Buy Used
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Great CD! All CDs are fully guaranteed. Ships directly from Amazon.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Lux Aeterna
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Lux Aeterna Import

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, November 17, 1998
"Please retry"
$37.77 $0.01

1. Agnus Dei
2. Dominus illuminatio
3. Hail, Gladdening Light
4. Ave verum
5. Nunc dimittis
6. As One Who Has Slept
7. Tota pulchra es
8. Ubi caritas
9. O nata lux de lumine
10. Magnificat
11. Song For Athene
12. Tantum ergo
13. Tu es Petrus
14. O sacrum convivium
15. Salve Regina
16. Exultate Deo

Product Details

  • Audio CD (November 17, 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Virgin Classics
  • ASIN: B00000DFOC
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #438,120 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on June 14, 1999
Format: Audio CD
The magazine "Friends of Cathedral Music" recently described Winchester Cathedral Choir under David Hill as one of England's greatest musical treasures, and this CD confirms that statement nicely. Aside from one track, the music is all unaccompanied, and I'm pleased to report that it all stays perfectly in tune. There is a broad variety of music here arranged into a very fulfilling programme. Samuel Barber's "Agnus Dei" is his own transcription of the famous "Adagio for Strings" made famous in the soundtracks of such films as 'Platoon', and this recording really will haunt you for a long time... David Hill follows this with his own recent piece, "Dominus Illuminatio" which is very effective and brilliantly sung, before travelling back in time a short while to perform Charles Wood's celebrated anthem "Hail, gladdening light". The programme goes on like this, jumping across centuries and styles to include works by Mozart, Arvo Part, John Tavener, Gustav Holst, Thomas Tallis, Maurice Durufle, Francis Poulenc and Victoria. All of it is beautifully sung, and is good for listening to continuously or in separate tracks. There are some bits that do annoy me, however- Tavener's "Song for Athene" is pitifully and ineffectively rendered (compared to Martin Neary's outstanding readings at Westminster Abbey), the final Poulenc piece is good but ends on a discord (which thus lets down the end of the whole CD- where it comes), the Latin is badly pronounced by several people (particularly by the soloists in Holst's "Nunc Dimittis") and the trebles ruin Mozart's "Ave verum" by trilling with the first violin on their penultimate note- this is absolutely cringe-worthy!Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?