Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars refreshing medieval Scottish romance
Four bandits trap the beautiful woman, but as Reeve MacAlpin observes from his concealment, none braved a step towards her as they feared her as the "death bride". They debated amongst themselves how to rob her and decided that to void the curse they must kill her. Reeve comes out of his hiding place to run them off.

Tara explains she is widow two times plus...
Published on June 28, 2011 by Harriet Klausner

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close to 4 stars, A Scotttish tale that begins with a curse but ends with a romance
Second in her Scottish warrior series, Donna Fletcher's novel Loved by a Warrior has a good plot with some interesting twists and turns. The dialogue was a bit repetitious though and conversations a little stilted.

Tara has been deemed a "death bride." A curse was spoken over her as a child; her first love passed away and her husband died before the marriage...
Published on July 8, 2011 by Melissa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars refreshing medieval Scottish romance, June 28, 2011
This review is from: Loved By a Warrior (Warrior King) (Mass Market Paperback)
Four bandits trap the beautiful woman, but as Reeve MacAlpin observes from his concealment, none braved a step towards her as they feared her as the "death bride". They debated amongst themselves how to rob her and decided that to void the curse they must kill her. Reeve comes out of his hiding place to run them off.

Tara explains she is widow two times plus other loved ones have died as she knows she is cursed to kill those she loves. Her father has arranged for her third spouse, but this time she decides to vanish instead of having another corpse as a mate. They travel together, but many assailants stalk them. As the pair forges a relationship, he takes her to his family for her safety. He is in love, but she fears his death due to the curse that will kill him.

The second early eleventh century MacAlpin brothers' Scottish romance (see Bound to a Warrior) is an exhilarating refreshing medieval tale due predominately to what the curse does mentally to Tara and how Reeve reacts to it. Fast-paced but driven by the wonderful lead couple, readers will enjoy Donna Fletcher saga of "siblings" prophesied to raise the True King onto the Scottish throne.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close to 4 stars, A Scotttish tale that begins with a curse but ends with a romance, July 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loved By a Warrior (Warrior King) (Mass Market Paperback)
Second in her Scottish warrior series, Donna Fletcher's novel Loved by a Warrior has a good plot with some interesting twists and turns. The dialogue was a bit repetitious though and conversations a little stilted.

Tara has been deemed a "death bride." A curse was spoken over her as a child; her first love passed away and her husband died before the marriage was consummated. Tara's father has promised her to another man and she wants nothing to do with marriage. She leaves her father's lands and finds herself surrounded by bandits.

She is saved by Reeve MacAlpin, who can defeat four or five men at a time. She is grateful but she is aware of her curse and keeps her distance from Reeve. She fears if he even touches her, he could die. Reeve likes Tara and convinces her to accompany him to his lands so that she may have a normal life.

He is aware of the curse but unafraid of it. In fact, he cannot believe that Tara has allowed it control of her life. Reeve comes from a family of four brothers and one of them is supposed to be the true king of Scotland. The phrase,"true king" is repeated throughout the novel. The reader does not know who this is; presumably the last book will let the reader in on the secret.

Tara enjoys life with the MacAplins but she finds ways to stave off Reeve's advances. She constantly tells him it is for his own good, and this is her mantra. She is so ensnared by the ranting of an angry woman from years ago that it colors almost all of her decisions. She is stubborn about so many things, especially rejecting Reeve's protective spirit. Whereas "I love you" is what most heroines long to hear from their heroes, Tara never wants Reeve to utter the words. This made little sense to me, if he loved her wouldn't the curse be active whether he said the words or not?

For the most part this is a likable couple, although I cannot count the number of times Reeve uttered the annoying words to his brothers, "I will beat you" and Tara tended to be locked in her fears. By far the best part of this novel is the last third, where many secrets are revealed and Tara finally trusts in Reeve's love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, June 28, 2011
This review is from: Loved By a Warrior (Warrior King) (Mass Market Paperback)
Unselfish love--a gift from the heart--is all that can take away the curse that was placed on Tara many years ago.

Raven-haired, lavender eyed Tara, known as the "death bride" seeks a safe haven to live her life in solitude where she will bring hurt to no one. While traveling she is beset by robbers. She stands her ground ready to accept her fate THEN the alpha-male Reeve MacAlpin comes.

A warrior, tall, lean, muscular, Reeve wields his lethal sword with exquisite grace and unerring accuracy. He takes Tara to the MacAlpin clan where there is no living in solitude. As she promised, she gives Reeve her money (almost all of it) which was "a bride's price", a virtual fortune. The MacAlpin protection is given in "friendship". She guards against love because death comes to those who get too close to her. She cares for the people of the clan and tries to hold herself apart from them so they will not die, yet she lives in fear of what might happen to them.

The MacAlpin clan's mission is to see the rightful King of Scotland back on the throne. Reeve and his three chosen brothers, all mighty warriors, take note of the increased presence of the corrupt King Kenneth's soldiers in their area. They sense the time draws near for action, yet realize there is something unusual about the often undisciplined actions of the soldiers. What finally comes to light sifts action into high gear for more than one reason. Tara's old life intrudes making twists and turns in the plot that keep the reader turning pages.

The Picts, a unique people of mystery whom many fear, bring their skills to help the MacAlpins when they bring one of the brothers home who was seriously wounded by the soldiers. Their help and wisdom not only helps the fight against the enemy but also shows the way for Reeve and Tara as they, finally, with trust and honesty, reach out for love with courage..

Donna Fletcher is a fantastic story teller. She weaves history, superstition, customs of the time and the people, humor, and love into Loved by a Warrior. She shows Reeve with a sense of humor when he says "I'm always right", but she also reveals that his unwavering efforts and good judgment proves the statement is true more often than not. He never loses sight of his goals.. Ms. Fletcher weaves in some poignant truths like "trust and honesty" are needed for a good marriage and advise to live with "courage not fear". Her non-obtrusive writing style slips readers into that unique time in Scotland and lets them share a memorable vicarious experience with the characters. The remarkable love that is willing to give all makes Loved by a Warrior special.

Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet And Sexy, July 12, 2011
This review is from: Loved By a Warrior (Warrior King) (Mass Market Paperback)
When Reeve comes across a lady surrounded by four men, he does what he must and saves her life. Lady Tara is tired and she just wants a place where she can live in peace and relative isolation, away from her cold father and where she can't hurt anyone anymore (for Tara believes that she is a death bride). Reeve knows he can't leave her in the middle of nowhere and so he offers to help her, and she offers him her bride price in return for his taking her to a place where she can live in peace. Reeve decides to take her to his clan, and so the story starts as they journey together through rough terrain to get to the McAlpin clan.

I really liked the interactions between Reeve and Tara, they had really good chemistry and they were honest with each other. Their friendship and attraction were very well developed. Reeve is a great hero, he is honorable and very protective of Tara. Tara is a good heroine as well, she is a vulnerable woman who displayed courage, but her fear of "the curse" became annoying after a while, because it was present for most of the book. Also the phrase "I will beat you" was repeated several times by Reeve when talking to his brothers, it became a little annoying.

Overall I enjoyed reading this book, it is fast paced and the sexual tension sparks between Reeve and Tara. And last but not least, I wanted to know if the four warriors knew which one of them is the king, and who the king is, this was the only loose end left open, apparently for the next books in the series. In the end, this is a good read, the romance between Reeve and Tara was sweet and sexy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Highlander story, June 28, 2011
By 
This review is from: Loved By a Warrior (Warrior King) (Mass Market Paperback)
Tara doesn't believe she has a chance for love in her life. She is what's called a Death Bride. She was cursed, long ago, by a witch. If any man loves her --if any marries her-- he dies. She's been ostracized by her clan and sent away by her father to try to marry again. But she is accosted by thieves, hoping to steal her bride price, along the way. Stalwart Highland warrior, Reeve, steps in to save her. She offers him all of her money and jewels to help her find a safe and secluded place to live, so she can make a new start.

Reeve doesn't believe in curses. And despite himself, he starts falling for the selfless and beautiful woman who he rescued. He decides to bring her to his own clan to make a life. Tara feels an attraction toward Reeve, but she fights it with all she has... sure that if something develops between them, it will mean his death. So the book basically goes like this: Reeve wants Tara. Tara wants Reeve. They start to come together. She pulls away. Rinse and repeat. Over and over. And over. Tara believes she is sacrificing her happiness for Reeve's life. He loves her all the more. She retreats further away... and so on.

It's a sweet & innocuous Highlander love story. Typical clichés, about how they fit together, were made for each other. A lot of pining, talk of honor, and whatnot. There's a little bit of a political backdrop --It seems that either Reeve or one of his three "brothers" is the True King of Scotland. Apparently, each brother gets a book and the secret is revealed at the end. But it almost felt like an afterthought, instead of the plot thread designed to weave a series together. 3 stars.

*ARC Provided by NetGalley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved By a Warrior (Warrior King Series Book 2), September 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I give it a 4.5. Another good book in the series. I think I am right about what brother is King, and something in this book helps in that belief. I am still fighting the urge to peek. With at least a book and half to two books left before I can find out it is killing me. One thing I will say about the book is I thought it was stupid for the witch to curse her, instead of her father. That would have been the logical response as she tried to save her friend Stone, and her father was the one who beat him, and would have killed him. Why curse the innocent person, because befriended the boy and they fell in love. Some people may get sick of the constant, I can't love him or be with him because of the curse thing. In away the story is a lot like the first book.

Sex content is low/medium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT READ!, June 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think Ms Fletcher has hit on the perfect series. I can't wait to find out who the "True King" is! So fun getting to know the characters from one book to another!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like the other Warrior King books, I love this one as well. The character s are so well rounded and detailed, I laugh and cry along with them. I love Donna Fletcher's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great series, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Enjoyable read. Could not put down. Finished it in a day. This series is one that I re-read when exiting for new books to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit tedious, December 18, 2013
Not as good as vol one, but I felt compelled to read it as there is no end til the last of the series. Therefore, I am a hostage. I felt it a bit dreary, but still, I fell in love with hero, and only a man in love, could put up with tht kind of crap, from a woman. But it pales when compared to the first book, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I found it was hard to get through and finally I skipped parts and arrived at the same conclusion. I must read the next one. Prisoner, as I am, here I go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Loved By a Warrior (Warrior King)
Loved By a Warrior (Warrior King) by Donna Fletcher (Mass Market Paperback - June 28, 2011)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.