Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoors Gift Guide on HTL

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars21
Format: Audible Audio EditionChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on November 19, 2010
Amy Atwell's debut novel reminded me of classic romantic comedies. I'm talking about the "real" classics with Katherine Hepburn, Cary Grant, Gene Tierney and Dana Andrews - tales from a time when people really knew how to tell a story.

Amy knows how to tell a story.

Set in Sin City, this novel has it all jewels, mobsters, con men, rabbits, the Bellagio, a sexy redhead and an even sexier dark-haired man named Mickey - swoon.

I couldn't put this book down until I finished it and then my next thought was, "When will she write another?"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 18, 2010
Amy Atwell has penned an awesome debut novel. Lying Eyes is not a cookie-cutter book. The characters are full-fleshed, 3-dimensional, and funny. From Cosmo the missing magician dad to Edgar the bunny the laughs never end and the action is non-stop. Iris Fortune, daughter of Cosmo has what she thinks is the perfect, calm, non-excitement life. Until Mickey Kincaid, jewel thief extraordinaire drops in. He wrecks havoc on Iris's calm life and brings her a thrill where she didn't know it was missing. Add in amazing jewels, new-found sisters, and the sweet, but unreliable magician dad and Amy Atwell has started her writer career with a bang.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 21, 2010
I was captivated by this book from the first line to the last. This smart caper book has romance, humor, unexpected sisters, a con man father who loves all three of his daughters, and a very cute bunny. The writing, the plot, and the characters are all brilliant. I would love to see this as a movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Truth is an illusion in this romantic suspense by Amy Atwell. The hunt for ten million dollars worth of jewels brings out the good guys, the bad guys and a set of sisters who are unstoppable when it comes to taking care of themselves and each other.

Cosmo Fortune is a magician and con man working every angle in Las Vegas. He's stolen a set of historical gems from the Russians in order to double cross a Vegas businessman known as The Boss...and gotten himself into hot water with The Boss, the local cops, the Russians and more importantly, his three daughters who nothing about each other at the beginning of the story.

Mickey, an undercover cop, is on Cosmo's trail, both as a hired gun for the businessman and as a cop for the Vegas police department. Thanks to the rabbit Cosmo uses in his magic act, Mickey loses Cosmo, the gems and his credibility with The Boss. What he gains, however, is Cosmo's oldest daughter, Iris.

Iris, owner of Lying Eyes, a jewelry store inside one of the Strip's casinos, knows a thief when she sees one, and wants nothing to do with her dad, Mickey or anyone else who might interfere with her carefully laid plans to marry David, a conservative lawyer with political aspirations. When Mickey shows up at a fund raiser for David, asking about Cosmo, Iris refuses to help him. She's attracted to Mickey's careless and confident personality, but knows with that comes a heap of trouble...and she's had enough of that after being raised by Cosmo.

Mickey's irresistible though, and Iris ends up joining him in the chase to find her father. To her dismay, she realizes she's a chip off the old block, able to outwit and outmaneuver the bad guys after all of them. Her spunk, logic and willingness to put her past aside and help her father when the chips are down put her in my favorite heroine category. The way she defends her sisters, whom she knew nothing about growing up, also makes her a great heroine.

Mickey was a wicked hero. While he was definitely a rock solid cop, haunted by his younger brother's death, he enjoyed his role as a hired thug and played it to the max. It took me a few chapters to get a handle on his character, but after that, everything about his dual role clicked, and he kept me as well as Iris on our toes, Iris believing he was a bad guy almost to the end.

My favorite scene in this story was when Mickey goes to rescue Iris the first time she's kidnapped. I won't give away spoilers, but the sexual chemistry between the two of them while Iris is bound and Mickey uses his teeth to try and loosen the tape on her legs is hot!

There are many points of view in this story, and many plot twists and turns, but it all adds up to a satisfying and happy read. The bond the three sisters develop in the story is moving, and Edgar, the rabbit, is a surprising and well-written character.

I'm looking forward to the next book in the series, featuring Iris's sister Allie and Mickey's partner Justin.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 12, 2010
Nice, swift read with some unexpected twists in the road! Highly recommended! A great way to wile away a snowy/rainy day!

LYING EYES is a fun romantic "caper" novel with good characters, some history and some gemmology information thrown in for good measure! Not just your usual diamonds either! The heroine has a most unusual name (nice twist), some interesting family values, good steamy love scenes. The author has definitely been to Vegas and it shows.

Other players in the game bode well for a second (and third) sequel.

The star is really Edgar though!

I eagerly await her next novel! I think it will be even more fun!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 14, 2011
I won this in a Christmas draw and that was very lucky because this was one of the best modern romances I've ever read. Everything about the story is smooth...the plot flow, character development, dialogue...smooth, smooth, smooth! I normally try to think of something negative to try to give a balanced review, but I can't think of anything negative about the book except that it ended...and I wanted it to keep going. Thankfully, I understand there are two more books in the pipeline for the other two sisters. Now all I have to do is wait to read about Hunter and Allie. If you love funny well crafted romances you'll love this!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 13, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, talk about laugh out loud funny! Few authors can make me do that, so what a treat. The scene at the Bellagio with the Russians and the rabbit was hilarious. I was on the fence about Cosmos Fortune, as I'm sure most readers were, but the old boy won me over. I sure hope Iris' sisters will be getting their own stories as I look forward to reading anything by this brilliant new author. :-)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 1, 2011
From the first page you know you're in for a fun ride. Amy Atwell weaves layers of the story into a tight tapestry that will keep you hooked until the end. The twists kept me guessing and I feel like I know the richly drawn characters. I actually had several "oh no" moments where I held my breath to see what would happen next. Vegas is the perfect backdrop for this intelligent and sexy debut.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 20, 2011
When it comes to her father, Cosmo, Iris Fortune has learned to expect anything, even having an obvious looking con man find her at a party. Being a jewelry designer in Vegas has also taught Iris that sometimes things aren't always as they seem. But Iris is trying to grasp a chance at the normal life and becoming involved in another of her father's scams just is not going to help her out in this cause.

Mickey Kincaid is much more than he appears. Undercover as a thief, Mickey is assigned to meet with Cosmo in order to accept some jewels for the unknown boss. This is the person that Mickey really wants to get his hands on for the case. When Cosmo skips town, Mickey decides to seek out Iris, hoping she has some answers about the missing jewels. What he doesn't expect is the attraction that smacks him upside the head when he faces Iris.

Iris and Mickey begin working together, first under duress in Iris' case, and later because Iris now has many questions for her father. As the search begins to heat up, so does the danger. A killer is also searching for Cosmo, and he doesn't care who he has to go through to get to the missing jewels. Things become emotional between Iris and Mickey but there are still secrets out there that will come to light as the search for Cosmo and the missing jewels continues. As the secrets becomes known, Iris and Mickey each have to make decisions and choices. As the last secret is learned, can Iris find it in her heart to accept all she has learned? And what about her relationship with Mickey, is it real or just another bit of smoke?

In the steamy underside of Vegas can two totally different people discover what love means? Iris and Mickey seek the answer to this in Lying Eyes. I was instantly drawn to Iris, after all when you live in Vegas having the name Fortune seems like the best bet. I knew that Mickey wasn't all that he seemed but as his story unraveled, I discovered how unique he was. All the twists and turns had me wondering with each turn of the page. I was very surprised as Cosmo's life was revealed, one shock after another. But mostly I loved watching as Iris and Mickey seemed to be able to overcome each new surprise and ultimately discovered a love that proved to be a long and lasting one. Lying Eyes will keep you in suspense as each twist, turn, and new revelation is discovered; all of it ending in love, of course.

Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 21, 2011
Lying Eyes was like reading a madcap, action-adventure story featuring the Fortunes of Las Vegas led by the slippery and elusive magician, master of disguise and patriarch Cosmo Fortune. He was at the epicentre of all things good and bad happening in this book.

Iris Fortune, jewellery designer by trade, is the calm, cool and collected eldest daughter of Cosmo Fortune. But she's kinda written off dear ole dad, who's never really been a part of her life...until he turns up missing. Next thing you know she`s got a hot, petty jewel thief sticking to her like glue, two previously unknown young women who turn out to be her new half sisters and 10 million dollars in missing gems. Now bad people are after Cosmo and the gems he`s supposed to have in his possession and if they have to go through Iris and her new found sisters to get to him - well then that's what they'll do. Ohh Daddy Dearest this latest escapade you're embroiled in could get somebody a hurry!

Lying Eyes had a humorous, light, fun feel to it. Even though it's a romantic suspense and lives were threatened numerous times, I never felt anyone was ever really in danger. I know you're not supposed to like the bad guys, but the bumbling, buffoon henchman Jock and Pebbles provided a lot of comic relief (they reminded me of the bad guys in Home Alone getting bested by Macaulay Culkin). And who names a goon Pebbles? He was nothing but a big ole simpleton oaf with a soft spot for animals - especially the magician's 20 lb white rabbit Edgar who always seemed to have his little twitching nose right in the thick of things. Try pulling that rabbit out of your hat O-O!

What I liked best about Lying Eyes was the love story between Iris and her scruffy, petty thief with the swashbuckling grin she can't stop thinking about...ohhhh Mickey you're so fine, you're so fine you blow my mind. Hey Mickey! Hey Mickey! We all know he's not really a thief out to kill her dad or steal the jewels, but it takes Iris a lot longer to figure him out and unmask the undercover agent.

Mickey's great at playing the part of a thief, but his feelings for Iris are real and true. Their relationship is cute, fun, flirty and sexy and for most of the book - she has no idea who he really is. At one point when things were looking pretty grim for Mickey and Iris he comes out with this line:

"Who's joking?" He lifted his face, his gaze roaming over her. "If this is my last night on this Earth, I sure as hell want to spend it with you." Ohhhh Mickey *heart melts*.

If you want a fast-paced, madcap, sexy romp then you can't go wrong with Lying Eyes. I really enjoyed it - Fortune family drama, Russian royalty, missing gems, rabbit and all!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.