Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT IN MOM'S KITCHEN!
The movie cycles back and forth between a home movie video that displays the time and date and a bad hand held camera that doesn't. Tim (Johnny Lewis) and Molly (Gretchen Lodge) get married in 2010 according to the camera, but don't move into her parent's home until a year later in 2011. We know that her parents, Ben and Tammy are deceased...in heaven watching the...
Published on August 19, 2012 by The Movie Guy

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sánchez' best since Blair Witch is still not great, but at least a return to form.
Lovely Molly (Eduardo Sánchez, 2011)

In most years, Lovely Molly, the newest film from Eduardo Sánchez, half the directorial team that birthed, kicking and screaming, the shakycam-horror genre in 1999's The Blair Witch Project, would probably be a standout horror film. But shakycam really, really took off, and not only has it not yet collapsed in...
Published 22 months ago by Robert Beveridge


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT IN MOM'S KITCHEN!, August 19, 2012
This review is from: Lovely Molly (DVD)
The movie cycles back and forth between a home movie video that displays the time and date and a bad hand held camera that doesn't. Tim (Johnny Lewis) and Molly (Gretchen Lodge) get married in 2010 according to the camera, but don't move into her parent's home until a year later in 2011. We know that her parents, Ben and Tammy are deceased...in heaven watching the ceremony.

Tim is a truck driver who travels. He has installed an alarm system, one that goes off on occasion as if someone inside the house unlocks and opens the door. But they seemingly own no gun living in a rural area. Hannah (Alexandra Holden) is Molly's F-bomb dropping, pot smoking, blond sister. There is a mystery concerning the house and its past that Molly doesn't recall. She is creeped out by being alone in her childhood house. All this adds up to only one thing to horror genre fans who have seen this recently in too many films. However this film doesn't care if you gather this clue early as there is much more going on.

To add to the uncertainty, Molly has a history of drug use and at times doesn't seem to be all there. Interesting film, although clearly not for everyone. This is a slightly more complex "ghost" story than the Paranormal series and fans of the simple hand held camera genre may not find this feature enjoyable. While the film is slow at times, it doesn't stagnate as every scene drops a clue or tells a story. It is a film I am considering watching again to pick up things I missed.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bomb, sex, full frontal nudity (Gretchen Lodge)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow, gloomy, creepy, November 14, 2012
By 
RKOFANT (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lovely Molly (DVD)
Spoiler free

This is a compelling horror movie for a few reasons. I am not claiming this is the most amazing movie in the world, but it ended up affecting me more than expected and for that I will give it a tip of the hat.

Why i liked it:

- Creepy throughout vs jump scares and gore.
- Events of the movie open for interpretation.
- The movie showed you things without context that just seem random, but later bring those scenes into context.

These things left me thinking about it long after the movie was done.

The found video parts were a mixed bag but in the end I decided that they were an asset to the presentation. there were a few really good video scenes while others were kind of pointless.

In the end I would reccomend people who prefer creepy over slasher type movies. The movie feels very depressing and thus it is not a very good date movie. I was in the right mode to let myself get absorbed by the movie, so I can understand why opinions vary on it. It kind of reminded me of the movie Possession (1981)...but not as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow-Burn, December 26, 2012
By 
J. Drayton (Brisbane QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lovely Molly (DVD)
Sometimes the best horror movies only reveal their chills on repeated viewing. That's why, for me, atmosphere and creep are more effective than explicit gore and jump-out shocks.

"Lovely Molly" is like that. The first time I watched it I thought it was OK. Nothing too impressive, but certainly something I would pull out again on a lazy afternoon. The second time, I was amazed at how the whole thing seemed to fall into place for me. If anything, I found it more suspenseful and disturbing than I had the first time around. That's the mark of quality.

Huge praise to the actors, particularly Gretchen Lodge who does a fine job as Molly. Alexandra Holden is even better, I think, in the role of Molly's increasingly worried sister. And Johnny Lewis is excellent as Molly's husband. Such a sad thing that this likeable actor and talented young man (Johnny, not the character) was unable to counter his own real life demons.

One tip: make sure you have the sound turned up - or watch this with headphones on. The sound design is central to the effectiveness of the movie and it's done in a very subtle way.

So horror buffs should get this without hesitation. Just make sure you watch it a couple of times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very creepy, July 24, 2013
This review is from: Lovely Molly (DVD)
Did her bad experiences (molestation), drug use and depression cause her to be crazy, or is she really haunted by a ghostly sexual predator? It's dark and twisted, and will leave you thinking about it for days. No special effects, just good acting and an interesting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good!, July 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I will say I did very much enjoy this flick...however, there are some gripes that I have. For the most part this is a cool and creepy flick. But, as the movie rolls on you can't help but think this is just some cracked out girl imagining a bunch of crazy stuff. The movie continues on and you keep thinking more and more that she is completely drugged out. Then everything gets even crazier and the movie ends...and they would like you to believe it is not just the drugs...from my perspective I feel they should have had more ghostly type of creepy moments to cement this throughout the flick. Besides that, it was a creepy and definitely worthwhile flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is one movie that put a little scare into me!, December 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lovely Molly (DVD)
I am a horror genre buff and there really isn't much that scares me but, watching this movie at night, put a little fear into me. I viewed this movie and decided to purchase it for that reason! LOL!

Molly and her husband, Tim, (Half Sac from "Sons of Anarchy") recently moved into her deceased father's house but not long after they move in, Molly starts getting haunted by forgotten memories, or so she thinks. Tim is a truck driver and while he's away she starts seeing and hearing things that she can't explain. Molly slips back in to her old habit of using drugs. Her sister and best friend, Hannah, as well as others around her, start to worry as Molly exhibits strange behavior. As a viewer, you wonder if her behavior is attributed to the drugs or to a haunting. Weird things to happen to Molly and she thinks she's going crazy, tries to ask for help, however, Tim and her sister don't really listen but instead think Molly is having a drug relapse. There is a supernatural element versus an emotional decline and at times, you don't know which is which.

I recommend watching the special features that come with the movie, it offers a lot of background information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars See this one!, January 8, 2013
This review is from: Lovely Molly [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I don't usually do a movie review on Amazon but wanted to throw my 2 cents in. There are no intentional spoilers here (unlike a lot of there reviews on this page) and if you've seen the trailer, than you are safe to read on. I find it telling that many of the 1 or 2 star reviews confess to not even watching the whole movie. In those cases, the reviews are irrelevant. Having said that, this movie isn't for everyone. If you are only scared by visceral gore and CG monsters, then you probably won't like Lovely Molly. I'm not saying there is anything wrong with liking those films. In fact, I like my share of those as well but Lovely Molly touches a different nerve and presents a different narrative. It's more of a character study about someone who may or may not be going insane. I'm a 47 year old man who started watching this movie on an iPad late one night. After 30 minutes I had to turn it off because it was making my skin crawl and had me double checking the shadows in the corner of the room. I had to watch the rest of it in broad daylight. Yes, there is POV footage in here and many people complain about that......but there is a justified context for this. If you watch the whole movie, you'll discover why this footage is actually an important element to the narrative. Another reviewer here titled their review "Slow Burn". That is absolutely correct, and it's great. Don't expect fast paced action scenes with frantic chases. You are witnessing a descent here, not a race. The other thing I will say is that the audio is just as important as the visual in this film. Put on a good set of headphones because the audio will creep you out as much as anything you see onscreen. Thankfully, the soundtrack music is used very sparingly so the focus is on what Molly (and you the viewer) are hearing at the moment. The performances are solid and Gretchen Lodge (Molly) is put through the emotional and physical ringer. There is a copious amount of nudity in the 2nd half of the movie but it's not really salacious, it's more disturbing and conveys a state of mind as opposed to sexuality. There is also some brutality as well. The nice thing about this movie is that it leaves some things open to interpretation without cheating the viewer. I say give it a spin. This is a case where it's preferable to see it and maybe not like it, than to pass on it and maybe miss out on something you'll REALLY like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supremely disturbing portrait of a lost soul.., November 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lovely Molly (DVD)
Newlyweds Molly and Tim move into the house she and her sister shared with their abusive father before his death, which proves to be a horrendous mistake as personal demons don't die that easily, but instead wait quietly behind bolted closet doors. Truck driver Tim is gone for weeks at a time, leaving Molly alone to face whoever - or whatever - is shaking her back door off nearly off its hinges, and whispering her name into her hair while she sleeps. I found Lovely Molly to be an intensely disturbing film, a sad and truly horrifying portrait of one poor soul's descent into a living hell of the most intimate and frightening sort. I think it was the personal nature of the horror that scared me the most - any ghost or demon is frightening, but how much more infinitely terrible is one already well known to you, the stuff of your most sickening, dreadful childhood memories? There are a few effectively gory moments as Molly's world falls to pieces, but Eduardo Sanchez is a master of subtlety and the real terror here is superbly understated, which is for me far more menacing - a hummed song, a weird old carving seen only once of a double horse headed sword on a basement wall, a child crying in what we know is a childless house, misshapen feet clumping up the stairs, a hand extended in invitation to something beyond an open door...the acting is fresh, believable, often uncomfortably real, the very ending immensely awful, inevitable, perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sánchez' best since Blair Witch is still not great, but at least a return to form., November 5, 2012
This review is from: Lovely Molly (DVD)
Lovely Molly (Eduardo Sánchez, 2011)

In most years, Lovely Molly, the newest film from Eduardo Sánchez, half the directorial team that birthed, kicking and screaming, the shakycam-horror genre in 1999's The Blair Witch Project, would probably be a standout horror film. But shakycam really, really took off, and not only has it not yet collapsed in on its own faddishness, it actually got even more popular in 2008 after wunderkind director J. J. Abrams hopped on the shakycam tourbus with Cloverfield. (I have to admit--even I liked Cloverfield, and I made it through all of five minutes of one mind-numbingly boring episode of Lost before deciding poking myself in the eye with a sharp stick seemed like more fun. I still have the scar.) Sánchez' follow-up flicks have proven less interesting than his debut, but Lovely Molly--while being a workmanlike film from a technical level--at least shows that Sánchez has regained some of that eye for subtle detail that made Blair Witch, love it or hate it, an unforgettable experience.

Lovely Molly is basically Sánchez' update of Franklin Schaffner's 1980 creep-classic The Entity (with one wonderful, if eminently frustrating, grace note of John Carpenter's over-the-top Satanic Panic cheesefest Prince of Darkness; you'll instantly know it when you see it), though Sánchez and co-writer Jamie Nash, who's been partnering Sánchez since 2006's Altered, add in the question of whether Molly (Gretchen Lodge in her feature debut) is actually being haunted, or whether she's just nuts. (More on this later.) Molly, it turns out, has a rather dark background, but, in one of those classic stupid-people-making-stupid-decisions horror movie quirks, decides to move back into the abandoned family homestead with new hubby Tim (the late Johnny Lewis, best known for Sons of Anarchy), a long-distance truck driver who's away a lot. Thus Molly, in recovery from a nasty heroin habit and a spell in the local loony bin, leans on her sister Hannah (How to Deal's Alexandra Holden) for support. But "support" from the human world might not cut it--it looks as if the creature that haunted her after her mother's death may be back, and with bells on. But here's the question--is Molly actually being haunted, or has she always just had, shall we say, a casual relationship with reality?

It's not a bad question to ask, save two problems that keep rearing their ugly heads: 1. by positing that the haunting may in fact be in the mind of the main character, the writers made the movie more standard than it would otherwise have been; in fact, one of the things that made The Entity so surprising is that, aside from the professional skeptics in the film, pretty much everyone was onboard from day one with the fact that Barbara Hershey was being repeatedly raped by a ghost, and 2. the writers didn't do much of anything to disguise the fact that, despite inserting some very clever (if obvious) red herrings to point to the other conclusion, they know the answer, and they're all too eager to share it with you. (Just in case you don't get it, they throw in a completely gratuitous--but eerily effective, in a delayed-reaction kind of way--coda to the film that removes most of the ambiguity. But not quite all of it.)

However, and with the understanding that I'm going to still be rating this movie as "just slightly above average", the bottom line is that despite its problems, it's brutally effective. This is partially a result of its subject matter--supernatural-entity-rape is kind of a shortcut straight into "disturbing" in lizard-brain. But it also has to do with Gretchen Lodge's performance, which is just as distressing as Barbara Hershey's thirty-two years ago. She pulls this off, and she pulls it off well. There's more to it than that, of course; Sánchez pulls out all the "get the audience to identify with the main character" stops here, from making the family blue-collar-on-the-verge-of-poverty (Molly herself is a janitor at a big-box store) to casting an attractive-but-unconventionally-so actress (as good an actress as she may be, I can't imagine someone as conventionally glamorous as, say, Emma Stone pulling this off, because you will not be able to get past the fact that you're watching Emma Stone). And while I can't get into it without going into major spoiler territory, one of the movie's most effective disturbing scenes is entirely non-paranormal, and that's entirely down to Lodge's acting. While the movie starts off slow, and it overplays its hand more often than not, if you're in the mood for something that's more creepy than slasher-flick-y, turn out the lights and dial this one up. ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Went better than expected, May 5, 2013
By 
Crystal (Saint Albans, VERMONT, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lovely Molly (DVD)
So originally my boyfriend and I were unsure of this movie as most we have seen lately have been horrible. However, there is just something about this movie that hooks you. Its super creepy and...I don't know. If you get a chance, see this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lovely Molly [Blu-ray]
Lovely Molly [Blu-ray] by Eduardo Sanchez (Blu-ray - 2012)
$17.97 $10.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.