Customer Reviews


618 Reviews
5 star:
 (467)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!
Being a fan of Dark Moon's predecessor, Luigi's Mansion for GameCube, I've been anxiously awaiting the release of this game. It's been a long wait but I'm happy to report it was well worth it!

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon takes the basic concepts of its predecessor and brings them to life in a stunning 3D world. Really. I think this is the most impressed I've...
Published 20 months ago by Bunny

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feels too repetitive and simple
The Good: Fantastic visuals and attention to detail, great combat systems, exploring the areas is fun

The Bad: Repetitive objectives and enemies, gets too frustrating towards the end, game runs out of steam less than half-way

Luigi’s Mansion was a cult hit back on the GameCube, but didn’t see much commercial success. The 3DS seems like a...
Published 7 months ago by Richard Baker


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, March 24, 2013
By 
Bunny (Midwest, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon (Video Game)
Being a fan of Dark Moon's predecessor, Luigi's Mansion for GameCube, I've been anxiously awaiting the release of this game. It's been a long wait but I'm happy to report it was well worth it!

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon takes the basic concepts of its predecessor and brings them to life in a stunning 3D world. Really. I think this is the most impressed I've been with the utilization of 3D on my 3DS to date. The graphics are gorgeous and not a single detail was overlooked.

The Poltergust 3000 has been upgraded to a Poltergust 5000 in Dark Moon and other additions bring this sequel to a fresh new level, like the new strobe and lightning bolt features. If you loved sucking up ghosts in the original you'll enjoy doing more of the same here with a few fun upgrades.

I was a bit worried about the use of the gyroscope in this game but it incorporates well. By tilting the screen you're able to aim your tools into every nook and cranny of the room. The tilt feature compliments game play nicely without being obnoxious.

If you're familiar with the GameCube version you'll pick up on the game play here quickly. If not, you won't be faced with a daunting learning curve. The controls are pretty straightforward and quickly begin to feel natural as you get comfortable with the game.

I found Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon to be a perfect marriage of innovation and recognition from the original, and it's worth mentioning again just how truly amazing the 3D experience in this game is. Oh, and of course it's loads of fun! Highly recommended, excellent title!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have For Any 3DS Lover, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon (Video Game)
Gamecube’s Luigi’s Mansion (one of my old personal favorites) finally got itself a sequel after more than a ten year long wait. In the Mario franchise where it’s grown to be mostly mindless multiplayer action with a plethora of endless minigames and reboots, Nintendo gave Player 2 another chance to shine with Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon.

In the last game, a mysterious letter congratulates Luigi on winning himself a mansion in a contest despite never entering one. He rings up Mario to meet him there to celebrate and by the time Luigi arrives, he finds his brother missing. He gets help from the quirky Professer E. Gadd and searches the spooky mansion armed with the Poltergust 3000 (a powerful ghost sucking vacuum) and a flashlight to save his brother.

In Dark Moon, Luigi returns with an admittedly less interesting reason other than the ghosts are acting up, doing what ghosts do and all. But as you progress in the game, you piece together a whole other reason for the sudden increase in paranormal activity. He’s back with new gadgets (and an upgraded Poltergust 5000) to take down those pesky ghosts, new areas, and with a variety of new ghosts to wrangle.

The 3D’s bells and whistles surprisingly doesn’t hinder gameplay, but makes it rather fun. For the Gamecube, a lot of Luigi’s movements were controlled via the second analog stick like aiming the flashlight or wrangling ghosts into your vacuum of doom. The 3Ds cleverly uses its gyroscope and accelerometer capabilities in a way that really adds to the movement. If you’re not up for moving the 3Ds up and down to aim, the same can be achieved with a button press and I like how it allows you the freedom to choose which you prefer.

Luigi tip-toes through the dusty corridors in a state of nail biting terror, nervously humming along to the background music in a way that makes me wanna pet the screen to calm him down. The ambiance is just as great as the last game with great lighting and sound effects. Everything responds to your exploration as you go through the game and there are many puzzles to solve reminiscent to the Legend of Zelda series, something that I felt is an improvement. Ghosts now have different strategies you have to figure out when trying to clear a room. Some like to hide in furniture like a game of hide-and-seek while some use head gear or items to keep from getting dazed by your flashlight and it makes the game more challenging and never boring.

My only complaints are the lack of checkpoints and the grading system. When your health drops to zero, you restart from the beginning and you have to go through all the stuff you discovered before which can be a pain. The grading system, while fair, judges for your time and I felt that was a bit much considering that I’m one of those OCD kinda players where I have to look through everything in every room so getting a bronze made me grind my teeth in frustration. It was my first playthrough and I didn’t feel the need to rush, but I’ll gladly play it over again to reach the best score since you’re able to replay areas and missions you’ve unlocked in the past so it kinda makes up for it.

Despite those small annoyances, it’s one heck of a game I feel that any Nintendo 3Ds player would enjoy it even if they haven’t played the last one. Gamers who played Luigi’s Mansion the will love Dark Moon because it improved everything they loved without losing anything that made it awesome in the first place; a formula every sequel should follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feels too repetitive and simple, April 9, 2014
This review is from: Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon (Video Game)
The Good: Fantastic visuals and attention to detail, great combat systems, exploring the areas is fun

The Bad: Repetitive objectives and enemies, gets too frustrating towards the end, game runs out of steam less than half-way

Luigi’s Mansion was a cult hit back on the GameCube, but didn’t see much commercial success. The 3DS seems like a perfect home for the sequel so Nintendo went for it. You play as Luigi who is tasked with dispersing a small town of ghosts with the help of Professor E. Gadd. You take your Poltergust 5000 and suck and blow anything in your path. Be it cloth on walls, rugs, pulleys, or using your other powers to reveal hidden objects or even your flashlight to help battle ghosts. There’s quite a few elements in play here and they are done fairly well. Ghosts don’t just stand around and let you suck them up. Some are protected by objects or are inside other objects and require coaxing out in various ways. This with the inclusion of puzzles makes Luigi’s Mansion a fun trip.

It isn’t without its problems and there are more than meets the eye like most recent Nintendo games. Sure the game looks great and plays well but it gets repetitive half-way through and gets frustrating. You’d expect tougher ghosts to come into play at some point, but instead you get the same ghosts with bigger life bars and more thrown at you. As you progress you find cash throughout the game to upgrade your equipment so this isn’t a problem. I was nearly maxed out towards the end of the game. The issue is redundancy and constantly revisiting the same areas just to fight different ghosts. Some puzzles are hard to figure out and some require insistent backtracking that gets very dull. The game had the Mario charm thrown in, but I expected more variety. After the third area you really start getting tired of the game, but that doesn’t mean its terrible.

There are some hidden items in each area and they aren’t too hard to find if you explore every little area. These range from gems to cash to a hidden Boo in each level. It feels less like a collectathon and more like exploring an area. The objectives are clear and your map is useful. With that said, many objectives are also repeated throughout like chasing down a ghost dog to find a key and getting back parts from various ghosts. It just got old and I just kept telling myself, “Not this again!”

Dark Moon is one of the best looking 3DS games out there. The game has high-resolution textures, great looking models, and some impressive lighting effects and physics. I almost felt like I was playing the Wii U. The 3D effects are nice, but don’t add anything to the gameplay. I loved the attention to detail from Luigi’s voice to his animations. The game has great production values but could have used a better variety of gameplay elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game., September 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon (Video Game)
I have been an avid gamer for 45 years and this is a great game to play.I personally think it's better than the Gamecube version.Great graphics and they're in 3D.This is a great addition to all of the other Mario and Luigi games that Nintendo has produced.This game will definitely go into my collection !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon maintains the same charming formula that made the first game a success., March 25, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon (Video Game)
Back in 2002 Luigi was given a second chance to star in his own adventure called Luigi's Mansion, and although it was a short journey it won the hearts of critics and fans. Now ten years later Luigi is summoned once again by the intelligent Professor E. Gadd to once again dawn his trusty flashlight and the new Poltergust 5000 to star in his newest adventure, Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon. With a lengthy adventure, that easily surpasses the predecessor, combined with some humorous comedic situations and an elegantly crafted world timing with intricate puzzles Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon is an excellent reason to purchase a Nintendo 3DS.

Professor E. Gadd has spent his life researching paranormal activity, but when a mystical dark moon disappears from the sky of Evershade Valley, his ghostly allies turn hostile. In order to restore order Elvin Gadd contacts his friend Luigi, who is comfortably sleeping in his chair, to collect the shattered pieces of the artifact. Although the Professor can spark a few laughs the true humor of the game comes from the wacky animations: Luigi getting thrown into the wall by traps that open hidden areas; peering through crack in the wall and seeing ghosts gleefully performing misdeeds. These concepts are complemented by the superb sound design and soundtrack, adding more favor to the silly events as Luigi hums with the spooky music.

The atmosphere of Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon is its greatest accomplishment. The perfect combination of spookiness and child-like wonders adds charm to each of the well-designed capacious area. Suits of armor line the hallways waiting for unexpected trespassers and flashes of light cast shadows when shined in front of an object. Turning on 3D the effect allows for excellent depth-of-field in certain parts of the game, especially when the camera zooms out. Each mansion is saturated with large rooms littered with secrets that include traps, treasure, and hidden ghosts. The various safes, vents, plants, and other strange contraptions release bundles of coins, notes, and gold blocks that make interacting with every piece of the environment time well-spent.

However, exploring the mansions can be difficult since the mission structure follows a specific path and encourages you to follow it. The helpful map on the bottom screen ensures you don't get lost, but it would be nice if you were given more freedom. Each mission is divided into levels and Luigi is transported between them using a transporter called the Pixelshifter, which warps Luigi from one location after being converted in tiny blocks and then put back together. Although Professor Gadd constantly calls Luigi on his Dual Scream (a clever take on the original Nintendo DS) to inform him of his current progress and give him instructions for the set objective, it seems unnecessary to inform the player of everything they do. It becomes a vexing inconvenience after the first level.

Luigi has access to two tools to take the supernatural: his flashlight, whichcontains a dark-light attachment that reveals illusions, ghosts, and hidden objects, as well as his Poltergust 5000 vacuum. These are the only tools required to solve the many puzzles within each mansion and are properly equipped to handle any combat situation. By exposing the hearts of the ghost using his flashlight Luigi initiates a tug-of-war between the creatures and then suck them into his vacuum after draining all the health of his target, a power meter also appears that if charged can do a massive amount of damage for quicker battles. Missions all require a combination of catching ghosts and solving puzzles, ending with a boss fight that requires a combination of both. Anything in the environment can be important to your task, requiring careful observation and use of your dark-light. The puzzles are varied and rarely repeat the same pattern, offering new challenges as you progress through the game. Although Professor Gadd points you in the right direction, finding the solution to each problems is tricky but rewarding once you do.

Multiplayer is the most shocking addition to Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon called ScareScraper. Up to 4 players are sent into a random mansion and take control of different color variations of Luigi to clear each floor all the ghostly inhabitants, locating invisible ghost-dogs or racing to find a hidden hatch to the next area. Whether playing online, local or download play, teamwork is essential to pass through each level and defeat the bosses, but it's clear that these modes were made to accompany 4-player cooperative play and taking on the multiplayer mode with less players can lead to frustration.

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon is a wonderful sequel. It allows Luigi a chance at the spotlight once again and show gamers that he can be just as entertaining as Mario. A fickle difficulty curve and a poor checkpoint system can lead to annoying situations but these are mostly minor concerns. Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon maintains the same charming formula that made the first game a success and returning to Luigi's newest ghost catching adventure is definitely worth taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grandson requested, September 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon (Video Game)
I don't think my grandson ( age 6.5) was able to complete the levels and soon lost interest. Best to leave this for someone a little older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my expectations and then some!, April 3, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon (Video Game)
To be honest, I've never played a Mario game or anything along those lines. (Crazy right?) So this is coming from an unbiased, new 3DS owner. I've only owned the DS Lite and never bothered to upgrade, but Nintendo's Buy-One-Get-One tempted me over. (Which is still going on, until April 30th, I believe. You have to buy either Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon or Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity to be eligible) But enough of the formalities, it's time to get down to the heart of the matter.

CHARACTERS: 5/5
I went into this game knowing NOTHING about Luigi, but I learned so much about his mannerisms and personality. I am in love, he is just the most adorable scaredy-cat ever. The Prof. and the Polter-Pup have such a refreshing nature, it makes me tap into my inner child.

MUSIC: 5/5
The music is great and very catchy, I won't be forgetting it anytime soon. It really fits the mood of a haunted mansion. It feels as if the main theme (the one used on Nintendo's website for Luigi's Mansion)is used more often than I'd like, but it's a great soundtrack so I don't mind.

IMAGERY: 4/5
The 3D use is spectacular during normal play, but distracting when using gyroscopic activities. During scenes like walking the rope, I think it is best if you turn the 3D off.

GAMEPLAY: 5/5
As I've stated before, I'm not an expert on the ways of the 3DS, so I don't know much about the console, but I do know that the controls were extremely easy to grasp. In my opinion, that simplicity is what makes the game really fun. Press L to puff out air and press R to suck things into the vacuum. Use the other buttons to explore objects in the Luigi-verse. Fun!

DIFFICULTY: 3/5
I don't think the game was particularly difficult, but I've died a couple of times. (That spider boss was pretty tricky.)
It gives you many rooms to explore and I love that it gives you some puzzles to solve. Took me a while to figure things out, but it is extremely rewarding to have solved it.

SUMMARY: 5/5
The work Nintendo put into this game shows. Every mansion is crafted with so much love and detail. I really appreciate little things like that, nice job Nintendo! If I could say anything bad about it, I'd have to say I dislike having to start the entire mission over when Luigi's health drops to 0. I also hate that the cut-in's and Prof's calls are still in effect when replaying the mission. It is really annoying when I want to replay for a higher rank or to find a boo. But despite that, it's an absolute blast to play with, I am addicted! I don't regret picking up this game at full price. If you haven't already, go buy it now! In my opinion, it is a 3DS MUST HAVE staple!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, not like original, April 13, 2013
By 
Mario (LA, New York) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon (Video Game)
I was never a huge fan of Luigi's Mansion, but I did like playing it when I was younger. The ghosts would pop out and the boss fights were even creepy, and the mansion was just awesome, not to mention using a vacuum to suck up ghosts with some crazy scientist nut giving you tips now and then. I also think using the Gameboy Horror on a mirror is still the scariest thing I've ever seen.

That aside, I don't say Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon isn't as good as the first because I played the first as a kid. I've played through the first a few more times, and still think it's better.

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon is different from Luigi's Mansion in many ways. It more linear, E. Gadd is always giving directions, the ghosts don't look as cool (purely a nostalgic opinion though) and you go through multiple mansions. You also try to repair the Dark Moon, which King Boo broke making all the friendly ghosts enemies toward you and anything else that moves. That's a completely different goal as opposed to the first Luigi's Mansion, but the story is pretty funny and manages to keep you interested long enough to beat the game.

The graphics and the sound are pretty amazing as far as the capabilities of the 3DS go. Playing on the 3DS XL is so much fun, and everything has noticeable depth with extreme attention to detail. All the mansions are amazingly designed and see to have something new to look at every time you visit. The music is as classic as the first Luigi's Mansion, and the sounds are crisp and clear. I never get tired of listening to it. I really wish there was some form of anti-aliasing (smoother edges), since some scenes look extremely jagged next to the otherwise smooth 3D models.

A lot of flak on this game has been the supposed difficulty. There are no checkpoints in the levels themselves, which means you have to beat it for it to save and continue to the next level. It can be tedious having to redo an entire part of the mansion because you made a stupid mistake, but I don't really mind having to since you'll more than likely be vising that level again soon for the collectibles anyway. Being "too hard" has never been a bad thing for a game.

But it isn't even all that hard. The bosses are mainly trial and error, as are most of the puzzles. As long as you search every inch of every room, you won't be stuck, and as long as you use creative thinking on the bosses, you'll defeat them with no problems.

Overall this is a fun game, and worth the money. I'm still not a fan of Luigi or Luigi's Mansion, but I still had a lot of fun, and I have even more fun doing the multiplayer with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Time Spent Playing, September 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon (Video Game)
While I never got to play Luigi's Mansion on the GameCube, I can honestly say this game made me want to find a copy. It was both fun, frustrating, and adorable. It was easy to control for the most part, however some segments of the game seemed rather cheap--such as overloading Luigi with ghosts to capture, sneak attacks that were impossible to avoid unless you had prior knowledge of the hidden ghost, rat, or bat, and certain boss battles that didn't feel very fair when faced up against.

But despite that little nitpick, I went through the entire game, beat it, and loved every second of it. Luigi is such an endearing character, and the Toads made me all the happier to see following you about once rescued. I've also always had a soft spot for Boos, and haunted levels in games, so this was a real treat.

Totally worth getting if you're a Nintendo fan, enjoyed Luigi's Mansion, or need a short game to have fun with on your Nintendo 3DS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars this game doesn't feel nearly as fun. I think the way the game is mission ..., July 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon (Video Game)
It's almost okay. In comparison to the original Luigi's Mansion, this game doesn't feel nearly as fun. I think the way the game is mission based makes it tedious because you end up going through the same zones repeatedly. The inability to save the game except after missions is also lame. Additionally, the enemies in the game are all quite alike and it was boring to kill the same ones over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon
Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon by Nintendo (Nintendo 3DS)
$39.99 $32.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.