Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great photo-archive!
Great book for any true fan of Lee McQueen. Not a biography, and not recommended for those who wish to learn about McQueen's life. There is a lengthy introduction by the author on her history and relationship with McQueen, as well as her response to life after his death, and there are a few quotes by Lee and by other's about Lee sporadically strewn about the book, but for...
Published on October 10, 2012 by carlybabes

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I closed my eyes on this one!
Overall this book was just ok, the backstages shots were at times murky, moody, cloudy, boring. But I would highly recommend it to any Alexander Mcqueen collector. I think a better value and much more interesting book is the "Alexander McQueen" book from the Metropolian Musuem of Art.
Published on December 11, 2012 by A. Rucker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great photo-archive!, October 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Looks Not with the Eyes: Thirteen Years with Lee Alexander McQueen (Hardcover)
Great book for any true fan of Lee McQueen. Not a biography, and not recommended for those who wish to learn about McQueen's life. There is a lengthy introduction by the author on her history and relationship with McQueen, as well as her response to life after his death, and there are a few quotes by Lee and by other's about Lee sporadically strewn about the book, but for the most part it is a giant photo album. There are a few portraits of McQueen, and a couple of his workroom, but the vast majority are from backstage during runway. Of models, gowns, Lee working, the set pre- and post-show, etc. They are split up by show, and there is also a section of his work at Givenchy. It gives a rare, backstage glance at the magic of his shows. The book is huge (and I mean huge), but I still found myself wanting more. That is my only complaint about this book, is that I wanted more pictures. However, I think I would have that response no matter how many pictures there are, so it is really a mute point. Overall, great coffee table book for any McQueen, or fashion in general, fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, September 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Looks Not with the Eyes: Thirteen Years with Lee Alexander McQueen (Hardcover)
This book is beautiful. Yes, because of the gorgeous clothes, but also for the behind the scenes moments captured that will never occur again. This book reminded me of how powerful a photograph can be. Capturing a split second in the life of a true genius, Lee Alexander McQueen. A must have for any fashion, photo, art, or anything beautiful lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful art book, not to be missed !, December 11, 2012
This review is from: Love Looks Not with the Eyes: Thirteen Years with Lee Alexander McQueen (Hardcover)
What a shock to discover this book made by an artist about an artist.

The photographs embody, as I read somewhere on the net, a rare tribute of the highest caliber, "Hi-octane glamour of the Brodovitch/Penn/Vreeland Caliber".

I cannot stop coming back on each and every photograph, filled with visions, love and respect, rarely photography about fashion has reached such a climax.

This book is as warm and faithful to the late designer as the Metropolitan Museum book was cold and distant. Life vs. death, maybe because the Met book was published so soon after the designer's death, it is just a honest documentary book without artistic or human dimension.

"Love looks not with the eyes" will overwhelm each photographic art lover and each Alexander McQueen's admirer. A reference book that is here to stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He is missed., November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Looks Not with the Eyes: Thirteen Years with Lee Alexander McQueen (Hardcover)
Wonderful, moving documentation of a true artist. The pictures are exquisite and explain the imagination and meticulous craftsmanship of McQueen. An inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book was a gift for my grandson., May 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Looks Not with the Eyes: Thirteen Years with Lee Alexander McQueen (Hardcover)
My grandson is only 13 yrs. old, yet is interested in all types of art and is, at present, beginning to experiment with fashion design. I gave him an Alex. McQueen book for Christmas & this one for his birthday. He is ecstatic! McQueen is , in my opinion, in a class by himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for your mcqueen lover, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Looks Not with the Eyes: Thirteen Years with Lee Alexander McQueen (Hardcover)
this would not be the first book on alexander mcqueen I would give but it makes a great second or third for someone who is truly a fan and cannot get enough of this designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grab this immediately !!!, September 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Looks Not with the Eyes: Thirteen Years with Lee Alexander McQueen (Hardcover)
This is without question the best deal I've ever gotten on amazon. I think I paid $11.75 WITH shipping included for this book with a listed cover price of $75... And it's WORTH the $75!!! As a fashion photographer who has shot for designers , models and runways, seeing this intimate behind the scenes window into the world of the legendary and iconic Alexander McQueen is an almost priceless access. The portraits, the models, the detail close ups and blurred chaos of motion, every page offers something new and exciting in this HUGE coffee table masterpiece. It's on my coffee table between books of Miles Aldridge and Kate Moss and fits perfectly as a new mainstay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Looks Not with the Eyes: Thirteen Years with Lee Alexander McQueen (Hardcover)
great present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a MUST HAVE!, October 2, 2013
By 
Daniel (Laval, Quebec, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Looks Not with the Eyes: Thirteen Years with Lee Alexander McQueen (Hardcover)
the photography is just incredible! I really love that this book is more about the backstage and making in process moments of the McQueen world, is just so inspirational to look at and brings powerful emotions to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMIGOD! LOVE McQueen!, September 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love Looks Not with the Eyes: Thirteen Years with Lee Alexander McQueen (Hardcover)
His designs could slapped onto used newsprint and I would still adore it. Love it, love it, love it, love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Love Looks Not with the Eyes: Thirteen Years with Lee Alexander McQueen
Love Looks Not with the Eyes: Thirteen Years with Lee Alexander McQueen by Anne Deniau (Hardcover - September 11, 2012)
$75.00 $45.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.