Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delight in the Dulles Gang's aid to genocide
FATIMA IN LUCIA'S OWN WORDS tells the story of the Virgin Mary's appearance in Fatima, Portugal in 1917, warning of RUSSIA as God's chosen instrument of chastisement. Rachel Verdon's stunning rewrite of history, based on decades of FOIA requests, scouring archives and interviewing principals, shows her warnings were tragically true, with widespread international collusion...
Published 6 months ago by A. Gerard Nordskoven

versus
34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fictional Flight of Conspiracy Paranoia (Revised)
When I read the Amazon "Product Description" of Rachel Verdon's book, I almost fell out of my chair laughing. However, I realized that most people do not do what I do, that is, take even things I agree with "with a grain of salt," and do some further research, e.g. check out some of the references. In other words, I never accept one or two sources, whether books and/or...
Published on June 30, 2009 by Joel A. Harrison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fictional Flight of Conspiracy Paranoia (Revised), June 30, 2009
When I read the Amazon "Product Description" of Rachel Verdon's book, I almost fell out of my chair laughing. However, I realized that most people do not do what I do, that is, take even things I agree with "with a grain of salt," and do some further research, e.g. check out some of the references. In other words, I never accept one or two sources, whether books and/or articles, as gospel until doing further investigation of my own, unless, of course, in an area wherein I enjoy some expertise. As a retired epidemiologist reading about the history of various infectious diseases is second nature to me.

From "Click to Look Inside" I could read what appears to be the first 4 pages of the book. On the first page Verdon writes: "One of the most intense biographies on Georg Friedrich Nicolai was written by a serologist and pediatrician, Wolf Suelzer; `The Nicolai Case,' Wayne State University Press, 1982. It speaks for itself." Verdon goes on to write: "Nicolai and Einstein co-authored `The Biology of War,' in 1918. Einstein contributed the introductory `Manifesto,' which had been signed by a score of German scientist, excusing Germany for starting World War 1."

I found a copy on the web of "The Biology of War" by Dr. G.F. Nicolai (New York: The Century Company, 1918), free for downloading ([...]) and as it was not available at any local library, I purchase through Amazon a copy of Suelzer's biography of Nicolai. It may be available at libraries in other communities.

Verdon writes that Suelzer's biography of Nicolai "speaks for herself." She writes: "The history of the Communist-Fascist alliance in biological warfare begins with Albert Einstein and his BEST BUDDY [my emphasis] Dr. Georg Friedrich Nicolai." So what does Suelzer write? "The relationship between Einstein and Nicolai was the comradeship of two men fighting for the same cause [which was Pacifism], RATHER THAN A PERSONAL FRIENDSHIP [my emphasis]. [Einstein] took a tolerant, slightly amused, but always sympathetic view of Nicolai's quixotic character." (pp 197 - 198). In a biography of 443 pages, this is all that Suelzer writes about the relationship between these BEST BUDDIES (according to Vernon). In a biography of Einstein, Nicolai, his BEST BUDDY (according to Vernon) is mentioned once in conjunction with the Manifesto to Europeans (Michael White and John Gribbin. "Einstein: A Life in Science," Penguin Books, 1993, page. 119). One might consider the exaggeration of their relationship as poetic license except that she claims it to be the starting point for the "Communist-Fascist alliance in biological warfare."

Verdon states that "Nicolai and Einstein co-authored `The Biology of War,' in 1918. Einstein contributed the introductory `Manifesto,' which had been signed by a score of German scientist, excusing Germany for starting World War 1." [I encourage the reader to actually download the Biology of War. There is a box where one can type in any page number and it goes directly to the page except for the Introductory pages that use Roman Numerals. In this case, to the left of the box are two blue arrows for rapidly getting to any of these pages] First, the "Biology of War" was written solely by Nicolai (not just from the title page; but from Suelzer's biography). As for the "`Manifesto,' which had been signed by a score of German scientist, excusing Germany for starting World War 1," the Manifesto was actually signed by 93 of Germany's leading intellectuals, including scientists, artists, theologians, etc; but NOT by either Einstein or Nicolai. In fact Nicolai begins his book "The Biology of War" with "the outward and visible cause why this book was written was the manifesto to the civilized world published in the early days of October, 1914, by ninety-three representatives of German science and art (page IX)."

Nicolai then goes on to reproduce the Manifesto in its entirety, adding footnotes where appropriate. For instance, section 2 reads: "IT IS NOT TRUE THAT WE CRIMINALLY VIOLATED BELGIAN NEUTRALITY. It can be proved that France and England had resolved to violate it, and it can be proved that Belgium had agreed to this. It would have been suicidal not to have anticipated them.i"

Nicolai's footnote actually shows the above to be a lie:

i On August 14, 1914, Herr von Bethmann-Hollweg, then German
Chancellor, said in the Reichstag: "Gentlemen, we stand now perforce
on guard. Necessity knows no law. Our troops have occupied Luxemburg,
possibly trodden Belgian soil. Gentlemen, this is contrary to international law. ... In this way we have been forced to override the justifiable protests of the Belgian and Luxemburg governments. We shall repair the injustice which we are committing as soon as our military object is attained/' (page XI)

Nicolai and Einstein did co-author the "Manifesto to Europeans," which was meant as a response/critique of the original Manifesto. Unfortunately, with only three signatures and war fervor at its height, it met with deaf ears.

From the publisher's description, it is obvious that Vernon believes Lyme disease an outbreak of something new, especially in North America. Thus she weaves a convoluted, complex, incredible conspiracy theory. From the publisher "How do we solve this Communist plot to destroy America from within, using diseases of the nervous system?" Of course there is a simpler explanation for Lyme Disease.

Lyme Disease has been around for a long time; but due to a more sporadic appearance, was not thought to be an infectious disease; but instead was given various labels such as "juvenile rheumatoid arthritis." As we moved out to the suburbs, living ever closer to nature, more and more Americans came in contact with the tick-borne disease until when a cluster was noticed, an investigation began, looking into the possibility of an infectious disease and so Lyme Disease was "discovered," more accurately relabeled. From Wikipedia's article on Lyme Disease:

"Before 1976, elements of B. burgdorferi sensu lato infection were called or known as tickborne meningopolyneuritis, Garin-Bujadoux syndrome, Bannworth syndrome, Afzelius syndrome, Montauk Knee or sheep tick fever. Since 1976 the disease is most often referred to as Lyme disease, Lyme borreliosis or simply borreliosis.

The full syndrome now known as Lyme disease was not recognized until a cluster of cases originally thought to be juvenile rheumatoid arthritis was identified in three towns in southeastern Connecticut in 1975, including the towns Lyme and Old Lyme, which gave the disease its popular name. This was investigated by physicians David Snydman and Allen Steere of the Epidemic Intelligence Service, and by others from Yale University.

Urbanization and other anthropogenic factors can be implicated in the spread of Lyme disease to humans. In many areas, expansion of suburban neighborhoods has led to the gradual deforestation of surrounding wooded areas and increasing border contact between humans and tick-dense areas. Human expansion has also resulted in a gradual reduction of the predators that normally hunt deer as well as mice, chipmunks and other small rodents - the primary reservoirs for Lyme disease. As a consequence of increased human contact with host and vector, the likelihood of transmission to Lyme residents has greatly increased."

Vernon has taken umbrage with my referring to an article in Wikipedia which she does not consider a reliable source for knowledge. What she failed to notice is the long list of references following the article, many of which could be accessed on the web, and many from well-respected peer-reviewed journals. In any case, as I revise this review I will give direct quotes from books and peer-reviewed journal articles, complete with detailed references, and, when available on the web, the URLs.

It is also a bit of a stretch to claim her book as published by the usual meaning of the word. The author, Rachel Verdon, paid to have it published. From Elderberry Press: "How much does your service cost? Our fees haven't increased in more than five years and are about what you would pay for printing 1000 books at a local print shop. Adult books: $3900 plus 2˘ per word all inclusive. Payable in three convenient, safe installments." I checked our public libraries and local university libraries; but not a single copy was available. And none of our local bookstores have a copy on their shelves.

So why, though retired with time to spare, would I spend so much time reviewing a book whose author paid to have it published and will probably sell few copies? The old saying is "A Lie Travels Around the World Before the Truth Gets Its Boots On!" I have noticed on the web people citing talk shows, books and articles, not just a few, but dozens even hundreds of blogs, without checking whether they are disseminating the truth or someone else's lies or misinterpretations. Unfortunately, once people have done this, their self-esteem seldom allows them to accept they have been duped. And lies and misinterpretations have consequences. In a democracy people vote and votes depend on peoples' knowledge and opinions. To read more on how people often form opinions that they believe were arrived at from careful deliberation; but weren't see Thomas Gilovich's fascinating book "How We Know What Isn't So: The Fallibility of Human Reason in Everyday Life," Free Press, 1991, and Michael Shermer's book, "Why People Believe Weird Things," (especially Chapter 3 "How Thinking Goes Wrong"), MJF Books, 1997 [note there is a second edition out]. See also Carol Tavris and Elliot Aronson. "Mistakes Were Made (but not by me)," Harcourt, 2007.

From Vernon's comments on health care blogs and just the first few pages of her book, it is obvious that her goal is to infect others with her rigid ideological paranoid delusions, something I find alarming. Below I give just one comment Vernon placed on an Amazon blog which clearly demonstrates her mindset. The quote is from the Amazon blog entitled "Should we have free healthcare in the U.S. (and is it possible?) [Please note that the blog's title was a poor choice as there is and never will be free healthcare; but many nations in the world provide some form of universal non-profit health care for all their residents, providing good quality at far less cost than we do. The health care is free at the point of delivery, see Joel A. Harrison. "Response to DON"T FIX WHAT ISN'T BROKEN," East County Magazine, June 21, 2009, [...]

In any case, I asked her if she had ever actually studied any of the health care systems of such Western Industrialized Democracies as France, Germany, Sweden, or Canada. Below is her reply:

In reply to your post on Jul 12, 2009 3:37 PM PDT
Rachel Verdon says:

Harrison, You write: "a sane person would logically.. study healthcare systems work around the world" Good point. Have you reviewed Solzhenitsyn's "Cancer Ward" or "The U.S. Government vs. Karl Kratch" in the Nuremberg Trails recently?

In other words, Verdon somehow believes that the modern Western Industrialized Democracies of France, Germany, Sweden, and Canada resemble the Soviet Union under Stalin during the 1930s and Nazi Germany. Need I say more?

I will be revising this review after reading additional books and articles related to it, including a couple of biographies of Einstein, and books and articles on Lyme Disease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delight in the Dulles Gang's aid to genocide, August 10, 2014
By 
A. Gerard Nordskoven (INDEPENDENCE, MO, US) - See all my reviews
FATIMA IN LUCIA'S OWN WORDS tells the story of the Virgin Mary's appearance in Fatima, Portugal in 1917, warning of RUSSIA as God's chosen instrument of chastisement. Rachel Verdon's stunning rewrite of history, based on decades of FOIA requests, scouring archives and interviewing principals, shows her warnings were tragically true, with widespread international collusion even in America as aided by Russian gold carried by the same Liberty ship-freighters from Russia that brought Lyme Disease to the USA. With the announcement of another tick-borne disease infecting beef, swine and lamb meat, the Lone Star strain, well might we revisit Verdon's tour de force, sometimes crudely written as her personal voice shines through, the voice of a person who is herself stricken with Lyme Disease. Delight in the Dulles Gang's aid to genocide, something that shines new light on the late Cardinal Avery Dulles' call to bypass the Vatican and let the people rule the Catholic Church. Our Lady gave the consecration of Russia to the Immaculate Heart by the Pope, united with all bishops, at one time, in a solemn, public ceremony in their respective cathedrals as her invitation to convert Russia and as the "only" means to a period of peace. Dulles' mob rule would have done an end-run around the only means to peace. Gotta give the devil his due. Smashwords will give you a good taste of this tome. Tell a friend. At minimum, this explains why Dulles' CIA as continued under James Jesus Angleton couldn't find a Russian spy to save their lives. Another great companion read are the Venona decrypts from the KGB, showing a little gold goes a long way to undermine America. One bombshell revelation is that Stalin had his tanks and diseased animals lined up to invade Europe through Poland but was stymied by Hitler invading Russia only a few days before this attack was scheduled. Ditto the dodged bullet of Germany's surrender only two weeks before biochemical weapons would have been ready to launch in V-2 rockets. Russia pulled off the original Operation Paperclip import of death-dealing German scientists as a result of the Versailles Treaty ending World War I that forced Germany to develop tanks and biochemical weapons in neighborly Russia, who used this opportunity to annihilate half her population in short order. "Pray the daily Rosary for peace" as the Immaculate Heart advised at Fatima. This is a spiritual battle. Free Rosary CD's are available at catholicity dot com. Donate to Father David's central Russian church, the first ever, through his Kansas City Redemptorists at: Our Lady of Perpetual Help, 3333 Broadway, KCMO 64111 notated "Fr. David's Church Fund." Email Fr. David at PRZEMEKRZ at wp.pl And start passing out copies of LYME DISEASE & THE SS ELBRUS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting book if your are interested in reading ..., December 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lyme Disease and the SS Elbrus (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting book if your are interested in reading about another twist to the tale of the origins of Lyme disease...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting theories on Lyme disease, April 24, 2003
...Anyway...
There's a number of strange diseases, like lyme disease, SARs, AIDS, and many others.... that seemingly mutate out of nowhere. Many vaccine programs are also suspected to have caused epidemics, especially in third world countries where the immune system is already degraded from poor diet and poor drinking water. The truth of the matter is, nazi Germany, the Soviet Union, and America, designed thousands of war machine microbes. It would be naive to NOT suspect that some of these microbes escaped into the population. Verden offers an interesting theory considering we will never know the truth about the secret programs of the 3 most hideous war machines in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars out there. WAY out there., March 9, 2003
By 
The author of this book claims just about everything in the world is related to drug smuggling and CIA conspiracies.
One of the oddest assertions is that the Nazi Klaus Barbi was a triple agent for the US and USSR, and had a team of commandos that trained the Contras. It's amazing that this book ever got published
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A loud call for "vigilance", May 31, 2011
For people like me who lived a few months as a translator for Prensa Latina in Cuba the second half of the year 1960 under Castro, this book is a loud reminder of the necessity of constant "vigilance" in countries where governments grow too powerful and out of control as it happened in Germany under Hitler as well as in the Soviet Union and has been progressively happening in this country and, I fear, will reach full fruition if Obamacare is allowed to be installed.

It is indeed refreshing that an author like Rachel Verdon dedicated so much time to research, investigate and then write this well documented work which sheds such defined light into the nefarious doings of those repressive regimes which she so well understands.

I only hope that her book will be widely read and that our legislators will be very "vigilant", and fully protect the freedoms that we still enjoy, including our right to choose our healthcare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most googled book on Lyme disease, February 3, 2010
This book is googled every day by those interested in Lyme disease. The author has appeared on Coast to Coast and spent her life researching and suffering from Lyme. Like anything in life, one must be selective about what one believes. This book is no different. There are some original ideas here and some that aren't so... shall we say... logical. It's a fun read and presents some viewpoints I bet you haven't heard before. The fur connection itself is enough to justify the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting history lesson, June 8, 2010
It is obvious that a great deal of research went into writing this book. I found her ideas interesting. Anyone who believes that we have a country of totally honest FBI agents, CIA, and government officials is clueless.

Could the author have made a few mistakes when writing the book? Of course. Does that make the whole book wrong? No.

I found the part about Stalin using biological weapons against his own people quite plausible. It was done in this country numerous times. We are "told" that it doesn't happen any more. Maybe the Swine flu vaccine is one of those biological weapons but we are so brainwashed that we buy the lie that it is to protect us from a pandemic....

We are also told that Lyme disease is spread by deer ticks. And it is strictly one variety of spirochete that causes the illness. If you should be bitten by a tick and you got sick but it is a different spirochete, then you don't have Lyme... Doctors are being told that they are not allowed to think for themselves when they have a sick patient who doesn't respond to the "generally accepted" treatment for Lyme. Her premise that Lyme is a biological weapon being used to make a very sick population is plausible especially since we have a mainstream medical community that seems to want to keep us sick.

I enjoyed reading about the graft and corruption. It explains our current situation pretty well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lyme Disease and the SS Elbrus
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.