Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casual listeners need not apply nor understand
First off, Candlebox were one of the most under-rated bands in the 90's. And this is one of the best albums of the 90's. Unjustly labeled post-grunge, Candlebox definately have their own distinct sound.
Now on to the album. The first track, Simple Lessons is rockin' and reminiscent of their debut but that's where the similarities stop. This is an album you have...
Published on October 5, 2000 by Mike Stuker

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Definitive Remaster version of Lucy
This is not a review of the original release of this album but rather the remaster.
I'm posting this review because I searched high and low but could not find a single comparison between the original and remastered versions.
I'd hate to say this but the remaster adds hardly anything new to the album. The volume is actually a tad *quieter* than the original...
Published on July 2, 2011 by fenjaz0707


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Definitive Remaster version of Lucy, July 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is not a review of the original release of this album but rather the remaster.
I'm posting this review because I searched high and low but could not find a single comparison between the original and remastered versions.
I'd hate to say this but the remaster adds hardly anything new to the album. The volume is actually a tad *quieter* than the original. The only difference you can hear is an extremely minor boost of the bass/low-end.
To summarize, don't bother with the remaster as it's just a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casual listeners need not apply nor understand, October 5, 2000
By 
This review is from: Lucy (Audio CD)
First off, Candlebox were one of the most under-rated bands in the 90's. And this is one of the best albums of the 90's. Unjustly labeled post-grunge, Candlebox definately have their own distinct sound.
Now on to the album. The first track, Simple Lessons is rockin' and reminiscent of their debut but that's where the similarities stop. This is an album you have to listen to all the way through a couple times to appreciate it, but when you do it is definately worth it. My favorite song is Butterfly. It is one of the most beautiful songs I've ever head. That song has to have the most breathtaking chorus I've ever heard. The Reprise version is similarly great and a little more trippy. Other great rock songs include Drowned, Best Friend, and It's Amazing. Some mellower, but equally enjoyable songs include Lucy, Become (To Tell), and Vulgar Before Me. If you like their debut because of Kevin Martin's voice, you won't be disappointed. He sounds better than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1995 was just an odd year for music, January 17, 2006
By 
The_Sink (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lucy (Audio CD)
At a time when grunge was certainly in decline, and hard rock/heavy metal acts like Korn, Pantera, etc, were growing in popularity, Candlebox was unfairly neglected by radio, music lovers, and MTV. Despite the hugely successful self titled release two years prior, lucy was discarded by everybody as soon as it was released. And it was their finest work.

Many people complain that Candlebox didn't have a "defined" sound, which was perfectly reflected in lucy. I disagree with those people who see a dramatic shift between the band's first and second albums, but I suppose that is mainly subjective. Lyrically, lucy is simple; Kevin Martin chooses rhyming over substance in many songs, which is fine for the time period when everything was so serious and bleak. I don't see the overall bleakness of lucy like others, although uplifting is not a word one would use for the album or the band itself.

Musically, lucy is defined by the standouts: Simple Lessons, Understanding, and Butterfly (Reprise). Not the radio friendly music the self titled release contained, musically lucy is more "in your face" and raw. Combined with Martin's emotional yet simple lyrics, lucy is a powerful album. Unfortunately the emotion and power was lost on a generation of confused music listeners and has fallen into oblivion. But this is definitely an album worth buying if you're a fan of the first Candlebox album, Our Lady Peace, or Seven Mary Three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucy-One of the BEST albums of the 90's!, October 5, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucy (Audio CD)
This album is great in the form that it's mellow; a nice change. I thought this album sucked until I actually listened to it. Kevin Martin is by far the best lyricist out of the 90's. The best songs on this album are"Simple Lessons," "Drowned," "Lucy," and "Vulgar Before Me." If anyone thinks Candlebox have lost their edge, they're wrong!! In the words of Peter Klett:"We can be mellow, but we can also rip their faces off."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very different sophomore effort, expansion to excellence., November 21, 2000
By 
This review is from: Lucy (Audio CD)
Candlebox unfortunately is one of those groups that continue to make excellent music after achieving success, but people almost refuse to embrace it. This almost always happens when the band decides to venture into a wider eray of sound. No one likes change, especially not in music. Its really sad that if a band wants to change with the weather of there life they are crucified. Lucy shows a bit more of an introspective, and more melodic-funky Candlebox. I'm sure many ignorant metal heads in the stew of gnashing teeth hate this album. Especially in comparison to the hard edged first album. But I take both of these albums to heart. This album finds you being compelled more emotionally while still riding the groove of thumping bass and crunching guitar. Yes, its a more subdued album. But music goes with emotion, and this is just how they felt at the time. Congrats guys, do what you love, despite your popularity, just do what you love. Because there are many of us who also love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tough Call, June 22, 2005
This review is from: Lucy (Audio CD)
I won't agree with the reviews that call this "bad music" -- however, it is very sullen and wistful. It doesn't convey a mood you want to put yourself in very often, and I think that's part of why this album seems less popular than thier others, and the singles from it have faded from radio airplay.

I think tracks #5 "Become (To Tell)" and #8 "Bothered" to me are the standouts. Crunchy, locomotive hard rock, with heavy 1970s-style distortion that you just don't hear musicians attempt much anymore. Get that air guitar out when you play these!

But overall, it's an album for fans that want to spend time investigating Candlebox... It takes effort to like this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost As Good As The Debut, October 24, 2002
By 
The Orange Duke "orangeduke" (Cupertino, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lucy (Audio CD)
This album nearly spelled the end of this 90s style metal outfit, though it's hard to see why. They still make hooky, radio friendly hard rock in the style of Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, and there is no real change in style or tone from their well respected debut. Maybe the label just printed too many copies or maybe their day had passed, rap metal a seems to have sucked up all the teenage rebellion boys not worshiping Snoop Doggy Dog Dog Dog. Fans will not be disappointed. All the tracks are fine, I especially liked `Simple Lessons' `Become (To Tell) and `Drowned'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lucy for Candlebox is a slow burn, July 27, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucy (Audio CD)
Lucy is nothing like the Debut from Candlebox. It is a "slow burn", one of those albums that slowly grows on you. It will not knock you on your butt the first time you hear it but when given the chance, Lucy find it's way in to your Cd player much more often than you'd expect. Songs like "Lucy", "It's Amazing", and "Vulgar Before Me" are some of the best Candlebox has ever written!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!, November 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lucy (MP3 Music)
Candlebox rocks. Not sure what else to say. I have all their albums. They are great. I see them live every year. I wish I could meet them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars darker, but still worth a listen, July 13, 2006
This review is from: Lucy (Audio CD)
Taken for garbage as grunge was pretty much dead by the time this ablum comes out, Lucy still provided memorable tracks and noteworthy lyrics. Kevin Martin and company dig deeper for a more definative sound in their followup to major success self-titled debute 2 years prior to this release. Lucy trys capturing a more theme sound of darker, more pungent rawness to each song.

To begin, the single "Simple Lessons," a considerably short song flames w/ a great guitar line, and furious fit of rage w/in Kevin's voice playing an earful of rock rage throughout the chorus.

With "Drowned", a sense of depression type mood sets over for any down to earth emotional song. It's really a beautiful song if you just give it a shot and really listen to the lyrics. The words are open enough for anyone one really to relate to them.

The title track has somewhat of a rythmic trance which resonates throughout the song. The vocals are rather soft, but I feel like it is similar to "He Calls Home" with a much more darker atmosphere lingering upon the guitars.

"Best Friends" is a little off page to the albums general feel. This song is a little more poppier, and less moodier. If you like the song "Can't Give In" off the Airheads ST, then ya might like this song.

The album peaks with "Become (To Tell)" and "Understanding." Both are remarkably dark but less forceful than anything on the self-titled album. "Become" is a little uptempo w/ a great beat, but "Understanding" is what I consider the little brother of "Change." It has the soft lead up to a strong rage. Instead of being 'written down' Martin wants to 'raise it on my own'. "Understanding" may sound like "Change" but the lyrics are very different in meaning.

I'll go ahead and give "Crooked Halo" and "Bothered" the titles of fillers. I don't mind listening to them at any time, but I just could never really get into either song. Thus the reason why only 4 stars.

"Butterfly" and "Butterfly (Reprise)" are esentially one huge song obviously, but we get "It's Amazing" and "Vulgar Before Me" in between. The last 4 songs here are all great with my fav being VBM out of the 4. All correlate the whole 'dark aura' feel as w/ the rest of the album. Each are somewhat less rock, and more deeper w/ introduction to what we will eventually get on Happy Pills.

All in all, Lucy is no slouch except for a few songs. It's somewhat more of a transitional album than a hits album, and more themed. Lucy was never really judged fairly, and although more of a sway away from grunge and more into the post-grunge area a la Bush, Our Lady Peace, Better Than Ezra, Everclear, and Foo Fighters major debuts that came out about at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lucy
Lucy by Candlebox
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.