It's a story that shines a light on a girl from a culture that many Americans don't know very much a about, and it is a story that shines a light on a teenager who is just like many American girls -- struggling with her own identity, coping with jealousy, and juggling both social pressure and pressure from school. The voice is authentic and real and beautiful.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Be ready to be drawn in by this compelling story October 14, 2014
Format:Hardcover
Sisters Sohane and Djelila wanted to live freely. They wanted to go to school and have friends that they could laugh with. Most of all, they wanted to love and protect each other.

But some things don't come so easily.

Both born in France in a Muslim community, they each decided on very different paths: Sohane chose to become more religious by wearing a head scarf, and Djelila veered toward the more secular by wearing make-up and drinking alcohol. The school district then expelled Sohane for wearing the scarf and Dejlila got harassed by a local gang for not following Muslim customs. Slowly, Sohane and Dejilia began to hate each other for putting themselves in constant danger for choices that they thought could easily have been changed.

After Djelila’s death, Sohane looked back over the past year to try to understand her sister better. Why did Djelila have to provoke the gang? Why did she have to wear tight jeans and short jackets? But mostly, how could life go on?

I LOVE I HATE I MISS MY SISTER was an emotional read that shows what it can mean to be a sister and a best friend. Amelie Sarn did a wonderful job creating such a thoughtful story about dealing with loss. However, it was hard to get into because the book was translated from French and some of the language seemed awkward or unclear, which was distracting --- it broke my joyful trance of being immersed in good fiction. Otherwise, I was still able to lose myself in the complex characters and the compelling story. This is definitely a book that I would have loved to have read in its original French format.

Reviewed by Maya B., Teen Board Member
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written glimpse into an unfathomable world October 29, 2014
By KW
Format:Hardcover
This story of self-evaluation and family relationships, while set in France, could have just as easily taken place in any American city. The story shifted quickly between many timeframes: causal events, happier times, and regretful mourning.

The author deftly negotiated a tricky nonlinear narrative. Although there were no clues such as dates or phrases like “three months ago,” It was always obvious within one or two sentences “when” we were in the story.

I would love to know enough French to read the original, but the translation seems to be spot on. So much love and regret in the tone. So much we can identify with as we seldom foresee the consequences of our choices.

The only problem I had with the book: the teachers and administrators and the LAW are so unfathomable to me that I had a hard time believing they would react the way they did, but this book is based on actual events. In France, the law prohibiting head scarves and other religious symbols in school is still in effect and was upheld by the European Court of Human Rights on July 1st of this year.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category