Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Instant Classic, November 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lying Eyes (Kindle Edition)
Amy Atwell's debut novel reminded me of classic romantic comedies. I'm talking about the "real" classics with Katherine Hepburn, Cary Grant, Gene Tierney and Dana Andrews - tales from a time when people really knew how to tell a story.

Amy knows how to tell a story.

Set in Sin City, this novel has it all jewels, mobsters, con men, rabbits, the Bellagio, a sexy redhead and an even sexier dark-haired man named Mickey - swoon.

I couldn't put this book down until I finished it and then my next thought was, "When will she write another?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing debut, November 18, 2010
This review is from: Lying Eyes (Kindle Edition)
Amy Atwell has penned an awesome debut novel. Lying Eyes is not a cookie-cutter book. The characters are full-fleshed, 3-dimensional, and funny. From Cosmo the missing magician dad to Edgar the bunny the laughs never end and the action is non-stop. Iris Fortune, daughter of Cosmo has what she thinks is the perfect, calm, non-excitement life. Until Mickey Kincaid, jewel thief extraordinaire drops in. He wrecks havoc on Iris's calm life and brings her a thrill where she didn't know it was missing. Add in amazing jewels, new-found sisters, and the sweet, but unreliable magician dad and Amy Atwell has started her writer career with a bang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A caper book with a heart!, November 21, 2010
By 
E. Ramer (Wisconsin USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lying Eyes (Kindle Edition)
I was captivated by this book from the first line to the last. This smart caper book has romance, humor, unexpected sisters, a con man father who loves all three of his daughters, and a very cute bunny. The writing, the plot, and the characters are all brilliant. I would love to see this as a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't con a conman...or his daughter., January 14, 2011
This review is from: Lying Eyes (Kindle Edition)
Truth is an illusion in this romantic suspense by Amy Atwell. The hunt for ten million dollars worth of jewels brings out the good guys, the bad guys and a set of sisters who are unstoppable when it comes to taking care of themselves and each other.

Cosmo Fortune is a magician and con man working every angle in Las Vegas. He's stolen a set of historical gems from the Russians in order to double cross a Vegas businessman known as The Boss...and gotten himself into hot water with The Boss, the local cops, the Russians and more importantly, his three daughters who nothing about each other at the beginning of the story.

Mickey, an undercover cop, is on Cosmo's trail, both as a hired gun for the businessman and as a cop for the Vegas police department. Thanks to the rabbit Cosmo uses in his magic act, Mickey loses Cosmo, the gems and his credibility with The Boss. What he gains, however, is Cosmo's oldest daughter, Iris.

Iris, owner of Lying Eyes, a jewelry store inside one of the Strip's casinos, knows a thief when she sees one, and wants nothing to do with her dad, Mickey or anyone else who might interfere with her carefully laid plans to marry David, a conservative lawyer with political aspirations. When Mickey shows up at a fund raiser for David, asking about Cosmo, Iris refuses to help him. She's attracted to Mickey's careless and confident personality, but knows with that comes a heap of trouble...and she's had enough of that after being raised by Cosmo.

Mickey's irresistible though, and Iris ends up joining him in the chase to find her father. To her dismay, she realizes she's a chip off the old block, able to outwit and outmaneuver the bad guys after all of them. Her spunk, logic and willingness to put her past aside and help her father when the chips are down put her in my favorite heroine category. The way she defends her sisters, whom she knew nothing about growing up, also makes her a great heroine.

Mickey was a wicked hero. While he was definitely a rock solid cop, haunted by his younger brother's death, he enjoyed his role as a hired thug and played it to the max. It took me a few chapters to get a handle on his character, but after that, everything about his dual role clicked, and he kept me as well as Iris on our toes, Iris believing he was a bad guy almost to the end.

My favorite scene in this story was when Mickey goes to rescue Iris the first time she's kidnapped. I won't give away spoilers, but the sexual chemistry between the two of them while Iris is bound and Mickey uses his teeth to try and loosen the tape on her legs is hot!

There are many points of view in this story, and many plot twists and turns, but it all adds up to a satisfying and happy read. The bond the three sisters develop in the story is moving, and Edgar, the rabbit, is a surprising and well-written character.

I'm looking forward to the next book in the series, featuring Iris's sister Allie and Mickey's partner Justin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun With Jewels, December 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lying Eyes (Kindle Edition)
Nice, swift read with some unexpected twists in the road! Highly recommended! A great way to wile away a snowy/rainy day!

LYING EYES is a fun romantic "caper" novel with good characters, some history and some gemmology information thrown in for good measure! Not just your usual diamonds either! The heroine has a most unusual name (nice twist), some interesting family values, good steamy love scenes. The author has definitely been to Vegas and it shows.

Other players in the game bode well for a second (and third) sequel.

The star is really Edgar though!

I eagerly await her next novel! I think it will be even more fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Eyes, January 14, 2011
This review is from: Lying Eyes (Kindle Edition)
I won this in a Christmas draw and that was very lucky because this was one of the best modern romances I've ever read. Everything about the story is smooth...the plot flow, character development, dialogue...smooth, smooth, smooth! I normally try to think of something negative to try to give a balanced review, but I can't think of anything negative about the book except that it ended...and I wanted it to keep going. Thankfully, I understand there are two more books in the pipeline for the other two sisters. Now all I have to do is wait to read about Hunter and Allie. If you love funny well crafted romances you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh Out Loud Funny!, December 13, 2010
By 
Donna Marie Rogers (Northeast Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lying Eyes (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, talk about laugh out loud funny! Few authors can make me do that, so what a treat. The scene at the Bellagio with the Russians and the rabbit was hilarious. I was on the fence about Cosmos Fortune, as I'm sure most readers were, but the old boy won me over. I sure hope Iris' sisters will be getting their own stories as I look forward to reading anything by this brilliant new author. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Romantic Suspense, January 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lying Eyes (Kindle Edition)
From the first page you know you're in for a fun ride. Amy Atwell weaves layers of the story into a tight tapestry that will keep you hooked until the end. The twists kept me guessing and I feel like I know the richly drawn characters. I actually had several "oh no" moments where I held my breath to see what would happen next. Vegas is the perfect backdrop for this intelligent and sexy debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lying Eyes, December 12, 2010
This review is from: Lying Eyes (Kindle Edition)
Iris Fortune has finally built for herself the kind of life that she wants, not one that includes her charming but Con Artist father Cosmo when Cosmo disappears, leaving Iris in charge of his rabbit, Edgar, and wrapped up in his world again. Lying Eyes is the debut novel by Amy Atwell and begins the Daughters of Cosmo trilogy. Not only does Iris find herself caring for the overweight spoiled magician's rabbit Edgar, Mickey the con man is popping in and out of her house searching for Cosmo and Iris finds out that Cosmo was also married to two other women at the same time he was married to her mother and Iris has two half sisters.

Mickey is an undercover cop who is doing his best to help keep the charming Cosmo alive while keeping his cover. This get more difficult when Iris is drug into the situation and Mickey not only finds himself trying to protect her, he also is attracted to her. Things start to get heated when Mickey's bosses get frustrated with his lack of results and put a hit out on his life.

Lying Eyes was a bit of a tough start for me, but once I got involved with Ivy's feelings then the story hooked me. After Cosmo appeared in costume for the third time I was really hooked, wondering when and in what disguise he would show up in. This novel has so many great funny scenes involving Edgar the rabbit and Cosmo in disguise, they were a great counter to the emotional turmoil the main characters found themselves in from Cosmo's daughters being upset that he neglected to mention to any of them that they had half-sisters to Mickey still trying to deal with the senseless murder of his brother. Lying Eyes was a great entertaining read and I look forward to the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daughter of the ultimate con-man unwittingly takes over the con, March 3, 2011
This review is from: Lying Eyes (Kindle Edition)
What would it be like growing up with a con-man as a father? A con-man who disappeared for months at a time? A father who did a magic show in Vegas? Iris has no illusions about her father and has tried to distance herself, but when his latest scam brings trouble to her door and daddy dearest is no where to be found Iris finds herself right where she never wanted to be--in the middle of a con. Not only that, but all of her dad's secrets start tumbling out around her and suddenly life is a lot more interesting.

This story pulled me in immediately. It was a fast paced caper with heart, humor, and brains. Iris is a compelling heroine, Mickey was a well-drawn hero, and the whole cast in this caper was well done. Cosmo, Iris' dad, was an interesting fellow. He looks, and seems, like he's a simpleton but he is a master con-artist. His LIFE is a con. I loved watching him pull together this scam even as it seems to be falling apart.

I appreciated that everything wasn't sunshine and roses in the end. Iris' dad is the ultimate con-man and has done some things that I'm not sure how I would have dealt with. But, in the end Cosmo loves Iris and has only wanted her to be happy.

LYING EYES was a fun caper that was full of action and heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.