Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


251 of 254 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!
The info on Amazon is limited, so let me fill you in. There are seventeen disks... one per movie. The disks are grouped in a sort of jacket according to their release date. Their are three jackets (?) (Volume One(1950-2), Volume Two(1952-3), and Volume Three(1954-61). Each unfolds to reveal a picture of Marilyn on the back and the CDs for the set on the inside. The...
Published 23 months ago by Tiffany

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad Packaging and Special Features
There is nothing wrong with the actual films, as long as you adore Marilyn Monroe.

Unfortunately, no matter how well the seller packs this item or how new it is, it will arrive already damaged. The exterior will look perfect but the discs inside, will almost always be loose. In my case, 14 out 17 discs were loose and all were scratched. And being that it is not...
Published 19 months ago by Bare Lily


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

251 of 254 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!, August 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The info on Amazon is limited, so let me fill you in. There are seventeen disks... one per movie. The disks are grouped in a sort of jacket according to their release date. Their are three jackets (?) (Volume One(1950-2), Volume Two(1952-3), and Volume Three(1954-61). Each unfolds to reveal a picture of Marilyn on the back and the CDs for the set on the inside. The front of each volume is laid out much like a magazine with the movie names as headlines and a brief catch ("Getting your foot in the door","Tricks to looking younger", etc.), which I found quite cute. The back of the actual box shows all of the movies, their volumes, and brief summaries. As for the movies, there are 10 B&W and 7 Color movies. Here they are:

Volume One: 1950-1952:
All About Eve (B&W)
As Young As You Feel(B&W)
Lets Make It Legal(B&W)
Love Nest(B&W)
Don't Bother To Knock(B&W)

Volume Two: 1952-1953
Monkey Business(B&W)
O. Henry's Full House(B&W)
We're Not Married(B&W)
Gentlemen Prefer Blondes(Color)
How To Marry A Millionaire(Color)
Niagara(Color)

Volume Three: 1954-1961
There's No Business Like Show Business(Color)
The Seven Year Itch(Color)
Bus Stop(Color)
Some Like It Hot(B&W)
Let's Make Love(Color)
The Misfits(B&W)

As for the packaging, I wasn't too pleased. I love the layouts, summaries, headlines, etc. but it's like thick paper and I can tell it's easily ripped, damaged, etc. I ripped a tiny bit of the packaging while taking out one of the DVDs! However, I plan on taking good care of it anyway and it's a wonderful set.

Overall, yes, I would recommend this to any Marilyn fan looking for a great, quality set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for the movies, 1 star for packaging - BE WARNED!, August 10, 2012
By 
Jack X McCallum (SF Bay Area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've seen a lot of gripes about the packaging, and it really is terrible; cheap paperboard cases with simple slots to hold the disks in place. Add in the usual mistreatment packages suffer traveling through the USPS and you get shipping anarchy. In sets 1 and 2, Don't Bother to Knock and Niagara were free-floating and visibly scratched, and go figure, these are two of the movies I've been dying to see in restored versions (in fact EVERY disk seems scratched to some degree, and adorned with little flecks of paper and dust, incredible but true). You may want to check all of the disks by FF through them (as I am doing now - if The Seven Year Itch had been unplayable I would have been quite irate). Fortunately I had no problems with the disks, as I FF through them and didn't see any odd pauses or jumps. I've attached a photo of set 1 to show how lame that packaging is. As for the movies, I grew up seeing choppy old prints of Niagara on TV, and this restored version looks incredible - likewise DBTK. The Seven Year Itch and Bus Stop almost look like different movies compared to the old pan-and-scan versions of my youth. I can only imagine what blu-ray versions would look like. So be warned, the actual movies look and sound great, the artwork on both packaging and disks is very cute, but those paper slots, man, WTFWTT? One last note, Fox kind of boned us by NOT including River of No Return in this set, and it's probably NOT a coincidence that they just released it on blu-ray, but Marilyn fans simply cannot find a better deal when it comes to value for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn the Premiere Collection - Awesome set!, January 14, 2013
By 
Rick Lane (Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First of all this box-set is something I would recommend and it's worth the value. There are three sleeves with very nice cover images on each of the three sleeves that shows what movies are in each sleeve. Note to all, not all of these films have Marilyn as the star, so she won't appear as much as she does in some other films. I wish they added "River of no Return" to this set, but I don't know why they didn't. I do agree with other reviewers that the package design was not the best and they could've fixed this problem. Most of the films do include special features and trailers on their disks. Overall this is an excellent collection with great movies and I would recommend it to anyone.

The movies included are:

*"All About Eve" (1950/138mins/B&W/Full frame)
-Bette Davis, Anne Baxter, George Sanders, Celeste Holm, Gary Merrill, Hugh Marlowe; Director-Joseph L. Mankiewicz
*"As Young As You Feel" (1951/76mins/B&W/Full frame)
-Monty Woolley, Thelma Ritter, David Wayne, Jean Peters, Albert Dekker; Director-Harmon Jones
*"Let's Make it Legal" (1951/76mins/B&W/Full frame)
-Claudette Colbert, MacDonald Carey, Zachary Scott, Barbara Bates, Robert Wagner & Frank Cady; Director-Richard Sale
*"Love Nest" (1951/84mins/B&W/Full frame)
-June Haver, William Lundigan, Frank Fay, Jack Paar, Beatrice Joy, Henry Kulky; Director-Joseph Newman
*"Don't Bother to Knock" (1952/76mins/B&W/Full frame)
-Richard Widmark, Anne Bancroft, Donna Corcoran, Jeanne Cagney, Lurene Tuttle, Elisha Cook Jr.; Director-Roy Baker
*"Monkey Business" (1952/97mins/B&W/Full frame)
-Cary Grant, Ginger Rogers, Charles Coburn, Hugh Marlowe; Director-Howard Hawks
*"O. Henry's Full House" (1952/117mins/B&W/Full frame)
*"We're not Married" (1952/85mins/B&W/Full frame)
-Ginger Rogers, Fred Allen, Victor Moore, David Wayne, Paul Douglas, Eddie Bracken; Director-Edmund Goulding
*"How to Marry a Millionaire" (1953/105mins/Color/Full frame)
-Betty Grable, Lauren Bacall, David Wayne, Rory Calhoun, Cameron Mitchell; Director-Jean Negulesco
*"Niagra" (1953/88mins/Color/Full frame)
-Joseph Cotten, Jean Peters, Casey Adams; Director-Henry Hathaway
*"Gentlemen Prefer Blondes" (1953/91mins/Color/Full frame)
-Jane Russell, Charles Coburn; Director-Howard Hawks
*"There's No Business Like Show Business" (1954/118mins/Color/Widescreen)
-Ethel Merman, Donald O'Connor, Dan Dailey; Director-Walter Lang
*"The Seven Year Itch" (1955/104mins/Color/Widescreen)
-Tom Ewell, Evelyn Keyes, Sonny Tufts, Robert Strauss; Director-Billy Wilder
*"Bus Stop" (1956/105mins/Color/Widescreen)
-Don Murray, Arthur O'Connell, Betty Field; Director-Joshua Logan
*"Some Like it Hot" (1959/122mins/B&W/Widescreen)-MGM
-Tony Curtis, Jack Lemmon, George Raft, Pat O'Brien, Joe E. Brown; Director-Billy Wilder
*"Let's Make Love" (1960/119mins/Color/Widescreen)
-Yves Montand, Tony Randall, Frankie Vaughn; Director-George Cukor
*"The Misfits" (1961/125mins/Color/Widescreen)-MGM
-Clark Gable, Montgomery Clift, Thelma Ritter, Eli Wallach; Director-John Huston
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING COLLECTION FOR AMAZING PRICE, August 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Incredible "collection sets" like this fantastic Marilyn Monroe set truly make it worth still buying, collecting and owning DVDs. This is just a jaw-dropping set at such a low price. You get 17 Marilyn movies on 17 individual disks for less than $50--that's like $3 per movie. And in buying this one set you get to own practically all of Marilyn's most wonderful movies, all the best movies of the hands-down most iconic female movie star in all of movie history. Other reviewers have listed all 17 movies you get in the set, so I won't repeat that information. I'll just point out that the only 2 majorly significant Marilyn movies NOT included in the set are: River Of No Return (1954) and The Prince And The Showgirl (1957). There are also about 10 other films that Marilyn had cameos or small parts in that are not included in the set either. But overall, in this incredible set, you get 17 of her most famous movies, the vast majority of her biggest films. For lovers of classic movies and classic movie stars, this is a set that's just too good not to own. Highly, highly recommend this one.

PS: Other reviewers have noted the "unique" packaging. It is somewhat of an odd design, made to house 17 disks in a very compact packaging format. Though it may not be the most ideal packaging or greatest design, I think it can be considered a minor drawback and overlooked considering the set's incredible movies and great price. Also, just want to note that I ordered this through Amazon, got the free shipping, and had the set within 3 days of ordering. So hats off to Amazon again for their speedy shipping and quality service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad Packaging and Special Features, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There is nothing wrong with the actual films, as long as you adore Marilyn Monroe.

Unfortunately, no matter how well the seller packs this item or how new it is, it will arrive already damaged. The exterior will look perfect but the discs inside, will almost always be loose. In my case, 14 out 17 discs were loose and all were scratched. And being that it is not the seller's fault, but the manufacturer, I don't see how anything could be done. So it may be somewhat of a risk to purchase, depending on how roughly the Post Office handles it.
A plus on the packaging is the magazine cover article titles pertaining to each film listed- "All About Eve-Do you have a secret admirer?" "Some Like It Hot- How to spice up your relationship".
An oversight on Fox's part is that on the back of the dvd set, there is a disc image of a film not included, River of No Return.

Overall, the packaging is visually attractive but cheap.

The films included:

Volume 1 1950-1952

All About Eve
As Young As You Feel
Let's Make It Legal
Love Nest

Volume 2 1952-1953

Monkey Business
O. Henry's Full House
We're Not Married
Gentlemen Prefer Blondes
How to Marry a Millionaire
Niagara

Volume 3 1954-1961

There's No Business Like Show Business
The Seven Year Itch
Bus Stop
Some Like It Hot
Let's Make Love
The Misfits

This set includes her main films but excludes River of No Return and The Prince and the Showgirl, along with many of the small role films she appeared in. It would have been nice to see Love Happy and the remaining footage of her final film, Something's Got to Give, included in this set.

Each disc includes special features. However, they are particularly random and unorganized. Some have only commentary. Some have only movie trailers for Marilyn's films bunched together on one disc. Also, way out of place, is the preview of the Diamond Collection, which came out years ago. It just seems like the special features section was thrown together. Few coincide with the films they are featured with.

If you'd like to add Marilyn to your collection, this is a nice cheap set for 17 films. Otherwise, it's really nothing new, unorganized, and incomplete. I'll be waiting for Fox to release a complete set with better packaging and special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, Amazon has bad copies of it, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First off, I am the biggest Marilyn fan there is, so this is not a knock on the movies. In even the ones where Marilyn has small roles, the films are still interesting. Not only is she gorgeous, she has great comic timing and was a very under-rated actress. The problem is that half the discs in the collection are unplayable, or have defects of some sort. I have had to return this set three times already and here are my experiences:

All About Eve (won't load)
As Young As You Feel (skips, freezes, ultimately becomes unreadable)
Let's Make It Legal (fine)
Love Nest (fine but Marilyn is barely in it)

Monkey Business (skips, freezes, eventually stops playing)
O. Henry's Full House (fine, but Marilyn is in one scene)
We're Not Married (skips, freezes, eventually stops playing)
Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (plays almost fine, slight skipping towards the end)
How to Marry a Millionaire (skips, freezes, you get the idea)
Niagara (won't load)

At this point, since I was watching the films in chronological order, I stopped watching and just returned the sets. I could have worked around the problems if Niagra and How to Marry a Millionaire played fine, but when they started to have problems, too..!

The problem is twofold, first, the pressing of the discs isn't the greatest, causing the defects. Second, as already mentioned, the discs come loose during the shipping process and always arrived scratched. I have heard people knock the Charlie's Angels complete set with its spindles, well, I will take that over this set anytime. That set had twenty-seven discs and each one of them worked. This one I can't even get through half the collection without finding a half a dozen defects. Amazon suspects its my player, yeah, right! I have tried it on multiple players, each time with similar results. Don't buy this set unless you have a lot of patience and are prepared for lots of disappointment.

UPDATE: I picked up a fourth copy of this edition from Target and guess what? No defects at all and I am through nearly the entire collection, so it must have something partly to do with the rough handling in the Amazon warehouses or the product they have stocked there. The movies are great, Marilyn looks beautiful in all the restored versions. My advice, though, would be that if you buy this set (especially from Amazon), watch it quickly in case you might need to make a return as the quality of the discs is certainly a crapshoot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a whopper of a box set at a great price! Now, where are the blu rays?, August 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one great box set of Marilyn's films (17 in this set) on 17 single DVDs. It's also awesome you get all these movies from Fox (not public domain) for under fifty bucks!! There are just a few special features on the movies, but I want the Monroe movies to watch. Looks as if these are older transfers, but still look good for DVD. This is "The Premiere Collection" so don't expect Marilyn Monroe film school 101. These movies are great by themselves without a bunch of special features to dig through. My only complaint is the way Fox houses the discs. Could have been better, but hey I have never seen a 17 disc set so thin!! This could have been a monster of a box set. Glad it sits well on my shelves. This is NOT a complete collection of her films. There are several missing (including River of No Return) that should have been included in this set. Wonder why Fox didn't take the time and money to remaster each film? I have MANY collections on DVD and I find this set one of the most enjoyable! Now, where is the blu ray 17 disc set? Now, THAT would be a treasure!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn Monroe review, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This dvd set was exactly what i expected and i am very satisfied. the quality of the dvds were satisfactory and i would recommend this set for any MM fan who does not own any previous collections. the movies include her walk on parts to her featured artist parts. she was pretty and she was warm, and she was lovable. my wife and i enjoyed watching a different movie when there wasn't much on tv. she said they were like watching a play on tv. i would have to agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not all Blu Ray Discs, August 1, 2013
By 
Neil P. Zukerman (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MARILYN The Premium Collection [Limited Release] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I, unhappily, returned the set...The listing is for Blu Rays, however not all of the movies are blu ray. I'm surprised no one else seemed to mention this.Amazon-limited Marilyn Monroe Complete Collection (19-disc) [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality DVD box, September 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The only positive things I have to say about this set is that the general appearance and layout is cute, and that it's about time someone put all of Marilyn's movies into one set at an affordable price. And now for the ugly negatives... When I opened the package for the first time, the box had already been bent/crushed along the edges. No big deal. But then when I opened the sleeves that contain the DVDs, they literally just fell out into my lap. They were not securely placed inside the sleeves, which caused about 9 out of 17 discs to be quite scratched up. I tried watching a few of the movies anyways, and without surprise, the scratches caused from the poor box quality ended up making some of those movies skip while playing. This was rather upsetting to me. I will now have to spend the money to resurface the DVDs in order to be able to watch them. Quite disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.