Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works as advertised, Quality control is a bit lacking though.
First time I used opened it up my brother and I play a game for two hours. We really enjoyed the LED aspect of the game and it actually made it easier for us to plan our next move. The lights even got my young niece and nephew interested in playing chess.

First thing I noticed about the quality of the glass is that some of the pawn pieces had air bubbles and...
Published 11 months ago by Fernando Magana

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great looking chess set from afar
This chess set certainly looks great from afar: light up glass pieces! However, if you examine the pieces more closely, you see that the build quality isn't great: bubbles in the glass, some pieces are slightly crooked, etc. Some of mine came with chips and cracks, though LumiSource was quick to replace those. But in the end, almost all the pieces had slight...
Published 20 months ago by Anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great looking chess set from afar, December 22, 2012
This chess set certainly looks great from afar: light up glass pieces! However, if you examine the pieces more closely, you see that the build quality isn't great: bubbles in the glass, some pieces are slightly crooked, etc. Some of mine came with chips and cracks, though LumiSource was quick to replace those. But in the end, almost all the pieces had slight imperfections. I feel this is something you should know before you decide to spend $60+ on a chess set. Also, note that you NEED to feed power to the chess set to play; if you keep the lights off, the white and black pieces look exactly the same.

On the positive side, the pieces light up flawlessly and it's a one of a kind chess set. Despite the piece build quality, I'm still gonna keep mine because it looks pretty cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works as advertised, Quality control is a bit lacking though., September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First time I used opened it up my brother and I play a game for two hours. We really enjoyed the LED aspect of the game and it actually made it easier for us to plan our next move. The lights even got my young niece and nephew interested in playing chess.

First thing I noticed about the quality of the glass is that some of the pawn pieces had air bubbles and that one my queens were sloping to one side which besides being kinda funny didn't really bug me. The glue holding the LEDs in place was also coming off, you think for a 60-70 dollar chess set they'd take more care but besides those few gripes overall I was satisfied with it.

First thing a customer should keep in mind when purchasing this item is that the glass is fragile and it could break while being shipped, I ran into this problem the first time I ordered one but the company I bought it from refunded me almost immediately which really helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LED Glow Chess Set, January 1, 2012
This is by far the most beautiful chess set I have ever seen! I bought it as a gift....it was a huge success! Love that there are no batteries to replace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As much fun to show off as it is to use, May 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I could've gotten a plain old glass chess set, but for about the same price I figured I'd get something a little more interesting. For any geek lime myself, this is definitely the way to go. The board is fairly subdued dark plastic, but that only makes the pieces stand out more when they're lit up. They light up quite brightly when it's running off an outlet (haven't tried with batteries) and stay lit several inches above the board. All of my pieces worked, and they didn't have any obvious defects. The felts on the bottoms of the pieces are color-coded to the LED colors, so you can keep track of them with the board off. Over all, a very cool product for a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New spin on playing chess, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very great chess board to start off. Things to be aware of, the pieces are not the best quality and one of my pieces had a chip in it to begin with. you must play with the board on, since all pieces are clearish white. playing in the dark is the best and i had my queen lose her glow towards a certain spot on the board, other then that, make sure you save the sterophome so you can place the pieces back in and keep them safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY COOL and an excellent conversation piece, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When delivered, the battery compartment was missing a key component that was required for the set to operate without being plugged in. The seller promtly refunded my dough. The set (when operational) is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cool but not worth it, December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I gave two stars because the set was missing a pawn and the quality does not meet a 60. $ Plus price tag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great gift and looks beautiful in the, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Only problem was with one piece. Otherwise, great gift and looks beautiful in the dark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it was an instant hit with the family and he loved it! very happy i found it, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this chess set for my boyfriend a while back for christmas. it was an instant hit with the family and he loved it! very happy i found it. he loves to play it in the dark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am not a smart man...., July 2, 2014
By 
Dustin Brown (SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS, US) - See all my reviews
Edit: I had originally posted that this product was defective and the company was full of scam artists. While they did take 2 weeks to get back to me in regards to my issue, they sent another product free of charge in a timely manner. When the second product arrived, we realized that it was not the product at fault, but our own fault. The pieces on the board were not lighting up in the middle of the board. Come to find out, we were placing our board on top of a metal filing cabinet that was acting as a Faraday cage, thus resulting in the loss of wireless power to the pieces on the board. Both boards are in perfect working order, and the company was nice enough to send one without any questions asked. Go PlumStruck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.