Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to help pass the 70-445 exam
I just passed the 70-431 exam. I took a class and we used the Mircosoft Tool Kit book. It was a self paced course so there wasn't classroom lectures. The book was great ! I passed the exam on the first try. Which prompted me to go it alone and purchase this book 70-445. I found the text easy to understand and could follow the examples and practices very easily. The...
Published on May 14, 2009 by Zetagirl66

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Enough for Exam
The book is good source for starting up in BI SQL Server but perhaps not enough to pass exam. I gave exam last week after only preparing this book , didn't pass .. the questions were so different from the one given with book practice test and also advanced knowledge was required . I think its good idea to use one of the practice test i.e SelfTest etc and learn online...
Published on February 28, 2008 by M. Rana


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Enough for Exam, February 28, 2008
This review is from: MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft SQL Server 2005 (Paperback)
The book is good source for starting up in BI SQL Server but perhaps not enough to pass exam. I gave exam last week after only preparing this book , didn't pass .. the questions were so different from the one given with book practice test and also advanced knowledge was required . I think its good idea to use one of the practice test i.e SelfTest etc and learn online whats left off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this book, May 1, 2008
By 
This review is from: MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft SQL Server 2005 (Paperback)
This book has not been properly edited to ensure that all instructions are correct. The book consistently references the wrong items (db names) or asks the reader to perform a step that can't be completed because an item does not exist. EXAMPLE: pg 303, Ex.1 Step 7. There is no 'subcategory' field in the 'dscategory' dataset. I think this error is becauase pg 294, steps 12 & 16 have the names reversed. These authors stink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to help pass the 70-445 exam, May 14, 2009
This review is from: MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft SQL Server 2005 (Paperback)
I just passed the 70-431 exam. I took a class and we used the Mircosoft Tool Kit book. It was a self paced course so there wasn't classroom lectures. The book was great ! I passed the exam on the first try. Which prompted me to go it alone and purchase this book 70-445. I found the text easy to understand and could follow the examples and practices very easily. The questions in the toolkit are directly related to the actual exam questions that you will sit for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible exam prep kit, October 21, 2008
This review is from: MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft SQL Server 2005 (Paperback)
Do not expect to pass the exam with this training kit. I read each chapter, completed all exercises, and repeated all simulation tests several times. The questions on the real exam are MUCH harder. I was extremely disturbed to fail because of this kit. And yes, there are quite a few of instructional typo errors that will have you going in circles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as,if not better than, attending the corresponding the MS intructor led training, October 3, 2008
By 
nornal (Bay Area, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft SQL Server 2005 (Paperback)
I have attended the intructor led MS trainings.

Because you dictate your own pace, reading the book and diligently going thru the exercises is as good as,if not better than, attending the corresponding the MS intructor led trainings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good and the only one 70-445 preparation guide, November 1, 2007
This review is from: MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft SQL Server 2005 (Paperback)
Very good training kit. One minus -- there are just a few Quick Check questions and answers at the end of each chapter. It would be better to have say 20 questions per each chapter for evaluation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, May 19, 2014
By 
John S. Kret "EaglesFan" (berwyn, il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft SQL Server 2005 (Paperback)
This is a good book for training for the exam. Unfortunately this version is 4 versions behind the most current.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good examples on CD, July 22, 2008
By 
Peter Wald (Florida, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft SQL Server 2005 (Paperback)
Very good introduction in MS SQL Server 2005 BI. Although indeed sometimes errors in the textual instructions, the delivered projects on CD are correct and clear. Clear theoretical explanations. Textual errors are also easy to pass by with a little effort and a bit 'trial-and-error' yourself. Also valuable T-SQL examples worked out in the lessons.
This books combines the three BI-areas of interest (SSRS, SSAS, and SSIS) in one book and is aiming at the preparation for the 70-445 exam. Attractive book and lay-outs conventions. It really invites you to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK TO GO BY, February 13, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft SQL Server 2005 (Paperback)
GREAT REFERENCE GUIDE FOR THE SQL SERVER 2005 (EXAM 70-445). I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND GAINING KNOWLEDGE ON THE BACKROUND OF THE SYSTEMS USED IN THIS STUDY GUIDE. EXTREMELY DETAILED AND CORRECT IN EVERY ASPECT THAT I'VE SEEN SO FAR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, October 9, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft SQL Server 2005 (Paperback)
This book helped me prep for the 70-445 exam, I am still reading this one. I recommend Transcender Practice exams with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft SQL Server 2005
MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-445): Microsoft SQL Server 2005 by Erik Veerman (Paperback - September 12, 2007)
$59.99 $43.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.