Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canadian Based Lottery Winners Book But Worthwhile
This is a lottery book as you may have decided from the title but it is well written if mostly about lottery winners from canada, it covers the win/lose stories and the win and live happy ever after stories and the unusual lifestyles and spenders.

Its a good book and covers the lottery stories that if you were studying youd find informative and interesting,...
Published on August 13, 2011 by Jason Dent

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A meek effort
For those of us who long to win the lottery and to prove wrong those who say money can't bring happiness, The Luck of the Draw will disappoint.
I waited a long time for this book to arrive at my local bookstore, almost as long as I've been waiting to hit a lottery jackpot. (That still hasn't happened.) I was disappointed when I finally sat down to read it. The...
Published on July 2, 2001 by J. Gifford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A meek effort, July 2, 2001
By 
This review is from: Luck of the Draw: True-Life Tales of Lottery Winners and Losers (Paperback)
For those of us who long to win the lottery and to prove wrong those who say money can't bring happiness, The Luck of the Draw will disappoint.
I waited a long time for this book to arrive at my local bookstore, almost as long as I've been waiting to hit a lottery jackpot. (That still hasn't happened.) I was disappointed when I finally sat down to read it. The authors jump from story to story within paragraphs, many starting with "So-and-so of Middle of Nowhere, Kansas, found out that what glitters isn't always gold." Rarely do they go in-depth into what it is really like to win a lottery. They interviewed many winners, it seems, but haven't been told much beyond the moment the winners discover they've won the jackpot and pick up their tickets. Most of the people who win lotteries do the same thing with their earnings: buy a new car, a new house, settle debts, go on a trip. Then they disappear from sight. Who cares! Buy lottery tickets instead of this book -- you'll be happier even if none of the tickets is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canadian Based Lottery Winners Book But Worthwhile, August 13, 2011
By 
Jason Dent (united states) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Luck of the Draw: True-Life Tales of Lottery Winners and Losers (Paperback)
This is a lottery book as you may have decided from the title but it is well written if mostly about lottery winners from canada, it covers the win/lose stories and the win and live happy ever after stories and the unusual lifestyles and spenders.

Its a good book and covers the lottery stories that if you were studying youd find informative and interesting, they arnt in depth but what you lose on the information you gain on the shear number of stories and facts.

If your like me and interested in the lottery as a different way to find the sudden changes in peoples lives when they come into sudden money it will entertain and inform you, if you need new stats or in depth stories of a few winners or advice in detail maybe there are other books for you but it was worth the money to me which is the most i can say as a reader, I enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lottery Book Delivers the Goods, April 20, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Luck of the Draw: True-Life Tales of Lottery Winners and Losers (Paperback)
A fast, funny read that told me everything I wanted to know about lotteries, their winners and losers - and then some. Part history, part comedy, this book was always entertaining and engaging. A great gift for anyone who plays the lottery or who just enjoys a good, easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winners can be losers too., April 20, 2001
By 
ed wall (NELSON BC CAN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Luck of the Draw: True-Life Tales of Lottery Winners and Losers (Paperback)
I've always been interested in what it would be like to be a millionaire. Well now I know. Lottery winners aren't always REAL winners, some are wieners. But it is the writing of Gudgeon and Stewart that really made this book an enjoyable read for anyone. Few writers (think Dave Barry) possess the combination of razor wit and warm humour like Gudgeon and Stewart. This book is like a lottery ticket - you can't win if you don't have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Luck of the Draw: True-Life Tales of Lottery Winners and Losers (Paperback)
A Good Read - Contains good information and stories about past lottery winners. Future Lottery Winning Readers will relate to stories in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Both Canadian and American Lottery winners, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Luck of the Draw: True-Life Tales of Lottery Winners and Losers (Paperback)
The number of failed lottery winners in the past still has not halted the present day winners from making mistakes.
This book has a lot of tales of lottery woes. In the 1990's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stories of lottery winners and players, February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Luck of the Draw: True-Life Tales of Lottery Winners and Losers (Paperback)
Luck of the Draw begins with the worldwide history of lotteries. Most of the book describes the lottery winners and players in the United States and Canada from 1960 to 2001. The book has 16 chapters and 173 pages. The average story is about one page long, and the stories are usually separated by two blank lines. The book has many stories that are one-third of a page long or less.

Some of the stories describe lottery pool administrators’ successful and unsuccessful attempts to cheat other pool members out of their share of millions. Often, administrators will falsely say that the winning ticket came from their non-lottery pool tickets. There are also stories about lottery pool administrators that did the honorable thing.

Luck of the Draw has a lot of stories that describe the moment people realize they won millions of dollars. There are many stories about people that made a mistake when they checked the winning numbers. These people did not realize they had a winning ticket worth millions until an unusual incident made them check the numbers again. In 1995, one winning ticket worth $5.8 million was not checked until 45 minutes before the one-year deadline to claim the money. The book reveals whether or not the family became millionaires.

In March 1986, Jean-Guy Lavigueur and his family won $6.3 million of a $7.6 million prize. The book describes Jean-Guy’s November 1989 television interview: “Old friends and family had turned their backs on him, he said, because he didn’t give them enough money. ‘To make everybody happy, I would have to give away all my money until I had nothing left and was back on welfare.’” That would explain why so many lottery winners (and athletes) lose all of their money.

Lottery winners lose a lot of money with investments. Some investment losses are unusual. In April 1985, a man in Yellowknife, Canada won $500,000. The lottery winner made a $38,000 down payment on a Vancouver apartment building. The lottery winner forgot the address of the building that he owned, and he never figured out how to locate the building. The book also has stories of lottery winners that managed their money well.

There are two areas where Luck of the Draw could improve. The first problem is incomplete stories. The book should finish telling all of its stories instead of most of its stories. The book will tell a story about a disagreement that went to court. A lot of times the book will not reveal the court’s decision or if there was an out-of-court settlement. In one example, the case went to court in October 1990 and the book has a 2001 copyright date. In most situations, eleven years would be enough time to get a verdict or an out-of-court settlement.

Page formatting is the second area where this book could improve. There are often no blank lines or titles between the last paragraph of one story and the first paragraph of the next story. The story’s title could appear before the first paragraph in the story and in the new index (the book does not have an index). Despite these problems, Luck of the Draw is one of the few lottery books that I am happy to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, November 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
disaapointed that it focused on canadian lottery winners i was hoping for american lottery winners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Luck of the Draw: True-Life Tales of Lottery Winners and Losers
Luck of the Draw: True-Life Tales of Lottery Winners and Losers by Chris Gudgeon (Paperback - July 1, 2002)
$14.95 $12.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.