Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean, neat appearance, easy to install
I recommend these Lutron Claro wallplates for use anywhere you have a Decora-style device (switch or receptacle) and want a screwless appearance. This includes Lutron switches and dimmers, as well as other brands (Leviton, for example).

The finished appearance, with no screws visible, is elegant: clean and neat.

I have used Lutron Claro wallplates,...
Published on March 7, 2012 by ifdefmoose

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not stainless steel
This cover plate is not stainless steel but is plastic and has a stainless steel look to its finish. I was expecting a specialty item, however, it is the same product sold in the big-box stores.
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean, neat appearance, easy to install, March 7, 2012
By 
ifdefmoose (SF Bay Area, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lutron CW-2-WH 2-Gang Claro Wall Plate, White (Tools & Home Improvement)
I recommend these Lutron Claro wallplates for use anywhere you have a Decora-style device (switch or receptacle) and want a screwless appearance. This includes Lutron switches and dimmers, as well as other brands (Leviton, for example).

The finished appearance, with no screws visible, is elegant: clean and neat.

I have used Lutron Claro wallplates, as well as Leviton Decora Plus screwless wallplates, and I prefer the Lutron because they are easier to install. The final appearance is similar, and they both have a two piece design with a base plate that is screwed to the switch, and a finishing plate that snaps in to the base plate. However, mounting the base plate of the Leviton Decora Plus wallplate is more difficult because the base plate is held by the screws that mount the switch in the electrical box, while the Lutron Claro base plate is attached to the device using the screw holes that are used to mount a conventional wallplate.

After a recent kitchen remodel, I decided to replace the standard wallplates on the countertop backsplash with screwless ones. Since the switches and receptacles were all Leviton, I bought Leviton Decora Plus wallplates to ensure they would match. It took much longer to install the Decora Plus wallplates, because I had to loosen the mounting screws for the devices and then line everything up, than it has taken me to install Claro wallplates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Wall Plate Solution!, January 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lutron CW-2-WH 2-Gang Claro Wall Plate, White (Tools & Home Improvement)
OK, I'm no electrician but Lutron switches and wall plates are the best thing going! At least that is my assessment from an albeit DIY, amateur perspective. Last year we purchased a 4 bedroom, 3.5 bath condo that was built in 1975. Absolutley love the place but we have a perpetual stream of DYI projects. Replacing switches and wall plates as we go from project to project has become standard procedure. Were primarily using "Leviton" switches and oulets with whatever wall plates . . . some with screws showing, some without. When we wanted dimmer switches on two of the bathrooms, "Lutron" seemed to be the only one with CFL/LED dimmers. Thus I became familiar with Lutron.

Now replacing switches, outlets and wall plates may not seem like rocket science, especially once the wiring is done but then you're left with the task of trying to make everything square and flush. This is especially true with "decora" style switches and even more so with "2-gang" set-ups. Sure electricians do this so often it's nothing to them but I've struggled in this area. That's what makes this Lutron system so awesome! Once you install the "adapter plate" over the switch(es) you can then make adjustments on everything, the plate and the switches behind because there are punch-outs that allow you to access those screws as well. Once you have it all perfect, you just snap the "face-plate" to the "adapter plate". Again this may not seem like a big deal to some but with other solutions if it didn't look right you have to remove wall plate to make adjustments.

Two more notes:

The face-plate is actually easy to remove if needed. Just use finger tips from the bottom (or top) and pull out. I'm sure long fingernails would hinder this step but aside from that it pops out easily.

With all due respect to the other review, other brands of wall plates will work with Lutron switches and outlets. All screw holes are in the standard positions. However, why would you use anything but Lutron with Lutron since it all works so flawlessly? Additionally your white switch will match your white wall plate. In mixing brands there is a slight difference between the white shade or sheen. Extremely subtle in most cases and who really cares . . . Right? Probably only you when you step back to admire your handy work.

Oh yeah, the Lutron wall plate has slightly larger dimensions than standard so it covers better too.

All of my previous switch/outlet wall plate upgrades work fine and look decent enough but from here on out it's Lutron for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy installation, nice clean look, December 17, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lutron CW-2-WH 2-Gang Claro Wall Plate, White (Tools & Home Improvement)
I have installed several of these wall plates over GE/Jasco Z wave switches. The unit consists of two parts - one thin layer that has 4 phillips head screws which are screwed into the gang box in the wall and the thicker outer layer that simply snaps into the inner layer. When the unit is removed from the package, you need to pull the two layers apart. I was able to do it with my thumbs pretty easily.
The two layers together stick out about 1/4 inch from the wall itself, so there is a noticeable protrusion. I don't mind it and no one seems to notice. I love not seeing the mounting screws. It makes for a clean, modern look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, October 24, 2013
By 
Amazon Addict (Hyattsville, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lutron CW-2-WH 2-Gang Claro Wall Plate, White (Tools & Home Improvement)
Love this wall plate. It makes the light switches have a sleeker look. The wall plate comes in two pieces; the first you screw in like normal, and then the top part snaps over it, concealing the screws. It is as simple to install as a regular wall plate, but looks 10 times nicer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lutron Claro Wall Plates, September 26, 2013
These are excellent wall plates! I am switching from the Lutron white plates to the Lutron stainless plates for the appearance. The stainless version has a black base and edge which looks great in the kitchen, bath or garage. The best way to separate the top plate from the base is with a small flat blade screw driver. From the top or bottom of the plate - push the blade between the top and base plates about 1/2 inch from the edge and the cover comes off with minimal bending. Trying to pull the cover off creates too much stress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wall plates are the best!, June 11, 2013
By 
Roger L. Carter (San Antonio, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lutron CW-2-WH 2-Gang Claro Wall Plate, White (Tools & Home Improvement)
The Aspire wall plates are very sleek and modern looking with no screws showing. The install and remove very easily if switch replacement is necessary. The price on Amazon is also better than local home improvement centers, if you can even find them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant design, beautiful application, January 5, 2013
By 
Daniel Kinney (Davidson, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lutron CW-2-WH 2-Gang Claro Wall Plate, White (Tools & Home Improvement)
I've purchased a number of these wall plates in a variety of configurations. They are very well designed, look good, and made of high quality plastic. The absence of screws is a nice aesthetic touch, and getting the plates on and off the wall is easy as can be. All wall plates should be made like these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, April 20, 2012
By 
T. Moerk (Colorado Springs, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lutron CW-2-WH 2-Gang Claro Wall Plate, White (Tools & Home Improvement)
These are so sleek and pretty, and easy to install! Updated the look of our living room for pretty cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely recommend this for upgrading your ho-hum existing faceplates., July 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lutron CW-2-WH 2-Gang Claro Wall Plate, White (Tools & Home Improvement)
This wall plate,although it's similar looking to Leviton, is by far easier to install. The most difficult part is prying the 2 pieces (screw-in plate and facing) without damaging them. I find using your fingers and just work your way around slowly (never apply brute force to get these apart) just pull slightly and work your way around until you get a corner that separates easy and then just a slight tug all the way around should get job done. I would not use any tools to pry these apart as they can ding or damage the material. After you accomplish this you basically take old face plate off (so easy, I got my 10 year old to install these for me) install the back plate where old plate used to be via same screw holes then the new face plate "clicks" on to the back plate, easy-peasy.
If you are wondering about getting the Leviton brand (because it's cheaper) I would only recommend it if you don't mind sweating a bit as you have to actually unscrew the actual switch housing off as that is the way it attaches on to the switch. Much more cumbersome.
Now for price, I found 6-packs of the single gang in my local Home Depot that came to about $19.99 which is cheaper than if you were to buy it in single packs. I haven't been able to find multipacks for 2 or more gang anywhere locally. So far Amazon has the best pricing for 2 gang or more, some practically half the price. Watch out as the prices can really go from reasonable to ridiculous.
Costs can easily rack up pretty quickly if you plan to replace every receptacle in your home so pick and choose the most visible places you want these to show off to your guests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern look to make your house look more fancy than your nieghbor's, November 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lutron CW-2-WH 2-Gang Claro Wall Plate, White (Tools & Home Improvement)
For that special I'm rich, my house is nicer than your house because my house has these fancy modern designer looking light paddle switch plates instead of your 99cent toggle plates with the exposed screws. Yes, putting them on is easy because it snaps on after screwing on the mounting plate, but taking them off... then you'll wish there were simple screws you can undo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.