Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Shooters ever made.
I think the title says it all. Metro 2033 is one of the best shooters ever made. It's also one of the best shooters nobody played. THQ, the publishers of Metro 2033, have gone on record a number of times apologizing for the lack of advertising for the game. It has become such a cult hit since its release, but it could have been a smashing success if THQ had just...
Published on June 8, 2012 by Timothy

versus
2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not The Worst Game I've Ever Played, But...
It just isn't very good. I had high hopes for this game, as I like the "post apocalypse" setting in video games. The game has a decent idea, but the execution is simply sub-par. It's fairly difficult on normal levels, mainly because ammo is scarce, everything is done on the fly (the game does not pause for you while you switch a weapon, gas mask, etc.) which means...
Published 24 months ago by Evildead11


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Shooters ever made., June 8, 2012
By 
Timothy (Manalapan, NJ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: METRO 2033 (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
I think the title says it all. Metro 2033 is one of the best shooters ever made. It's also one of the best shooters nobody played. THQ, the publishers of Metro 2033, have gone on record a number of times apologizing for the lack of advertising for the game. It has become such a cult hit since its release, but it could have been a smashing success if THQ had just advertised the game before throwing it on store shelves. Knowing that they have a hit franchise on their hands with Metro 2033, THQ has since began throwing money at the sequel, Metro: Last Light, which is due in early 2013.

Metro 2033 is one of those games that only comes around once every few years. It doesn't try and be anything else. It doesn't try and play like Call of Duty. It doesn't try to be open world like Fallout. It doesn't try to shoehorn mechanics that don't belong only so they can have pretty looking bullet points on the back of the box. Metro 2033 is its own thing, and it succeeds because of it.

It has enough atmosphere to fill a dozen games. One thing everyone who plays it can agree on is that Metro 2033 will suck you in and never let you go through the 15 hour campaign. It builds a world around you that is so life like, so real, that you can't help but be in awe. In that world you will find a ton of variety in the places you visit, and the things you do. At its heart, Metro 2033 is a first person shooter. However, it is much more than that. It is a survival horror game. It is an action game. It is an RPG of sorts. It is a story driven adventure.

I am being vague on specifics here, because everything is a spoiler. The story and atmosphere is so downright brilliant that if I mention any specifics, it will ruin that part of the game for you. Just know that this isn't your typical shooter. This isn't your typical throwaway first person shooter that you play for 6 hours, and trade back in. This is the type of game that flew in under the radar, and blew gamers away. It's the type of game that has the publisher, on more than once occasion, publicly apologizing to the gaming world for letting this one slip in between the cracks.

If you are looking for a thinking mans shooter, this is your game. If you haven't played it yet, you need to right now. I've been gaming for well over 20 years. And in all that time, I've never come across a game that I fell in love with in the first 30 minutes like I did with Metro 2033. And, 2 years after I played it, I still think about it all the time. You NEED to play this game. Buy it, rent it, borrow it, whatever you need to do. Play Metro 2033, and get ready for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, December 23, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "Ravhat" (Yuba City, Ca. United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: METRO 2033 (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
Bought this game for $10.00 on xbox live a week ago and enjoyed it very much. It played smoothly, graphics and atmosphere were great, story line sucks you right in. Audio was good except the gun fire could have sounded a little better other than that I think this game is a great buy. I will definitely be getting the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked game that is worth your while., January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: METRO 2033 (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
If you enjoy Fallout, you will probably like metro. Only drawback is even with the subtle game hints "on", navigating certain levels is still sometimes difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Survival Horror, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: METRO 2033 (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
I love Metro 2033 at the time when this game out the gameplay was revolutionary. It's to bad THQ went under. I would say there is about 10 hours of gameplay with this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, August 11, 2013
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: METRO 2033 (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
I am a huge fan of the Metro 2033 lore, I own a copy of the first English edition of the book, the game on Xbox and PC, and Metro: Last Light on PC. They are all very well-made games, and 2033 is probably the biggest sleeper hit of this console generation. I'll give a pretty thorough, yet straightforward review of the game.

Pros:
-Excellent storyline. If you've read the book, it's similar. Some of the plot elements of the book are shared with the game. If you haven't read the book, please invest in a copy. It's well worth it. (But that's another story for another day, no pun intended.)
-Top notch graphics. Even for a title released in 2010. On PC, the graphics are better but don't run as smooth (and I have a very nice gaming setup.) Shadows, lighting, textures, etc. It's all there.
-Atmosphere. At times, the game has such a deep atmosphere you'd swear you were sucked in to its post-nuclear world. The atmosphere is very spooky. There are a couple jump-scares in the game, without revealing too much. The eeriness of a recreated post-nuclear Moscow is especially exemplified when your character travels to the surface later in the story. I wish there was more exploration on the surface, it gave a really big sense of hostility and isolation.
-Voice acting. Everybody has a Russian accent. What's not to love?
-Guns. The guns are very unique and the selection isn't huge, but in real life after the apocalypse I doubt there would be very many just left lying around.
-Character development. Although Artyom, the main character, doesn't speak outside of the loading screens, you can feel his character develop.
-Multiple endings. Based on several actions in the game, you can either have a good ending or bad ending. There are a couple moments in-game where your morality comes in to play.
-Setting. I don't need to elaborate on this, but most post-apocalyptic games tend to be primarily good (i.e, Fallout, RAGE, Wasteland, STALKER, etc.) and Metro 2033 doesn't disappoint.
-Gameplay. Barebones first person shooter with stealth and horror elements. Game of the year, for me!
-AI. The AI of the game seem to be pretty smart most of the time. Enemies and allies alike, exhibit intelligence. Sometimes, they're just plain stupid though, so whatever.
-Long storyline. You really get pulled in deep.
-Difficulty. The game is very hard, but very rewarding. Even on the easier difficulties.
-Ranger Mode. Makes the game even harder (Think of "Veteran" mode on Call of Duty.)

Cons: (Not very many!)
-Story abruptly ends after a slow rising action and very short climax.
-Would have liked to see local co-op or multiplayer.
-Stealth elements really didn't see much airtime in the game.

Can't really think of much else. Would have liked to see more of the story fleshed out in the novel, however.

Final verdict: Well worth the money for it. Excellent game!
I would recommend this game to: Fans of post-nuclear games, fans of the novel, people looking for a refreshing FPS.
I wouldn't recommend this game to: Fans of Call of Duty, people with little patience, retro gamers, people expecting an easy 1000 gamerscore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truely Amazing!, July 28, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: METRO 2033 (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
This game has a great story, great action, great gameplay, great acting. I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

It has amazing atmosphere, which enhanced everything that game had to offer. Though, it's definitely from a male perspective, which is perfectly fine with me. Lol.

I highly recommend this game to anyone. Check out Youtube for some of the gameplay and you can even watch the beginning. There are great walkthroughs for you to check out before you buy it. But I'm sure you'll want it after you see it.

Vishal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PAL version works on NTSC, May 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: METRO 2033 (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
Received my game in California fairly quick. In half the time they said I would. Luckily the PAL version works on NTSC consoles. Only negative was a little broken piece from inside the case, but that's not there fault, USPS must've mistreated it. Other than that 5/5 outstanding already beat the game and it was pretty good specially for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: METRO 2033 (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
This is one of the best shooters I ave played, The story is great, the graphics are good, and the game play style is wonderful. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: METRO 2033 (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
this game is just amazing i love the story for this game i love the monsters and the charters i cant wait for the next one :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Gem, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: METRO 2033 (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
Metro 2033 is an immensely under rated game. An amazing world, a great story and some damn good game play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

METRO 2033 (XBOX 360)
METRO 2033 (XBOX 360) by THQ (Xbox 360)
$24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.