Customer Reviews


212 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word, excellent
The construction and quality is what you'd expect from a Maglite with a solid and durable aluminum body and rubber gaskets inside to keep out dirt and water. The grip is also nicely textured to keep the flashlight from slipping out of your hand.

Light output is excellent with a bright, white beam and good throw distance. The reflector has been redesigned from...
Published on September 21, 2007 by DB.Zimmerman

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy at your own risk
I purchased this light a week ago from Home Depot for almost $25 and it no longer works. Did everything Maglite recommended and still no luck. Problem is either the tail cap or the barrel/switch. Light flashes intermittently when tightening the tail cap after battery replacement, but once the tail cap is tight, the light no longer works. What a disappointing product...
Published on November 10, 2007 by SavedByTechnology


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word, excellent, September 21, 2007
This review is from: MAGLITE SP2210H 2-AA Cell Mini LED Flashlight with Holster, Silver (Sports)
The construction and quality is what you'd expect from a Maglite with a solid and durable aluminum body and rubber gaskets inside to keep out dirt and water. The grip is also nicely textured to keep the flashlight from slipping out of your hand.

Light output is excellent with a bright, white beam and good throw distance. The reflector has been redesigned from the 2AA incandescent model and eliminates the infamous Maglite "hole" (a dark spot in the middle of the beam) when the flashlight is on full flood. Adjusting to spot isn't a dramatic difference, but it definitely puts more light in the center of the beam which can be useful in certain situations.

Batteries last a long, long time, and unlike the older incandescent model, the light output doesn't decrease to unusable levels long before the batteries are dead but rather stays clear and bright until the batteries are exhausted. The LED is also considerably more durable than an incandescent bulb, and my LED Maglite has survived knocks and drops that would have required a bulb replacement in my old incan model. And while the LED version is about an inch longer than the old model, the flashlight is still small and light enough to carry everywhere (I always keep mine on my belt so it's always handy when I need it, which is more often than you'd expect!).

I have only one caveat: the flashlight does not have reverse polarity protection meaning that if you accidentally install the batteries backwards, you'll smoke the LED and you'll have to buy a new flashlight. Just be careful when installing the batteries and you'll be fine.

It might seem a little pricey, but it's worth every penny.

----------

Edit: A year later and this little flashlight is still going strong. It never leaves my side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great light with little known feature, May 31, 2000
By 
wcc2 (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
All the mag lites share solid aluminum construction and rubber o-ring seals.
What sets the mini mag off from the other mag lites is its size (easy to hold with teeth while working under car, sink, etc) and one little known feature - "candle" mode. You adjust the beam focus by rotating the mini mag's head, but if you continue turning the head pops off; you are left with the handle and the exposed bulb, which is now throwing light in all directions - it is a "candle". Flip the head over, place it on the ground/table - it is now a "candle holder". Stick the candle into the candle holder. Instant candle for camping. (These directions are actually on the mini mag's packaging, but it wasn't until I had bought my third mini mag (one for car, kitchen, daypack) that I noticed. This is actually a great trick to show other mini mag owners... they also threw their packaging away without looking it)
Two mini mags in the candle mode do a good job on a picnic table at night... so get two of them... they're cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mag decided to become the best and they did. Best value., January 1, 2000
While I have run into a flashlight that is slightly more waterproof than this one it is almost three times more expensive. In my humble opinion value is a major component of any design. For this reason, this flashlight rates a 5. Grasp this in your hand and you are immediately struck by its designed in strength and careful manufacturing. The adjustable beam, which spreads or focuses the light expands the usefulness. Narrow for reading a map late at night or wide angle for walking down the lane. A spare bulb (an old concept that seemed to have gotten lost until now) increases the likelihood that you will have light when you want it. Mag took a simple product, added important features and then used quality materials and methods to produce it at a very attractive price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, one minor issue though, August 22, 2008
This review is from: MAGLITE SP2210H 2-AA Cell Mini LED Flashlight with Holster, Silver (Sports)
Love Maglite flashlights, only had one minor issue with this one. I don't normally write reviews, but wanted to share this for anyone else who has this problem. The flickering/won't turn on problem very well could be the tailcap assembly (screw off back part). There are 2 metal clips that need to make contact with the barrel. If your AA LED Maglite is not turning on, try bending these 2 clips out and make sure they can make contact with the barrel. Mine had this problem, and once I bent these clips out it has worked just great. I hope this helps someone out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy, Hardy, Little Light, December 5, 1999
By 
M. Luke (Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
I've got one of these in my car glove box for emergencies and another in my living room so that I can check the wiring for my stereo, check the fusebox when the power goes out, etc. The Metal Enclosed light is very sturdy. My 5 year old has banged it, dropped it and it still works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very decent flashlight for the money, September 12, 2006
All right I'm going to cut to the chase. This light is definitely outdated although Mag has introduced its excellent Minimag LED. Some of the complaints about the reliability of this light are absolutely hilarious. Mag flashlights have been the standard light for maintenence, security,law enforcement, and many other types of personnel and have proven to be a very reliable and durable light. Its an incandescent light, which can fail if dropped just like any other light of its type. P

eople who I consider to experts on the topic of flashlights, who even have websites dedicated specifically to flashlight reviews, also consider this to be a very decent entry level light with high reliability. These experts have recognized the Minimag as being a dependable flashlight not known to have any major design flaws that affect reliability. Sure there are better flashlights out there, they also cost more money.

I consider all the Mag flashlights to be good entry level lights. You aren't getting a Surefire or Streamlight but you will end up with a light that is going to work every time you use it and offer a very long service life. These lights have been torture tested to grave extremes on public forums pertaining to flashlights and their durability will amaze you.

Where it truly does not compare to the Surefire and Streamlight lights is in beam quality. Once you have used a Surefire or Streamlight you might never go back. This little Minimag has a lot going for it though. It is reliable, has fairly good output, and has a decent run time on relatively inexpensive AA batteries. Other lights may be brighter but they are either more expensive initially or more expensive to feed battery wise. I just can't stand back while people are trashing probably the most proven flashlight of the 20th century. Many police officers, security personnel, and search and rescue operatives have used Mag flashlights in one form or another for decades in harsh environments. They are not the best flashlights out there for sure, but they certainly are not junk.

In conclusion, I think its fair to say that its not the best flashlight in terms of technology but its definitely a versatile and durable light that will offer many years of reliable service. Maglite has kept the design simple so that they can offer a very high quality product at a very reasonable price. Quality has nothing to do with features. What the Minimag lacks in features it makes up in quality and reliability. While I have many higher priced flashlights that are better in terms of brightness and technology, the Minimag has provided me years of service and has been abused heavily. It works as well as the first day I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly useful and unexpectedly bright, December 15, 2000
After receiving one of these and a larger Mag as a gift I wasn't sure where I'd use this flashlight. As it turns out, I am using it more than the larger light. It's small size makes it incredibly useful for small maintenance tasks such as working on a computer, poking around a car or even finding things you drop behind furniture. It's brightness is surprising. I have found it to be almost as bright as the Mag 2D light.
I had some contact problems when I put the first set of batteries in, but after playing with the spring in the back and making sure the end cap was tight it worked fine and has failed since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars may save your marriage, January 8, 2007
By 
David A. Baer (Indianapolis, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If the NCAA sanctioned an intercollegiate sport called Cranky Light Sleeper, my wife would be the Division I national champion. Meanwhile, I'm the guy who needs to chill and read for a while before drifting off to sleep, maybe even have a chat ...

And they say us guys aren't relational.

Much to my surprise, the athletic prodigy who sleeps beside me offered just a few days ago that I might want to 'read with a flashlight' and that this would not meaningfully interrupt her nocturnal ambitions.

Wouldn't you know, I'm prepared. The Mini Mag Lite is ideal for clandestine bedtime reading *and* auto glove compartments. Those are the two applications where I have a Mini Mag standing by.

The thing puts out great light and allows you to focus the beam by turning the uppermost portion of the flashlight. It has the survivability of a cockroach in a nuclear winter. It's compact and has a nifty little soft carrying case, though I've never seen the virtue of that.

A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mini Mag AA Flashlight, February 24, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mag Lite makes wonderful flashlights of all sizes. This one fits perfect in my leathercraft tool holder that I ware working outside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great LED, Much better than non-LED version, May 19, 2007
This review is from: MAGLITE SP2210H 2-AA Cell Mini LED Flashlight with Holster, Silver (Sports)
For a small flashlight, this one is great. It is significantly better than the non-LED version of the same light. The light output from this light is clean, focusable, artifact free, has good color and is about 5 times brighter than the non-LED version. The light still supports "candle mode" too. The flashlight is about 1" larger than the non-LED version. Light output is fairly consistent and strong for a over 3 hours. It is definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.