Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Susan Fox has the rare gift for making ordinary people extraordinary. Her characters are always easy to care for.
Love, Unexpectedly by Susan Fox (AKA Susan Lyons)
Contemporary Romance March 30th, 2010
4 stars

Love, Unexpectedly is the 2nd in a new series about sisters who find love while they travel to their youngest sister's upcoming wedding. The first book, Sex Drive was actually printed under a different name, Susan Lyons. In the first installment the oldest...
Published on March 30, 2010 by Bookaholics Reviewer

versus
63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 ˝ stars. I needed a better plot and a more interesting heroine. The beta hero Nav was good.
REVIEWER'S OPINION:
The purpose of the book may be more about erotic sex scenes than story, but somehow the story detracted from the sex. I can't recommend it. There is a lot of conversation that is dull. Kat does not interest me. I was annoyed with her refusal to be logical about Nav. She had sex with him several times, but she kept playing this odd game in her...
Published on July 24, 2010 by Jane


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 ˝ stars. I needed a better plot and a more interesting heroine. The beta hero Nav was good., July 24, 2010
By 
Jane (Chicago, IL, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love, Unexpectedly (Paperback)
REVIEWER'S OPINION:
The purpose of the book may be more about erotic sex scenes than story, but somehow the story detracted from the sex. I can't recommend it. There is a lot of conversation that is dull. Kat does not interest me. I was annoyed with her refusal to be logical about Nav. She had sex with him several times, but she kept playing this odd game in her mind about needing him as a friend and sex would destroy the friendship. This was the main conflict through most of the book. I was also annoyed when Nav said some serious things to Kat, yet she twisted them in her mind to mean something entirely different. These inaccurate assumptions (one of my pet peeves) caused "a misunderstanding" separation.

STORY BRIEF:
Kat would love to be married, but she keeps falling for the wrong type of guy - flashy/celebrity. Nav is from East India and is working as a photographer. He met Kat two years ago when he moved into the building. He has loved her ever since, but she sees him only as a best friend. Kat's sister is getting married. To avoid family pressures Kat asks Nav to pretend to be her boyfriend/date for the wedding. He agrees. Kat loves trains so she takes the multiple-day train ride from Montreal to Vancouver. She expects Nav to fly to the wedding later. Nav shaves, changes his hair and clothes, and shows up on the train pretending to be Pritam. Kat soon realizes Pritam is really Nav. As long as Kat can pretend Pritam is not Nav, she is able to have an affair with him. Nav also has a second disguise he uses. His goal is to get Kat to be open to a relationship that is more than "just friends."

CAUTION (POSSIBLY BUT NOT REALLY A SPOILER):
One thing didn't make sense to me. Nav's parents paid for his schooling including an MBA. Soon after that he became a photographer. He had a trust fund, but he never touched it because he wanted to prove he was independent and make it on his own (page 291). Yet he told someone "I've paid my parents back for the money they spent on my education" (page 281). I don't understand how and when he earned that much money to pay his parents back. He is just now going to have his first photography showing.

DATA:
Story length: 294 pages. Swearing language: strong, including religious swear words. Sexual language: strong. Number of sex scenes: 10. Approximate number of sex scene pages: 38. Setting: current day Canada. Copyright: 2010. Genre: erotic contemporary romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Susan Fox has the rare gift for making ordinary people extraordinary. Her characters are always easy to care for., March 30, 2010
By 
Bookaholics Reviewer (Bay Area, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love, Unexpectedly (Paperback)
Love, Unexpectedly by Susan Fox (AKA Susan Lyons)
Contemporary Romance March 30th, 2010
4 stars

Love, Unexpectedly is the 2nd in a new series about sisters who find love while they travel to their youngest sister's upcoming wedding. The first book, Sex Drive was actually printed under a different name, Susan Lyons. In the first installment the oldest sister Theresa finds love on a plane trip. Theresa was a serious academic type who was unsure of her sensuality and sociability. In the second book, Love, Unexpectedly her sister Kat takes center stage. Kat is a totally different personality, a free spirited sister who is the social butterfly of the family. But with a long history of failed relationships with men.

Kat has been looking for love but doesn't realize she goes for men with flash and style but unfortunately, no substance. The only person who is really stable in her life besides her family is her best friend Nav. And while she finds Nav attractive, he isn't really her 'type' and she doesn't want to ruin their friendship with her lousy track record. But what Kat doesn't know is that her best friend Nav is perfect. He loves her and he intends to make her see it, too!

Tired of not being 'seen' Nav dresses up like one of her old boyfriends and surprises Kat on the train to her sister's wedding. At first Kat doesn't recognize him in his expensive clothes but does see an resemblance to her neighbor Nav. She is drawn to this compelling and 'new' Nav and before she knows it they are having the hottest sex of her life! Conflicted, Nav promises Kat whatever happens on the train, it will not affect their friendship after this 'fling.' Can Nav convince Kat to change her mind about them. Will she finally give him a chance past their train trip?

There were 2 things I really enjoyed about this story. The first is that Nav is a beta hero (although he has his moments of being alpha!). He determinedly pursues Kat but he is a genuinely nice guy. Not a He-man, who tries to take over and overwhelm Kat. A normal guy that ANY woman would love to chase after her! I fell in love with Nav, sometimes he seemed too good to be true. The other thing I found original about this story is that Nav is a few years younger than Kat and although the author doesn't put too much emphasis on it he is East Indian so this couple is mixed. Nav is very westernized but it was interesting to see glimpses of his less westernized family (and conflict) and how it has shaped him.

The book fluctuates between Nav's and Kat's point of views. I really enjoyed seeing Nav's point of view and intermediately liked him. The strange thing was it took me a bit longer to like Kat. Because I really loved Nav I soon became frustrated with Kat's refusal to see him as a potential boyfriend instead of just a friend. I kept wishing that Kat had succumbed to Nav's charms earlier. Although I understood why she was so hesitant take their relationship to the next level. I could understand her concern about ruining her relationship with Nav. Plus Kat insecurities have led her to look for the wrong type of men. But since she knew what a wonderful person Nav was I disliked how she prevented herself from truly caring for him but was jealous of other women. Her conflicted feeling really hurt Nav and their potential relationship.

Susan Fox has the rare gift for making ordinary people extraordinary. She easily brings people together in a very romantic and sexy way that is guaranteed to be a fun and enjoyable read I always feel like her characters are people you would know and therefore easily care about. This book was no exception. This series is sure to be a winner and I am already a devout follower!

Reviewed by Steph from the Bookaholics Romance Book Club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful characterization, magnificent story. A great read!, October 4, 2010
This review is from: Love, Unexpectedly (Paperback)
Susan Fox did it again! In Love, Unexpectedly, she takes us on an exhilarating ride on the train of love. Her compelling love stories will tug at your heartstrings and make you root for an HEA for the characters. In case nobody knows, Susan Fox is also Susan Lyons, who wrote Sex Drive, book 1 of this series.

Kat Fallon is the second child in the family, insecure and overshadowed by her brainy sister. To find a niche for herself, she became Ms. Sociability, cultivating lots of friendships, only to find out later on that her friendships were all shallow and she never let anyone gets too close to her. In her relationships with men, she ran at the first sight of trouble, not staying long enough to work things out with the guy. The longest relationship she has is her friendship with Nav Bharani, her neighbor, and consequently, she treasured their friendship very much and wouldn't do anything to jeopardize it.

Nav, on the other hand, had slowly been falling in love with Kat over the two-year period of their friendship, yet each time he mentioned them dating, Kat brushed him off. When Kat asked him to stand in as her boyfriend at her sister's wedding, Nav was hit by an idea so crazy that if he could pull it off, he just might get his heart's desire.

Ms. Fox excels in characterization and character development. As I read, I could see that Kat is so different from Theresa (the heroine in Sex Drive), and I like how we learn to know about Kat at the same time that she discovers things about herself and her family. Kat and her sisters are close as siblings could be, with the usual squabbles, and it was fun to see this family dynamic in their interactions and even better to see them move past their misconceptions about each other and develop a more mature relationship.

As for Nav, I love the hope that burns bright in his heart and the persistence with which he pursued Kat, never giving up despite the numerous brush-offs she'd given him. I like that in a man, one who knows what he wants and goes after it, but of course, he shouldn't bulldoze her into accepting him. Which Nav doesn't. He just opens her eyes and mind to possibilities and waits for her to come to her own conclusions. Sexy traits in a man, and even sexier is his confidence, especially when there was no encouragement or whatever from Kat. Nav, end of Chapter 1:

"Token good guy? Screw that.
He was going to be the sexy guy on the train."

Their encounters as Nav flowed from one alter-ego to the other are exciting and stimulating. Nav is certainly unpredictable and one never knows what one would get when with him. I'm sure that was now Kat came to see him--exciting, stimulating yet safe. I don't believe for one moment that Kat failed to remember that he was Nav, in whatever guise he put on. And we can see this in the way she sometimes lapsed into thinking of him as Nav and the desperate way she convinced herself that he was Pritam or Dhiraj. I think she recognized subconsciously that he was giving her a reason to indulge in their attraction and she seized upon it, because she wanted it as well.

The set up disturbed me a bit, because Kat comes across as someone who wants to have her cake and eat it and not have to own up to the responsiblity. A bit cowardly and not as likeable as Theresa (Sex Drive).

However, I like the way we get to see what happens after the end of events in Sex Drive and how Kat's family interacted with Nav. Love, Unexpectedly is a great read in itself and as part of the series. I anxiously await the third in the series, flaky sister Jenna's story. I know I've labeled her as flaky, and may I say I "borrowed" the term from the books, but we all know that things aren't always what they seem. Plus, as I've said, Susan Fox aka Susan Lyons, is great at character development and characterization. Thus, it would be interesting to see Jenna as seen from Jenna's eyes.

As with Sex Drive, this book is written in alternate points of view per chapter, with Nav in third person POV and Kat in first person POV. Like I said, it didn't bother me, however, I find myself being more interested to read Nav's chapters than Kat. What can I say? I'm a girl. Of course, I'm more fascinated by the sexy hunk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thrilling joyride of a novel, August 3, 2010
By 
This review is from: Love, Unexpectedly (Paperback)
Kat Fallon's love life leaves much to be desired. She's been photographed on the arms of some of the most eligible men in the world but the relationships have all been superficial and end with her lonely and hunting for Mr. Right. Kat longs for marriage and children which don't appear to be anywhere in the near future. With her youngest sister's wedding quickly approaching she's feeling more vulnerable than ever and more than a little envious but attending the wedding sans date isn't an appealing idea - instead she asks her best friend Naveen to accompany her.

Naveen Bharani has been in love with his neighbor Kat since he moved in next door, but she flat out refuses to consider any sort of romantic relationship with him because she doesn't want to lose his friendship. Nav has never been a man to base anything in his life on appearances and he's not about to start now. He's defied his family's demands for him to marry a bride of their choosing and take his place in the family company and instead pursued the photography career he desires. However, if Kat needs flash and anonymity to consider him a possible contender for her heart then he just might have to indulge her.

Chrissy Dionne (courtesy of Romance Junkies)

Kat's always used her vivacious personality to stand out in her family of overachievers so traveling home to help put together Merilee's wedding to to the boy she fell in love with during their early years in grade school. While she loves her family she's never quite felt like she's lived up to their expectations and become a sort of joke with her `string of loser boyfriends.' She's sure they'd approve of Nav - if she could just get him to clean up a little bit, shave, and maybe shop for some trendier clothing. Oh she doesn't deny that he's an attractive man and she's fantasized about him more than she should but that's why she can't date him - good friends are hard to come by and she doesn't want to lose him. He agrees to fly out to meet her in Vancouver to be her date while understanding that she likes to take the train because she enjoys meeting strangers. But he can't help wonder if things would be different if he was one of those strangers on that train.

LOVE, UNEXPECTEDLY is a thrilling joyride of a novel that drives home the idea that sometimes love really is much closer than you believe. Kat's obviously got some deep seated issues that prevent her from seeing the possibilities of loving Nav. Fortunately he's got no such qualms as his pursuit of Kat demonstrates beautifully. I love how this story builds on SEX DRIVE (published under the pen name Susan Lyons), the first book in the WILD RIDE series. The Fallon sisters' relationship seems so strained and each sister has insecurities that bleed through in Susan Fox/Susan Lyons writing but we're also able to witness as they mend the bonds and hurts that have developed over the years. Ms. Fox tells Nav and Kat's story with much compassion, humor and heat. After all, is there anything sexier than a man willing to pursue a woman on a train across Canada while playing `stranger games' just to get her attention.

Chrissy Dionne (courtesy of Romance Junkies)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable train ride across Canada, April 1, 2010
This review is from: Love, Unexpectedly (Paperback)
Nav Bharani has wanted to change his relationship with Kat Fallon from best friend to lover. However, she has always rejected his slightest move as she insists she does not wish to risk their friendship. Now he believes he has the perfect opportunity to persuade her otherwise as they travel by sleeper train across Canada to attend her sister's wedding in Vancouver.

To convince her they belong together, Nav masquerades as different people with diverse personalities. As he makes snail progress, he runs up against her sexual issues, grudges and commitment fears. However, he soon realizes he has his phobias too that prevent the real Nav from simply saying to his BFF that he loves her.

This is an enjoyable train ride across Canada as the lead couple begins to understand their feelings especially love and fear. Kat may seem like the one with all the commitment issues, but Nav and readers realize as he poses as "strangers" he has a major problem to confront also. With a throwback feel to the madcap romantic comedies of the 1930s, fans will appreciate Susan Fox's fine character driven tale of Love, Unexpectedly.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read!!!, September 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a absolute must read. Susan has a way with words that is intriguing. I loved the plot and the main characters. Read the book in two days, I couldn't put it down. This is by far the most exciting train ride I have ever heard of. Definitely looking forward to reading more from her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best book I've read all year! A must read!, April 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I don't write reviews but I read this book months ago and still have not been able to get more connected to the characters than in this novel. It was very well written. I love the storyline. Please read, ignore the haters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wild Ride to Love continues, April 7, 2010
This review is from: Love, Unexpectedly (Paperback)
Kat always stood in the shadow of her older scholarly sister Teresa, that's why she moved across Canada and is looking for her soulmate, but she has no luck with men. The only one who is a constant in her life is her best friend and neighbor Nav Bharani. What she doesn't know is that he wants to be more than her best friend. He sees a change to persuade her when she makes a train trip across Canada to go to her little sisters wedding. Will Nav's plan to show her a different side of him and win her heart be successful or not?

Ms. Fox did a terrific job with this book. A train is a very little place and there is only a few things that can happen, but there isn't one slow and boring moment in the book. LOVE UNEXPECTEDLY is definitely character driven story.

Kat has no luck when it comes to her relationships, because so far she hasn't realized that she simply goes for the wrong type of men. She just doesn't see that her soul mate lives next door. Nav is not the typical romance hero, because he is definitely not an Alpha hero, but I think that makes him so endearing. He is a normal guy and that makes the story so realistic. As so often with the stories by Ms. Fox it's easy to identify with her characters.

LOVE UNEXPECTEDLY is the second book in Ms. Fox's new series Wild Ride to Love, the first one, Sex Drive, was released under her other penname Susan Lyons. LOVE UNEXPECTEDLY can be read as a stand-alone, because the plot happens parallel to the one in Sex Drive, but I bet you will want to pick up a copy of Sex Drive after reading this one.

LOVE UNEXPECTEDLY is definite a keeper and I promise you that you will enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised by negative reviews, February 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am surprised to see all the negative reviews of this book. I really enjoyed it, and I'm thinking about reading it over again. Yes, there were quite a few sex scenes, but not nearly as much as some of the other "freebies" I've read for the kindle. The story was sweet, and made me really wish I had a guy who really showed he knew how to treat a lady like Nav did for Kat. There were only two things that bothered me a little about the story (hence not 5 stars). First, it seemed strange that if Nav was such a good friend to Kat, she would have at some point mentioned him to her family in the last 2 years. Second, the ending was a little short for me. I wanted more! The family's reactions to the engagement, how Nav's exhibit in Montreal went, etc. Maybe carrying the story through up to the couple's wedding would have been better for me. But, still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Love Story, February 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was a very good read. I enjoyed the characters and the love scenes. It made you want romance like Nav and Kat. Great storyline. It's hard to believe that I got it for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Love, Unexpectedly
Love, Unexpectedly by Susan Fox (Paperback - April 1, 2010)
$14.00 $12.60
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.