Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summary of Chauncey's program
Chauncey's program encourages dieters to build meals around whole, unprocessed foods. Her "whole foods" plan allows unlimited "Green Light" foods including lean meats, reduced-fat cheeses, and most fruits and vegetables. She doesn't count the carbs in fruits or vegetables (except for those in potatoes, bananas, and a few other "Yellow Light" foods).
Chauncey allows 3...
Published on January 5, 2004

versus
58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps Healthy Eating but NOT Low Carb
I've read tons of low carb books, and most are really useful. As much as I tend to enjoy the Dummies series in general, though, this book is a bit questionable.

I don't mind at all that Dr. Chauncey has written a diet book - I object that she titled it a "Low Carb" book. She repeatedly refers to this diet as a "Whole Foods Eating Plan" diet thoroughout the book...
Published on April 3, 2005 by Lisa Shea


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps Healthy Eating but NOT Low Carb, April 3, 2005
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
I've read tons of low carb books, and most are really useful. As much as I tend to enjoy the Dummies series in general, though, this book is a bit questionable.

I don't mind at all that Dr. Chauncey has written a diet book - I object that she titled it a "Low Carb" book. She repeatedly refers to this diet as a "Whole Foods Eating Plan" diet thoroughout the book - sometimes 8 times or more on a given page. She is very much pushing her own diet plan, which in many situations conflicts directly with a low carb plan.

In fact she makes many statements *against* low carb dieting, and even promotes some myths about low carb diets that have been disproven by studies. She promotes the drinking of fruit juices, even though most fruit juices have as much sugar (if not more) than soda and few nutrients.

There's little things too. She claims broccoli is America's favorite vegetable when clearly statistics show that is the potato. She says that shopping only once a week is great for dieting, when most people find that shopping for fresh food is best for finding great deals that are healthy. She says to avoid chicken wings, which is mind-boggling since most low carb dieters find this to be the ideal low carb food.

Dr. Chauncey says "don't count carbs in fruits" when fruits are often incredibly sugar-filled. Yes they're fine in small amounts, but gorging on fruit is hardly a pathway to health. She continually says to only "consider vitamin supplements" when there is no way that I know of to get all nutrients you need in a normal daily diet. She explicitly says "microwave ovens are great for vegetables" when studies have shown that microwaving vegetables destroy many of their nutrients.

There are of course some good things in the book. Many of the recipes are quite healthy. She is promoting her own diet which is a mix of low-fat, low-calorie, low-sugar and as a result, some recipes are natural food based and good. But she invents a new green / yellow / red system of coding foods which adds yet another level of complexity to an eating system. The items she puts into each category are not always logical.

She does talk about the importance of breakfasts, and the value of asking for healthy substitutions in restaurants. She talks about how, if you cheat, it's important to simply figure out why you did so and make plans to handle it in the future. She discusses how to arrange your fridge and shelves so that healthier foods are in front, so you're more likely to grab those first.

But again, those items would be mentioned in any healthy eating book. There certainly are other Dummies books on healthy eating. This book was supposedly positioned as a book on how to do a low carb diet, and it spent a fair amount of the book bashing or contradicting the low carb way. This would be like writing a Dummies books on dogs, and then spending a portion of the time talking about choosing cats instead. It just isn't why people would buy the book.

I really recommend that the Dummies crew redo this book with a real low carb writer, and rename the current book to 'Whole Foods Eating Plan for Dummies". That, after all, is what Dr. Chauncey refers to her plan as, over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Following This Book Is Livin' La Vida Cuckoo!, January 17, 2006
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
BEWARE LOW-CARBERS: This is NOT a low-carb book. Let me repeat. This is NOT a low-carb book.

If you are livin' la vida low-carb (and I am after losing nearly 200 pounds on it!), then this book will NOT teach you anything about the principles of low-carb. This is indeed disappointing to me considering it is supposedly the official "Dummies" book about "Low-Carb Dieting." What a shame!

An even better "Dummies" book that features a REAL low-carb supporters is "Healthy Carb Cooking For Dummies" by Jan McCracken. Jan is the real deal and shares what it REALLY means to be on the low-carb lifestyle.

Whatever you do, DON'T buy this book if you want to learn more about low-carb living. You might try Jonny Bowden's "Living The Low-Carb Life" instead if you want to educate yourself with the facts about livin' la vida low-carb.

YOU HAVE BEEN FAIRLY WARNED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low Carb is a misnomer, June 1, 2005
By 
QueenBean84 (LaFayette, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is in no way a book about a low-carb diet. It is a Whole Foods Eating Plan, as stated by the author. The only low carb foods the author wants you to eliminate are cookies, cakes, candies and other processed foods with high sugar. This diet allows you 5 carbohydrate food choices every day. How is that low carb??

The one thing I found helpful in this book is how eating less carbs helps you lose weight. It was also interesting to learn about the dangers of eating a very low carb diet.

I would not recommed this book for someone who is looking for a true low-carb guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Title- Not a Low Carb Program!, January 30, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
While this book's emphasis on choosing a whole food diet is commendable, some of the food choices recommended in the book are not just high in carbohydrate, they are dangerously loaded with simple sugars and trans-fats. For example on page 149, the author has breakfast recommendations for the following pancreas taxing and artery clogging foods: Orange juice, oatmeal, raisins, margarine, honey and brown sugar. With possibly the exception of a small bowl of unsweetened, slow-cooking oatmeal, these foods (and many more that the author recommends) are stictly forbidden on most of the popular low-carb programs.
It angers me that I was duped into paying $21.99 for a book that uses it's misleading title to sell itself. I strongly recommend
"The Schwarzbein Principle" and "Protein Power" and the rest of the books in their respective series. While certainly not books for "dummies", they explain how our health can deteriorate on a diet rich in simple sugars and man made fats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summary of Chauncey's program, January 5, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
Chauncey's program encourages dieters to build meals around whole, unprocessed foods. Her "whole foods" plan allows unlimited "Green Light" foods including lean meats, reduced-fat cheeses, and most fruits and vegetables. She doesn't count the carbs in fruits or vegetables (except for those in potatoes, bananas, and a few other "Yellow Light" foods).
Chauncey allows 3 servings of low-fat or non-fat dairy per day, and 5 daily servings of carbs (one carb serving having about 15 grams of carbohydrate). She counts only net carbs, first subtracting grams of dietary fiber.
The book is packed with helpful information, tips (dining out, fast food, buffet tables, what to do if you've gone off your diet, how to figure out if you need vitamins, etc.) and encouragement. The recipes are not complicated (I've only made a couple). The diet is much more traditional than South Beach, Atkins, and so on, but is still designed to reduce your intake of processed, refined carbs. There's no initial restrictive "induction" phase; there are suggestions for moving gradually towards healthier choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A low-fat diet book in disguise !, January 28, 2005
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
The title of this book is misleading. After reading it , I realized what it actually means. A dummy wouldn`t know that the diet descibed in this book is a low-fat, low-cal diet. If you really want to know about the low carb diet, get 'Dr. Adkins`New Diet Revolution' or even 'The South Beach Diet'.I enjoyed this book as much as I enjoy my new beverage of choice. Made from 100% organic soy, taste just like coffee and no caffeine. Finally, I got rid of that wired up feeling all day and feeling great. Look for it on the net by googling "s o yfee".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars amused at the mixed reviews, September 29, 2013
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
I can see how the parochial Atkins/Paleo followers would be incensed by this book. I have done Atkins for years and this is really not that different from the later stages of Atkins. It is about watching what you eat and being realistic about your food choices and moving away from processed foods. I mean, if you are totally into whatever plan you are following, why are you bothering with getting another book?
I picked this up curious as to what it entailed, bored to death with Atkins. Yes, it tends toward low fat as well as low carb. Induction was pretty much the only part of Atkins I could follow because it gets way too complicated for me after that. You can't stay on induction your whole life, and Atkins emphasized that point. Even on Atkins you have to start adding more carbs back into your plan "until you start to gain weight" and that is your theoretical limit. Guess what, in the later stages of the plan you are at about the same level this book ends you up with. The fact of the matter is, weight gain is still about calories in/out and lowering carb intake is still reducing calories. Yes, you can eat the green light foods with abandon. As she points out, you don't. But you just don't worry about them.
Like with all diets and diet books, make your choices on what works for you. This looks to be a realistic and easy plan to follow, without all the counting and figuring and worrying and boredom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars TOOOOOOO Wordy!, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies (Paperback)
This is just too wordy, not a simple guide to low carb dieting, you need a PHD in medicene to follow all of the why and wherefores!
Just alot of blah blah & blah, not worth the money pass of this read. The seller sent as agreed, no reflection on the seller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Diet to Consider!, July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a good book to help you with a high-protein low-carb diet. I've tried diets and stuck with them religiously, but with no results. This low-carb diet, at first, gave me headaches. Soon after, I found myself eating less, being more satisfied, and having more energy. This diet worked for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is Eat-Slightly-Better for Dummies, which is HIGH CARB! BEWARE!, May 19, 2013
As an Atkins and low carb DEVOTEE, I warn you, this book is rubbish if you are even remotely interested in learning anything about low carbing or the healthy lifestyle and weight it will get you to. Low fat products are FULL of corn, soy, and fillers that are NOT GOOD, HIGH CARB, FULL OF PROCESSED JUNK, and TERRIBLE FOR YOU (and your body has no idea what they are). Save yourself the cash and the disappointment when you don't lose any weight and still feel tired, sluggish, and fat on this diet. Read the 2003 Atkins. It's the truest to form and has no marketing BS in it (like a lot of others including the New Atkins 2011).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies
Low-Carb Dieting For Dummies by Katherine B. Chauncey (Paperback - November 21, 2003)
$21.99 $14.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.