Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
23
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 18, 2008
Bo Peabody is a lucky guy indeed. He founded Tripod and sold it to Lycos in 1997 for $58 million in stock, even though his company never made a profit. He was restricted from selling his stock for two years, during which the value increased tenfold. After the lockup period expired, he sold his stock at the peak of irrational exuberance.

Bo describes himself as a B-student who surrounded himself with A-students. His original idea for Tripod was a nonstarter, but his staff developed a homepage builder which quickly gained traction - eventually 1 million registered members.

"Start a company that is fundamentally innovative, morally compelling, and philosophically positive. Create an aura of authenticity around your start-up by carefully crafting your mission and communicating it with charisma and passion. Your company will attract smart, inspired people who will work very hard... Provide them with a clear action plan and give them the latitude to exercise their creativity."

In a down-to-earth style, Bo says: Don't believe your own press. Learn to love the word no. Always be gracious. And know what you don't know.

Think of this as an autobiography with insights into life in a start-up, rather than a repeatable formula - the chances of selling your unprofitable venture for $58 million are between slim and none.

I like that this book is short. He says what he has to say in 50 pages without padding it to fill a quota, like so many 200-page books out there. The book gets four stars. What could be more appropriate for a B-student?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
I've found in the book very realistic depiction of life of startuper in mid-90s but nothing else. Living for 10 000 dollars a year, struggle for developers retention and in search of advertisers. Not very helpful for creating new startup strategy, not enough lessons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
Great book for potential entrepreneurs. Mixes stories of luck, work and very self-effacing book about the trials and success of running a business. Not a self-help/management book for entrepreneurs, which is a good thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2014
This is a short and easy read. Great insight into some of the skills that come in handy as an entrepreneur - and how luck is sometimes just as important.

Wonderful anecdote about applying to and getting in to college.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
A very entertaining read from someone who knows what he's talking about. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. The only issue would be that it advocates a pretty narrow perspective and doesn't offer any alternatives. "This is the way it is and no other way" type of attitude reigns over the book. A very good read though for anyone interested/working in business, not just entrepreneurs!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2015
Although I've heard a lot of people acknowledge the importance of luck, Peabody does the best, compact job of framing luck as an active strategy. Kind of like an entrepreneurial version of Taleb's Black Swan in that respect. Also, there are very nice metaphors and turns of phrase in here that package common advice in insightful ways, such as the distinction between entrepreneurs and managers, normal people and odd people, knowing and uncertainty, etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2010
Bo Peabody is a successful entrepreneur, in this short engaging book he describes some of his experiences and tells us what he has learned. He answers the perennial question of whether or not he was lucky or smart by saying he is smart enough to know that he was getting lucky.

The book makes no pretense of being a scholarly work, there are no citations, there is not even and index. This is explicitly the authors experience and opinions. None of his advise was surprising. All of it was clearly and well explained; usually with an entertaining anecdote.

This short book is definitely worth reading for any would be entrepreneur, but is also worthwhile to anyone contemplating working at a start up. In fact it is an interesting read for most anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2009
I saw there was only one review and had to add my two cents. I actually listened to the CD version and didn't have high expectations from a 2-CD publication. I was very impressed though with the no-fluff info and examples that Bo Peabody gives. He outlines a few important priciples and pitfalls that visionaries need to know before starting a business. He doesn't get caught up in ego and personal accomplishment like some of the big names in the business community. I read or listen to about 50 books a year, mostly on business and personal improvement. I think this book is an absolute must-read for anybody that thinks they are (or wants to be) an entrepreneur. This book will either correct your fantasy or help you on your way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
I found this ebook to be very helpful. Bo answers questions that I have had for sometime. I especially enjoyed his narrative on how he started and sold his business. The simple concept of being smart enough to know when you are lucky is life changing. All in all, if you are an aspiring or up and coming entrepreneur Lucky or Smart is a must read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2015
Good practical tips from one entrepreneur's perspective. Small chapters with just enough info. But, it's obviously biased by his experience and the advice should be taken with a grain of salt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse