Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

  • Lucas
  • Customer Reviews

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$6.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 10, 2010
The death of Corey Haim prompted me to come and order this DVD. It was one of his best performances; thinking of it made me sad that he never found his footing as an actor during his adult years.

I realize that this is supposed to be my review and not Roger Ebert's, but I can't help but quote a couple of things he said. About Haim's performance in "Lucas": "He creates one of the most three-dimensional, complicated, interesting characters of any age in any recent movie. If he can continue to act this well, he will never become a half-forgotten child star, but will continue to grow into an important actor. He is that good."

Ebert listed it as one of the top 10 films of 1986. I agree with that assessment. It's a quiet, well-written, beautifully acted movie.

RIP, Mr. Haim.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2003
I can relate very well to this film. I saw it my senior year of high school in 1991, but I didn't notice how true it rang for me until today. Like Lucas, I was unpopular but outgoing. Many students looked down on me because I was in special education and was considered 'stupid'. I also had a crush on a cheerleader and did everything to get her attention. And also like Lucas, my heart was crushed when she decided to date a football player. I was even told by one of the teachers to stick with my own kind (he didn't say those EXACT words, but it sounded that way) when he talked to her about me. The good news was the pain I felt healed in time.
That is why I like Lucas. It is a movie I can relate to, and is full of honesty. Unlike a few other 80s teen films, it doesn't stereotype it's characters. Lucas is not a stereotypical geek because he is interesting, Cappy is not your stereotypical jock because he has a good heart and looks out for Lucas, and Maggie is not your stereotypical high school cheerleader because she doesn't act snotty. Looking back on this film now would be a trip through innocence because many of the main stars have had their share of trouble in recent years. Still, if you want to watch a great film that takes an honest look at teen angst, 'Lucas' hits the right buttons.
11 comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2004
Well, maybe I guess it is an 80's teen movie, but unlike other 80's teen movies this film is intelligent and has a heart.
The other movies from this genre are plot driven. Honestly, how many different titles has the story of "Can't Buy me Love" had? This movie however has taken a different perspective to look at teenage years and took the approach to drive the story from the characters, not plot.
The movie is brave by not taking the easy way out (except for one scene which I won't ruin) and I respect that. It also makes the movie less predictable and more entertaining to watch for us the audience.
I think this movie is the best movie of the teen movie genre. I loved Ferris Beuller, Sixteen Candles, and the other John Hughes greats. Those films were also loads more humerous too, but Lucas aims to do more than achieve laughs and I applaude its efforts.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2002
"Lucas" is a rare gem, a movie which is filled with the usual stereotypes (geek, jock, nerd, etc) except that this movie digs below the surface to show us what is beneath the stereotype !
And it also plays against character in that the jock (Charlie Sheen) is actually friends with the geek (Corey Hains). The final scenes of Breakfast Club are awesome because that is when the barriers are broken down, but you must sit thru the entire movie to get to that part. In Lucas, the entire movie is the good part. For those of you who don't know, Kerri Green in her best performance (whatever happened to her anyway?) moves to a new town during the summer and bumps into Lucas (Corey Haines) and they become fast friends, but once school starts she begins to make other friends and eventually falls for the jock (Charlie Sheen) which begins a sort-of competition between the 2 of them to win her heart. Charlie Sheen wins ofcourse and there is an absolutely wonderful seen under a highway overpass between Corey Haines and Kerri Green where he discusses the fact that guys like him are destined to lose due to the laws of nature (this scene is heart breaking because it is so true). However, while many films would have ended there, this film continues because Lucas won't give up. I won't give it away but it involves a football game (these scenes are the only ones that go a bit too far in my opinion) and in the end Lucas does indeed win the competition and the hearts of others, but not in the way you think. The ending of this film LITERALLY gave me goosebumps, I wanted to stand and cheer for him.
This is a great movie with great performances all around. If you ever went to High School or ever fell in love with someone who did not love you back, you owe it to yourself to get this movie, you won't be dissapointed
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2007
The eighties were Hollywood's "Golden Age" when it comes to teen movies. For a few years you had a string of movies featuring realistic dialog and an accurate depiction of teenage angst caused by the belief that everything matters just a bit too much. Sure, the plots could be clichéd, but the characters and dialog were believable and nothing was too far-fetched or predictable. Of course, all good things come to an end and now the term "teen movie" refers to a comedy filled with one-dimensional characters, nudity, and shock humor. There's nothing wrong with an over-the-top comedy, but it's a shame that they've more or less wiped out the old teen dramas and coming-of-age stories.

When it comes to the eighties movies it seems like the Brat Pack/John Hughes films get the most attention, but the best movie of them all was David Seltzer's "Lucas."

Here's the basic plot: Maggie moves to town during the summer and gets noticed by a local nerd, Lucas. A friendship forms between them, even though he's younger, and he develops a crush on her, but things change when school starts. It's not that she doesn't want to be his friend--but she also meets new people, and Lucas is so busy trying to be a part of Maggie's world that he doesn't even notice the advances of another girl (a young Winona Ryder).

"Lucas" is melodramatic at times, but that just makes it more realistic. Teenagers DO tend to make everything into a life-or-death situation and they make crazy choices to get what they want. All of the characters in this movie defy stereotypes. Lucas isn't just nerd who can be written off--he's a sympathetic character. But so is Maggie...and the jock football player played by Charlie Sheen. Everyone makes tough choices due to their hormones. It's easy to think the movie is silly at time--it's been spoofed a hundred times I think--but it's also a movie worth seeing. It was pretty much the best thing Cory Haim or Kerri Green ever starred in.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
Lucas (Corey Haim) is a spirited runt who likes bugs and classical music, and when he sees a new girl, Maggie (Kerri Green), playing tennis on an abandoned court, he likes her too, and expresses this by casually playing Waltz of the Flowers on a tape deck he carries in his backpack.
They become summer friends, trekking through swamp and sewer where they talk about Keeping an Open Mind and the more Superficial aspects of high school.
When the term begins several things set the mood. Lucas' friends, Ben (Ciro Poppiti), bold, brave, basketball-shaped, and Rina (Winona Ryder), quiet, boyish, and harboring a crush towards Lucas that he never notices, announce to him that their band teacher shot himself because of a broken heart which prompts several later conversations glossing over Romeo and Juliet. Less than ten minutes afterwards during a beginning of the year pep-rally-type assembly Lucas is publicly humiliated by Bruno (Tom Hodges) the Bad Football player, an insecure and abrasive second in command, though later that night at the movie theatre he is commended for being a "good sport" by Cappie (Charlie Sheen) the Good Football player, and his girlfriend Alise (Courtney Thorne-Smith). After being invited out after the movie by Cappie, Lucas also survives sitting in the back of Cappie's car with Spike (Jeremy Piven) and Tonto (Kevin Wixted) imp-faced Football Players who are defined by their names, rough, but too bumbling to be malicious.
To Lucas' disappointment, Maggie goes out for cheerleading, and to Alise's disgust, Cappie begins spending a lot of time staring at Maggie. Cappie and Maggie become a tentative couple, and Lucas, in a desperate attempt to attract her attention, tries out for the football team - which goes about as well as you think it would for a 90lb kid appearing to be constructed of toothpicks.

It's good. It's realistic. Some kids are cruel, selfish, and vulgar, but they are also sweet, vulnerable, and intelligent. High school football games are not won by miracles that occur seconds before the clock runs out, football players and cheerleaders aren't all evil Barbie and Ken dolls, and not all band and science club members are pure pictures of socially awkward innocence. All the actors, incredibly young as they were, play their parts well so the characters seem warm and three-dimensional, and appear to be people, rather than props.
Five stars for one of the few movies that does not treat high school like a bad nightclub.
review image review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2014
This was one of my favorite movies when it came out. Other movies that I thought were great many years ago haven't seemed that way when I have re-watched them years later. Lucas did not have this problem. It is still a funny, poignant, feel-good movie.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2001
"Lucas" is a good example of how 80's adolescent movies undermines 90's teen movies. I don't have to tell the ones who read this that the teen movies that are made today is beyond horrible. One thing I love about the eighties, is that the directors who made teenage movies really put their hearts in it, and made an effort to capture the true luminous light of youth. I was immediately taken with "Lucas", because, unlike most teen movies, intelligence and individuality were portrayed. Clever dialogue, wonderful acting, and best of all, individuality was emphasized. One thing I honestly regret about being a seventeen-year-old teenager in the millennium is having to be subjected to Hollywood teen flicks, which are so full of dreck it's amazing. My skin almost crawls when I look at "She's All That," "Ten Things I Hate About You", "Loser", "Drive Me Crazy", etc. Plus, the actors in "Lucas" do more of a convincing job than the modern teen actresses today. Watch "Lucas". You'll be rewarded. It's simple in its sweetness and charm, and is always good for a snowy night.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
i give this 5 stars because this is a very good movie..has comedy..romance and drama in it..i like Corey Haim..Charlie Sheen..Kerri Green and Winona Ryder in this..i recommend it to family and friends..classic from 1986!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2002
Let me tell you, Lucas is one of the best teen movies ever! In an age when people think teens have no feelings, and are sex, and party crazy, it is refreshing to see a film like this. A true gem sbout the joys and pains of growing up. Excellent performances. It is too bad Corey Haim made bad movie choices afterward, because I believe he has talent. Anyway, he wil always have this one. Charlie Sheen, and Kerri Green are also marvelous. Do yourself a favor, and check it out.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.