Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic! Get it used, read, and be more lucid
This is a classic, well worth (re-)reading twenty years later. The author's later EXPLORING THE WORLD OF LUCID DREAMING isn't actually more _comprehensive_ than this book, but rather more practical, "a step-by-step guide to lucid dreaming: how to do it, and what to do with it." LUCID DREAMING, in contrast, includes material on NDEs, OBEs, dream telepathy, mutual...
Published on December 13, 2002

versus
181 of 194 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This Book By the Original
I bought this book not realizing it was just a condensed version of the author's book Exploring the World of Lucid Dreaming. There is nothing new here except a CD you don't need. If you are new to ludid dreaming you want to stick to Laberge's previous work. If you have already read that, you won't need to spend your money on this. It's like the cliffnotes version with...
Published on March 8, 2007 by Ann I.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

181 of 194 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This Book By the Original, March 8, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book not realizing it was just a condensed version of the author's book Exploring the World of Lucid Dreaming. There is nothing new here except a CD you don't need. If you are new to ludid dreaming you want to stick to Laberge's previous work. If you have already read that, you won't need to spend your money on this. It's like the cliffnotes version with pretty packaging and a CD thrown in to make it sound worth the money. It's simply not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic! Get it used, read, and be more lucid, December 13, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucid Dreaming (Paperback)
This is a classic, well worth (re-)reading twenty years later. The author's later EXPLORING THE WORLD OF LUCID DREAMING isn't actually more _comprehensive_ than this book, but rather more practical, "a step-by-step guide to lucid dreaming: how to do it, and what to do with it." LUCID DREAMING, in contrast, includes material on NDEs, OBEs, dream telepathy, mutual dreaming, and other topics for which lucid dreaming has important implications. It is a _different_ book, addressing "why?" sorts of questions, perhaps with more philosophical depth, and certainly more implications, while EXPLORING... focusses on "how?"�LD techniques, and "what?"�LD applications.
LUCID DREAMING is currently out-of-print, but widely available in libraries, used book stores, and conveniently�Amazon.com. If you are interested in dreaming and transcendence you'll want to read this book. And if you're interested in lucid dreaming, you'll want to re-read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding!!!!, May 14, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this book is MUCH better than the author's earlier book(exploring the world of lucid dreaming)for three reasons.(1)it is WAY more comprehensive.(2) the exercises are simpler and easier to understand.(3)it has up to date information.the previous book was written sixteen years ago and this book has a lot of recent research results/techniques.i highly recommend it for anyone who really desires to use this valuable skill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very basics for beginning dreamers! (or those beginning to pay attention to their dreams!), October 12, 2009
By 
Altmed (California United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lucid Dreaming: A Concise Guide to Awakening in Your Dreams and in Your Life (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Nice book & CD for those beginning on their journey into the world of Lucid (awakened, enhanced, trance or interactive) dreaming.

Book includes stories of those who have experienced lucid dreaming, science behind dreaming and how it affects our lives, dream recall skills, "dreamsigns" (thoughts that are clues to you that you are dreaming), "prospective memory" (reminding self to be aware of weather or not you are dreaming), introduces post-hypnotics suggestions when lucid dreaming, working your way through fearful dreams, problem-solving, decision making, letting go of negative thought processes by working through them, , dealing with recurrent nightmares, and theories and examples of ideas of what is really being awake & what is dreaming really? (ultimately a question you might just change your answer to through lucid dreaming.) Also delves into the question of "self" in dreams (or is that who we want to be, who we think we ought to be or something else?)

Very informational on ideas of famous psychologists & others who've had an open opinion on the subject of dreams.

The CD is worth the price of this small, but informative, book for the beginner.

Tracks on CD are as described below:
1) Present State of Consciousness (an exercise on self-awareness)
2) Guided Reality Test (an exercise on awareness in awakened & dream states)
3) Mnemonic Induction of Lucid Dreams (exercise to use just after waking from a dream)
4) Dream Lotus and Flame Technique (a basic relaxation technique, tighten & loosen muscles and visioning of a Lotus & a Flame)
5) Trance Induction of Lucid Dreaming 1 (pre-sleep/dreaming exercise - relaxation & awareness - imagery - pre-suggestions for dream)
6) Trance Induction of Lucid Dreaming 2 (pre-sleep/dreaming exercise - relaxation & awareness - imagery - pre-suggestions for dream, ocean sounds, and further self-hypnotic suggestions [you are a butterfly flying into your dreams... who or what are you beyond dreams, to dream what you wish & a suggestion to be aware of yourself dreaming with a waking suggestion to recall dreams, waking refreshed, rested and full of light]

Nice guide for the beginner in looking into your dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Handbook Packed with Information, November 16, 2009
This review is from: Lucid Dreaming: A Concise Guide to Awakening in Your Dreams and in Your Life (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Lucid Dreaming by Stephen Laberge is a short read packed with detail upon detail of dreaming and psychology. For those not interested in lucid dreaming, this book still offers insight on the meaning and purpose of dreams, but the real meat is it's function as a guidebook to the would-be lucid dreamer.

Before I read this book, I had a few lucid dreams under my belt. They had been spontaneous and fleeting occurences, but enjoyable and even inspiring. I have to agree with basically everything said in Lucid Dreaming. The effect of dreams on your mood when you wake and even throughout the day can significant. Also, dreaming and in particular lucid dreaming, can assist you in anticipating problems or situations that may come your way. Lastly, dreaming can help you realize and identify deep emotions and concerns that may otherwise never come to mind.

Does Lucid Dreaming help increase the actual amount of lucid dreams you have? Does it help people who've never experienced a lucid dream experience their first...and second and third, etc? Definitely yes. Laberge is not just another self-help/metaphysical self-proclaimed guru with little education or genuine widosm like so many others. Laberge is more like a master of martial arts trying to pass on some obscure wisdom to a mainstream audience. The tips and steps he outlines to achieve Lucid Dreaming will work for many many people, though probably not everyone. I know they have helped me out. You need an open mind and a little effort, but Lucid Dreaming is very real and worth experiencing at least once. My main takeaway from this book was to improve my ability to recall fully multiple dreams each night. Though, there is surprisingly a lot more to this slender booklet. While, the cd is a nice inclusion, and some of the tracks may be very helpful to certain people, I got little use out of it.

Wether you are looking to expand your understanding of your inner self, or just curious about that one time you realized you were dreaming in your dream, Laberge's Lucid Dreaming is the perfect reference. You'd think after all these years advancing our knowledge of the universe, that we'd understand lucid dreaming (and polyphasic sleeping, sleepy paralysis, etc.) perfectly well, but the truth is that these are not mainstream fields of research with companies throwing loads of money into exploring with hopes of big cash returns. This kind of subject is more of a curiosity and one of the rare curiosities that is much more elusive than smoke and mirrors but more substantial too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Important but incomplete work, February 19, 2005
Steve Laberge's work was the culmination of a flurry of interest in lucid dreams that began in the late sixties and early seventies with works like Altered states of consciousness and THE LUCID DREAM MANIFESTO: Reprint Of: Lucid Dreams, Dreams and Sleep: Theoretical Constructions, 1974. Dr. Laberge was able to expand on these early treatises and engage a larger community outside of academia and this book is the result of that engagement. This is an excellent survey of lucid dreams with advice on how to achieve them. The book is also strong on examining varieties of lucid dream experience and therapeutic benefits of lucid dreaming. The book is weak on placing lucid dreams within a more general theory of dream content and cognition. Laberge's explanation for why we don't always know we are dreaming in a dream-because they follow the same neural pathways as waking perception and seem so real-is not persuasive. The world is still waiting for a comprehensive analysis of lucid dream experience and phenomenology on the level of Martin Heidegger's BEING AND TIME. Still, this is a most valuable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not sure why this book exists..., November 29, 2012
By 
stephen laberge is a treasure for lucid dreamers. his other book, co-authored with howard rheingold, "exploring the world of lucid dreaming (written as "ewld" from here on)" is indispensable and i have seen nothing better on the topic. it is the gold standard right now.

this book however is just a very small book that has a fraction of the information found in ewld. furthermore, i do not recall seeing anything in this book that is not already covered in ewld (if there is any new information, it wasn't different enough for me too notice it). it comes with a cd but the cd is just a talk you to sleep thing where you get to hear stephen guide you to sleep while thinking about lucid dreaming or something. he's got a nice voice, but it's not worth it.

get this book if you are SUPER lazy when it comes to reading. it is short. however if you are a normal reader, get ewld as it has many more techniques and a huge amount more information.

actually just get ewld. even if you're lazy you can just skip to the section on MILD as i believe that's the only thing covered in this little book and it's covered even better in ewld. the only way i could see recommending this book is if you just HAVE to have the cd. other than that, avoid this one, it is deficient. but do get ewld! it's the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, covers everything, no mystical BS, June 6, 2005
This review is from: Lucid Dreaming (Paperback)
I'm a rational down-to-earth person, and I used this book to train myself to dream lucidly. It was definitely a worthwhile experience. There are a lot of books out there full of mysticism, but I wouldn't trust them. In addition to scientific studies, LaBerge draws freely from mystical traditions with something to say about lucid dreaming or dreaming in general, but his approach is very matter of fact. He'll talk about how those traditions see dreaming, but always the core is "does this lead to any techniques that can actually help you dream lucidly?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be on your way to lucid dreams, January 9, 2007
By 
Justin Eroh (State College, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the most interesting books I've read in awhile. It's not very long, it's a quick read and the author does a good job of providing a background to lucid dreaming and explains the benefits that are associated with lucid dreaming, as well as providing a guide to becoming lucid in your dreams. The book comes with a CD to help you become lucid in your dreams and the CD contains several exercises that are all narrated by the author. The exercises on the CD are easy to follow and the quality of the recording is very good. Some tracks also contain meditative music in the background. There are some topics in relation to lucid dreaming that were not covered in the book that I would have liked to see the author comment on, such as the variety of available legal herbal supplements that are supposed to promote the occurrence of lucid dreams. Although I cannot say that the book has helped me become lucid in my own dreams as of yet, the author's techniques that are taught in the book and on the accompanying CD have already helped me go from not remembering any of my dreams to being able to recall several dreams per night with increasingly more detail.

J.E.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucid dream the first night with CD only, May 16, 2010
This review is from: Lucid Dreaming: A Concise Guide to Awakening in Your Dreams and in Your Life (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The mind has incredible capabilities that many have no idea how to tap into. Lucid dreaming is one way of using the mind for personal development in waking life. I have read many books on lucid dreaming and astral travel all of which share the same basic techniques. I did not read this book but I listened to the CD several times in one day. I also listened to it as I was falling asleep and had a lucid dream that same night. The CD is broken into sets of relaxation techniques designed to put the body to sleep while keeping the mind awake. All you do is listen and do the exercises in your head. Obviously you do not want to drive and listen at the same time. You will fall asleep but sometime during one of your dreams you will become aware that you are dreaming via a trigger that you set for yourself.

The techniques do work if you are consistent with them and have a strong desire to achieve results. Once you do become lucid, and aware that you are still asleep, this realization alone can be startling enough to wake you up. Having a plan of what you want to do in your lucid dream will help make the experience last longer because your mind will automatically being playing out those events in your lucid state.

I have been able to see future events and was also able to describe a room in a house I had never been to. These experiences are quite fun and empowering. I give this item 5 stars because I did have an experience the very first night using only the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lucid Dreaming: A Concise Guide to Awakening in Your Dreams and in Your Life
$14.95 $12.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.