Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Betrand Blier's best film ever
MENAGE or "Tenue De Soiree", as it is called in French is a subtle comedy which will not leave the viewer untouched. A burgler (Depardieu) befriends a spatting couple at a bal, and proceeds to court the husband (Michel Blanc, of "Monsieur Hire") into an intense intimate relationship. What follows is the threesome's adventures through Parisian...
Published on March 18, 1999

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Brain Dead
I thought that the English use of Ménage might be different than the French. As far as this dim goes it is not. The humor lacks any whit of cleverness and mistakes repeated distasteful sexual skits (sans nudity) for acceptable film work

And I am a big G. P. fan.
Published 6 months ago by John W. Van Hoy III


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Betrand Blier's best film ever, March 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Menage [VHS] (VHS Tape)
MENAGE or "Tenue De Soiree", as it is called in French is a subtle comedy which will not leave the viewer untouched. A burgler (Depardieu) befriends a spatting couple at a bal, and proceeds to court the husband (Michel Blanc, of "Monsieur Hire") into an intense intimate relationship. What follows is the threesome's adventures through Parisian nights and a variety of situations, one more absurd than the next. The original version is exquisitely written, and the dialogues border on poetry. All the actors demonstrate their talents opposite each other and form an exceptional cast. This film would most likely be listed under "comedies" but it's range encompasses many genres. A definite must see for any fan of Depardieu who is flawless in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cynical film, November 10, 2002
This review is from: Menage [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The original title of this film is "Tenue de soiree". A very ironic title if you consider the story : two [unsuccessful folks] meet smart guy (Gerard Depardieu) with money and connections. Only problem : the money has dubious origins and the connections are a little too connected to the crime world. Let's not even talk about the sexual depravity of Mr. Smart who offers his new friends the brilliant career of prostitution.
The film is a must not only because of the weird and hilarious story but also for the great lines (a condition of success in French theaters). Who will forget the famous comment : "When I see your gloomy face, I feel like ordering a coffin " ?
This film has become a classic in France. It displays the same black humor as "Le pere Noel est une ordure" (you don't want me to translate this and you don't want to know what happens to Santa Claus).
If you want to discover French cinema, you better get used to Bernard Blier's destructive humor, who spares nobody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bold french comedy, August 1, 2006
Great acting, a very unusual story and a wonderful direction make this one of the most outstanding (and cult) comedies coming out from France in recent years. Depardieu, Miou Miou and Blanc are simply terrific in this incredibly outragious "menage a trois". Besides, the music - by Serge Gainsbourg (who else could make the music for such a movie?) - is WONDERFUL. Kind of cult flick, it will be greatly enjoyed by those keen on sexually daring subjects. Warning: I would recommend this film to a very open-minded audience since it might hurt some moral standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN IDEAL, SWITCH-HITTER DEPARDIEU, June 12, 2005
Infatuated by his ever-adolescent naughty looks, I hailed Gerard as the actor when I saw him in Tenue de soiree. The increasing arousal of the plot interweaves with his audaucious fury ending up in a typically European menage a trois. We are all flesh and blood, after all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragi-comedy at its darkest, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ménage [Evening Dress] (DVD)
This is a story about what one will do to survive, rising from the gutter to luxurious heights and back down - passing below the gutter. It's a dark comedy worth your while. It's in French and is subtitled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Be or NOT To BE ..., May 1, 2011
This review is from: Ménage [Evening Dress] (DVD)
On commence... et on finit, par ętre femme...

Besides all else that this film might be about, it is also about mutability... the fact that our identities may not... at all, be as fixed as we might safely think. That... depending on the circumstances, and the particular people we meet... and our willingness to not judge, and to be open to things outside our own experiences, that even the most seemingly black-and-white self-definitions might (then) be allowed to blur and metamorphosize into something quite other than as we were when starting-out. Self-realization with the absence of fear... a fear shaped by societal convention. But... because this film explores mutability of the most profoundly personal type, it may be safer just to laugh at its opera-buffa qualities than to realize that, at its core, it dares to shake us by our ankles to acknowledge that we're never as « safe » as we might believe. Perhaps this is the reason some might find this film offensive, and why, also, societal-variance is so very frequently met with such ridicule, abuse and hatred... it's easier to hate than to believe that truths we hold as most immutable, under those right circumstances, are as fragile as dust on the wind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another dark, misanthropic and very funny satire of sexual politics and social morality by Blier, September 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ménage [Evening Dress] (DVD)
I continue to enjoy Blier's twisted imagination, and the way he makes blackly comic and surreal films that are not like anyone else's. He is often accused of being a misogynist, but to me, his men are no less screwed up (indeed they often seem more so) in these studies of sexuality, relationships, social norms and morality.

In this case we start with an unhappy. broke and bored couple Antoine (Michel Blanc) and Monique (Miou-Miou). Into their lives dances (literally) Bob (Gerard Depardieu) a sexy, swaggering, amoral, bi-sexual ex-con and thief. Before you can blink he has seduced the couple into joining him on his raids on the houses of the rich. Meanwhile the sexual politics between the three get ever more complex as it becomes clear Bob is far more turned on to the mousy, devoutly heterosexual Antoine than he is to the more obviously attractive Monique. Ultimately it becomes, in it's absurdist way a meditation on how power and sex work in relationships, as well as letting go of one's self-image.

All three actors are terrific, but Depardieu in particular seems to be having a blast – a macho tough guy one second, a tender gay romancer the next. All played with a kind of honesty and humanity that only makes the extremes that much funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Brain Dead, May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ménage [Evening Dress] (DVD)
I thought that the English use of Ménage might be different than the French. As far as this dim goes it is not. The humor lacks any whit of cleverness and mistakes repeated distasteful sexual skits (sans nudity) for acceptable film work

And I am a big G. P. fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Review of Ménage, August 11, 2011
By 
Paul Kao (Sacramento, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ménage [Evening Dress] (DVD)
Considering the stars of this movie, I expected more. I don't think the problem was with the acting, rather the problem was the script. The whole story was unbelievable and the ending especially so, although seeing Gerard Depardieu and Michel Blanc in drag was mildly amusing. If you want to see this movie, rent it. Don't buy it unless it's really cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, bizarre script, stupid message, weird ending., January 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ménage [Evening Dress] (DVD)
I love French movies but this one was more annoying and disgusting than interesting or funny,.
This movie is the most bizarre of them all.
The first 20 minutes had some promise to it, but after that things went downhill.
I am not a big fan of homosexuality, and this movie is up to its neck in it.

Would never recommend it to my friends, would never watch it again.
My husband walked out after watching the first 25 minutes.
In fact, I am embarrassed to keep it in my house.
Getting rid of it.

And the ending was like HUH???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ménage [Evening Dress]
Ménage [Evening Dress] by Bertrand Blier (DVD - 2009)
$14.98 $12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.