Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding performances carry this movie
Let me state upfront that I, like most people, have heard of Linda Lovelace, but I knew next to nothing about her, other than she starred in "Deep Throat" (which I haven't seen) over 40 years ago. But this movie made quite a splash when it was first screened earlier this year at the Sundance Film Festival, and I couldn't wait to see it. Now the movie is finally out, both...
Published 11 months ago by Paul Allaer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This feels very 'direct to video'...
Remember that movie ‘Howl’, the one that was supposed to net James Franco an Oscar? Yeah, I don’t either. I mean, I remember it only because it had that early-hype due to subject and actor, but I never saw it and I really don’t think many people who didn’t stumble into it while it made the festival circuit did either. It was directed by...
Published 5 months ago by Andrew Ellington


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding performances carry this movie, August 13, 2013
This review is from: Lovelace (Amazon Instant Video)
Let me state upfront that I, like most people, have heard of Linda Lovelace, but I knew next to nothing about her, other than she starred in "Deep Throat" (which I haven't seen) over 40 years ago. But this movie made quite a splash when it was first screened earlier this year at the Sundance Film Festival, and I couldn't wait to see it. Now the movie is finally out, both in theatres and on VOD.

"Lovelace" (2013 release; 93 min.) starts in 1970 when we get to meet Linda (played by Amanda Seyfried), living at home with her ultra-strict parents (played by Robert Patrick and Sharon Stone). Linda gets to know Chuck (played by Peter Sarsgaard) and they hit it off. It's not long before Linda moves in with him (and eventually marries him), but it's equally not long before Chuck, in desperate need of money, is getting Linda involved in shady things, leading to what eventually would become "Deep Throat" (for which she was paid $1,250). But the problems with Chuck run much deeper than that. At some point Linda flees back to her parents' house, hoping to stay just a few days, when mom coldly turns her away with "you married Chuck, you must obey him". To tell you more would surely ruin your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: first and foremost, this movie is a performers' dream as there are so many choice roles, and most of them relish the challenge and run with it. Let's start with Amanda Seyfried as the title character: her days on "As The World Turns" and "All My Children", and even "Mean Girls" are long gone! Seyfried really surprised me with this role. And then there is Peter Sarsgaard, who must have salivated at the opportunity to play the challenging role of Chuck, as unlikeable character as you'll ever meet. Sarsgaard does it brilliantly. But top honors must go (in my book anyway) to Sharon Stone as Linda's mother. If I hadn't known beforehand that Stone was in this role, I would've never recognized her. This may be the very best performance of her career, period. There are tons of other notable performers in this movie (James Franco gets about 5 min. of screen time as Hugh Hefner; Hank Azaria; Chris Noth; and Chloë Sevigny in a blink it and you'll miss it appearance, just to name those). I often think that movies run too long, but in this case it is the opposite, as it feels in particular the latter years are skimped over too quickly. Last but not least, there is a delight soundtrack, mostly early 70s FM staples but also some lesser known nuggets, and it complements the film perfectly. One final note: there is some nudity in the movie but given the subject matter, there could've been lots more.

"Lovelace" showed up at my local art-house theatre this past weekend here in Cincinnati. I saw it at a recent matinee, and I had a private showing, as in: I was literally the only one in the theatre. It makes me think that this will not play long, which is unfortunate, as this is a good, if at times difficult, movie, with brilliant performances. If you are in the mood for a quality indie movie that is miles away from your standard Hollywood fare, "Lovelace" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie that deserves a bigger audience then it will get because of the subject. This is NOT porn. Think Boogie Nights. I say B., September 23, 2013
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lovelace [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"I spent exactly 17 days in the pornography industry and somehow these 17 days are supposed to define who I am for the rest of my life, but I hope that people can see me for who I really am." Linda Boreman (Seyfried) is a normal teenager in the sixties. She is a little naive and sheltered but nothing too extreme. When she meets a man named Chuck Traynor (Saragaard) he promises to take care of her and give her what she wants. Happy to be out of her parents house she gets married and things are looking up. When Chuck gets her a job she thinks its going to be fantastic. Little by little her life is taken away from her, then one day she fights back. This is first and foremost NOT a movie about pornography. This is a movie about a woman who becomes manipulated and controlled by a man she trusted and her fight to get someone to help her. While Seyfried does a good job in this it's nothing Oscar worthy but she does play it in a way that makes the movie very depressing and you really feel for her and want her to make it out. I could keep going on about this and many people won't watch just because they think it's something it isn't, but this is worth watching and a real women's lib type movie. Overall, if you liked Boogie Nights you will like this. I give it a B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I Think People Who Understand Fear Will Know What It's About" - Linda Marchiano (Lovelace), December 15, 2013
By 
Sheryl Fechter (Northern Illinois, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lovelace (Amazon Instant Video)
Forcefully directed by Rob Epstein and Jeffrey Friedman based on the book, "Ordeal", written by Linda herself, is the story of a woman who spent years paying publicly and personally for her short-lived (basically, 17 days by her admission) time in the world of pornography. Linda Boreman (Amanda Seyfried) started out a naive teenager. The freckle-faced 'girl next door' who met up with the wrong man, Chuck Traynor (Peter Sarsgaard), a sweet talking, attention giving parasite with dollar signs in his eyes at first sight of her. He quickly schmoozes Linda from her strict upbringing with her mother (Sharon Stone) and father (Robert Patrick) to an all-out freedom that she doesn't know about or what to expect from life in the 1970's.

The two quickly marry in what appears to be the first part of the movie which looks to play out in two halves. During this telling part we learn the very succinct tale of Linda taking the porn industry by storm with the movie "Deep Throat". Chuck is questionably in charge of everything; Behind changing her name to 'Lovelace', The Producer, Anthony (Chris Noth), Director, Gerry (Frank Azaria) and co-stars, Debi Mazar and Adam Brody. An overly eager crew of pornographers shows a very misleading lifestyle of which I found lacking any real dubiousness (everything being just a matter of fact). I wouldn't have thought this type of business was so aloof and quite business at hand. Everybody seemed happy enough, sometimes even jovial, and mainly all get along except for Chuck, who is growing more disgruntled and angrily controlling. Even Hugh Hefner (James Franco) is a good friend to Linda, especially in a private screening of the movie as they introduce it to an adoring crowd and then to the masses.

After a six year jump in time it appears as a retelling of the first half. The former situations begin to realistically reveal themselves. It is now in all this turbulence that Linda's bruises start to show both emotionally and physically. From the very start of their marriage, Chuck has been severely abusing drugs, but even more harsh, horribly abusing Linda. The more she tries to protest, the more things spiral downward. There isn't anyone there to aid her within a business on the take, a huge money making venue that she has become the object of. There is even a heartbreaking moment when her own mother turns her beaten daughter away with the cruel words concerning Chuck, "Obey Him". He used her to pay off his debts from their beginning resulting in the movie, which brought her great fame, although not wealth. Chuck's jealousy, anger, and inability to control himself results in an indescribable entrapment of Linda. This provides a portrait of depravity showing the lengths he did go to using his wife.

Several clips are inserted within the film; a news report from Walter Cronkite, a couple Johnny Carson Show jokes, a quip from Bob Hope, and The Phil Donahue Show where Linda has some time to speak from her side of things. This was a huge 'event' in the '70's when this movie hit the screen, evidently the first of its kind. The soundtrack (Stephen Trask) adds the popular music of the day and underscores everything interestingly. Adding the photography (Eric Edwards) brings you right back to that decade with its clothing, styling, decor, and lighting. Seyfried and Sarsgaard both are amazing portraying these two very genuine roles, one the completely helpless victim and the other an intolerable monster. Also, a very limited but heart-tugging father role is sentimentally given by Patrick. I certainly understood this movie being much less about pornography and so much more about domestic violence in a 'look the other way' world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This feels very 'direct to video'..., January 16, 2014
By 
Andrew Ellington (I'm kind of everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lovelace (DVD)
Remember that movie ‘Howl’, the one that was supposed to net James Franco an Oscar? Yeah, I don’t either. I mean, I remember it only because it had that early-hype due to subject and actor, but I never saw it and I really don’t think many people who didn’t stumble into it while it made the festival circuit did either. It was directed by these two guys, Rob Epstein and Jeffrey Friedman, and it got so-so reviews and basically disappeared.

This should have all been a sign.

I remember back in the early months of 2013, when I was considering predictions for the 2013 Oscars (yes, I’m an addict) and a name that I kept flirting with was Amanda Seyfried. She was all over the red carpets for ‘Les Miserables’ and many people were saying that she was breaking through, finally, after years of basically being ignored or taking a backseat. I mean, she technically took a backseat then too, to Anne Hathaway, but she was a red carpet sensation and people were taking notice. Then it was announced that she was going to be playing Linda Lovelace and it just felt like a sign from heaven. Young starlet getting the role of a lifetime playing the most recognizable name in the adult film industry. It doesn’t hurt that that name is attached to a very well-known film and that star was abused in multiple ways by multiple people.

Talk about Oscar bait.

The problem with ‘Lovelace’ is that it lacks any style to make the substance, which is there, feel fresh and exciting. The grungy want that it is filmed (to emulate the porn era) is interesting and then dull at the same time (been there done that) and while the two-fold storytelling (telling the story twice, once glossed over and the second brutally honest) it isn’t enough to give the film the needed umph. The character development is scarce (Look scared Seyfried! Act mean Sarsgaard!) and this dampens the impact that this film, and her life, could have had.

Linda Lovelace was brought up in a strict home and she was a merely curious young woman swept off her feet by a no good man who pretended to be good until he put a ring on her finger and then decided to beat her and sell her out for her body in order to pay his debts. Epstein and Friedman have no visual style or storytelling skills and so the film really feels flat. It doesn’t help that Seyfried’s performance is so bland and uninspired, and this really could have been an undeniable knock out role for her. Sarsgaard fares slightly better, since he has a flashy character, but we’ve seen him play a sleaze MANY times, and he’s done it far better before (this is reminiscent of his turn in ‘Boys Don’t Cry’ except not as fresh or as memorable). Honestly, Chris Noth and Bobby Cannavale are the most memorable presences in this film, and they don’t really do a whole lot except ‘fit’.

Don’t even get me started on James Franco’s TERRIBLE cameo as Hugh Hefner.

At the end of the day, ‘Lovelace’ isn’t offensive or bad as much as it’s pointless, and that’s sad. What is it with all these boring directors getting their hands on baity biopics? I mean, I understand that the biopic is becoming a tired genre, but true auteurs have given such life to these stories in the past. In the right hands, this could have been a grittier, more violent ‘Boogie Nights’, but instead this feels like a Lifetime movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Amanda Seyfried, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This dark tale about the horrific life of Linda Lovelace is hypnotizing. The cinematography is gritty. While I cant tell if the fashion(70's) is what made it so dark, or if it was a choice of the directors to bath the story in dimness. Peter Sarsgaard portrayal of Lovelace's husband is remarkable. While historically he plays dark characters well he is particularly heinous, and subhuman in this part. His talent to paint himself as this truly despicable character will leave a bad taste in your mouth, but none the less will keep you glued to the screen as he descents.

Other honorable mention includes Robert Patrick. His scenes seemed to touch me the most. He portrayed Lovelace's father and seemed the only one who captured what the audience is left feeling. Complete sympathy for Linda.

With that being said if there is no other reason to watch the movie than do it for Amanda Seyfried's performance. She totally disappears in this role. She takes you through Linda's life and is able to completely emote from innocent, scared, and finally indignant. This is a daring role for someone who is usually casted as a 'darling'. Seyfried is sensational. Granted it is only August I hope that she will not be forgotten during award season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I had no idea - Absolutely heart breaking, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lovelace (Amazon Instant Video)
This was a really hard movie to watch esp since I married young & stayed w/ a man for 30yrs who was also twisted & abusive. I had no idea what her true story was and I judged her harshly. I blamed ppl like her for fueling my ex husbands sex addiction. This is actually a very important movie for women of all ages to see b/c there are so so many who are quietly suffering abuse, shame, illness & serious PTSD. I feel very lucky to have watched it and only did so b/c I really like Amanda Seyfried. I figured it was going to be about a trashy messed up woman who chose the life she made. It absolutely breaks my heart. But good for her! What courage. And such an inspiration for women everywhere to find their voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tale of a turncoat opportunist, October 13, 2013
This review is from: Lovelace (DVD)
I would like to give this movie a 1.5, but since there's no option, I have to give it a 1. This movie was entertaining, but way too preachy. This is the story of Linda Boreman, a young girl who made terrible choices and then spent the rest of her life trying to blame everybody else for those choices.

Pros: I will give credit where it's due and say that I appreciated that they did show some nudity. I think it would have been unfitting to have a too-sanitized movie about the most famous porno ever. I will also say that Hank Azaria did a great job as the director of Deep Throat.

The Actors: Amanda Seyfried does a good job pulling off the naive girl, but is very one-dimensional. She has the same look of bewilderment and surprise throughout the entire film. Peter Sarsgaard was the best thing about this movie; he gave off a charismatic vibe that was done very well. Though I think James Franco is often very good, he was entirely wrong for the part of Hugh Hefner. He didn't walk or talk like Hef; he was just James Franco in leisure wear. I literally thought, "Is that supposed to be Hugh Hefner?" His part in the movie made no sense and was completely irrelevant as well.

The Writing: The story jumped around chronologically and the plot skipped over YEARS and YEARS of story that painted Linda as just a poor girl who did a porno one time and that has haunted her forever. WRONG. She did several more pornos after Deep Throat and even did Deep Throat II. However, the film shows her taking a principled stand against doing more pornography and she even states that her career in porn was only 17-days long. It was several years long. Omitting facts for the sake of storytelling is fine, but the writing was as such as to make us feel sympathy for this poor girl, when it was A) her choice, and B) a career that lasted for several years.

The Truth: I would be remissed if I did not write about my frustrations over the "spin" and "liberties" this film took. Linda Boreman very well MAY have been pressured to do porn. But at the end of the day, it was her choice and she did it. The film worked very hard to convey a "nothing is her fault" viewpoint, but honestly, the most truthful part of the movie was when Linda's mother, ably played by Sharon Stone, told her that she was a big enough girl to get married, thus she was a big enough girl to handle the consequences on her own. We are supposed to feel that her mother was unkind and cold, but I found her to be the only dealer of harsh truths.

The movie missed out on so much by glossing over the last 30 years of Linda's life, but perhaps that's for the best. Linda Boreman (Lovelace) was an opportunist. She was an opportunist when she was doing porn; she was an opportunist when she figured out she could make money with her clothes on. By joining the "anti-pornography" crusade, she may have even deluded herself into believing that she was a victim. The woman had sex on film with dogs; she was not a victim, she just discovered a convenient way to shift the shame onto others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive story, August 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'll be honest I didn't totally know what to expect except I've seen Amanda Seyfried doing her publicity rounds promoting this movie and I found the story to be interesting. I then caught a documentary out of the blue last night talking about the people involved, monies and the biggest loser in the game of course was Linda Lovelace. Her name was known everywhere after making her first adult film "Deep Throat"

This dives into how she went from a fairly sweet girl to being manipulated and abused by her "husband" that introduces her into porn. Men around her make thousands if not millions of dollars in profit for the movie Deep Throat she made $1250.

With help and strength she got away from her husband to later advocate for abused and exploited woman. Sadly she died in a car accident penniless.

It shows on so many levels how in the 70's and going on today the Pornography industry makes millions off the back of woman and is not a victimless crime. I'm fully aware that companies try to keep their noses clean,try to protect there stars but this isn't where most of these issues come in. With our access to the internet has stirred up the hornets nest of all the things being put online. No one can regulate someone in a foreign country who is kidnapping and drugging children then having them "perform" for the camera or webcams.

There our baked breasts and a husband and wife naked in med but mostly covering everything except a shot of Amanda's breast. You don't really see the full acts being portrayed in the movie just bobbing heads and heads blocking between lags.
Lots of drug use; marijuana and cocaine. Many scene's of physical and sexual abuse as well as her husband basically selling her to pay back his debts and leaves her in a room with about 5 or 6 Hollywood business men who basically gang rape her for money.

I actully think with good conversations people should see this to discuss sexual abuse, physical and emotional abuse (towards men and woman).
I will talk about this movie and recommend it for years to come!!

Many well known actors in this movie with lovely 70's polyester suits. James Franco is Hugh Hefner,Sharon Stone as Linda's mother Dorothy, Robert Patrick as Linda's father John, Chris Noth plays a financier of the movie, Hank Azaria as I believe the director but you barely could tell who it was under the great make-up and costuming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just a sad story, May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is really a sad story about how a girl was abused. Just made me want to go beat up some bad guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amanda was Great !!, May 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lovelace (DVD)
OK movie acting was also OK, Linda had a tough life and I'm glad it is now in movie format
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lovelace
Lovelace by Jeffrey Friedman (DVD - 2013)
$19.98 $10.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.