Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First time on DVD!, thank you Classic Media!
"Mad Mad Mad Monsters" was the animated spin-off movie from the cult classic Ani-magic movie "Mad Monster Party." It originally aired as part of the "ABC Saturday Superstar Movie series in 1972." It's animated in a style similar to "Frosty the Snowman" and not the Ani-magic style of the Mad Monster Party or Rudolph. None the less it's a great little animated movie,...
Published on June 25, 2011 by RetroMan

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so pair of animated monster specials
As a huge fan of Halloween, monsters and cartoons, I expected to absolutely love this rarely-seen 1972 Rankin/Bass special. The t.v. special had fallen into relative obscurity over the years, even though it was a sequel of sorts to the earlier stop-motion cult classic Mad Monster Party. Indeed, this DVD debut was the first time I'd ever seen it. Unfortunately, "Mad Mad...
Published on July 15, 2011 by A. Gammill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First time on DVD!, thank you Classic Media!, June 25, 2011
This review is from: MAD, MAD, MAD MONSTERS (DVD)
"Mad Mad Mad Monsters" was the animated spin-off movie from the cult classic Ani-magic movie "Mad Monster Party." It originally aired as part of the "ABC Saturday Superstar Movie series in 1972." It's animated in a style similar to "Frosty the Snowman" and not the Ani-magic style of the Mad Monster Party or Rudolph. None the less it's a great little animated movie, featuring classic movie monsters and that familiar Rankin Bass charm. It's just under 50 mins in length.

Not only do you get the never before released "Mad Mad Mad Monsters" movie special on dvd but the "Jack'O'Lantern" episode from the series Rankin Bass Presents, "Family Festival of Classics." It's just under 25 mins in length and also is a hand drawn animated story. This would made a terrific dvd for Halloween viewing or really any time of the year. I have seen both of these shows and I highly recommend them, for the price also it's a great value! If you're a Rankin Bass fan and enjoy their animated shows this is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From a much more innocent time, November 2, 2011
By 
Trewthe (Indaenhyle,USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: MAD, MAD, MAD MONSTERS (DVD)
Having purchased this title because of my love for Mad Monster Party, i was surprised at how well i loved the extra feature Jack-O-Lantern.Watching these old cartoons i wonder if today's younger ones would appreciate this show, i hope they would!Much appreciation to Vivendi, for remembering us older buyers and releasing these great classics from our childhood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so pair of animated monster specials, July 15, 2011
By 
A. Gammill (Tupelo, MS United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAD, MAD, MAD MONSTERS (DVD)
As a huge fan of Halloween, monsters and cartoons, I expected to absolutely love this rarely-seen 1972 Rankin/Bass special. The t.v. special had fallen into relative obscurity over the years, even though it was a sequel of sorts to the earlier stop-motion cult classic Mad Monster Party. Indeed, this DVD debut was the first time I'd ever seen it. Unfortunately, "Mad Mad Mad Monsters" uses hand-drawn animation rather than RB's wonderful stop-motion magic, and that's only the start of the problems.

The main thing (and again, I WANTED so much to love it) is that the special just isn't very engaging or funny. The marginal plot has Baron Von Frankenstein (voiced by a fairly good Karloff imitator, since the legendary star had passed on by this time) creating a bride for his monster, then planning a wedding packed with some wonderfully ghoulish guests. Getting all the classic monsters together worked fine in Mad Monster Party, but just falls flat here. The original feature was helped along by some inspired, wacky musical numbers. Sadly, these don't exist in the follow-up. The humour, such as it is, falls a few steps below the "Laugh-In"-style gags of Groovie Goolies: Saturday Mourning Collection (sample joke: Upon seeing his two creatures meet, Frankenstein declares, "It's like you were MADE for each other. . .wait a minute, you WERE made for each other!").

Fairing slightly better is the bonus feature, an episode of Rankin/Bass's "Festival of Family Classics" entitled "Jack O'Lantern" (also from 1972). The half-hour shows were retellings of popular folk heroes and children's stories. Like the main feature, it features hand-drawn animation akin to "Frosty the Snowman."

I've given the disc 3 stars because I feel it is imporant to have rare, almost-forgotten animated shows released, and because the prints used by Classic Media are really quite good. There are no additional features, including addtional subtitles or language tracks. If you have kids (even grown-up ones) who are monster fans, this might even find a place among their annual Halloween viewing. And for the money, you could really do a lot worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back again!, December 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAD, MAD, MAD MONSTERS (DVD)
This is another movie I watched long ago. It stopped being shown for some reason and I tried to find it for years. Once I saw that it was out, I couldn't wait to add it to my collection and get a copy to send to my brother so he could enjoy it again too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good prequel to Mad Monster Party?, November 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAD, MAD, MAD MONSTERS (DVD)
This cartoon feature wil only be appreciated by fans of 1970s Saturday morning tv and fans of the rankin-Bass film, Mad Monster Party? I loved the madcap speed of the film and the funny antics of the main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Mad Mad Memories from Rankin/Bass, September 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAD, MAD, MAD MONSTERS (DVD)
First off, I'd like to clarify something about this film. Despite what some reviewers have identified as, 'Mad, Mad, Mad Monsters' is NOT a prequel, nor spin-off, of the AniMagic film, 'Mad Monster Party.' Instead this is more of an animated, non-canon film utilizing some of the characters from it. This was due to the fact while ABC wanted Rankin/Bass to release 'Mad Monster Party,' for their Saturday Superstar Movie, censors and licensing difficulties didn't make this possible.

Nevertheless, 'Mad, Mad, Mad Monsters' is definitely one of Rankin/Bass' overlooked classics from their vault. The film almost vanished from obscurity if had not been for a brief VHS release in 1986 by Family Home Entertainment. Although debuting on ABC's Saturday Superstar Movie in 1972, this animated production only aired twice.

A rare occurrence since ABC did air two other Rankin/Bass TV films, 'The Red Baron' and 'That Girl in Wonderland,' more often on the Saturday Superstar Movie.

This time round, consequently, Dr. Frankenstein forgoes discovering the means for destroying matter, and instead creates a Monstress for his Creature (much to Igor's chagrin). Impressed with the success of his latest creation, Frankenstein decides on holding a wedding for his creatures. So he wastes no time sending out invitations to the classic Universal Monsters (to the disdain of a nerve-wracked mail carrier). And also reserves rooms at the Transylvania Astoria, where the ceremony will be held on Friday the 13th.

In this interpretation, there are some new characters. For instance, the Invisible Man is now married to his 'unseen' wife, Nagatha (aptly named), and they have an invisible son and dog. Dracula also has a son, but we don't actually see Ms. Dracula.

As for the inconsistencies and the lacking the punch of its AniMagic counterpart, you must bear in mind this film was produced in 1972, and made to fit the ABC Saturday Superstar Movie format. This is where they'd usually show either a beginning scene, or 'preview' scene before the intros then play the full-film. In Mad, Mad, Mad Monsters, I notice where Rankin/Bass shows what might have been a 'preview' scene for the film, but they might have forgotten about it during production.

Also due to strict censorship back then, many problems posed here are actually resolved with non-violent methods. But the interesting there is, it's not as bad as some where they usually 'discuss' their problems.

Included with this is the 'Jack O' Lantern' tale from the "Rankin/Bass Presents" specials they used to air back in 1972. Not a bad tale, and is perfect for Halloween.

Basically if you want something fun for the kids without the gore and violence, I'd recommend this Rankin/Bass Classic for a Halloween treat. Though it doesn't imply in any fashion of being a Halloween Special, it does serve as a fun one along the lines of other Halloween Animated films. I applaud Classic Media for releasing this lost treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The classics are back, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAD, MAD, MAD MONSTERS (DVD)
Rankin Bass is a favorite of mine since childhood I always enjoy watching all of their specials they will never die out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, September 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAD, MAD, MAD MONSTERS (DVD)
great movie love it my grandson loves it haven't seen it since I was a child front back a lot of memories really you're eating it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for the kids, August 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAD, MAD, MAD MONSTERS (DVD)
i love the cartoons and it has all of the actors from the past that has died our is too old it great to hear them again and it is a great cartoon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing the name RANKIN/BASS on the front...., October 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAD, MAD, MAD MONSTERS (DVD)
and really no RANKIN/BASS extras to speak of. It does contain FESTIVAL OF FAMILY CLASSICS: JACK O' LANTERN. I have many promotional photos and model sheets, etc. Would have loved to hear from CLASSIC MEDIA/GENIUS, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

MAD, MAD, MAD MONSTERS
MAD, MAD, MAD MONSTERS by - (DVD - 2012)
$6.99 $6.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.