Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 12, 2011
This was a gift for my grandson age 8. He is entertained by the action, the comic book like illustration and the storyline keeps him interested. We read this series when we are together to enhance his reading skills and I beleive he is all ready bitten by the love of reading and this book and others like it helped that along.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
The Lunch Ladies are reliably funny, creative and allied with the forces of justice. The situations become more and more fantastic as the story goes on, which keeps them from being frightening. Odd tools are required, and the the lunch ladies always have what's needed, in the form of some food or kitchen implement - a spatula-copter, or powdered eggs for the fire sprinkler system. The lunch ladies always manage to capture the bad guys and stop their evil schemes. Good fun!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2015
I bought a bunch in this series for my class library but the humor I find in Baby Mouse and the Squish series just isn't there. I read this series with my child. They were popular in the school library but I didn't find them that engaging as far as purchasing and reading these in comparison with some of the other series I bought. Good concept but needs to be funny!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2011
Lunch Lady, Betty and the Breakfast Bunch --- Dee, Terrence and Hector --- are back in action, this time on a field trip to a famous art museum. After forgetting to bring his permission slip to school, Hector is about to miss out on the much-anticipated field trip. Dee comes up with a way for Hector to go, but her action could get them in trouble.

Lunch Lady loves art history and art museums, and wishes she and Betty could go along on the field trip. At the last minute, Principal Hernandez asks Lunch Lady to help out after a volunteer calls in sick. She cheerfully agrees to serve as a backup chaperone, while Betty stays behind to clean the Frialator. Dr. Geoffrey Fraudwa, the museum director, turns on the charm when he welcomes Mrs. Palonski and the rest of the group. But is he a charmer or a cheat?

While the class navigates the museum, they learn about Ancient Egyptians, hieroglyphics and prehistoric cave paintings. Bored, the Breakfast Bunch slips out to explore other rooms in the museum. Terrence would like to check out surrealist art, while Hector wants to see the medieval exhibit. It doesn't take Dee long to realize that something is off with her favorite painting, and soon they discover other art pieces that appear fake.

Meanwhile, Lunch Lady notices that Dee, Terrence and Hector have gone missing. She breaks away from the group and searches for the trio. To find them, she must rely on her magic and might. Will Lunch Lady create a fiasco to rescue the Breakfast Bunch? Is Dr. Fraudwa a mild-mannered museum director or a cunningly clever thief? Will the Breakfast Bunch solve the museum mystery, or will they get in trouble for sneaking away from Mrs. Palonski?

In LUNCH LADY AND THE FIELD TRIP FIASCO, Jarrett J. Kroscoczka once again proves he knows what keeps middle-grade readers turning the pages. Woven into the story is the message that forging a parent's signature is a lie. Kroscoczka's narrative and illustrations are right on target with the wild and wacky escapades of Lunch Lady, her sidekick Betty and the Breakfast Bunch.

Reviewed by Donna Volkenannt
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2014
My son loves these books. As a new reader I'm happy to have found a series that keeps him interested in practicing his reading!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2013
My son, who hates to read, loves this series. He devoured it! Highly recommended! Buy this for a super hero loving kid.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
You will find the Lunch Lady a great transition for kids who are ready for a change from picture books to chapter books.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
Awesome book to maintain your child's interest in reading. A great buy for both you and your children. Very satisfied.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
Got my boy who hates reading to laugh out loud!! Loved it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
he loves them
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.