Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful
I must admit that I was predisposed to like this book even before opening it. Not only do I recognise Provence to be the most beautiful spot in the galaxy but I have been a deliciously satisfied patron of the author's restaurant for decades.

The book largely met my expectations. The photographs of the food and the enchanting Provençal landscapes are indeed...
Published on October 10, 2012 by William R. Franklin

versus
41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book but don't buy it for the recipes
The book has nice pictures and narrative about how the author spent her time in Provence, shared meals with friends and family and what was brought to the table. The book is more about the experience of having and sharing lunch than the reciepes. The recipes are not exactely matched to the food pictured. Also some of the food pictured have no recipes provided. A little...
Published on September 7, 2012 by adyrocco


Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book but don't buy it for the recipes, September 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lunch in Provence (Hardcover)
The book has nice pictures and narrative about how the author spent her time in Provence, shared meals with friends and family and what was brought to the table. The book is more about the experience of having and sharing lunch than the reciepes. The recipes are not exactely matched to the food pictured. Also some of the food pictured have no recipes provided. A little frustrating since I was looking mostly for lunch recipes and not so much description about the region and style of lunch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, October 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lunch in Provence (Hardcover)
I must admit that I was predisposed to like this book even before opening it. Not only do I recognise Provence to be the most beautiful spot in the galaxy but I have been a deliciously satisfied patron of the author's restaurant for decades.

The book largely met my expectations. The photographs of the food and the enchanting Provençal landscapes are indeed beautiful and the recipes most savoury. However, in one sense, I found the work somewhat disappointing. The photographs do not adequately portray the quiet majesty and magic of Provence and the recipes do not do full justice to the restaurant that Jean-André Charial inherited from his remarkable grandfather, Raymond Thuilier. Finally, much space is wasted by full page quotes from the author, most of which seem ridiculously trivial.

These complaints apart, this is still a very lovely book that will provide much pleasure and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pictures...not exactly a cookbook for the home chef, October 6, 2012
This review is from: Lunch in Provence (Hardcover)
The pictures are gorgeous and it really gives you a sense of the lifestyle in Provence. More than a cookbook, this is an advertisement for living in Provence. I want to eat everything pictured in this book. Make it...maybe not. I don't feel the average home cook is going to go out of her way for some of the ingredients. If what you want is a lovely book on Provence, this is it. I just don't know about it as a cookbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Book, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lunch in Provence (Hardcover)
It is a wonderful read, plus some amazing recipes. A wonderful way to lose yourself on a cold, rainy day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lunch in Provence (Hardcover)
The recipes look good and if they are as good as the photos they will bring back geat travel memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended with some reservations, December 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lunch in Provence (Hardcover)
Lunch in Provence tries to convey a sense of the Provencal life style through truly beautiful photographs and recipes for regional food. The recipes are often quite interesting as they are a moden interpretation, or a professional cook's interpretation, of the classic recipes and ingredients.

Jean Andre Charial is the Executive Chef and proprietor of L'Oustau de Baumaniere one of the finest places to dine in Provence. All of the recipes have been provided by chefs employed in either this establishment or one of the other properties owned by Monsieur Charial.

My main criticism of the book is that it lacks a focus. It is not exactly a book about travel or lifestyle or cooking. The cliched quotes used through out are annoying and I would have liked some more narrative to help understand the locations.

Nevertheless the pictures are lovely and the food looks great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars travel to provence with the photos and be inspired by the recipes., May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lunch in Provence (Hardcover)
this is a beautiful feeling book with lots of glossy photos. The paper quality is excellent and the recipes are delicious. I only wish that there were more recipes in this book. Buy this book if you want to get a good sense of provence. The authors capture it well. This cookbook is part photo-book and part recipes. It is very well done. It captures the locations and food and personalities shared in this book well. For example: 1. Sharing good food and wine with someone you love is perfection. So true! :) I only wish that there were more recipes in this book. The eggplant gratin is delicious. This book is of high quality through and through and not necessarily for the home chef (sort of). For example, the recipes are easy to execute and so delicious. And thankfully, there are photos to show a reader what the plate should look like. However, when you see how beautiful the plate looks...it is a bit intimidating and inspiring. I have never seen tomatoes and mozzarella look so beautiful. Don't get me wrong-a home chef or cook can replicate the recipes. They are easy to read and follow too. It would just have been nice to see some recipes like a pissaladieres or olive tapanade in the olive section. It would have been fantastic to see recommendations of olive oils for the recipes and wine suggestions too. What I really appreciate is how recipes that I would never cook inspire me in this cookbook. For example, the veal kidney with porcini mushrooms look so good that it must be cooked. I would never desire this and yet the photo has inspired me. Thank you chef! It would be divine to see a combination of this book and Patricia Wells cookbooks combined. Her recipes and the quality of this book editor and photographer would make a superb dream team to collaborate on a cookbook together. I was disappointed that patricia wells only did the introduction. And even though this cookbook has won awards, it feels as though the contributors cheaped out on sharing more recipes with the readers. Ah! yes, it is not quantity but quality it is true :) cheers! and Bon Apetite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lunch in Preovence, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lunch in Provence (Hardcover)
thr worst 'coffee table' book I have seen tor a long time. No content of any value at all. It fell flat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lunch in Provence
Lunch in Provence by Jean-André Charial (Hardcover - September 4, 2012)
$39.95 $31.65
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.