Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite issue so far.
Anyone with a food interest who orders Chinese Takeaways and Chow Mein, should buy this issue. Not only did I like the subject matter and the writing on it, but enjoyed the little tidbits of historic information on packaged Chinese sauces, and the small affects of the Chinese Alien Act in the late 1800's, the origin of the name for "Bing" cherry, etc. I own every Thomas...
Published 21 months ago by Wild Thing Foodie

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lucky Peach Issue 5
Not as exciting as I thought it would be, but interesting. Certainly another way of looking at our food choices.
Published 17 months ago by motorx


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite issue so far., December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lucky Peach Issue 5 (Paperback)
Anyone with a food interest who orders Chinese Takeaways and Chow Mein, should buy this issue. Not only did I like the subject matter and the writing on it, but enjoyed the little tidbits of historic information on packaged Chinese sauces, and the small affects of the Chinese Alien Act in the late 1800's, the origin of the name for "Bing" cherry, etc. I own every Thomas Keller cookbook, but give me cold, leftover Chinese takeaways and Chinese peasant food for breakfast any day! Again, I enjoyed the articles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a magazine, not a cookbook., December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lucky Peach Issue 5 (Paperback)
Love, love, love Lucky Peach. There is such a creative compilation of food writing, great recipes, and great graphics. Kind of joyful romp in the eyes of many very creative people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Subscription!, December 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lucky Peach Issue 5 (Paperback)
This magazine is a must for true foodies, especially Asian cuisine lovers. If you liked the Momofuku cookbook, you'll appreciate David Chang and Peter Meehan's collaboration here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "ANOTHER FASCINATING ISSUE OF LUCKY PEACH!", November 6, 2012
This review is from: Lucky Peach Issue 5 (Paperback)
I collect them all, and every issue has not yet disappointed. In issue 5 of this very enjoyable journal, includes interesting facts on travel, fun-filled ideas and tips, and much more. In addition, the colorful photos are stunning, and the mouth-watering recipes are worth preparing. The essays are thought-provoking, and the journal inspires, page-after-page. I love this issue of 176 pages that entertains from beginning to end. I find this issue more appealing than the last issue. However, this journal always aims to please, and I will indeed collect them all! The perfect gift for family and friends for any occasion. They will enjoy it as much as you did, especially that the holiday season is around the corner. A gift of pure joy that you can simply read over-and-over, and a Great conversational piece for your coffee table. I always leave an issue out in the open, during social gatherings. It never fails that Someone always takes a glance at it, and a topic of choice begins a conversation of pure joy. Delightful, refreshing, and Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will make you hunger for 'Panda Express', March 14, 2013
By 
Sibelius (Palo Alto, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lucky Peach Issue 5 (Paperback)
From start to finish this is my favorite volume of 'Lucky Peach.' This volume focuses on the notion of 'Chinatown' and as expected examines the concept from a variety of perspectives through its usual melange of colorful personalities ranging from Anthony Bourdain to Martin Yan. Visually this volume seems a bit more text heavy than previous editions but the photographic examination of Chow Mein from around the world was a true visual treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like your Chinatown they buy this issue., April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lucky Peach Issue 5 (Paperback)
I love San Francisco's Chinatown, and Lucky Peach #5 has an article about it and other Chinatowns. The greatest San Francisco Bay Area food writer Jonathan Kauffman wrote a piece about the vegetables grown for sale in Chinatown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hitting Their Stride, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lucky Peach Issue 5 (Paperback)
The first couple issues of Lky.Ph felt pretty hit or miss to me, but with number 5, they seems to have hit on what thy'd like to accomplish with this publication. Me likey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purpose and pleasure, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lucky Peach Issue 5 (Paperback)
Like all Lucky peach issues, a mash up of food history, seedy undertones, wit , current fusion ideas and hints at where the food style covered will go in the future. How regional Chinese dishes came about, how long past it high school dropouts relive childhood with MexiCali Chinese, the changing of the guard from staple Cantonese dishes to the new wave and how a mystery cook, wether figurative or literal, lends his touch to the dishes of current European gourmet gods...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Mag, October 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lucky Peach Issue 5 (Paperback)
This mag is fun as hell to read, i love it. I cannot wait for more to read. I hope they eventually branch out to a bit more than just star chefs and to more unknowns though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lucky Peach Issue 5, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lucky Peach Issue 5 (Paperback)
Not as exciting as I thought it would be, but interesting. Certainly another way of looking at our food choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lucky Peach Issue 5
Lucky Peach Issue 5 by Peter Meehan (Paperback - November 13, 2012)
Used & New from: $50.10
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.