Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally an Easy, Affordable Way to Learn
Low Cost High Impact Photography will be a god send for anyone who is starting out in photography and worried about how they can afford gear and learn. Steve has taken an approach to the basics (and further) which I wish had been available back when I started out. He could have saved me lots of money back in the day. This is a Simple, Clear, and Affordable way to wrap...
Published on November 27, 2011 by Mark Spomer

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag
The author has an informal and engaging style of writing. The sections on composition and his personal creative processes are refreshingly honest and well worth reading. However, the technical aspects of photography are treated very superficially and some of his comments and suggestions are flat out wrong. For this reason, I cannot recommend this book for beginners. But...
Published 20 months ago by rw-chesterfield,MO


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally an Easy, Affordable Way to Learn, November 27, 2011
By 
Mark Spomer (Scottsdale, AZ, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low Cost High Impact Photography (Kindle Edition)
Low Cost High Impact Photography will be a god send for anyone who is starting out in photography and worried about how they can afford gear and learn. Steve has taken an approach to the basics (and further) which I wish had been available back when I started out. He could have saved me lots of money back in the day. This is a Simple, Clear, and Affordable way to wrap your head around how you can get started, including several examples, without spending those big bucks that everyone infers you have to.

If you're concerned about learning light, aperture, negative space, composition, and all you have is a point and shoot, don't be. He walks you through it in a way that very few have been able to. You'll learn enough to get your groove on and more without a brain cramp, as well as how to keep money in your wallet, which will keep your spouse happy! Starting in photography doesn't have to be expensive.

Well written, easy to understand, and not done in such a rigid, structured way, so you can jump around a bit if you have ADHD, and not feel guilty. Start learning the easy and affordable way. You'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the book deliver what it promises, November 27, 2011
This review is from: Low Cost High Impact Photography (Kindle Edition)
I like taking pictures, but take mostly pictures of the family. However, I can well imagine expanding the horizons a bit. I think this book in a very very simple way explains how to take better pictures. And the best part is that the author shows how, without having to buy much equipment. The author also uses a plain language that is not too technical. Which is good for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag, July 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Low Cost High Impact Photography (Kindle Edition)
The author has an informal and engaging style of writing. The sections on composition and his personal creative processes are refreshingly honest and well worth reading. However, the technical aspects of photography are treated very superficially and some of his comments and suggestions are flat out wrong. For this reason, I cannot recommend this book for beginners. But I do recommend it as a quick read for those who have enough background to ignore the errors. I also must add that most of the impact of his photo's was lost on my B&W Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Sound Advice, January 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Low Cost High Impact Photography (Kindle Edition)
Aimed at beginners with a will to improve and those with a decent point and shoot (or maybe a pricey DSLR that cost thousands but didnt magically take professional looking pictures out of the box) that want to produce better pictures. This book delivers on its promise and shows that pictures come from the photographer not the instrument. Packed with great advice ("get closer" ... "turn OFF the cameras flash" ... "a cameras 'features' often hinder the photographer ... try turning them off") and a healthy contempt for the photography equipment marketing strategy (spend lots more = better photographer) that serves mostly to separate people from their money and not help them take great satisfying photos. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good guide for budget photography, November 28, 2011
By 
L. Wilcox (Sanger, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Low Cost High Impact Photography (Kindle Edition)
Steve Johnson knows his stuff, and he shares it well in this collection of columns on low-budget photography. He is so right about the basic concept: Photography does not need to be a costly hobby. The modern point-and-shoot digital camera does an incredible job in the hands of a creative shooter. Steve shows how to expand those capabilities with low or no cost tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anything Steve Johnson, November 27, 2011
This review is from: Low Cost High Impact Photography (Kindle Edition)
One of the highlights of my day is getting my Minimalist 101 blog in my email from Steve Johnson.

However, I just recently discovered his photography and writing... so when I saw there was a .99 kindle book of his writing I was all over that. What is even better is the writing is all about how you can make your photography better without spending lots of money!

This great book gives you plenty of tips and is great for the $.99 price-tag (I'd of paid more)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every Newbie Photographer Needs This Book - some experienced 'clickers' may find it useful, July 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Low Cost High Impact Photography (Kindle Edition)
If there is one book that every newbie photographer should read reread, it is "Low Cost High Impact Photography". The very detailed list of contents does prepare the reader for the impact of the opening paragraph, which begins with the statement - "The main purpose of this book is to save you money." It continues. "It will show you that serious photography does need to be a prohibitively expensive pastime. The vast majority of photographs in this book were taken with a camera that currently retails for around $130."
Steve debunks the commonly held belief that in order to take a reasonably good photograph one needs one of those expensive br name cameras. You know those with the foot long lenses, a bagful of different filters other paraphernalia. No says Steve he proves it because - "The vast majority of the photographs in this book were taken with a camera that currently retails for around $130." The INTRODUCTION details his views on the importance of learning to master the basics before thinking of spending your hard earned cash on an inventory of expensive cameras accessories. The next section covers EQUIPMENT starts with the two rules that the author lives by:
"Only buy what you need

Don't let others tell you what you need."
He writes: "For someone who..."is fairly confident that they have the photography bug: I would look to spend between $120 $180 on a point shoot camera." He emphasizes the point later by writing -"All serious photographers that I know carry a point shoot along with their bigger cameras..." So don't worry you are a cheapskate if you give someone a good `digicam' as a gift. You are just been smart practical.
The three other sections, TECHNIQUE, AESTHETICS PHOTO ESSAYS may be short on s but are very long on concise information making this book only the perfect primer on basic digital photography but it could be a reminder or quick refresher on points of technique style for the photographer with some experience.
I bought the Kindle version, but I am getting a print copy for my camera bag, whenever I give a newbie a point shoot in the future it will be bundled with a copy of Steve Johnson's "LOW COST HIGH IMPACT PHOTOGRAPHY". To get them started in the right direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the most from your camera, November 30, 2011
This review is from: Low Cost High Impact Photography (Kindle Edition)
Here is a book for the novice photographer. Steve Johnson does know photography and (more importantly) knows how to share his tips and ideas in simple terms. There are a few references to technical "stuff" but you won't have any trouble understanding Steve's discussion.
You will be inspired to try many of his simple concepts to get better photos from even a simple camera. His examples are mostly taken with a Canon Point & Shoot that you can buy today for about $150.

What if you have a fancier camera? The ideas will still provide a useful guide for your advancement in photography. His discussion of composition & aesthetics is just as easy to read as the rest of the book.

Even if you think you are an advanced photographer, you'll find some "gold nuggets" to stimulate your creativity.

Buy it today for 99 cents; heck, it's worth at least twice that! lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem Of A Photography Handbook!, November 29, 2011
This review is from: Low Cost High Impact Photography (Kindle Edition)
Low Cost High Impact Photography

Written in unpretentious language, photographer-author Steve Johnson packs this 115-page illustrated book with just about everything anyone needs to know to become the photographer we want to be. He lays out fundamental concepts in simple terms and explains technical details in words which can actually be understood by ordinary human beings, regardless of the level of proficiency - from the basics of working with lighting, to taking pictures in high winds.

The author also gives us the big picture by stepping back to remind us that we should be developing our eye to capture what we see, and not just be sucked into the co-dependency of fancy equipment, falling victim as prosumers to the marketing propaganda that pervades all industries, including the photography industry.

You can read this eBook in Kindle and most cell phones, too. Hurry, before the price goes up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and entertaining, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Low Cost High Impact Photography (Kindle Edition)
Apart from the great photos and useful tips this was such an entertaining read! I liked Steve's no-nonsense approach to photography which still left room for artistic flair. Not to speak of how affordable this book is! Worth every cent and a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9481fe4)

This product

Low Cost High Impact Photography
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.