Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nail-biter
This book reprints Voice Recorder Transcripts (when available) and NTSB findings (in terse, direct phrases) for SELECTED airline incidents, mostly from 1960 to the Columbia breakup in 2003. He generally strives not to be melodramatic in his recreations, which is a definite plus. The only thing I find annoying is his absolute refusal to reprint profanities and vulgarities...
Published on August 7, 2008 by J. Baker

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More good than bad
I am an avid reader of air disaster books, don't ask me why. This book has a few problems with style and syntax. It could do with a good copy-editing for readability. As it is I gave it 3 stars; I'd love to read a future edition which has been competently edited and formatted for readability.
Published on December 12, 2008 by John Mullen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nail-biter, August 7, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAYDAY: Accident Reports and Voice Transcripts from Airline Crash Investigations (Perfect Paperback)
This book reprints Voice Recorder Transcripts (when available) and NTSB findings (in terse, direct phrases) for SELECTED airline incidents, mostly from 1960 to the Columbia breakup in 2003. He generally strives not to be melodramatic in his recreations, which is a definite plus. The only thing I find annoying is his absolute refusal to reprint profanities and vulgarities spoken by the pilots in their final moments (he constantly equivocates with ("Expletive"), or my favorite ("Name of The Son Of The Deity")). But you can usually figure out what they're saying, or choose your own euphemisms.
A good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ex-airline employee review, April 10, 2008
This review is from: MAYDAY: Accident Reports and Voice Transcripts from Airline Crash Investigations (Perfect Paperback)
I was employed by a major airline for over 10 years. The book is well written and should be read by anyone interested in airline safety. Safety was a priorty with the company I worked for, but found my employer listed, which didn't suprise me.

If you want to read more about the subject I suggest you read, "Unfriendly Skies" and "Flying Blind, Flying Safe".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stupid Mistakes..., December 12, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAYDAY: Accident Reports and Voice Transcripts from Airline Crash Investigations (Perfect Paperback)
This is a must read for anyone who is a Pilot or likes to fly. This book reviews some of the worst aircraft accidents in history with an emphasis on pilot error (mostly stupid ones)or equipment failures for the most part. Good interesting reading with many "Black Box" conversations or a radio log. Not overly detailed but an excellent over view or reminder for both pilots and the general public. Covers the Hindenberg to the Space Shuttles as well as 9/11 incidents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More good than bad, December 12, 2008
This review is from: MAYDAY: Accident Reports and Voice Transcripts from Airline Crash Investigations (Perfect Paperback)
I am an avid reader of air disaster books, don't ask me why. This book has a few problems with style and syntax. It could do with a good copy-editing for readability. As it is I gave it 3 stars; I'd love to read a future edition which has been competently edited and formatted for readability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than I expected, May 23, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAYDAY: Accident Reports and Voice Transcripts from Airline Crash Investigations (Perfect Paperback)
I love reading the technical details about structural failures, and plane crashes offer a lot of drama. This book was exciting because it offered information directly from the pilot's/co-pilot's voices before the accidents, something most books about plane crashes don't have. It also gave a brief discussion of the NTSB/FAA accident report, and had many diagrams and illustrations to enhance comprehension. I really appreciated the drawings and diagrams. When speaking of all these plane parts, it's difficult to understand the failure of one part in conjunction to another without an illustration. My only critique about the book was that the stories were so short, only about six pages each. I would have appreciated a little more information on each one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Professional, April 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAYDAY: Accident Reports and Voice Transcripts from Airline Crash Investigations (Perfect Paperback)
This book helped me during a difficult period in my life that I am still resolving.

2004 Check
2004 Check
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars nothing new, March 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAYDAY: Accident Reports and Voice Transcripts from Airline Crash Investigations (Perfect Paperback)
Although conprehensive, there is nothing new or original here. It seems everything is either a direct reprint of published reports, or a slight rearanging of public stuff. No imagination, no editorial originalality. Just read ntsb reports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll never fly again, November 23, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MAYDAY: Accident Reports and Voice Transcripts from Airline Crash Investigations (Perfect Paperback)
I've always found it interesting to read the details of airliner crashes in the newspaper, particularly when they include portions of the Cockpit Voice Recorder. This is the automatically recorded conversations of the Pilot and other air crew members immediately preceeding a crash. It is worrisome that so many passengers have lost their lives because numbskulls in the cockpit have simply miscalculated and run out of fuel, forgotten to do their pre-flight checklist or had the flap control in the wrong position. Of course, there are many examples of mechanical failures which spell unavoidable doom for all aboard as well as wind-shear slamming the aircraft into the ground. Like a rubber necker at a grisly accident scene, you will be privvy to all the gory details, like the cockpit warning system pleading "Pull Up! Pull Up!" and the violent sounds of objects on the ground tearing wings off the aircraft on impact. As for me, well I'll be walking . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a beginner, March 15, 2008
This review is from: MAYDAY: Accident Reports and Voice Transcripts from Airline Crash Investigations (Perfect Paperback)
This is a great text as an introductory reference to enthusiasts.

Each individual incident is covered only to a very basic level.
Would have liked to seen much more information for each event.

Text is rather large. Would prefer smaller text and more of it.
Definately worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

MAYDAY: Accident Reports and Voice Transcripts from Airline Crash Investigations
MAYDAY: Accident Reports and Voice Transcripts from Airline Crash Investigations by Marion F. Sturkey (Perfect Paperback - September 20, 2005)
$19.00 $14.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.