Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their high point
This is the album that best strikes the balance between what they once were and what they were to become. They still remembered their beginnings while breaking new ground. Dance and club beats aside, listen to elegia and tell me that it isn't a powerful piece of music.
I just wish they'd come out with a remastered CD. The original I've had since 86 pales to the UK...
Published on February 27, 2004 by Bighairydoofus

versus
85 of 96 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Loaded with errors
The MUSIC on these New Order reissues get a 5/5, easily. However, there were far too many egregious mistakes made in the creation of the discs themselves to give them a pass. Only the first discs were re-mastered though they still have some problems, it is the bonus discs that are an absolute mess.

Warner Music/Rhino know about these problems, but there is...
Published on November 12, 2008 by paul


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 96 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Loaded with errors, November 12, 2008
By 
The MUSIC on these New Order reissues get a 5/5, easily. However, there were far too many egregious mistakes made in the creation of the discs themselves to give them a pass. Only the first discs were re-mastered though they still have some problems, it is the bonus discs that are an absolute mess.

Warner Music/Rhino know about these problems, but there is yet no word on any forthcoming fixes. So I'd hold off until these issues are addressed.

Noted below are the specific problems with the Low Life reissue:

Low-Life (1985) Digipak spine says "1983"
1. Love Vigilantes 4:19
2. The Perfect Kiss 4:50
3. This Time of Night 4:45
4. Sunrise 6:01 - Sudden volume drop in right channel at 2:36
5. Elegia 4:55
6. Sooner Than You Think 5:11
7. Sub-culture 4:58
8. Face Up 5:06
Overall: the album tracks "sound like they've been mastered from the Centredate cd's and not the masters themselves" "this release is a massive disappointment. I would advise to NOT buy it - "Sleeve notes full of errors" "Did anyone proof read these?"

Low-Life - bonus disc
1. The Perfect Kiss 8:50 - Dubious sound quality, clicks, 'crackles', and pops at 0:07, 0:11, 0:16, 0:20, 0:23, 0:25, 0:30, 0:42, 0:50, 0:54, 1:08, 1:19, 1:23, 1:28, 1:32, 1:38, 1:56, 2:12, 2:32, 3:01, 3:03, 3:10, 3:11, 3:15, 3:24, 3:29, 3:40, 3:54, 3:57, 4:52, 4:59, 5:04, 5:06, 5:11, 5:13, 5:15, 5:18, 5:20, 5:27, 5:41, 6:08, 6:09, 6:37, 6:42, 6:44, 6:47, 6:51, 6:56, 7:12, 7:47, 7:49, 8:10, 8:15, 8:20, 8:36, and 8:38.
2. Subculture 7:27 - Glitches "run the whole way through it", namely at: 0:02, 0:04, 0:07, 0:08, 0:23, 0:48, 0:56, 1:24, 1:32, 1:58, 2:09, 2:47, 2:50, 3:13, 3:52, 3:55, 3:57, 3:59, 4:30, 4:35, 4:48, 4:55, 4:57, 5:04, 5:18, 5:46, 5:49, 6:38, and 6:52.
3. Shellshock - Plays the Substance edit, not the full 12" version. sounds messy, more bass but also no presence"
4. Shame Of The Nation
5. Elegia 17:30
6. Let's Go - "Clicks" at 1:24 and 3:23(at 1:31 it sounds like the tape slowed suddenly)
7. Salvation Theme 2:16
8. Dub Vulture 7:56 - Has "rumble" as if it were taken from vinyl. Clicks and pops at 0:07, 0:09, 0:14 ....

Overall, "mastering for the bonus tracks is on the loud side" and clipping may be present. "The tracks on the bonus disc sound mostly awful". "I just can't believe this release passed the quality control of band, management and label."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their high point, February 27, 2004
By 
Bighairydoofus "-" (Brooklyn Park, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low Life (Audio CD)
This is the album that best strikes the balance between what they once were and what they were to become. They still remembered their beginnings while breaking new ground. Dance and club beats aside, listen to elegia and tell me that it isn't a powerful piece of music.
I just wish they'd come out with a remastered CD. The original I've had since 86 pales to the UK vinyl... come on, guys. Break out the master tapes and show us what's really there. We deserve it after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caution DO NOT BUY THIS VERSION, August 26, 2009
By 
dietermod (Akron, OH United States) - See all my reviews
These CD's have been in effect recalled for numerous sonic errors primarily on the second disks. DO NOT BUY the November 11, 2008 versions. Rhino has re-released them as of August 25, 2009. These are the corrected versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Order's finest long form achievement., March 2, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Low Life (Audio CD)
In my opinion, this is New Order's greatest achievement, album-wise. I may be way off here, but to me it seems to be the last album in which the suicide of their former Joy Division singer Ian Curtis is a priority in the lyrics. Perhaps they said all they needed to say to him and about him with this album and were finally able to go on their on way with each successive work. The leadoff song "Love Vigilantes" may very well be the finest kickoff album track of the 80's, a defiantly rock and roll song that almost seems out of place in New Order's quite impressive canon. Along the way you will be treated to such typical NO tracks as The Perfect Kiss and Subculture along with a stunningly beautiful instrumental "Eligia" and such amazingly perfect electronic-flavored masterpieces as Face Up and Sunrise. It's an album you can dance to and album you can listen to with the headphones on and the shades drawn and not be disappointed. If you only know New Order through Bizarre Love Triangle or True Faith, then this album will open your eyes to what else they can accomplish. If you don't know New Order at all, then I suggest you buy this and get prepared to lay out big money for everything else they've ever recorded. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Errors have been corrected., November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been really hesitant to buy these due to all of the pressing errors. I just wanted to let everyone know that as of a few weeks ago, I have all of the New Order reissues, and the errors have been fixed. If you're hesitant, don't be. I ordered all of them through Amazon minus Brotherhood, and they're all just dandy. Obviously the albums are five stars, no need to elaborate on that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its bleak., June 4, 2000
This review is from: Low Life (Audio CD)
The folk song that opens this album really gives you no clue as to what is to follow. The version of the Perfect Kiss on this record is subpar to the remixed single version (which would be OUT of place on this record, just as Blue Monday is out of place on the cd reissue of P,C,L). But as this song is subpar to its single counterpart, Subculture blows away its overblown single counterpart, so they cancel each other out. This Time of Night and Sunrise outrock any traditional "rock" band out there, they're very dark and powerful. If you can listen to this recording on vinyl, turn it up all the way on side 1, its really draining in a way that only Joy Division or the Velvet Underground before them were able to capture. Side 2 that starts with Elegia is very complex. Sooner Than You Think is obviously the centerpiece of the album but Face-up is a nice close too. This album has a lot of soul, and that's hard to come by these days (and especially in so called soul music!). This album is also very mysterious (in a way that really only New Order albums are). It begs repeated listenings not only because of its depth but because it can accentuate any mood or feeling you have at the time. In other words, leagues ahead of everything and anything U2 ever did. But if you made it to this page, you should know that already. (I'd also like to point out that the 3 star reviewer specifically mentions 60% of the album as the highlight of the album, what's up with that?). In summary, Substance (and the singles) are good for casual listening, but like all New Order albums, Low-life transends itself as just a record and takes on a life of its own. It has few peers (Pet Sounds, The Queen is Dead, Born to Run). Buy it TODAY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What do I get out of this, I always try, I always miss ..., July 12, 2001
By 
"synthpopalooza" (Knoxville, TN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low Life (Audio CD)
It is a shame that New Order didn't get more than scant recognition during their heyday in the 80's. They started out as Joy Division, the group which practically defined the alternative genre way back in the late 70's fter the death of punk, went through terrible emotional turmoil as their lead singer killed himself, then went forward to embrace electronic styles which would prove the forerunner to the techno of the 90's.
This was my first New Order album, having known nothing of the group except for a 12" of "Perfect Kiss" which I had heard on a radio mix show one night. I was duly impressed by the dance beat, electronics, and the cutting guitar right at the end. AWESOME STUFF. On the basis of that, I bought the album ... what a shock. I didn't normally get into alternative rock music (my normal tastes being the light poppier sounds of Erasure and Human League) but after a few listens, this album really GREW on me, it is a masterpiece!
"Love Vigilantes", a heartbreaking song about the Falkland Islands war, the ending of the song is a shocker. "This Time of Night" drips with darkness. "Elegia" is simply the best instrumental that has been done by any rock band, ever. The repeated synths hypnotize you, then suddenly a loud guitar jars you awake and grabs you by the throat ... just AWESOME.
Put simply, this was the album which forever made me a fan of New Order's music, and is why they are one of the BEST ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Work By The Splendid New Order, December 18, 2005
This review is from: Low Life (Audio CD)
"Low Life" is New Order's definitive work, and a defining moment in 80's music. Finally finding their post-Joy Division voice after the splendid but less confident "Power, Corruption & Lies", New Order joyfully arrive fully formed on "Low Life". Every song bristles with energy and is celebratory, even when dark. Starting with the haunting but deceptively upbeat "Love Vigilantes" it's game on. "The Perfect Kiss" follows, yet another New Order classic, and "Low Life" is chock full of them. There is the darkly sophisticated "Sooner Than You Think", club favorite "Sub-culture", and the gorgeous, and I mean gorgeous instrumental "Elegeia". The incredibly buoyant "Face Up" ends things. The sound of "Low Life" is everything that made New Order so very unique, and what still sets them apart as absolute originals; no one else sounds like them. Musically the relentlessly inventive and energetic counterpoint of synth, bass, guitar, and percussion create a sound that simply compells and propels every song. Bernard Sumner's lyrics and enigmatic vocals bring the sinister contrast to the almost ebullient chemistry of the music. "Low Life" is a midnight sun of happy darkness, and one of the very best albums of the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazon still selling faulty original, July 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered all five of these remasters from Amazon in July 2011. I received the 2009 corrected versions of Movement, PCL and Technique. Brotherhood and Low-Life both are the older versions with the messy second disc. I am returning those two. People say you can tell the older pressings by two external signs:

1) The older pressings have the plastic "Collectors Edition" sleeve on the outside, and the newer pressings don't.
2) The newer pressings have a second book inside with details on all five remastered albums and the older ones don't.

This is actually a little bit misleading as the "Low-Life" I received did not have the plastic sleeve and did have the second booklet. So, I assumed it was the corrected version. But the second disc is obviously the flawed version with glaring glitches and pops throughout.

Perhaps Rhino is recycling all of the defective discs that have been returned to them, hoping less informed buyers won't notice. At any rate, be wary. They should have recalled the bad copies from retailers back in 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Low Life" is High Art, June 28, 2000
This review is from: Low Life (Audio CD)
I have all of New Order's albums, and I would give "Low Life" the nod as the best of the bunch. The album features a familiar pattern for the band. One made-for-the-dance-floor centerpiece song (in this case "The Perfect Kiss") surrounded by a lot of great techno rock gloom. The heartbreaking anti-war tune, "Love Vigilantes," that kicks off the album is the best song the band ever wrote. Nearly as good are the more danceable "Sub-Culture" and "Face Up" that close things out. New Order was the best (and most substantive) new wave band of the 1980s. On "Low Life," they show why that is so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.