Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 22, 2009
Got hooked on this series while stationed in England. Come Tuesday evening at 8PM, everything stopped to watch Lovejoy on BBC. Ian MacShane is brilliant as Lovejoy. He is cool, suave, debonair and just down right hunky. Lovejoy is a series that one can sit down and enjoy with the entire family. Was over the moon when amazon.com started offering the series. A bit pricey but well worth the money. Since Lovejoy, Ian has also cut quite a swath here in the U.S. with various and sundry series (such as Deadwood) as well as appearing in numerous movies. Too bad they cancelled his "Kings" before it even had a chance. Oh well, long live Lovejoy!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2015
These is a series I was very, very sorry to see end. I'm so glad to have the complete set of DVDs now. This is a remarkably good series, which I recommend to everyone. Excellent acting. I think the show lost a lot of "umph" when Lady Jane and Eric left the show, but the last episodes are very good too and for different reasons. The departure of Lovejoy at the end of the series brings tears to my eyes --- I had a long and enjoyable friendship with these people.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2010
As Ian McShane himself states "Lovejoy is no angel, but he's on the side of the angels."
Lovejoy is an English antique dealer with the ability to "divine" real antiques from fakes.
Despite employing all his inate skills to win at the buying and selling game - he always comes out the loser. Lovejoy, is a loveable rogue of an antique dealer who accidentally finds himself solving the odd crime along the way. The Lovejoy series is perfect "feel good" entertainment. If you liked "Midsomer Murders", "Foyle's War" or "Pie in the Sky" you will definitely get a good chuckle from Lovejoy and along the way you will learn a heck of a lot about antiques.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
Ian McShane one of the greatest actors who should've had a much bigger
career in America but Lovejoy is one of the greatest series of all time! His
charm wit comedic acting is what made the series so great! It should've lasted
longer but then again some series go too long! The ending is one of the best
written endings to any series in tv history! great writing directing and acting.
It's not my favorite season of the series but they are all great.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2009
By the time of this series, my two favorite characters (Lady Felsham and Eric) had left the series. That reduce the entertainment level for me by at least 1/2.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2010
Honestly, Ian McShane and Dudley Sutten could make a phone book fun. But it is too bad the episodes could not have been casted in the oposite order, then we could have watched as a good show became wonderful. Instead, we watched an enchanting show lose some of it's magic after Lady Jane and Eric left the cast.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
It is sad, for those of us who enjoy simple escapism, that the last series departs so much from the things which made this series innocent fun. There are much better action detectives. Why copy that genre and ruin the reason for Lovejoy?
For a Lovejoy fan, a total waste of money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
One does not have to have read the Lovejoy books by J. Gash to enjoy episodes of this classic TV series staring Ian Mc Shane as a good-hearted but shady antiques dealer. Although not as good as some of the earlier seasons in the series, Season Six is well worth watching. Set in small town England, each episode contains the series' trademark blend of both mystery and humor.

Lovejoy, for the uninformed, is a "divy," able to detect whether an antique is real or fake merely by feel. This talent never seems to make him rich. He remains broke and in trouble as he stumbles from one misadventure to another. But, even though he is a scamp not above faking an antique to earn a buck, Lovejoy is always there to help a friend or even the friend of a friend. My father, sister, brother and I all love this show and wish it had lasted even longer than the very good run that it had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2012
Lovejoy is a wonderfully crafted series about the shenanigans in the art and antiques world. It is funny and very tongue in cheek. We bought the entire series from Amazon.com. Although we are Anglophiles, this series was shown on American television for all to enjoy. It is even close captioned for those who have trouble understanding the Queen's English. Great ensemble cast! We highly recommend Lovejoy for laughs and for learning about what really goes on in the antiques trade. Ian McShane was well casted as Lovejoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2013
Great show .I grew up around the area the show is set in,so i love to see all the places i know and have passed through.Plus Ian McShane is always a treat to watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.