Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your fill of Phil
If music really can soothe a savage beast, this CD would have been all Van Helsing needed to get through Dracula - plus all his offspring, and all Dean Koontz heroes (from his man-fiddling-with-nature stories) would only need a CD player to end the story swiftly on a quiet note.

This is a gigantic collection of ballads, with every slow Phil Collins song you...
Published on November 11, 2004 by Amanda Richards

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seriously, Is This Love
When it comes to great acts and alter egos, none in the 80's really shined like Phil Collins. On one hand, you have him as the hard hitting serious frontman singer of Genesis. While on the other side of the coin, he gained his well-dedicated status as one of the best solo artists of that decade, building crafty hits that remain dominant to this day. While pop hits like In...
Published on January 8, 2008 by Michael Kerner


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your fill of Phil, November 11, 2004
This review is from: Love Songs: A Compilation Old & New (Audio CD)
If music really can soothe a savage beast, this CD would have been all Van Helsing needed to get through Dracula - plus all his offspring, and all Dean Koontz heroes (from his man-fiddling-with-nature stories) would only need a CD player to end the story swiftly on a quiet note.

This is a gigantic collection of ballads, with every slow Phil Collins song you ever (and never) heard of. Even fans of Phil's would consider themselves full with two CD's of slow songs - a somnambulist's dream.

You know most of the songs by heart, and maybe the perfect time to listen to this would be on a romantic evening with the rain falling softly outside.

Warning: Do NOT listen to this album while operating heavy machinery, while driving on a highway, or while driving heavy machinery down a highway.

Amanda Richards, November 11, 2004
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good release, but could easily have been awesome., December 17, 2005
This review is from: Love Songs: A Compilation Old & New (Audio CD)
First I have to say: All of you reviewers, PLEASE look into the fact file before you blast out all sorts of wrong information here. For instance, True Colours on this set is not the studio version from the 1998 Hits collection, and Don't Let Him Steal Your Heart Away is not a new song, but is taken from his 1983 album Hello, I Must Be Going.

Well, but back to the review. This collection is an excellent idea, as a follow up to his sorely incomplete Hits CD from 1998. That CD could EASILY have been a double CD, and missed important songs like Don't Loose My Number, Do You Remember, Everyday, It's In Your Eyes, No Matter Who, I Don't Care Anymore, It Don't Matter To Me and I Missed Again (never a favourite of mine, but still a significant song) to name some.

That may be as it was, but these CDs seemed like an obvious opportunity to collect some of the overlooked songs, and also include some of the gems from his career that were never hits. And so it does - to some extent. Do You Remember?, Everyday, It's In Your Eyes, The Least You Can Do, This Must Be Love and Don't Let Him Steal Your Heart Away were all minor hits or single releases that missed the airwaves, and thus didn't make it to the Hits album. So, good to see them here.

Along with those are a handful of favourites that never made it as single, but which are among his most treasured works - Please Come Out Tonight, If Leaving Me Is Easy, Testify, I've Forgotten Everything and Can't Turn Back The Years. However, there are a lot of songs that SHOULD have been included on this list that didn't make it - We Fly So Close, The Same Moon, No Way Out, Why Can't It Wait `Til Morning, All Of My Life and You Know What I Mean are obvious examples. These songs range among his finest works, and would all have been absolutely obvious cuts on a `love songs' collection. Instead we get a dodgy collection of hits that were also on the Hits collection - One More Night, Against All Odds, Groovy Kind Of Love and Two Hearts to name some. True Colours and Separate Lives are also included for the second time, but these are included in live versions which would justify for a second re-release - in fact, this would have been a real treat for the fans, there are some amazing live recordings of One More Night (1997 tour) and Groovy Kind Of Love (1994 tour) that never made it to the fans, at least not from official sources. Also, some excellent live takes on Wish It Would Rain Down exist from the 1994 tour and would have made a nice surprise for the fans.

All that being said, there ARE some really nice things even for the die-hard fans here. There's only one new song - Tearing And Breaking - but it is indeed an excellent song, stunning vocal arrangement with the backing group. The new take on True Colours from the 2004-rehersals is well worth all the money for this collection in my opinion. It's a knock-out, way better than the 1998 version. Rare tracks I've Been Trying and Somewhere - and we are talking genuinely rare tracks here - are definitely aimed for the hardcore fan group. Somewhere is a really wonderful recording, I'm less enthusiastic about I've Been Trying, but it's not a bad song. The live take of My Girl was a surprise to me, I love this recording and I'm delighted that it made it onto this collection. The live version of Always is good, but I think he did it much better on the 1997 tour - this recording is from the 1990 tour. Another rare live recording is The Way You Look Tonight - not my favourite, but I appreciate that this rare track is included.

All in all, I think it's a good release - there are some genuine rarities here, and the inclusion of some live cuts make for a nice surprise as well. However, they could've made it even better: A lot of songs that were obvious takes didn't include it, and some more live recordings of the tracks already on the Hits release would've been awesome. Perhaps someday we will be treated with a full 4CD+ box set spanning Phil's career including ALL his hits as well as some of all the lost treasures in the live archive. That'd make at least one more happy man on Earth!

OVERALL RATING: 8 out of 10. Fans will find something here and good for newcomers.

PS: A special "valentine" edition featuring a DVD with 6 rare videos exist for the dedicated follower. Price is not so much more than standard version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Phil Set, October 21, 2004
This review is from: Love Songs: A Compilation Old & New (Audio CD)
Phil Collins' "Love Songs" is a 2-CD set containing a great selection of Phil's greatest ballads. It's a terrific companion set to his "Hits" album, featuring not only such favorites as "One More Night," "Against All Odds," "Groovy Kind Of Love" and "Two Hearts," but also such buried Phil treasures as "Can't Turn Back The Years," "This Must Be Love," "Testify," and "If Leaving Me Is Easy." There's one new song, the lovely "Tearing And Breaking," which is an outtake from the "Testify" album, as well as "I've Been Trying," a song that Phil recorded for a Curtis Mayfield tribute album, and "Somewhere," the old Broadway classic from "West Side Story" that Phil did for another tribute album a few years back. And finally, if that weren't enough, the double CD set concludes with some excellent live material, including live renditions of "Separate Lives," and the old Sinatra fave, "The Way You Look Tonight." This is a great double album to own whether you're a diehard Phil fan OR just a casual listener. Quite simply, if you like Phil Collins, then you're gonna love "Love Songs."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Songs: A Compilation Old and New, October 7, 2004
This review is from: Love Songs: A Compilation Old & New (Audio CD)
I picked up the CD the day it came out. Being a big fan for many years now, I figured I had to have a copy!

The first track, "Tearin' and Breakin' " was a welcome change so to speak for Phil....the song starts off with vocal harmonies that literally blow you away....It is then accented with soft piano and a beautiful horn solo. Truly a great song....one I already love.

The album has quite a few of the "no brainers" : Against All Odds, Groovy Kind Of Love, One More Night, just to name a few. But, then there are the surprises: Can't Turn Back the Years, I've Forgotten Everything, Least You Can Do, and many more. The fact that some lesser "known" songs are in the CD makes it that much more gratifying for me as alot of these "surprises" are some of my personal favorites I thought nobody else liked since they didn't go "mainstream".

If you like Phils voice and the way he writes/sings...this is a MUST have.....It has songs for all occasions....weddings/breakups/SEX!

Thx for reading,

Jeff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love listening to the love songs!, January 10, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Love Songs: A Compilation Old & New (Audio CD)
This is probably my favorite Phil Collins album. Most of the songs here are easy-going and calm to listen to. Perfect for listening to on a long trip. Listening to it on a short trip wouldn't hurt either. Or just letting the music put you to sleep at night is good to do, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look back and a look ahead, September 29, 2004
This review is from: Love Songs: A Compilation Old & New (Audio CD)
Phil Collins has long been one of the most "honest" artists out there. His music always finds a vein in the hurt lover in all of us. This 2-disc collection of his better previously-released love songs and new material is an excellent listening experience. The title says it all, so many of his standards are missing from this collection ("In the Air Tonight", "I Wish It Would Rain Down", etc), but his love songs are here ("One More Night", "Do You Remember", "Separate Lives" are just a sampling of what you'll find). His new songs are good too, and show a good direction for the future (I was never a fan of his big band years). While another "best of" collection seems strange with the release of his other one not long ago, this one is different because it's themed to just his love songs. Four live songs are included here too, including his cover of the old song "The Way You Look Tonight". Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm in love with this CD!, February 21, 2005
By 
Cumulonimbus Harpe "samsmylife" (Fresno, California, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Songs: A Compilation Old & New (Audio CD)
Phil Collins' other greatest hits CD, "Hits", had a good selection of songs. Although, it didn't have some of the songs I like, such as: Do You Remember?, Everday, Can't Turn Back the Years, and Don't Let Him Steal Your Heart Away. But this collection of all Phil's love songs has all of the songs I just listed. It has lots of other great love songs too like Can't Stop Loving You, You'll Be In My Heart, Please Come Out Tonight, and One More Night. This 2-disc set also includes some brand-new live performances like Seperate Lives and My Girl. This is definitely a great collection of Phil Collin's love songs. Its too bad that Valentine's Day already pasted because this would make a great gift for your sweatheart. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time!, October 28, 2004
This review is from: Love Songs: A Compilation Old & New (Audio CD)
Plain and simple...this man has written some of the most beautiful and heart wrenching love songs and finally they are together in one set to enjoy. His love songs from the early 80's like "Don't Let him Steal Your Heart Away", "This Must Be Love" and "If Leaving Me Is Easy"(my personal favorite) are included in this set and are some of the best ballads he has ever written. They will surely be a treat to Phil's younger fans who will be hearing some of these songs for the very first time. Unfortunately, one of Phil's most heart breaking ballads "You Know What I Mean" did not make the set. I highly recommend this CD set to anyone who has found or lost love - there is sure to be a song here that will make you say to yourself... "That is EXACTLY how I feel!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seriously, Is This Love, January 8, 2008
When it comes to great acts and alter egos, none in the 80's really shined like Phil Collins. On one hand, you have him as the hard hitting serious frontman singer of Genesis. While on the other side of the coin, he gained his well-dedicated status as one of the best solo artists of that decade, building crafty hits that remain dominant to this day. While pop hits like In The Air Tonight and Another Day In Paradise have maintained their status as standards, his ballads like Against All Odds have been constant radio staples to this day. But now, Amazon downloaders can have that opportunity to download his love to you MP3 Player.

The MP3 version of Phil Collins 2004 Love Songs: A Compilation Old And New, is a bit different than the actual CD double album, but still lags a bit more. The collection includes a lot of Phil's lesser-known songs, most of them that weren't big hits, but also leaving room for some classics. The album includes his big ballads like One More Night, Against All Odds and the delightful diddy Two Hearts from the movie Buster. But, on the bright side of the album, the collection does include a lot of his hits that otherwise was overlooked from his 1998 Hits compilation, including Do You Remember?, the somber and mellow Everyday, and This Must Be Love. There is though a few disadvantages though that flaws this compialtion. The album chooses to have live editions of classics like True Colors and Seperate Lives, instead of the actual studio recorded versions. Also, most of the tracks here are from his 1993 album Both Sides, and chooses nearly half the tracks from that album alone here that weren't big hits like I've Forgotten Everything, Please Come Out Tonight and Can't Turn Back The Years. Another big problem on the MP3 edition of the album, is that it overlooks You'll Be In My Heart, Phil's Oscar-winning classic fromt the Disney movie Tarzan, which was highlighted from the actual CD version.

All in all, while Love Songs: A Compilation Old And New isn't a definitive buy for those new to Phil Collins music unlike the way Hits was, it still is a nice trial for those who haven't heard his delightful songs from his 80's and 90's eras. It isn't the best that Phil Collins has to offer, but it does take seriously with love.

Songs: C

Price: B-

Remastering: B-

Overall: C 1/2+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful like a rainbow., February 25, 2005
By 
Hudson G TANNIS "DR.GROOVE" (LAURELTON, NEW YORK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Songs: A Compilation Old & New (Audio CD)
This album shines beautifully with great songs...both discs are great but the second disc is a masterpiece...every track and i mean everyone is superb....excellent mastering provides audiophile sound quality...price range from $11.00 for good quality "Like NEW" cd..grab it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Love Songs: A Compilation Old & New
Love Songs: A Compilation Old & New by Phil Collins (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.